View Full Version : The Title Decider Friday Oct 2nd

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

OneForTheFuture
02/10/2009, 2:39 PM
So who going to win tonight ?
I reckon Sham's 1-0 Bohs

6-3....easily.

6 Yella & 3 Red cards that is... 3-1 Bohs (goals)

02/10/2009, 3:23 PM
I would love to see a fast-paced, high scoring game packed with entertainment and incident but alas I fear this may well go the way of so many similar crunch games and become a dour struggle in which the players are gripped by a fear of losing and proceed to play percentage football which will leave the sell-out crowd and (hopefully) health television audience unsatisfied.

I think if Bohemians do win, as I have a sneaking feeling they will, then it will be the league as good as wrapped up. On the other hand if Shamrock Rovers picked up three points then it would still be game on.

I couldn't care how entertaining the game is, as long as we get a result. While I want a win, a repeat of the 0-0 last time would be fine. We don't lose any ground with 6 games to play.

The tv audience is significantly weakened by the timing of the game. When Real Madrid play Barcelona, that is the only game on in Spain during that time. When we play the Northsiders, most others are playing. :rolleyes: It doesn't make sense.

the-blue-harp
02/10/2009, 4:06 PM
is this game on telly tonight? thought i heard it was on, but cannot see it listed anywhere...

02/10/2009, 4:23 PM
On TG4 at 7.45, iirc.

Weatherman
02/10/2009, 6:12 PM
is the match on any website?? wont be near a tv!

apo11o
02/10/2009, 6:14 PM
Shams to win , 1 0.. soft peno again:(

srfc1928
02/10/2009, 6:36 PM
Shams to win , 1 0.. soft peno again:(
If they do get a penalty, Twigg seems to hit them down the middle

Gareth
02/10/2009, 6:40 PM
we have the teams in now...

brianw82
02/10/2009, 6:46 PM
Wonder if any of them will be blaming the Cork ref after the game if they lose?

CuanaD
02/10/2009, 6:48 PM
is the match on any website?? wont be near a tv!

http://www.tg4.tv/

it's just started
:ball:

Tony Soprano
02/10/2009, 6:50 PM
is there a radio commentary anywhere ?

First
02/10/2009, 6:56 PM
I really hope this is a good game for the neutral. Come on the ref !

Tony Soprano
02/10/2009, 7:01 PM
is there no radio station doing commentary ?

First
02/10/2009, 7:03 PM
Funny question from a mate, do FIFA know about the LOI rule that no team is allowed to have more than 3 players touch the ball consecutively.:)

brianw82
02/10/2009, 7:15 PM
Liam Brady in the crowd. He must've heard there was a big game on.

First
02/10/2009, 7:27 PM
It isn't. It was fiarly scrappy hoof ball for a while. Bohs are starting to put their foot on the ball and knock around now though. Still not great from a neutral perspective. Grerat atmosphere mind and it is great to see such a big corwd at a loi game at this stage in the season. Never saw that before.

Its poor standard , but the atmosphere is coming across really well on the TV. It's a pity the players look frightened to perform.

02/10/2009, 8:22 PM
It does look and sound like a LOI game should, lots of passion, noise, Alan Kelly's hair looks great and Dessie Baker giving out to everyone. I love Fridays.

02/10/2009, 8:32 PM
It does look and sound like a LOI game should, lots of passion, noise, Alan Kelly's hair looks great and Dessie Baker giving out to everyone. I love Fridays.

Don't forget scumbags throwing missiles at Match Officials live on National TV

peadar1987
02/10/2009, 8:32 PM
Linesman has been hit by a bottle thrown by the Rovers supporters after the ref (rightly) gave Bohs a penalty. Luckily he seems to be okay.

02/10/2009, 8:43 PM
Loads of footage of rovers fans after the match. Have you ever seen such a worn out gene pool

I'm taping the coverage to take with me to College on Monday - as it'll be useful source material for a unit we're doing in Earth Studies all about Evolution.

We're studying Neanderthal Man and the Missing Link at the moment...

Sicuani
02/10/2009, 8:59 PM
i wonder if Shamrock charged the fat guy(the one who thought it was fun to paint himself) for two seats.Dulux must have made a killing.

02/10/2009, 9:21 PM
I'm taping the coverage to take with me to College on Monday - as it'll be useful source material for a unit we're doing in Earth Studies all about Evolution.

We're studying Neanderthal Man and the Missing Link at the moment...
Is the loud booing and monkey sounds directed at Ndo worthy of special mention or does it happen at every ground?

02/10/2009, 9:22 PM
Is the loud booing and monkey sounds directed at N'Doa worthy of special mention or does it happen at every ground?

I heard the booing, obviously completely missed the monkey noises? When was this?

02/10/2009, 9:23 PM
At least twice in the second half, around 60mins

apo11o
02/10/2009, 9:33 PM
That gene pool only exists between the m50 and the irish sea, thats the Irish Sea.

Rovers Maniac
02/10/2009, 9:37 PM
I thought it was a good game to be fair and really enjoyed it. Fair play to Shams they got stuck in and fought and battled for that result. Bohs controlled the game but i thought Shams were always more dangerous around the goal. Should be an interesting run in now, i suppose it's Shams to lose, good advert for the league esp last 12 minutes, well done all.

sonofstan
02/10/2009, 9:42 PM
well done all.

