View Full Version : Dundalk 2-2 Rovers
Chris Turner off
2-2 Keane peno :) the commentators and fans are not one bit pleased with the ref, now ye know how we feel all season lads.
You serious? We f**kin know don't worry...:o
In fairness yer first goal looked offside and yer keeper could have been sent off (instead the ref gave a free out). The three red cards were red cards (I didn't see the first one too well but I'm told it was a red). In fact the third fella should have nearly gone for a straight red.
That was a disgrace tonight, Peter Cherrie kept us in it. Fair play to your support btw.
sligofan4ever
17/10/2009, 10:46 AM
That was a disgrace tonight, Peter Cherrie kept us in it. Fair play to your support btw.
He made a terrific double save in the last 30 seconds according to the commentator.
Da Real Rover
17/10/2009, 11:57 AM
How many were down at it?
Well Red
17/10/2009, 12:07 PM
I think I am right is saying that we have only lost one game in the last fourteen in all competitions. Shams flukey win against us was our only loss, this is the kind of form I think we were capable of had we had the full squad available earlier in the season. Must have been very frustrating for the manager but fair play he kept plugging away and last night he could not have had any voice left as he was roaring and urging the team on. He looks totally committed to the Rovers, let hope it stays like that.
17/10/2009, 12:23 PM
We bottled it big time last night. We could'nt cope with the pressure of expectation.We could'nt get the ball out wide and cross it, we could'nt take a decent corner. Why did we still have 4 at the back playing against 8 men? (Athough i did'nt think 2 of the reds were valid) VERY frustrating, we have to get something out of Derry AND Bohs now.:(
forza rovers
17/10/2009, 12:27 PM
That was a disgrace tonight, Peter Cherrie kept us in it. Fair play to your support btw.he shouldn't have been on the pitch after handling it out side the box
red arrow
17/10/2009, 1:02 PM
lets look at the situation now. if anybody said 3 weeks ago that we would get 10 points from the next 4 games you would have got huge odds. ok playing against 8 men one would expect to win but thats football. we are still in a pretty strong situation and even if we do end up in the playoffs we should finish 3 th from bottom and therfore have the team below us at home. we must keep supporting the team & remaining positive. every game is a cup final now but we can be the twelfth man. keep the faith, sligo rovers history is littered with what i would call "pressure cooker situations" but this is our club & thats why we must believe that at the end of the season we will still bein the premier division & have won the cup
CarrickFan
17/10/2009, 1:33 PM
You got to love Dundalk..1st time ive been frisked going into a LOI match!!..asked to stay behind after the match!!..decent crowd at the game..as for the match i dont know where to start!!..i actually think Dundalk defended better with 8 men and we prob would have won the game had it remained 11 v 11 or 11 v 10!!
Rovers Maniac
17/10/2009, 1:52 PM
I was speechless, nearly, after the match could not even look at the players when they came back on for the warm down. To my mind i thought Cook changes were an absolute disaster last night and the main part of the reason why we did not win, Boco back to right back was probably the single most daftest decision he has made since Jennings in place of Brush. The players will have to accept a lot of blame too for last night, but this is a proper confidence blow i think.
I agree we are not out of it yet if we can win in Derry, i mean 10 points of a return from 4 games is superb, it's just the manner how we got the one last night. If you were to offer me that as a return before the pats game i would have taken your arm off, We have a major week for the club next week we need to lift for that. Derry we're badly beaten last night no reason we can't go and get something in the Brandywell and then go and enjoy a cup semi final at home.
oldrover
17/10/2009, 4:32 PM
Frustrating but important to keep behind team now...they have been on a great run and cant really be faulted.Should have been much quicker to get ball into the box.Ground is a bit of a kip alright and if it is necessary to keep away fans locked in for almost 30 mins after the match some action should be taken against Dundalk.
Cmon the bit o red
17/10/2009, 5:08 PM
Sligo far superior to Dundalk in the first half but when they went down to 8 men we lost the plot, build ups were very poor and we showed a great lack of imagination and shooting from distance. This is one we should have won as Dundalk have not much in the way of skill but are a robost team.
