View Full Version : Another Full House At Tallaght

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Buller
28/09/2009, 6:18 PM
A sensible contribution?

There are lads on here saying how great it is that Rovers are getting big crowds and are top of the League. How did they do it? By not paying their debts...4c for every euro they owed is what they paid and now lads want to clap them on the back because 18 months later they are surviving without passing around the begging bowl...it is a disgrace.

Whats to stop the rest of the clubs doing the same thing?

:eek: Are you perhaps the GAA foot.ie undercover operative by any chance?

fergalr
28/09/2009, 9:09 PM
Whats to stop the rest of the clubs doing the same thing?

Yeah - what's to stop the rest of the clubs getting a 6,000 sell out?

Dixie Dean
28/09/2009, 9:21 PM
I presume you mean Rovers selling it to young kids for €175 a pop just to be the mascot and get a pair of socks and togs.....Rubbish.

I think that sack of spuds on your shoulder is weighing you down.

28/09/2009, 11:49 PM
Worst boycott ever

Please post all issues on the failure to cleanse foot.ie of Rovers fans on Sheridan's visitor page.

29/09/2009, 1:16 AM
Worst boycott ever

oi! thats my line Langer! :D

peadar1987
29/09/2009, 11:20 AM
Ah shure it will be even better for SDCC next year when Shels move in. It will be great, a "home" for Shels after all these months.

So where are you coming from? What club do you support? Do you have a degree in economics or marketing? Or are you just an angry 14 year old who was bullied by a LOI supporter?

Drogman.
29/09/2009, 11:27 AM
Ah shure it will be even better for SDCC next year when Shels move in. It will be great, a "home" for Shels after all these months.

Haha some man! Seeing as you keep banging on about this 4c in the the Euro, then you must have been affected by it?

A lot of people are talking about waiting for the novelty factor to wear off with Tallaght. I don't think it'll wear off as quickly as it has with other clubs, for the fact that the matchday experience (Am takling personally here from visiting the stadium) is much better than what is offered in any other ground in the league. The buzz around the ground and in the hotel bar before the games we've played Rovers in were electric and you had the sense that this wasn't the normal, run of the mill LOI game.

I've no love of Rovers, but I have to put my hands up and say that what's being done in Tallaght is fantastic. And it makes me laugh so much when I read the bitter/jealous comments from the majority of Bohs fans on their forum about how their rivals are getting on.

If they spent half of time trying to sort out their own club rather than looking for another bitter swipe at Rovers then they probably would be in a better financial shape at the moment.

eelmonster
29/09/2009, 11:29 AM
They don't know anything about LoI 'soccer' where he's from, 25 years is a long time on the mountain. Still, let him shake his stick, it's a bit of fun.

29/09/2009, 12:07 PM
The ground was built by the SDCC. The club such as it is at the moment - in particular, the sell-out crowds - was built by Rovers' fans.

LOL at the notion that you're trying to give Bohs moral superiority because Rovers sold their ground and squandered the proceeds whereas Bohs didn't.

fergalr
29/09/2009, 12:37 PM
Utter drivel. I have seen so many inaccuracies crammed into a single post.

I see you are new to this forum so you may not be aware that you're rehashing issues that have been debated and discussed in depth alreeady. I suggest you spend a couple of hours looking back over some previous threads to get yourself up to speed.

Oh ... and any update on your "rock the LOI" news?
http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1240105&postcount=113

Drogman.
29/09/2009, 2:00 PM
Its fantastic alright but lets put Tallaght in context. It was built by the SDCC, who should be getting the bulk of the credit. They are the landlord and Rovers have no say whatsoever in the running of the stadium.

Bohs on the other hand own their stadium. I think you will find that a lot of the anger stems for the below obversation.

Bohs are like the man who went out and worked hard all his life, building up his family home and developing his family, always paying his way and living in his own house. He can choose to do whatever he pleases with his own property. He has a disdain for his neighbour who has none of his traits.

Rovers the neighbour who did nothing with the most of his life. Sold whatever assets he had and squandered the proceeds, refused to pay off his debts and ended up at the mercy of the courts of the land, where he wins an unexpected, unwarranted reprieve. He then applys for a council house, which he rents for way below the market price. He then feels the need to gloat about how well it has worked out for him while his neighbour struggles due to the recession.

Haha, I think that's the most ridiclous post I've ever seen on this forum, and that takes a lot!!!

So what if they rent it?? My god you'd think it was a crime for a club not to own their own ground. Rovers haven't been angels in the past, but lets be honest, they as well as Drogs, Cork have taken advantage of the Examinership route and now they have something in place which looks like that it might break the normal LOI trend of crap stadia, crap marketing and crap management.

I bet you your house that the Bohs board would give their right hand to be in the position Rovers are now in. I mean sure isn't that what they wanted to do with the "Harristown project".

