View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Montenegro - Wednesday, 14th October 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 6:20 PM
After the great atmosphere in Croke Park on Saturday I'm gutted to be out of the country for this one.

Has the team been officially announced yet?

And of course, any links? - with it being on sky there will hopefully be a few knocking around...

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 6:35 PM
Team Named:

Given
Kilbane
Dunne
St Ledger
McShane
Duff
Miller
Rowlands
Stephen Hunt
Keane
Noel Hunt

The Legend
14/10/2009, 6:56 PM
wow thats some centre midfield.... why is Duff playing, thought he was nursing an injury.

14/10/2009, 7:02 PM
link on here not english commentary, italian.
http://www.calciolink.altervista.org/

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 7:08 PM
A classic from that Irish-American tool on ESPN

"The two Hunts are not related, Noel being from Waterford - Stephen from Portlaoise"!!! :eek:

http://www.iraqgoals.net/ch5.html ...but I think they've just taken a break!

theworm2345
14/10/2009, 7:13 PM

"The two Hunts are not related, Noel being from Waterford - Stephen from Portlaoise"!!! :eek:

I think he's from Dundalk...I can email him correcting him if you want :)

Match is pretty dull at the moment

14/10/2009, 7:15 PM
Robbie Keane has made some nice runs, but Noel Reid seems to be gesticulating that it was in fact him that made the runs from what I can gather.

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 7:26 PM
Jaysus Cyprus have just scored!

theworm2345
14/10/2009, 7:26 PM
Robbie Keane has made some nice runs, but Noel Reid seems to be gesticulating that it was in fact him that made the runs from what I can gather.

Haha they showed Paul McGrath, Curtis Fleming, Don Givens and another fella with John Delaney sitting below them and they didn't mention only Delaney :)

Are Italy playing any of their first team?

14/10/2009, 7:29 PM

Yes I think I am watching the wrong match!

Of course Italy have nothing to play for but had we not conceeded that last minute goal
we would be toping the group as it stands, even a draw would have done that for us.

14/10/2009, 7:30 PM
Duff had a great chance to cross there but both Keane and N Hunt made the same run to the far post, obviously no understanding there at all. Duff was a bit selfish taking the shot on himself but didnt have another option.

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 7:32 PM
Are Italy playing any of their first team?

Don't know what kind of team they have out but I hope they win so we don't have to listen to people going on about missed opportunities - it would surely be different if Italy had something to play for.

14/10/2009, 7:39 PM
Rolands looks in trouble, tough break for the lad. Looks like a crutiate.

Mad Moose
14/10/2009, 7:39 PM
How unlucky is Martin Rowlands? Sweet jesus.

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 7:41 PM
Bulgaria have put 5 past Georgia already, and its not even half time yet!

Glad they left that kind of form until now.

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 7:43 PM
So close Dunne

14/10/2009, 7:46 PM
I can't see us scoring 5.

(famous last words...?)

14/10/2009, 7:50 PM
N Hunt has been poor I think, good opportunity for him tonight to stake his claim for 3rd striking position but not doing it for me, possibly too similar to Keane to play along side him so might be doing him an injustice, just looks a championship player and no more.

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 7:51 PM
Make that 6 for the Bullys...

theworm2345
14/10/2009, 7:57 PM
Dunphy complimenting Stephen Hunt, ragging on Duff

IsMiseSean
14/10/2009, 8:04 PM
Miller is not doing to bad tonight... Great pass for duff earlier!

IsMiseSean
14/10/2009, 8:06 PM

Who is that guy doing the co-commentary??

14/10/2009, 8:07 PM
Is it just me or is the iraqgoals stream breaking up?

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 8:07 PM
Portugal have taken the lead against Malta - they'll be on their way to the playoffs as a seeded team then.

Slovenia have taken the lead as well to finally kill off Norn Iron, although they were all but out anyway. But Slovakia are winning in Poland and are still on couse to take that group.

Greece are winning their game to put a bit of pressure on the Swiss who are still at 0-0 wit Israel. Either of these look loke the pick of the seeded teams we could face.

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 8:09 PM
Who is that guy doing the co-commentary??

