View Full Version : Bray Tuesday
CF1989
11/10/2009, 11:06 AM
massive game now, there gona be no pushovers. bg win for them the other night, 2-0 down so they'll have confidence coming into it. we're te form team in the league apart from shams really, 1 defeat in 12 games in league and cup.
Boco back for it. maybe he'll come in for richie who i thought ne himself no harm on friday.
if we win we go 9 points ahead of bray, and more or less safe from the automatic drop.
sligofan4ever
11/10/2009, 11:11 AM
Massive game. Boco back just boosts our chances of 3 points if anything, altough as CF1989 said, Bray are no pushovers. I am confident we'll win, we have a sqaud good enough to do it and in this form we should do it. I'm really watching our for Pats results now, only a point ahead of us, we only need a drawto go ahead of them but obviously a win is what we really want. Prediction: 2-0 Rovers, Raf and Doyle.
rovers100%
11/10/2009, 1:25 PM
we need to win its very simple if we want to stay up ya got to beat the teams around ya and bray are bottom remember and they are there for a reason . imo they are the worst team in the league and if we come away with a point it will be 2 points spurned in hard times. they beat cork but cork are a team short of confidence at the minute and have big problems on their hands. we are playing with a lot of confidence at the minute and need to keep our good run going. for me it will be another win and can ya imagine if pats and galway lose.............
11/10/2009, 2:39 PM
If we don't beat Bray out the gate on Tuesday,we don't deserve to be in the Premier Division.
11/10/2009, 3:56 PM
Bray will be a tougher game than both Galway and Pat's. This is Brays last chance really to try and get a play-off spot. We should have enough to take it though. Does anyone know will Boco defintely be back?
11/10/2009, 4:17 PM
and can ya imagine if pats and galway lose.............I can't actually, cos they're not playing;).
11/10/2009, 5:01 PM
Benin just beat Ghana 1-0 so they've qualified for African Cup of Nations
http://goal.com/en/news/1863/world-cup-2010/2009/10/11/1554252/benin-1-0-ghana-benin-register-priceless-win-with-last
EDIT: they haven't qualified yet but there ain't much hope of Sudan catching them
11/10/2009, 5:09 PM
Benin just beat Ghana 1-0 so they've qualified for African Cup of NationsDooley running a bus? We can stay in the Congo, I heard he likes it there.
CF1989
11/10/2009, 5:11 PM
great win for them. we can watch him in january now :)
Rovers Maniac
12/10/2009, 1:57 PM
Massive game for us, we need the 3 points as our next 3 our away from home, a win will put us 2 points clear of pats and only 2 behind Galway. there is a lot of confidence in the team and hopefully with a bit of luck we will pull through.
Well Red
12/10/2009, 8:17 PM
Massive game tomorrow night and I do not know why Sligo Rovers website has no comment to make on this game. Surely every means we have should be used to build games up, this always happens, we get good reports after games but we get no build up. Does anyone else feel the same or am I missing something.
Four points from this weeks games would be massive, games are coming thick and fast glad we have a bit more of a squad now.
Massive game tomorrow night and I do not know why Sligo Rovers website has no comment to make on this game. Surely every means we have should be used to build games up, this always happens, we get good reports after games but we get no build up. Does anyone else feel the same or am I missing something.
Four points from this weeks games would be massive, games are coming thick and fast glad we have a bit more of a squad now.
I would like a bit more in that line too but AFAIK its all done on a part time, voluntary basis.
Hard to expect much more in fairness.
We have a poor record against Bray this season but from what I've seen in the last month we have improved a lot.
Am hopeful for a one nil win.
Rovers Maniac
13/10/2009, 12:21 AM
We really need to focus on this match, the 3 points is vital here with the away games coming up. We also need to knock on the head talk of cups semi's until we get over these next 3 hurdles.
CF1989
13/10/2009, 8:57 AM
just hit me there are only 5 games left!! needa win big time
13/10/2009, 11:47 AM
We'll win 2-0 or 2-1 and Raf will score first...no need to go now ya know the score.
Is the match on Ocean FM tonight ? and if so will it be available through their web site ?
sligofan4ever
13/10/2009, 3:53 PM
Is the match on Ocean FM tonight ? and if so will it be available through their web site ?