29/09/2009, 4:45 PM
is that tipptops fella going on to every thread just trying to annoy people?

29/09/2009, 4:47 PM
Its fantastic alright but lets put Tallaght in context. It was built by the SDCC, who should be getting the bulk of the credit. They are the landlord and Rovers have no say whatsoever in the running of the stadium.

Bohs on the other hand own their stadium. I think you will find that a lot of the anger stems for the below obversation.

Who's angry though? The rest of the league, or one club whose raison d'etre is to condemn SRFC?

That club don't own their own stadium, neither do Drogheda, neither do Cork, and a number of others. Are you going to criticise all of them, or begrudge us for finally having a home to play in?

Tallaght is an enormous place, even by Dublin standards. It's a huge football place. It wants and needs a team in the LOI. This year, it has it on it's doorstep, in the best ground in the league. Everything that fans want is there. They're unlikely to turn their back on us anytime soon.

Knappagh Red
29/09/2009, 5:09 PM
What is annoying is the arrogance of the Shamrock people, especially since 90% of them are bandwagon jumpers, I admire the hardcore 600 fans they have and what they have done to turn their club around, but they do get preferential treatment by the media, referees, FAI, and government which the Shamrock people are slow to acknowledge

29/09/2009, 5:14 PM
Bohs are like the man who went out and worked hard all his life, building up his family home and developing his family, always paying his way and living in his own house. He can choose to do whatever he pleases with his own property. He has a disdain for his neighbour who has none of his traits.

Including selling it twice :D

29/09/2009, 5:18 PM
What is annoying is the arrogance of the Shamrock people

Wrong

especially since 90% of them are bandwagon jumpers,

Wrong

the hardcore 600 fans they have

Wrong

but they do get preferential treatment by the media, referees, FAI, and government

Wrong

Maybe you'll get something right next time.

HulaHoop
29/09/2009, 5:37 PM

Perhaps you should look into the history of how Bohs came to own Dalymount Park. Maybe then you would realise how ridiculous your post is.

29/09/2009, 5:39 PM
I feel myself that Shamrock Rover's upturn in fortunes has occurred since a group of fans seized control of the club from self serving blazers and started to run their business in a responsible and proper manner. I have no love for Rovers but they didnt have the option of selling the family silver to bail themselves out time and again. Where they are today may have some bases in the fact that their Brand is, like it or not, due to their history and tradition the biggest in LoI. Is it fair? Probably not but id take it if it was Dundalk not giving a damn what others thought especially Drogheda fans and i'm sure the Drogs would be of similar opinion..

58 mil and nice new 10000 capacity ground in exchange for Dalymount would have been nice for Bohs it is just such a pity that a plan like this was delayed by a whole lot of messing about until it bacame unviable:o

Knappagh Red
29/09/2009, 5:46 PM
Your home attendance for the cup game last year was 1000, 350 of which travelled from Sligo, 50 neutrals = 600 Shamrock fans, hence my 90% bandwagon jumpers estimate, and your dismissal of the post I made just emphasises my point about arrogance

29/09/2009, 5:58 PM
90% bandwagon jumpers estimate,

Great! Keep the bandwagon jumpers coming to games and sell out grounds, sounds fine to me!

What would you say in the Showgrounds? Oi havent seen you here before...thats right first time here thought id see what the fuss was about...ok well get lost then....???

Dave_SRFC
29/09/2009, 6:19 PM
Lot of very bitter fans in this league, if the league was something to be proud of you'd understand but its not.

29/09/2009, 6:30 PM
Your home attendance for the cup game last year was 1000, 350 of which travelled from Sligo, 50 neutrals = 600 Shamrock fans, hence my 90% bandwagon jumpers estimate, and your dismissal of the post I made just emphasises my point about arrogance

Nothing to do with arrogance.

The North Dublin inner city isn't our catchment area, but anyway, the crowd number is best explained here (http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1240018&postcount=38)

Knappagh Red
29/09/2009, 7:43 PM
Miltown to Tolka must be nearly four miles away, what an arduous journey that was for all the little Shamrocks

wedwood
29/09/2009, 9:57 PM
God Almighty, this thread started as a celebration of a rare success story this year for the League of Ireland, to help show we've got the potential to replicate the Tallaght story in hopefully most if not all of the other LOI clubs in the months and years ahead.

I'd love to see all other club grounds packed out for every match for the good of the league, the clubs and supporters.

Can you imagine what that injection of support and cash would mean to all of us, if we stopped moaning and actually put plans in place to attract more punters to the games, we might actually get somewhere.

29/09/2009, 10:19 PM
If they spent half of time trying to sort out their own club rather than looking for another bitter swipe at Rovers then they probably would be in a better financial shape at the moment.

