Oops! That banner didn't work out great. :(
full time in richmond.
Cork earned a point :mad:
gufc2000
25/09/2009, 8:39 PM
Bray 1-2 Drogs
25/09/2009, 8:54 PM
3-3 FT. Good to see we got a point at least despite all our injuries!
gufc2000
25/09/2009, 8:55 PM
3-3 FT. Good to see we got a point at least despite all our injuries!
Not a bad game to be at I'd imagine. Alot of goals in the First Division tonight
25/09/2009, 8:58 PM
Yeah would seem an interesting game alright.
25/09/2009, 9:34 PM
UCD could and should have scored over ten goals, possibly fifteen. That's not an exaggeration. We had at least four one on ones, a few other saves from the keeper and a few other close chances.
baddebt
25/09/2009, 9:36 PM
same with Dundalk tonight , we should have scored at least 6 , scored 3 and hit the wood work a couple of times , plus Galway Keeper pulled of at least 3 Class saves.
anyway 3pts in the bag....so I'm happy
GalwayRed
25/09/2009, 9:56 PM
Happy with tonight overall. We need to work on defending set plays though. Absolutly shocking that they had 2 goals from free headers. I was never too worried about the game even at 2-1 down. Once they went down to 10 fitness was always going to tell.
In the end we scored 4 but could have had a couple more. Mervue had a fair few players booked as well tonight. Their discipline reminded me of our own. So I wasnt too surprised they ended with 9 men.
It was a very important win with UCD and Fingal picking up good wins. Role on next friday.
Ezeikial
25/09/2009, 10:20 PM
There was definately something very sinister and highly suspect about tonights Dundalk Galway game.
Hancock was not the star turn, had a good game, and....wait for it.....issued no yellow or red cards!
Doyle was good in the last home game and now Hancock tonight...strange very very strange.
Dillonman
25/09/2009, 10:53 PM
There was definately something very sinister and highly suspect about tonights Dundalk Galway game.
Hancock was not the star turn, had a good game, and....wait for it.....issued no yellow or red cards!
Doyle was good in the last home game and now Hancock tonight...strange very very strange.
There was 3 FAI delegates/wasters at the game tonight, walking round the place with clipboards and looking highly suspicious! One kept walking in and out of the bogs for some reason, one was under the stand for a bit and another was stuffing his face at the chip van before kickoff!
christo
25/09/2009, 10:58 PM
UCD could and should have scored over ten goals, possibly fifteen. That's not an exaggeration. We had at least four one on ones, a few other saves from the keeper and a few other close chances.
Not to mention Kilduff missing an open goal from three yards on his strong foot under no pressure not once but twice. We were shocking tonight, keeper was the only player that played anyway decent, thought the red card was harsh though, was a bad tackle and all but a straight is a bit over the top
Dillonman
25/09/2009, 11:00 PM
Not to mention Kilduff missing an open goal from three yards on his strong foot under no pressure not once but twice. We were shocking tonight, keeper was the only player that played anyway decent, thought the red card was harsh though, was a bad tackle and all but a straight is a bit over the top
Ye took fans to an away game?!
Just to also mention, UCD seem to putting ina strong finish, two 5nils in a row!
christo
25/09/2009, 11:23 PM
Ye took fans to an away game?!
More like fan, and I generally go to every match
26/09/2009, 12:27 AM
UCD could and should have scored over ten goals, possibly fifteen. That's not an exaggeration. Even 20, that probably is an exaggeration though. We could have had 5 more in the second half certainly.
thought the red card was harsh though, was a bad tackle and all but a straight is a bit over the topA yellow and a giving out would have been reasonable, I'd agree. What happened when he was going off, did you see? There seemed to be some ruckus.
26/09/2009, 12:53 AM
3 goals without conceding, no cards at all, 3 points and a few drinks...brilliant..:)
soccerc
26/09/2009, 1:16 AM
Strange betting patterns on Galway at both Paddy Power and Boylesports- betting was suspendedAFAIK
26/09/2009, 8:08 AM
Limerick 3 Monaghan 3.
