View Full Version : Tonight's Latest - Friday 16th October
sligofan4ever
16/10/2009, 8:48 PM
eh.. think he is including the ref (?)
I doubt it. Regardless of the 3 sending offs, i'd say the ref was just plain and utter sh!te rather than taking our side TBH.
16/10/2009, 8:48 PM
Full Time
Monaghan 6 - Kildare County 1
Im not happy witht he indiscipline this year, its a disgrace having 16 sent off (so far) no question about that, yes there have been very poor ref calls in some of our sendings off, but 16 ???
Although for tonight, that is some result holding out with 8 men.
Ps Sligo are a club I have a lot of time for, a proper football club, a great football town, they have to be serious odds on favs for the cup, as they are in some form. I think they should also be safe this season.
Good luck to them for the FAI Cup & rest of season.
MeathDrog
16/10/2009, 8:52 PM
What? Dundalk? A dirty team? Neverrr. Obviously a **** LOI ref yet again.
The Lep
16/10/2009, 8:54 PM
I take back what i said about Kildare :D
Is Shels and athlone still nil all?
Louth4sam
16/10/2009, 8:55 PM
Im not happy witht he indiscipline this year, its a disgrace having 16 sent off (so far) no question about that, yes there have been very poor ref calls in some of our sendings off, but 16 ???
I think that's fair enough. We do play a physical game but there was quite a few of those cards that where undeserved. This is down to refs being poor rather than some agenda by refs. Other teams are complaining too.
'
It's sad when you look at who is reffing the game before looking at who's playing for the opposition.
16/10/2009, 8:57 PM
I think that's fair enough. We do play a physical game but there was quite a few of those cards that where undeserved. This is down to refs being poor rather than some agenda by refs. Other teams are complaining too..
It's sad when you look at who is reffing the game before looking at who's playing for the opposition.
If any ref in this league was half decent you'd do that, but unfortunately they're all write offs.
JC_GUFC
16/10/2009, 8:59 PM
Great result for Athlone tonight - and even better for UCD!
I think even the pessimistic UCD fans have to admit they're favs for the league now - on easily the best for. I haven't seen any of their games this season but Martin Russell must be doing an absolutely brilliant job with very few players with any other LoI experience.
Youths4Ever
16/10/2009, 8:59 PM
I take back what i said about Kildare :D
Is Shels and athlone still nil all?
0-0 full time
blue til i die
16/10/2009, 9:05 PM
Just listening to the radio how veteran Owen Heary gave Bohs a first half lead against Cork
White Horse
16/10/2009, 9:07 PM
Ps Sligo are a club I have a lot of time for, a proper football club, a great football town, they have to be serious odds on favs for the cup, as they are in some form. I think they should also be safe this season.
I also would like to see Sligo stay up for the reasons you mention.
When I say they deserve to be relegated after tonights performance, it is in the context of failing to beat an 8 man team.
However, the premier division would be the poorer without Sligo.
Scrufil
16/10/2009, 9:08 PM
Shels missed a peno and then could'nt score with 4 mins added on! I love this terrible Athlone Team. I'm more afraid of Monaghan though!
16/10/2009, 9:18 PM
limerick 2-1 waterford ft
16/10/2009, 9:21 PM
read page 3 of this thread, while the bitchfest about Dundalk sending offs is going on Magicme keeps putting up the scoring feats of Mons - its mad, its like two threads that have been merged that in now way correspond. Bizzare.
16/10/2009, 9:27 PM
Thanks Athlone! We're definitely favourites for the division now, 4 wins and we win it.
Although for tonight, that is some result holding out with 8 men.
Good luck to them for the FAI Cup & rest of season.
cough broke 2 players legs in the same game cough
16/10/2009, 9:32 PM
Great result for Athlone tonight - and even better for UCD!
I think even the pessimistic UCD fans have to admit they're favs for the league now - on easily the best for. I haven't seen any of their games this season but Martin Russell must be doing an absolutely brilliant job with very few players with any other LoI experience.
It's still a tall order. We cannot afford a single slip up and we've a very inexperienced side. We've still a very tough final game against Waterford, although the wheels look to have come off their season. It's great to be afforded this opportunity but I think there's a few twists left in this title race.