You might have a point if you weren't so happy slagging off "craptown" with the regularity of a man who has allbran for breakfast every morning.

Drogman.
29/09/2009, 10:36 PM
You might have a point if you weren't so happy slagging off "craptown" with the regularity of a man who has allbran for breakfast every morning.

I slag off Craptown purely for the fun, and not for any hope that they'll go under anytime soon.

I know what it's like to support a team who splashes the cash however real character comes when you come crashing down to earth and have to recover ;)

You'll know all about that soon enough I reckon.

stojkovic
29/09/2009, 10:43 PM
Miltown to Tolka must be nearly four miles away, what an arduous journey that was for all the little Shamrocks

I know, it only takes ten minutes down a bog road.

peadar1987
29/09/2009, 11:38 PM
We're not too far off a situation where other clubs will refuse to have nice stadia and market their club properly "because that's what Shams did".

30/09/2009, 2:07 AM
what an arduous journey that was for all the little Shamrocks

When we played Sligo in Tolka this year, the place was a quarter full. When we played Real Madrid and Derry afterwards, Tallaght was sold out. Comparing Tolka to Tallaght is like comparing a tenement with a mansion.

redobit
30/09/2009, 9:00 AM
When we played Sligo in Tolka this year, the place was a quarter full. When we played Real Madrid and Derry afterwards, Tallaght was sold out. Comparing Tolka to Tallaght is like comparing a tenement with a mansion.

Look fair play to Shams filling Tallaght and long may it last, its all good for the LOI.
I think what other people are geting at is that this is a sucessful season for ye, theres a honeymoon period with the stadium and feel good factor with the club; yet the crowd wont travel down the road for a competitive game - the catchment area for that game should have nothing to do with it.
If their not sitting in their nice red, yellow, white or whatever colour seat for a game they didnt want to know. Every club can get their bandwagon supporters when the sun is shining, keeping them now thats the real challenge.

30/09/2009, 11:14 AM
I slag off Craptown purely for the fun, and not for any hope that they'll go under anytime soon.

I know what it's like to support a team who splashes the cash however real character comes when you come crashing down to earth and have to recover ;)

You'll know all about that soon enough I reckon.

I wouldn't like to see Rovers go under and I don't know many if any Bohs fans who would. We'd just like them to stay as sh1t as they have been for the last few years.

Can't wait for Tallaght on Friday!

Rovers Maniac
30/09/2009, 11:40 AM

There was only 17 or 18 hundred in Tolka when we played you earlier in the season, and what would there have been if you had chosen not to lay on all those free buses? When Derry came back into the league they had much bigger crowds but they don't seem to last, so if they do for you congrats.

01/10/2009, 9:54 AM
There's been a lot of specualtion about Rovers getting carried away with the good will towards the club and good crowds at the moment, people, myself included, have wondered if they might not just end up heading down the same slippery slope of overspending that seems almost inevitable in this league, so I though it was good to see this article this morning;
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/hoops-boss-rules-out--switch-to-fulltime-structure-1901093.html
O'Neill and Roche both saying that they won't be rushing into a full time set up and O'Neill clearly stating that he doesn't think it's sustainable or sensible in the current climate, it's also good to see a club talking about a 5-10 year plan rather than survival to the end of this season or next.

01/10/2009, 11:48 AM
The whole "I hate Rovers" thing is really getting old. They have moved into a new ground, have moved into the present in terms of marketing and fill their ground each home game. Add that to the fact they are challenging Bohs for the title and you have to be impressed.
I don't personally see where anyone can have a problem with this, I only wish Harps can do the same in the future.

P.S. Don't ya just hate those Rovers guys coming on foot.ie and interrupting our intellectual conversations with talk of football and such, scumbags the lot of them.

apollo
01/10/2009, 7:57 PM
We averaged 7-8000 (and probably 10,000 for fai cup games) at the brandywell for 5 seasons two of which were in the 1st division, our away support averaged 4-5000 for our 2 seasons in the 1st division. On some sundays during that period our home attendance was higher than the aggregate of every other loi match played that day put together....beat that rovers

02/10/2009, 1:20 AM
There's been a lot of specualtion about Rovers getting carried away with the good will towards the club and good crowds at the moment, people, myself included, have wondered if they might not just end up heading down the same slippery slope of overspending that seems almost inevitable in this league, so I though it was good to see this article this morning;
it's also good to see a club talking about a 5-10 year plan rather than survival to the end of this season or next.