Just updates i'd say, Roo. But yes you should be able to get it on their website anyways.
OK cheers
lowroadrover
13/10/2009, 8:40 PM
1 - 0 to the rovers ,full time
13/10/2009, 8:45 PM
Un.real.
Blowin_Rover
13/10/2009, 9:19 PM
The 3 points are very welcome but felt we took our feet off the pedal and were far too casual tonight,made hard work of a game that should have been put to bed in the first half
rovers100%
13/10/2009, 9:30 PM
we looked very shaky and nervous but it was to be expected i suppose as was a real relegation battle. bray fought hard all credit to them. mccabe made the real difference after coming on. i thought our back 4 looked very dodgy even peers lost a lot in the air. ventre made a crucial clearance and a tackle late on. meehan is turning into a real super sub and doyle scores a few goals which is good for a winger. i thought ryan was brutal and i now lots wont agree but i dont think he is good enough. fair enough he made one great pass plus hit wodwork but he has no movement. i actually feel for bray i liked visiting their ground but prob not technically good enough. wonder would mccabe be interested in a spell in yeats county. cookie was smart enough to red stand giving out when fans complained because we had 4 consecutive corners which couldnt beat the fist man. does anyone else think we are woeful at set pieces and throws....
Rovers Maniac
13/10/2009, 9:33 PM
I thought it was a good win and it's great to be out of that playoff position. I thought we had had our chances when we scored, honestly at this stage it takes some character to win those type of games and i think we displayed it big time tonight and players should be proud of their efforts.
The game should have been over at half time but i think they came back into it in the second half. Meenan done well when he came on, great 3 points roll on Dundalk on Friday.
sligofan4ever
13/10/2009, 9:48 PM
Thank You Eoin Doyle :). That first half was great, we had the ball in the net once (out of how many chances) but it was called for offside or was taken too early. I tought Doyle,Cash,Ventre,Raff,O'Grady and Blinkhorn all had good games, Meenan and Marshall did very good. I'm liking Marshall more every time I see him, he has the potential to make it as a great player here, hes at the right club at minute IMO. He done exceptionally well to keep the ball to cross it in for Doyler's goal, but he still needs to take his time with crosses. I think Meenan added more to our game when he came on for Ryan, Ryan was better, but still not good enough, never seen someone wase so many consecutive corners. Anyways onwards and upwards, it feels good to be out of the play off spots dosen't it :).
Anyone know why Kendrick wasn't playing ?
Well Red
13/10/2009, 9:49 PM
Very good win and Bray are a very dogged team to beat, they never give up but rarely have I liked the type of football they play. Three clean sheets for our keeper, fair play to him and he really has come up trumps when we needed him. Cannot wait for the Oriel match but we will have to start taking more of the chances up front although it is very good that we are creating. Good crowd and great to see some badly needed cash coming in, nothing like a winning team, probably could average around two thousand if we were in a healthy position in the league :D
MMVIII
13/10/2009, 9:56 PM
Awful scrappy game. Dodgy at the back at times and Kelly was poor. Came out for I don't know how many balls and missed them everytime. We played superb in the first half. Awful unlucky not to hit the net. Cash, Boco, O' Grady and Blinkhorn all played very well. Marshall and Meenan played very well when they came on and its great to have options like that to come off the bench and help turn a game like they did.
Roll on Dundalk Friday. Hopefully, we'll have a big crowd at it seeing as we've won 3 games in a row. Well able to make it four. Mon the Bit O' Red :)
srfc1928
13/10/2009, 10:56 PM
Played some fantastic stuff in the first half and were really unlucky not to get a couple on the board. 2nd half was really scrappy and was a battle, we got lucky on a few occasions but we won the game and at this stage of the season 3pts is all that matters. Great crowd for a wet Tuesday night.
Rovers Maniac
14/10/2009, 12:07 AM
We were very lucky as far as I could see.
Kendrick should have been starting, bit of a joke really.
We are still in massive trouble.
Kendrick must have been injured? Sure he was not on the bench even.