16/10/2009, 9:35 PM
That's the last two times Athlone have managed a draw against Shels if I remember rightly. I was just reading the team news in the paper this morning and I thought Athlone would be great odds to get something having been thrashed in their last game and missing up to eight players. I had a feeling they would sneak something as things couldn't get any worse than they already were for Athlone but of course I didn't put any cash on it. The First Divison is absurd at times. Any result is possible.
wonder88
16/10/2009, 9:55 PM
could Dundalk be still draged into the relegation play-offs ? they are only 3 points above Galway who are still not safe
nah its between Pats sligo drogs and bray for the relegation spot and the lay offs.
GalwayRed
16/10/2009, 10:15 PM
We were aboslutly rubbish tonight. The tactics were off, nobody played particularily well. We have no excuses. Athlone didnt come to defend for 90 minutes, they kept the ball on the deck and even though they didn't look up to anything we cant say they didn't deserve a draw. We played the last 20 minutes with no actual strikers on the pitch. We had no plan B whatsoever. It was just one hoofed ball upfield after the next. McAllister just never looked comfortable over that peno and skied it. I cant remember seeing him miss one before now. I dont see how we could go up automatically now because we just dont look good enough and I dont fancy us in the play-offs either.
dcfc_1928
16/10/2009, 10:18 PM
Someone on Aertel has a sense of humour tonight:
"Lot O'Red & Bit O'Red Share Spoils"
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/223-01.html
PartySaint
16/10/2009, 10:33 PM
nah its between Pats sligo drogs and bray for the relegation spot and the lay offs.
And Galway
Ezeikial
16/10/2009, 10:38 PM
6 Yellow cards, 3 red, 2 penalties sounds like a dirty game full of neadle and foul play?
It was nothing like that at all!
To say the least both penalties were extremely dubious (1 each way), Thomas Heary got a 2nd yellow for a "professional foul" and can have no complaints. As for the other two reds - from my view McKinlays looked harsh -for use of the elbow jockeying for position on the ball - hardly a straight red, max a yellow. Chris Turner's straght red looked way out of order - he controlled the ball on his chest with arms by his side - although it is possible that his upper arm took a bit of the ball.
Michael McGowan got a yellow for lifting the front of his jersey over his face in goal-scoring celebration!!! Help needed here - whats the rule dealing with that?????
The overall stats for yellow and red cards in this league tell a strange and disturbing story!
Northern Light
16/10/2009, 10:46 PM
Someone on Aertel has a sense of humour tonight:
"Lot O'Red & Bit O'Red Share Spoils"
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/223-01.html
thats nothing
the guy on the official CCFC update apparently had a sausage up his arse!
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/views/matchday.php
btw 'the berries' is Corkese for 'pretty nice'
16/10/2009, 10:49 PM
thats nothing
the guy on the official CCFC update apparently had a sausage up his arse!
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/views/matchday.php
btw 'the berries' is Corkese for 'pretty nice'
"I've a sausage in my anus." :D
WoodquayBoy
16/10/2009, 11:04 PM
I have been told that Derek O'Brien said in after-match interview that Delaney didn't touch him for the red card, but he 'felt the challenge coming' and if he didnlt go down he 'would have tripped over his leg'. Now I love United but I hate this sh*te creeping into the game and think O'Brien should be hauled up on this.
As for the game, thought it was a cracker, 2 dodgy-looking defences, cracking second goal for United. We're not safe yet, but looking better now after the no-show against Sligo last week, a win in Drogheda on Tuesday should hopefully see us okay
16/10/2009, 11:17 PM
Michael McGowan got a yellow for lifting the front of his jersey over his face in goal-scoring celebration!!! Help needed here - whats the rule dealing with that?????
FIFA say that it is a yellow for that:
A player must be cautioned if:
• in the opinion of the referee, he makes gestures which are provocative, derisory or inflammatory
• he climbs on to a perimeter fence to celebrate a goal being scored
• he removes his shirt or covers his head with his shirt
• he covers his head or face with a mask or other similar item
blue til i die
17/10/2009, 12:04 AM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/dundalk-trio-see-red-430526.html
Dublin referee Tom Connoly sent off Kevin McKinley, Chris Turner and then Thomas Heary, with the third red card leading to Connor ordering his players off the pitch in protest at Connolly handling of the game.
sonofstan
17/10/2009, 12:26 AM
Just home from the Cross (all that new Motorway is great) - did all the banners in the Shed and in the Derrynane make it onto telly? Some of our lads had a FORAS banner as well, and one of the coppers down our end didn't want to let them hold it up because he thought it was offensive..... when it was pointed out that the same banners were all over the ground he got very confused :)
Rovers Maniac
17/10/2009, 12:48 AM
Fair play to Dundalk, quality fighting spirit, Thought Heary and McKinley were two definite reds, the elbow the lads used on Raf was terrile could have broken his jaw, Turner's i could not see, if We had won it it would have been very rough on Dundalk with just 8 men, game for us to forget.