We had our overspending days a very long time ago. It's not something we're keen to return to anytime soon.

londonhoop
02/10/2009, 7:46 AM
We averaged 7-8000 (and probably 10,000 for fai cup games) at the brandywell for 5 seasons two of which were in the 1st division, our away support averaged 4-5000 for our 2 seasons in the 1st division. On some sundays during that period our home attendance was higher than the aggregate of every other loi match played that day put together....beat that rovers

We cant.
The ground only holds 6,000.

dublinred
02/10/2009, 8:52 AM
There was only 17 or 18 hundred in Tolka when we played you earlier in the season, and what would there have been if you had chosen not to lay on all those free buses? When Derry came back into the league they had much bigger crowds but they don't seem to last, so if they do for you congrats.

I was at the game in Tolka and was very surprised by the attendance that night was expecting a lot more there were 4 buses afterwards ferrying the crowds back to tallaght , I live in Dublin and treat any game we play on the east coast as a home game and try to get to as many as possible I can't understand why more fans of Dublin clubs don't go to away games on their doorstep its not just Shams either.

londonhoop
02/10/2009, 10:47 AM
I was at the game in Tolka and was very surprised by the attendance that night was expecting a lot more there were 4 buses afterwards ferrying the crowds back to tallaght , I live in Dublin and treat any game we play on the east coast as a home game and try to get to as many as possible I can't understand why more fans of Dublin clubs don't go to away games on their doorstep its not just Shams either.

It was a last minute change to Tolka for that game.
Rovers brought over 1,000 to fingal for the cup game.

CF1989
02/10/2009, 12:47 PM
i dont understand how the dublin teams that play another dublin team dont have whatever home crowd they get to go to the away game. saying you brought 1000 to fingal for a cup 1/4 final. thats not much really. considering ye get 3000+ to home games.

not singleing out that but any game between dublin clubs, it amazes me how theres not a load more away fans

02/10/2009, 12:58 PM
i dont understand how the dublin teams that play another dublin team dont have whatever home crowd they get to go to the away game.

I agree with you there. I don't get why out of the 1,500 or whatever regulars we get at home games, not even half will drag themselves over to Richmond Park for a game against Pats.

dong
02/10/2009, 1:07 PM
Same as that. I used to even go to the Belfield bowl. Always questioned my sanity when I got there though. Without a doubt the worst atmosphere I've ever experienced in a LoI ground.
Tallaght has no such problems. Should see it in full effect tonight. Hope the football doesn't let us down.

londonhoop
02/10/2009, 2:02 PM
i dont understand how the dublin teams that play another dublin team dont have whatever home crowd they get to go to the away game. saying you brought 1000 to fingal for a cup 1/4 final. thats not much really. considering ye get 3000+ to home games.

not singleing out that but any game between dublin clubs, it amazes me how theres not a load more away fans

But you could say that for any league in the world to be fair.

dong
02/10/2009, 2:24 PM
But you could say that for any league in the world to be fair.
Not really. In most other leagues tickets are allocated to away fans because games are sold out or close to sold out. Only that amount of away fans are permitted into the ground. In the case of Richmond Park for example, if Bohs wanted to bring 3,000 fans then that wouldn't be a problem.

baddebt
02/10/2009, 2:31 PM
lots of moaning going on here........................Shamrock rovers filling there stadium every week , is a fantastic piece of news for the league of Ireland , hopefully fans of other teams will start coming back to the matches.
Bohs are top of the table , cannot understand how they don't have at least 5,000 at each home game.

londonhoop
02/10/2009, 3:14 PM
Not really. In most other leagues tickets are allocated to away fans because games are sold out or close to sold out. Only that amount of away fans are permitted into the ground. In the case of Richmond Park for example, if Bohs wanted to bring 3,000 fans then that wouldn't be a problem.

Well it would be a problem as there wouldnt be room for them.
If they thought the game was due to be a sell out as would be the case......why am i bothering?

blackholesun
02/10/2009, 3:26 PM
Bohs are top of the table , cannot understand how they don't have at least 5,000 at each home game.

Because most of their ground is a kip, plus they do fcuk all to market the thing properly and mainly because the Phibsoro is a basically a flatland area with not many young families and most people living there have no sense of identity with the area or the club. Tallaght on the other-hand is a huge working class community with a great soccer tradition and loads of young people and families.

Ive said for a long time, Rovers in Tallaght, Pats in Clondalkin or Lucan, Bohs in Blanch and Shels in Swords is the way to go for a heathly league scene in Dublin!!

bhs

02/10/2009, 3:33 PM
Clondalkin is nearer Tallaght than Inchicore, and is split between us and Pats for support.

sonofstan
02/10/2009, 4:01 PM
Phibsoro is a basically a flatland area with not many young families and most people living there have no sense of identity with the area or the club.

That's only partly true, and not true at all of Cabra, which is also on Dalymount's doostep.

02/10/2009, 5:04 PM
Massive game. Ninety minutes to save the soul of Irish football from perpetual dominance by the the FAI- and FF-backed landed gentry in Tallaght. The establishment has had one victory over the people today, let's not give them another one.