07/10/2009, 4:56 PM
what players will play

Your the one with the news, you tell us! :o

LK37oldskool
07/10/2009, 7:23 PM
Is this another wum effort?

07/10/2009, 8:50 PM
nope, its happening. nov 1st tickets on ticketmaster, and at the game on friday and a raffle to play in the liverpool team on ebay from tomorrow i think. full liverpool team to be announced over the weekend

redron
07/10/2009, 9:59 PM
Tickets for the match and post-match dinner in the Strand Hotel will be on sale tomorrow.
Check Ticketmaster (http://www.ticketmaster.ie/Limerick-37-FC-tickets/artist/962129) for details.
Or buy your tickets from the Club at the match on friday.
(Also available from Ticketmaster outlets.)

Kick off will be at 5:00pm.

Match Prices:

Seated €25
Adult Standing €20
U16 Standing €10
Family Ticket €40 (2 Adults + 2 U16s in special family area)

Dinner Price: €50

There is also an auction for a subs place on the Liverpool Legends team.
Check eBay (http://cgi.ebay.ie/Play-for-Liverpool-Legends-in-Limerick_W0QQitemZ170391907337QQcmdZViewItemQQptZL H_DefaultDomain_205?hash=item27ac262c09&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14) for details.

Pass the word around.
All details on the Club's website. It will be updated as things progress.
http://www.limerickfc.ie

chippydevlin
08/10/2009, 3:00 AM
Bray are playing them on the 17th of October and the ticket prices are far fairer for a game of this type - Adults €15 and Child/OAP €8 also available on ticketmaster.iehttp://www.braywanderers.ie/typo3temp/pics/227b6ae8f1.jpg

Mister Ed
08/10/2009, 6:32 AM
i think your right chippydevlin, €15 seems a bit fairer than the €20 limerick are asking for, it just goes to show how desperate limerick need the money, anyway its a bit much having to pay that amount and watch the match in a sh*t hole like jackman park

08/10/2009, 8:34 AM
I wouldn't say its that they are desperate more that it is the only fundraiser this season due to the matches in the summer falling through so its the only way of getting in extra funds. Its steep in comparison but with the crowds we have been getting recently its needed. If more people went to league games they could prob afford to charge a little less.

Monkfish
08/10/2009, 9:44 AM
i think your right chippydevlin, €15 seems a bit fairer than the €20 limerick are asking for, it just goes to show how desperate limerick need the money, anyway its a bit much having to pay that amount and watch the match in a sh*t hole like jackman park

Dont go so. Simple, even for you.

Monkfish
08/10/2009, 9:46 AM
ticket prices are far fairer for a game of this type - ]

Not to worry, a few years in the 1st Div without the likes of Rovers. Bohs and Pats filling your coffers every second week and you'll be looking for an extra fiver. :cool:

Link to ebay. One bid already!!!!!
http://cgi.ebay.ie/Play-for-Liverpool-Legends-in-Limerick_W0QQitemZ170391907337QQcmdZViewItemQQptZL H_DefaultDomain_205?hash=item27ac262c09&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

redron
08/10/2009, 1:59 PM
Bray are playing them on the 17th of October and the ticket prices are far fairer for a game of this type - Adults €15 and Child/OAP €8 also available on ticketmaster.ie

I think Limerick are charging the same as Drogheda did for their Legends game.
The capacity of the Carlisle Grounds is about 2000 more than Jackman Park. If Limerick had that extra capacity I'd say we'd be able to match the lower ticket price. It's a simple economy of scale! Any suggestions for an alternative venue in Limerick to host it?

08/10/2009, 3:03 PM
I thought from the heading on this thread it was Limerick FC playing the legends not a Limerick selection. I was thinking Limerick FC would give them a serious beating with their fitness over the oldies.

redron
08/10/2009, 3:17 PM
I thought from the heading on this thread it was Limerick FC playing the legends not a Limerick selection. I was thinking Limerick FC would give them a serious beating with their fitness over the oldies.

The plan at the moment is to have mostly Limerick FC players with a few guests in either half. It's an opportunity to showcase the talent in the club in front of a bigger audience than we'd normally have... So, that's the plan!

chippydevlin
08/10/2009, 3:37 PM
What Liverpool Legends are playing on the day?

08/10/2009, 4:18 PM
The plan at the moment is to have mostly Limerick FC players with a few guests in either half. It's an opportunity to showcase the talent in the club in front of a bigger audience than we'd normally have... So, that's the plan!

Cool throw me down as guest number 1 :p:D.

Hopefully the night will leave a good impression on the people that go to it.

08/10/2009, 4:21 PM

TBA.

Hopefully it will be a similar lineout to the one mentioned in the main forum that played against Drogheda in september.