25mins, 8 men, held on for a draw. If Sligo where to score I was away. Very disheartening to watch that..
17/10/2009, 9:35 AM
I think even the pessimistic UCD fans
Hello! :)
have to admit they're favs for the league now
One point of note is that this is the first time all season that it's been in our hands. Chasing a team is always different to holding onto a lead. Be interesting to see how we cope with that. That said, you're right that we're the side on form and I think the club in general is on a buzz which might carry us through. We've three of the bottom four to play now (including Athlone...), before a big final day game against Waterford, who may be focussing on the Cup Final.
The one thing I will take from tonight is that I think Shels still have another non-win in them. I honestly never saw that coming; I was looking for Kildare to hold out against Monaghan so they'd be still in contention on the last day. The fact that Athlone have Barry Andrews in nets makes it all the sweeter! Didn't even know about the penalty miss till this morning. Hiding stuff from me, Ash!!
Edit - oh yeah, and if Martin Russell doesn't win Manager of the Year, there's something wrong. And I mean overall Manager of the Year, not just First Division Manager of the Year.
17/10/2009, 12:27 PM
PS if we get one more sent off, I think the game has to be abandonded ?That was never going to happen as once ye went down to 8 men, the ref was protecting your players making sure any free's went your way.
No excuse though, we should have been able to beat Dundalk's 8 men(+ the ref).
Battery Rover
17/10/2009, 12:28 PM
The fact that Athlone have Barry Andrews in nets makes it all the sweeter! Didn't even know about the penalty miss till this morning. Hiding stuff from me, Ash!!
Barry made one really excellent save last night and overall played as well as I have seen him play.
PartySaint
17/10/2009, 12:46 PM
That was never going to happen as once ye went down to 8 men, the ref was protecting your players making sure any free's went your way.
Yeah it was the refs fault you didnt win;)
forza rovers
17/10/2009, 12:49 PM
11 man Sligo Rovers couldn't beat an 9 man Dundalk.(the ref took pity on you and gave you everything after ye went to 8 men)
They deserve to be relegated.thanks pity you cant read other wise you would see that we above the drop.
17/10/2009, 12:58 PM
3 away wins out of 4 if things stay as is... i know its early days but i cant imagine that happens very often in this league!
4 consecutive wins in the cross too. Who else can say they've done that?
Come on the Drogs tonight!
17/10/2009, 1:00 PM
Stop the girly fights and glow in the 6-1 win for Mons for god sake people!
Duffman
17/10/2009, 1:06 PM
No excuse though, we should have been able to beat Dundalk's 8 men(+ the ref).
Can I confer for half marks? :confused:
You think that despite the ref sending off 3 players, 2 of which are highly questionable you had to play against the ref?
17/10/2009, 1:17 PM
"We were playing against nine men out there" is one of the lamest whines I've ever heard.
17/10/2009, 1:18 PM
"We were playing against nine men out there" is one of the lamest whines I've ever heard.
Not if its 7 a side though.
What? Dundalk? A dirty team? Neverrr. Obviously a **** LOI ref yet again.
Fecking Dublin refs again
17/10/2009, 2:25 PM
Not if its 7 a side though.
Or a doubles tennis team?
DeNiro
17/10/2009, 5:35 PM
Anyone with updates tonight?
Drogman.
17/10/2009, 5:35 PM
For anyone, Bohs fans especially, who want to keep track on the game, Drogs Live Radio will be broadcasting the whole game live.
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/drogs-live
CSFShels
17/10/2009, 6:13 PM
1 nil Rovers. Baker.
17/10/2009, 6:21 PM
Goal on 7 mins.
17/10/2009, 6:22 PM
Anyone with updates tonight?
UCD v Mervue updates here: www.twitter.com/ucdupdates