Tommy Smyth i think his name is, been on ESPN for years and I believe he is fairly legendary for really not having any idea what he is rambling on about. Ever.

14/10/2009, 8:10 PM
2-0 to Cyprus now..

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 8:11 PM
2-0 to Cyprus...

14/10/2009, 8:11 PM
Tommy Smyth i think his name is, been on ESPN for years and I believe he is fairly legendary for really not having any idea what he is rambling on about. Ever.

Should be on the RTE sports team so.

bitored
14/10/2009, 8:18 PM
This game would be a good cure for insomnia:(

Tipp Townie
14/10/2009, 8:24 PM
I've only just joined the action (thanks Eirambler)

Who replaced Rowlands? O'Shea?

theworm2345
14/10/2009, 8:25 PM
Looked like a handball on McShane to me

I've only just joined the action (thanks Eirambler)

Who replaced Rowlands? O'Shea?

Yes

14/10/2009, 8:26 PM
good save McShane, Best on for N Hunt

Tipp Townie
Definite penno

Eirambler
Stonewaller

Montenegrin
14/10/2009, 8:31 PM
Handball:rolleyes:.

14/10/2009, 8:33 PM
Handball:rolleyes:.

Good save you mean.

Montenegrin
14/10/2009, 8:37 PM
:cool:
We will concede in 90th minute.

ken foree
14/10/2009, 8:39 PM
:cool:
We will concede in 90th minute.

don't worry, so will we.

Montenegrin
14/10/2009, 8:39 PM
what a game. Worst **** i have ever watched in my life. We will beat nobody in the playoffs

Only two defensive games we played so far were against you when we were hosts and this one.Dont know why,really http://www.balkan-sport.net/forum/images/smilies/icon_ows.gif .

DotTV
14/10/2009, 8:41 PM
what a game. Worst **** i have ever watched in my life. We will beat nobody in the playoffs

So Russia must be fooked too, by your reckoning!

ronburgundy
14/10/2009, 8:42 PM
what a load of muck. we better pray for greece or we are going nowhere

SunnySweeney
14/10/2009, 8:43 PM

Tommy Smyth - resident soccer expert on the Extra Special Pronunciation Network

14/10/2009, 8:44 PM
I wouldnt read anyhing into tonights game. There wll be four countries praying they dont get dran against us on Monday, Sepp Blatter will fix the draw anyway so France and Portugal dont get us.

shaneker
14/10/2009, 8:44 PM

Yeah, what a disgrace, within 2 minutes of winning the World Champion's group.

Take the negativity and shove it up Dunphy's ****. Too many of this type on here at the moment.

Tipp Townie
14/10/2009, 8:46 PM
Utterly brutal game and the ESPN commentary to match.

But those of ye saying we've no chance in the play offs because of tonight - calm the feck down. We started 5 players short of our first XI

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 8:47 PM
Thankfully the team we put out in the playoffs will be a lot stronger than this one. But it just shows that the seeding of the play-offs matters little to us, we'll always up our game against the big teams and struggle against the lesser ones.

Would you rather be winning 6-2 against Georgia but be out of the tournament?

2 quick goals for Italy there, 2-2 now.

irishultra
14/10/2009, 8:50 PM
Liam Miller has proved tonight that he shouldn't be near the Ireland squad. Very poor team, how we got this far I'll never know. Fair dues to Trap.

Eirambler
14/10/2009, 8:50 PM
Thank feck that's over...

ronburgundy
14/10/2009, 8:51 PM
Yeah, what a disgrace, within 2 minutes of winning the World Champion's group.

Take the negativity and shove it up Dunphy's ****. Too many of this type on here at the moment.

get real and comment on whats in front of you, or is it now the fashionable thing to say wer brilliant and anyone that says otherwise is a dunphy lover??? italy are not a great team. they have topped the group easily by playing terribly

carloz
14/10/2009, 8:52 PM
Bloody pitiful performance. Shameful. ****ed away or chance of getting into the second pot for the draw for Euro 2012. Id say this performance will really worry France, Portugal, Greece and Russia. Shame.