2 up inside 20 mins, the first when the Monaghan keeper dropped a pretty simple catch from a cross, and O'Flynn bundled the ball over the line from a yard. Then Tierney beat the offside trap (to be honest, thought he was off myself) and scored when 1-on-1 with the Mons keeper.
Mons pulled a goal back when a free kick was glanced on by a Mons player, but then hit another player (Limerick defender I think) and looped over Collopy in goals.
5 mins into the second half and Mons gifted us another goal. A through ball was too far for Kavanagh, but keeper and defender waited for each other to do something about it and Kavanagh was able to nip in and poke the ball past the keeper and tap in from a yard. He even had time to celebrate before the tap in.
Mons got a penalty for handball about 5 mins later. I didn't see, but did hear, the ball hitting hand, and the lack of complaints from the Limerick defence made me think it must have been a good decision. And with about 10 mins to go, they equalised from a near post header from a throw in.
I thought we had more possession, but they created quite a few chances as well, and could even have nicked it at the end.
Scully was screaming at his defence to "just defend the f***ing ball" for the last 20 mins, and I'd say there were harsh words in our dressing room after.
26/09/2009, 12:22 PM
Even 20, that probably is an exaggeration though. We could have had 5 more in the second half certainly.
We had 32 shots all in all, and most of them were actually seriously good chances. Couldn't believe how bad Kildare were having beaten Longford and nearly taken points off Fingal. Wasn't complaining, mind. Although a sixth would have been nice so we could have equalled our record senior away win one week and our record home league win the next.
13-0 for UCD in the last three games; Shels draw with Limerick and scrape past nine-man Mervue. Obviously it'll be 1-0 Shels next week.
christo
26/09/2009, 1:35 PM
A yellow and a giving out would have been reasonable, I'd agree. What happened when he was going off, did you see? There seemed to be some ruckus.
At that stage I wasn't paying particular attention to the game so I didn't see anything
Couldn't believe how bad Kildare were having beaten Longford and nearly taken points off Fingal
It's happened everytime we've got won, we beat Mervue and then were terrible against Limerick, luickily they couldn't finish and we drew though. And then when we beat Wexford we played woeful against Waterford in the next game. We seem to get complacent for some reason
26/09/2009, 7:01 PM
Limerick 3 Monaghan 3.
2 up inside 20 mins, the first when the Monaghan keeper dropped a pretty simple catch from a cross, and O'Flynn bundled the ball over the line from a yard. Then Tierney beat the offside trap (to be honest, thought he was off myself) and scored when 1-on-1 with the Mons keeper.
Mons pulled a goal back when a free kick was glanced on by a Mons player, but then hit another player (Limerick defender I think) and looped over Collopy in goals.
5 mins into the second half and Mons gifted us another goal. A through ball was too far for Kavanagh, but keeper and defender waited for each other to do something about it and Kavanagh was able to nip in and poke the ball past the keeper and tap in from a yard. He even had time to celebrate before the tap in.
Mons got a penalty for handball about 5 mins later. I didn't see, but did hear, the ball hitting hand, and the lack of complaints from the Limerick defence made me think it must have been a good decision. And with about 10 mins to go, they equalised from a near post header from a throw in.
I thought we had more possession, but they created quite a few chances as well, and could even have nicked it at the end.
Scully was screaming at his defence to "just defend the f***ing ball" for the last 20 mins, and I'd say there were harsh words in our dressing room after.
Did your fans and players go crazy at the end with another 3-3 draw?!
26/09/2009, 7:27 PM
rovers 1 up - Cretaro
MickNolan
26/09/2009, 7:58 PM
rovers 1 up - Cretaro
1-1 Twigg
26/09/2009, 8:13 PM
Shamrock Rvs 2-1 up now
EastTerracer
26/09/2009, 8:16 PM
OG by Peers according to extratime.ie
GalwayRed
26/09/2009, 8:18 PM
Athlone 2 up on Wexford
Gotta love the must-be-Sligo-fan updates on extratime.ie :D
EastTerracer
26/09/2009, 8:21 PM
Gotta love the must-be-Sligo-fan updates on extratime.ie :D
Yeah, he does sound a bit begrudging!
2-1 FT. Rovers go top of the league.