Monkfish
08/10/2009, 5:15 PM

Il be on the bench if I can get the funds to be winning bidder on ebay! :)

The plan is to come on with 10 mins left, wack the ball passed brucie in goals and celebrate my og by whipping off my Liverpool top to reveal my 'won it 3 times without killing anyone Man U tee) :D

bluepowers
09/10/2009, 10:27 PM
Confirmed to appear for Liverpool Legends so far are Ronnie Whelan, John Aldrige, Don Hutchinson, Phil Babb and Michael Thomas.
More Legend names will be confirmed over the coming days.

4tothefloor
09/10/2009, 11:11 PM
Match Prices:

Seated €25
Adult Standing €20
U16 Standing €10
Family Ticket €40 (2 Adults + 2 U16s in special family area)

Dinner Price: €50

A bit pricey that. Ye'd probably get more in the gate if it was priced lower.
Does the €50 dinner price include the match ticket?

LK37oldskool
10/10/2009, 12:31 PM
A bit pricey that. Ye'd probably get more in the gate if it was priced lower.
Does the €50 dinner price include the match ticket?

Its pricey alright but nearly half the tickets have been sold already and they only went on sale Thursday afternoon and with very little publicity.its a sure sell out.

pimpong
10/10/2009, 1:14 PM
Its pricey alright but nearly half the tickets have been sold already and they only went on sale Thursday afternoon and with very little publicity.its a sure sell out.

what is the actual capacity of jackman park....

11/10/2009, 2:50 AM
my post seems to have mysteriously vanished :rolleyes: so ill say it again, chippy, please go away and stop trawling our site to see the far better bunch of legends we have, then you have, and also do you have permission to use the official Liverpool FC crest??

for those of you who think that watching limerick is expensive then a few sites

www.theaa.com
www.irishrail.ie and on yer bikes

half the tickets gone allready with only a few hours of non promotiion work done.

11/10/2009, 2:51 AM

as the man said, half the tickets are gone allready

Monkfish
11/10/2009, 11:19 PM
Ye'd probably get more in the gate if it was priced lower.

Sweet jebus look whos back! :eek:
She allowing out for this one? :)

redron
12/10/2009, 3:02 PM

The current capacity is about 2500.
I believe the club is looking into getting this increased by a few hundred. I don't know how likely it is that it would be increased.

redron
12/10/2009, 5:33 PM

Confirmed names for the Liverpool Legends team so far (according to friday night's match programme):
Ronnie Whelan, John Aldridge, Phil Babb, Jason McAteer, Jan Molby, Don Hutchinson, Michael Thomas, Bob Boulder, Gary Gillespie.
Still a few names to be added to that yet.

What's your lineup at Bray like?
I believe Grobelaar won't be available for the Limerick match, which is very disappointing. But the names we've got so far are (mostly) pretty good.

kev08
12/10/2009, 5:37 PM
Confirmed names for the Liverpool Legends team so far (according to friday night's match programme):

Ronnie Whelan, John Aldridge, Phil Babb, Jason McAteer, Jan Molby, Don Hutchinson, Michael Thomas, Bob Boulder, Gary Gillespie.

I believe Grobelaar won't be available for the Limerick match, which is very disappointing. But the names we've got so far are (mostly) pretty good.
if we beat them monkfish will say we will win 1st div next year:rolleyes:

LK37oldskool
12/10/2009, 7:53 PM

Who the hell is Bob Boulder? was he a sub for the pool in a match during the 80s? or do you mean Bob the Builder? :D

Monkfish
12/10/2009, 9:08 PM
Who the hell is Bob Boulder?

Bob Bolder has more European cup medals than Fernando ladyboy Torres for a start.
Sheffield Wednesday fans of a certain age will know him too. Jebus! you out there? :)

Monkfish
12/10/2009, 9:11 PM
if we beat them monkfish will say we will win 1st div next year:rolleyes:

Ah ya, our 3 pronged attack of Mick Galwey, Ciaran Carey and Derek McCarthy will lay waste to all next year.

13/10/2009, 12:21 AM
Maybe john barnes might follow mcateer over seen as they both got the sack from tranmere.

Monkfish
13/10/2009, 8:45 AM
Maybe john barnes might follow mcateer over .

We could have have him and Yellow have a Rap-off at Half time?

alidiei
13/10/2009, 4:54 PM
We could have have him and Yellow have a Rap-off at Half time?
yellow dosent rap:rolleyes:

lfc at heart
13/10/2009, 5:27 PM
so does the winner of the ebay bid actually get to play with the Liverpool Legends

inmoscow
13/10/2009, 9:04 PM
The safe capacity of jackman is 2200 people,however,that was before seats were installed(which reduced capacity)It is based on the size of exit,and how many people can get out in a given time.Also considered is the hard surface area(grass and gravel does not count)The capacity should be agreed with building control unit at limerick fire service.