Including the bottle thrower...

sheao
02/10/2009, 9:44 PM
Great game tonight, fantastic atmosphere just what this league should be about.
Massive win for rovers,but i would'nt rule out Bohs yet. This is going to be one great end to the season .

hoops1
02/10/2009, 10:28 PM
[QUOTE=sonofstan;1243036]Including the bottle thrower...[/QUOTE

That was Jason Byrnes bottle he forgot to bring it out with him in the second half . Bohs can consider themselves unlucky not to get a point. They lost the battle the war is not over yet

Sicuani
03/10/2009, 8:19 AM
Don't forget scumbags throwing missiles at Match Officials live on National TV
Yes it is sad to see the English disease over here.

Dalymountrower
03/10/2009, 8:51 AM
Obviously looked a better game on TV than in the ground. First half was absolutely poison from both sides, nervousness rather than intensity. Second half was better, Bohs tried to pass it but moves invariably broke down with either an error or a hoof into touch from the Rovers defence.
It was always going to be a deflected goal off someones arse that was going to win it and sure enough.....

Stlll all to play for, if Hoops dont beat Derry next week and we beat Drogs at home we`re back on top. I would say this race will go down to the last game of the season, Hoops away to Pats and us away to Bray.

Da Real Rover
03/10/2009, 9:53 AM
Yes it is sad to see the English disease over here.
Bottle throwing is an English disease?

Anyway it was a desperate game, awful cagey with nobody willing to give an inch.
But the crowd and ground looked great with a cracking atmosphere.

Da Real Rover
03/10/2009, 9:54 AM
Is the loud booing and monkey sounds directed at Ndo worthy of special mention or does it happen at every ground?
Monkey sounds?
What monkey sounds?

HulaHoop
03/10/2009, 11:06 AM
Monkey sounds?
What monkey sounds?

It seems a few are mistaking the "Hoops Hoops" chant for monkey noises. Ndo was booed (because he's an ex player) but I certainly didn't hear any monkey noises.

Sicuani
03/10/2009, 11:13 AM
Bottle throwing is an English disease?
Anyway it was a desperate game, awful cagey with nobody willing to give an inch.
But the crowd and ground looked great with a cracking atmosphere.
"fans" causing problems at football games.coins,cigarette lighters are among other items thrown.

03/10/2009, 12:06 PM
It seems a few are mistaking the "Hoops Hoops" chant for monkey noises. Ndo was booed (because he's an ex player) but I certainly didn't hear any monkey noises.

Then in the midst of the loud boos for Ndo when he got on the ball at least on 2 occasions, there was a chant of Hoops Hoops Hoops coming from the same area?
It's possible I suppose.

03/10/2009, 12:08 PM
Obviously looked a better game on TV than in the ground.

Yeah it was an awful game. Very few chances on either side.

Da Real Rover
03/10/2009, 1:12 PM
"fans" causing problems at football games.coins,cigarette lighters are among other items thrown.
But there have been problems at LoI ground for decades.
Why is it exclusively English when in reality the worst Hooliganism in Europe is in Poland.
Not to mention what its like in South America with the barras bravas.

03/10/2009, 5:20 PM
Feckin Premier Division bias. :rolleyes:

Anybody at the game want to back up/challenge HulaHoop's comments on the alleged monkey noises? Cos otherwise, the posts get deleted on the basis of unsubstantiated rumour.

03/10/2009, 5:27 PM

Anybody at the game want to back up/challenge HulaHoop's comments on the alleged monkey noises? Cos otherwise, the posts get deleted on the basis of unsubstantiated rumour.

Didn't notice anything myself. Didn't hear it mentioned by anyone either so unless it was one or two and you could only hear it on the Rovers side...

eL Bettor
03/10/2009, 9:56 PM
I was fairly sure I heard monkey noises on TV when Ndo was on the ball. unless they saved shouting "hoops, hoops" only for when Ndo had the ball or exercised an unusual quick fire booing in the form of "boo boo boo boo" rather than the long drawn out "Boooooo" that is the usual.

03/10/2009, 10:03 PM
I was fairly sure I heard monkey noises on TV when Ndo was on the ball. unless they saved shouting "hoops, hoops" only for when Ndo had the ball or exercised an unusual quick fire booing in the form of "boo boo boo boo" rather than the long drawn out "Boooooo" that is the usual.

As I said I heard nothing but apparantly its been mentioned on Rovers own forum now in the form of (at least) one Rovers fan condeming those making the noises. I'd feel dirty if I went on that forum so maybe one of the Rovers fans on here could comment.

Quadruple1928
03/10/2009, 11:17 PM

:rolleyes: Hardly, your own fans have said it on your forum.

stovelid
04/10/2009, 1:34 AM

He was booed. (hint: oo-oo-oo) No way did I hear monkey chants. I like Joe. Did a good job for us last season. He was booed to put him off his game. And it worked,

We;re all LOI supporters. Dirty washing comes to light pretty quickly via forums a-la elephant song. If anybody had sang monkey songs, a substantial amount of the our support would be up in arms, as you well know. Why not review the game incidents when the bitterness has died down?

HulaHoop
04/10/2009, 8:10 PM
Highlights from behind the goal are now up on vimeo.

http://vimeo.com/6894827

Crowd was electric :D

04/10/2009, 10:18 PM
Well done Rovers. Delighted for Jason Byrne, not because he plays for Bohs, just despise him.

05/10/2009, 8:31 PM
the atmosphere comes across brilliantly on the video compared to the telly!

Buller
05/10/2009, 9:08 PM

Was right beside it. Just booing, definately didn't hear monkeys noises.

Quadruple1928
06/10/2009, 12:14 AM
Was right beside it. Just booing, definately didn't hear monkeys noises.

Listen to this then at 1:32:54 http://www.tg4.tv/default.aspx?p=channels/SportArchive&a=69821

06/10/2009, 12:49 AM
Here it is, incontrovertibly. Didn't hear it first time round. Despicable.

0fretxesAwI