Bad ending and too make it worse the Sligo supporters were locked for a long time after the match. Missed opportunity and the results have gone the wrong way for us tonight. At least our unbeaten run goes on a while longer so must not be to critical.
what do you mean that sligo fans were locked for a long time after the match? they were ****ed out of their skulls...:D
CF1989
17/10/2009, 5:46 PM
what do you mean that sligo fans were locked for a long time after the match? they were ****ed out of their skulls...:D
the gards locked us in because there were a few dundalk schoolies hanging around some shop and usually there looking for hassle
on the game, i too thought it was a mistake bringing meenan on and moving boco back. he seemed very annoyed at the decision too, probably would have put keane right back, peers centre back and kendrick left back, and put rommy in the middle of midfield. cooky done what he thought was right though and maybe he'll hold his hand up and say he made a mistake.
once they were down to 8 men the referee gave us nothing. he punished us in a sense for their indiscipline. trying to even it up a bit after they had 3 sent off. 2 were definate reds, the elbow on raff and the 2 yellows for heary. id have to see turners again. dunno where it hit him tbh. the ref was a disgrace after the 2 red cards and we got nothing from him then.
still cant use that as an exucse we should have been creating chance after chance but in truth the keeper had 1 maybe 2 saves to make. we were by far the better side until the sendings off. have to get the heads up for tuesday though, derry have damn all to play for, theres unrest in the camp and they're losing games. we're still the form side on the league apart from shams and maybe bohs, unbeaten in 14 or so now i think. we can beat derry and then hopefully enjoy friday night, and barring a replay we'll have a week to get ready for bohs then. still ahead of pats so not alls lost
redobit
17/10/2009, 5:46 PM
S**t Roads, S**t Ground, S**t Pitch and most of all S**t Burgers. Are all away trips like that or was it cause I was actually sober for this one!!!
Anyway as for the game you have to be happy with the point, Im probably more disappointed with the way the other games went on the night. Dundalk with 8 men done well and hats off to them. But we were never going to beat them with Marshall and Doyle on the wings. Especially Marshall, everytime he got the ball the game seemed to stop, no pace and he cant beat Mansaran in a one-on-one ffs.
CF1989
17/10/2009, 5:48 PM
marshalls done a job for us in recent weeks, scoring against galway and the assist v bray. played very well in setanta cup too.
Well Red
18/10/2009, 12:21 AM
Martinho 11. Do you not understand English when I said we were locked in after the match and not only that the lights were turned off with only the pitch lights left on. The Sligo fans held in that compound area were very well behaved and apart from a few funny remarks made to the guards it was all very peaceful. You are the type of person that comes on here without a clue of what the situation was, so do us all a favour and get your facts right next time you go to print. I spoke with several Dundalk fans before and after the game and they were delighted too see so many Sligo fans at the game.
Is it just me or is that not a serious over reaction to what was obviously just a joke from Martinho??:D
Da Real Rover
18/10/2009, 3:14 AM
Is it just me or is that not a serious over reaction to what was obviously just a joke from Martinho??:D
Fight, fight, fight.......
srfc1928
18/10/2009, 8:38 AM
On leaving the ground I went over to one of the Gaurds to ask why we were kept in the ground for so long. He said a group had gathered down the road and they wanted to disperse them before letting us go. Fair enough really, id rather stand around for a few extra minutes than have hassle leaving the ground.
srfc1928
18/10/2009, 8:55 AM
Dundalk going down to 8 men was more of a hinderence than a help for us. Once their third player was sent off, anytime there was a chance of us scoring the ref blew up. If Dundalk had lost that game they would have created holy hell and the ref knew that, with the game finishing at 2-2, Dundalk are delighted with their heroics and the referee is less of a talking point, even tough Dundalk were lucky to finish the game with 8.
yeah we should of won, but it was a bizarre game.
We'll take the point and move on to the next.
MMVIII
18/10/2009, 11:56 AM
Would you complain as much if we got out early and you had about 10 local gypos knocking seven shades of sh**e out of ya?