CF1989
14/10/2009, 9:03 AM
big win, its all about getting results at this stage of the season, a few months ago we would have drew or lost that game.
thought all the players put in a good shift. blinky again flawless when he got the ball, so strong and powerful. raff put in a lot of work aswell. two of them really earning their money up there!
boco only would have came back from Benin monday afternoon/evening and he was still running up and down the wing for 90minutes and put in a great performance. what a man!
looking forward to friday now and derry next week. we'll need to get at least one win away from home now, 3 tough away games coming up.
well done rovers
sligored
14/10/2009, 10:03 AM
It was a dogged performance from bray and we got a well deserved 3 points. Also personally thought that boco looked shattered but did his best as always.
I think Meenan deserves a chance to start friday night if kendrick is not back as the game passed by richie ryan(not mentioning his corners).It was like back to 2 months ago when there was no protection in front of the back 4. Ventre has done this job very well for the last few weeks.
We are going to need to up our game again if we are going to get an essential minimum of 3 points from the 3 away games in dundalk, derry and bohs. 3 points then at home to drogs and 42 points should ensure we avoid playoffs.
14/10/2009, 12:10 PM
Good game last night, both sides played well and created good chances. Sligo had much the better of the 1st half and should have been in front but with it being 0-0 in the 1st half we grew in confidence and created some really good chances and were unlucky not to take the lead, i think we should have had a peno as well when Kelly was pulled back when he tried to turn. The winning goal came from yet another Bray defensive error, why Massey tried to keep the ball in play is a mystery, shocking defending at the back post as well.
Great crowd and fair play to all who turned up, all the best for the rest of the season lads (apart from the cup !!!! ha)
showgies
14/10/2009, 1:38 PM
Good game last night, both sides played well and created good chances. Sligo had much the better of the 1st half and should have been in front but with it being 0-0 in the 1st half we grew in confidence and created some really good chances and were unlucky not to take the lead, i think we should have had a peno as well when Kelly was pulled back when he tried to turn. The winning goal came from yet another Bray defensive error, why Massey tried to keep the ball in play is a mystery, shocking defending at the back post as well.
Great crowd and fair play to all who turned up, all the best for the rest of the season lads (apart from the cup !!!! ha)
I actually thought ye had two good shouts for penalties, the other was from a McCabe run but the ref played an advantage. As for our goal, the ball looked like it had gone out before Dean retrived it.
CF1989
14/10/2009, 2:01 PM
dont think the ball went out, the defender kept it in
spare a thought for the bray centre half who was subbed after 15 minutes. had an absolute shocker, he was shi**in himself and didnt know where he was
I actually thought ye had two good shouts for penalties, the other was from a McCabe run but the ref played an advantage. As for our goal, the ball looked like it had gone out before Dean retrived it.
Oh yeah i forgot about McCabe's run, in fairness he got the shot away and it was clearned off the line so i'd have no complaints about that one, but defo for the pull on Jake Kelly's jersey, stone waller for me. I was close enough in line with the dead ball line and think the ball was still in... JUST ! stupid defending to even think about stopping the ball there on such a wet surface anyway. He should have put it in the car park !
roversman
14/10/2009, 2:03 PM
The winning goal came from yet another Bray defensive error, why Massey tried to keep the ball in play is a mystery, shocking defending at the back post as well.
the ball was out for a corner another bad decision by the ref and linesman
they gave a few wrong decisions
Rovers Maniac
14/10/2009, 2:23 PM
Ya deffo a big shout for that Bray peno with the ball coming across the box, i had a bad view of it as was up the other end so it was hard to tell, Our goal i had a decent enough view and the Bray player kept it in, i am not sure what he was trying to do.
sligofan4ever
14/10/2009, 3:36 PM
Ye had one one decent shout from a penalty from what I seen, but ye were lucky O' Connor wasn't sent off after he clattered into Raff outside the box in the first half, only got a yellow.
I thought Bray were a very honest team and every player put in a great effort for the ninety minutes especially the number 14 at the back. Match should have been all over at half time but in the second half when ye played some good football ye deserved something.
Even if ye won last night I don't think ye would have avoided bottom place but I think events off the field will see ye finish in the play off and hopefully survive.
bingoballs
14/10/2009, 6:55 PM
Officials were shocking again. We should have been out of sight after half time but allowed Bray back into it. Great 3 points nonetheless and big step in the right direction. Happy days. Hopefully we can gain some revenge friday night from the last time we played Dunalk