4tothefloor
14/10/2009, 10:55 PM
Sweet jebus look whos back! :eek:
She allowing out for this one? :)
Giving Jackman a complete miss this season, don't have the time for it. Won't know if I can make this one until closer the time, so if the tickets are gone they're gone. How come there isn't a Manc legends team coming over Kev? I'm sure the Limerick public would love to see a selection of the legends that went on that 26 year title-less run show their skills :confused:

bluepowers
15/10/2009, 11:27 PM
might get 300 in jackman ?

Monkfish
17/10/2009, 3:06 AM
How come there isn't a Manc legends team coming over Kev? :

Too busy with the new jobs of managing teams. Not like the Liverpool crowd whinging in the studio at half time of every channel which show any type of game.

''I fink he shud hav got a goal andy''

''shut up Jamie''

Beach ball managed by Man Utd legend Steve Bruce 1
Liverpool 0

hahahahahahaah :D:D:D

bluewhitearmy
19/10/2009, 6:11 PM
Can anyone tell me why is there guest players?
What have these celebs that will be playing ever done for us?
Surely it should be just our lads?
Just my opinion obviously club have some reason for it.

19/10/2009, 8:15 PM
Can anyone tell me why is there guest players?
What have these celebs that will be playing ever done for us?
Surely it should be just our lads?
Just my opinion obviously club have some reason for it.

These guests will be there to help bring in the crowd. Its not a serious match, its just a bit of craic so there is no harm in having a few known guests playing for Limerick if it means people night come along to see them try play a bit of ball. If it was a full Limerick FC team vs legends i would expect Limerick to stuff them.

bluewhitearmy
19/10/2009, 9:18 PM
Can you name one local celeb that would make anyone more come?
They will come for Liverpool not some muppet ex rugby player or something like that.
Its Limerick FC it should be our players if any of our lads miss it for someone thats never even been to a game it will be a disgrace.

Captain2007
19/10/2009, 9:20 PM
Katie Taylor was a guest for the Bray game, Nicky Byrne was also lined up but for obvious reasons could not make it, just for your Information the Liverpool; lineup was as follows.......
1.Bob Bolder, 2.Rob Jones 3. Phill Babb 4. Phil Neal. 5. Gary Gillespie 6. Mark Wright.7.Mark Walters 8. Jan molby 9. Ian Rush 10. Gary McAllister.11 David Speedie, 12.Micheal Thomas. 13 Marc Kenny 14. Tony Cousins, 2-2 was the result very entertaining game, crowd was approx, 2,900 and there was a Function after which was sold out at 1,000 euro a table of 10.

19/10/2009, 9:54 PM
Its Limerick FC it should be our players if any of our lads miss it for someone thats never even been to a game it will be a disgrace.
Calm down.

It's a fundraising event, not a competitive fixture. It'd be a disgrace if any of our lasd missed the game in Longford as a result of an injury sustained in this game.

bluewhitearmy
19/10/2009, 10:00 PM
A lot of limerick fans agree with me.
Why involve people that would not have even known if the club had folded earlier in the year.
Just wanna know why involve em?

Monkfish
19/10/2009, 11:48 PM

Sean Sabhat, Frank McCourt, Dicky Harris and Jim Kemmy.

Feck it anyway :(

kevin02
20/10/2009, 8:39 AM
any idea who won the ebay auction

bluewhitearmy
22/10/2009, 11:40 AM
Mark Lawrenson and Phil Neal have been added to the list of confirmed Liverpool Legends.

22/10/2009, 11:57 AM
Just wanna know why involve em?

To raise awareness of the game around the city and make it more inclusive. It wouldn't happen if we were playing an actual contemporary Liverpool selection just as it didn't happen when we played Scunthorpe or the Leeds selection that time. It's very much a fundraiser as opposed to even a particularly competitive friendly. Hardly worth you getting worked up over it?

22/10/2009, 12:39 PM
They will come for Liverpool not some muppet ex rugby player or something like that.

Did it ever occur to you that some "muppet ex-rugby player or something like that" would probably help to raise the profile of this. The main aim of this is to make a few bob...not let the lads in the squad brag about having kicked an ageing scouse git in the shin. Which would you prefer; a not so serious Limerick XV that included say, the likes of Peter Clohessy, Keith Wood, Gary Kirby or Andy Lee and made a right few quid, or the regular squad who wouldn't attract as much. It's about money-pure and simple, and if ex rugby playing muppets, priests in skirts, or the McCarthy Dundon clan play on the night and make the club as much money as possible, then everyone will be suitably happy.

bluewhitearmy
22/10/2009, 4:37 PM
Oh yes because the megastar celebs we have in Limerick will really draw in the crowds.
Who will come to jackman to see any of the people mentioned play? They will have as much interest in them as in our squad.
Great the way we managed to annoy the players though and its the lads themselves that told me they are not happy about it.