GalwayRed
26/09/2009, 8:45 PM
FT Athlone 2-0 Wexford.
2-1 FT. Rovers go top of the league.
Which is nice.
The foot.ie boycott must be working eh SkStu :)
26/09/2009, 9:22 PM
2-1 FT. Rovers go top of the league.Top of the league? They've already won the league judging by their fans and players reactions.
Bohs should have no problem beating them next week and also winning the league, they're easily the better team.
Dave_SRFC
26/09/2009, 9:37 PM
bitter to the end
showgies
26/09/2009, 9:39 PM
Top of the league? They've already won the league judging by their fans and players reactions.
Bohs should have no problem beating them next week and also winning the league, they're easily the better team.
From the two recent games in the showgies, I agree that Bohs are the better team, but Shams for me have what is needed at this time....luck.
Bohs had no luck against us and Shams got a debatable penalty which could have been given as a free out for handball and a OG from a corner which didn't seem a corner.......on such things titles are won.
VinnyDCFC
26/09/2009, 9:40 PM
Hopefully Derry City will put a dent in that on Tuesday night here in Derry
placid casual
26/09/2009, 9:49 PM
Top of the league? They've already won the league judging by their fans and players reactions.
good man.:p:):D
your a funny guy. like a clown , funny.
rovers100%
26/09/2009, 9:57 PM
shams were useless the ref was as well to put the ball in the net himself. our keeper was not put under pressure once. we shoulf have went in three nil up shams are not a better team than bohs but yes they have luck on their side and with luck and the ref on your side a title is very possible......................
26/09/2009, 10:06 PM
From the two recent games in the showgies, I agree that Bohs are the better team, but Shams for me have what is needed at this time....luck.
It's called friends in high places.
showgies
26/09/2009, 10:12 PM
On the plus side for Shams, they certainly brought a lot more fans to the showgies than Bohs, even if they were quiet until they scored
MeathDrog
26/09/2009, 10:12 PM
Cop on. As if Bohs don't get favourable decisions too.
26/09/2009, 10:14 PM
Dave McKeon....what can you do?:mad:
The MOST inconsistent ref in the league. He gives Shamrock a free kick even though Conor O Grady wins the ball, seconds later he lets a clear Danny Ventre foul go,which was right in front of him and in fairness Danny was lucky not to be sent off.
Felt sorry for Conor when he had his rant at McKeon, whatever he said to him, he said it on behalf of football
Best place to have them, my dear Sheridan :)
Cop on. As if Bohs don't get favourable decisions too.
Galway were giving out after we won 1-0, Pats claimed Lynch shouldn't have been sent off winning 1-0, now Sligo give out about heading the ball into their own net winning 2-1 and missing one-on-ones. It's all a Rovers conspiracy...:rolleyes:
It's still in Bohs hands. They should with their players expect nothing but a win in Tallaght. Do that, they win the league.
26/09/2009, 10:33 PM
[QUOTE=dfx-;1239479] It's all a Rovers conspiracy.[/QOUTE]
At least one of ye admit it! :P
26/09/2009, 10:44 PM
Did your fans and players go crazy at the end with another 3-3 draw?!
shur why would we? none of our players got hat-tricks
On the plus side for Shams, they certainly brought a lot more fans to the showgies than Bohs
im sorry but thats boll0cks. Weekend games Bohs have easily bought 400. The two midweek games obviously saw a good deal less than that but i think thats understandable.
Dalymountrower
27/09/2009, 8:47 AM
:
It's still in Bohs hands. They should with their players expect nothing but a win in Tallaght. Do that, they win the league.
Anything other than a Bohs win in Derry and a win in Tallaght or a Bohs loss in Derry and a win for Rovers in Tallaght, will still leave the league wide open.
27/09/2009, 9:26 AM
im sorry but thats boll0cks. Weekend games Bohs have easily bought 400. The two midweek games obviously saw a good deal less than that but i think thats understandable.
What? You traveled to Sligo to see Shams too, and counted their support - well fair play!
topia
27/09/2009, 10:05 AM
What? You traveled to Sligo to see Shams too, and counted their support - well fair play!
Sad...why do you bother?