CF1989
18/10/2009, 6:02 PM
Dundalk going down to 8 men was more of a hinderence than a help for us. Once their third player was sent off, anytime there was a chance of us scoring the ref blew up. If Dundalk had lost that game they would have created holy hell and the ref knew that, with the game finishing at 2-2, Dundalk are delighted with their heroics and the referee is less of a talking point, even tough Dundalk were lucky to finish the game with 8.
yeah we should of won, but it was a bizarre game.
We'll take the point and move on to the next.
yeah the referee gave us nothing after the 3rd man was sent off.
it wasnt our fault they had 3 red cards, he more or less punished us then by giving them everything to try and even it up
Knappagh Red
18/10/2009, 6:13 PM
Would you complain as much if we got out early and you had about 10 local gypos knocking seven shades of sh**e out of ya?
The Tubber Hooligans would have pasted that crowd
19/10/2009, 5:47 PM
can you not take a joke at all? :eek: Jaysus I was avin a laugh calm down.. I know who my enemy is now thanks for being so honest with me.:(
CF1989
19/10/2009, 8:25 PM
can you not take a joke at all? :eek: Jaysus I was avin a laugh calm down.. I know who my enemy is now thanks for being so honest with me.:(
hit him marty!!
MMVIII
19/10/2009, 9:20 PM
The Tubber Hooligans would have pasted that crowd
haha :D Access
CF1989
20/10/2009, 8:23 AM
the replays showed how bad the referee was. not for the sending offs, but how in gods name he didnt give us a penalty for the gaelic like block from shaun kelly with his hands i'll never know, he was 5 yards away from it. and gave 2 other penalties for handball, which wernt half as bad as that one. what an idiot.
wtf was connor doing about to get the team to walk off? idiot! 3 definate red cards. turners might have been the only one that was a little harsh, but the slow motion shows he moved his arm towards the ball and it wuda went in otherwise so you have to go. what was heary complaining about? most obvious yellow card you'll ever see. the ref was shocking for us imo for the last 20mins. and 5 subs, 2 penalties, 3 reds, about 2 or 3 injuries and then only 3 minutes added on. disgrace!
dublinred
20/10/2009, 9:24 AM
the replays showed how bad the referee was. not for the sending offs, but how in gods name he didnt give us a penalty for the gaelic like block from shaun kelly with his hands i'll never know, he was 5 yards away from it. and gave 2 other penalties for handball, which wernt half as bad as that one. what an idiot.
wtf was connor doing about to get the team to walk off? idiot! 3 definate red cards. turners might have been the only one that was a little harsh, but the slow motion shows he moved his arm towards the ball and it wuda went in otherwise so you have to go. what was heary complaining about? most obvious yellow card you'll ever see. the ref was shocking for us imo for the last 20mins. and 5 subs, 2 penalties, 3 reds, about 2 or 3 injuries and then only 3 minutes added on. disgrace!
The last one was a joke and an obvious penalty/red card but I think if he gave it the game would then of had to be abandoned if Dundalk went down to 7 players.
redobit
20/10/2009, 9:56 AM
If he could give a peno for hiting Dannys arm, then the one that hit Kellys arm was without question a penalty.
20/10/2009, 5:06 PM
hit him marty!!
believe me I might!
srfc1928
20/10/2009, 10:14 PM
S**t Roads, S**t Ground, S**t Pitch and most of all S**t Burgers. Are all away trips like that or was it cause I was actually sober for this one!!!
Anyway as for the game you have to be happy with the point, Im probably more disappointed with the way the other games went on the night. Dundalk with 8 men done well and hats off to them. But we were never going to beat them with Marshall and Doyle on the wings. Especially Marshall, everytime he got the ball the game seemed to stop, no pace and he cant beat Mansaran in a one-on-one ffs.
Jaysus, reminds me of the European tour.
Dundalk = Albania :D
CF1989
21/10/2009, 3:00 PM
The last one was a joke and an obvious penalty/red card but I think if he gave it the game would then of had to be abandoned if Dundalk went down to 7 players.
it wouldnt have been a red card though, just a penalty. unless he was already on a yellow