View Full Version : EA Cup Final: Bohs or Blues?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

SPXcyan
26/09/2009, 10:03 PM
new stand is 1700 looked bout 700-800 bohs at it ^^ I wasn't expecting a sell out but we just about got it ^^

blue til i die
26/09/2009, 10:11 PM
About 600 Bohs i thought.....3 sections of the new stand, so how many is that?

Yeah, would have thought 600-700!

VinnyDCFC
26/09/2009, 10:49 PM
You can be penalised for bringing a competition into disrepute, AFAIK.

I'd be 100% sure that the FAI can't dictate which players a team chooses to play

27/09/2009, 12:21 AM
i couldnt magine bohs getting in trouble for fielding a shadow team? if u have a squad u have a right to use all the players?

27/09/2009, 12:26 AM
There's a rule in just about every Cup Competition run around the world - which goes something like:

Each Club shall play its full available strength in all matches. The Board will from time to time issue a policy as to what constitutes ‘full available strength’. Any Club failing to meet this requirement will be required to pay a fine of up to £5,000."

I'd imagine the FAI have something similar in place - seeing as they love slapping on the fines...

27/09/2009, 12:39 AM
hmm.. but who are they to say which players are more capable they have no right

27/09/2009, 3:04 AM
they are the governing body of the league - they can, as they have shown numerous times already, decide whatever they like.

27/09/2009, 3:06 AM
oh, and thanks for all the congrats on the cup win lads.... i can smell the annoyance from here! :D

Dalymountrower
27/09/2009, 8:39 AM
Wouldn`t have thought that the usual poor standard of refereeing had any effect on the result. Bohs won the game in the first half and knocked the ball about at their leisure until Keegan went off and Waterford had a fifteen minute spell.

V. good promotion of the game around the city, flags etc. Huge probs getting tickets for the Bohs side , scheisters on the turnstile were selling concession tickets marked 10 Euro for 20 Euro while claiming that Bohs were not allocated any concession tickets!!
Surprised at the size of the Bohs crowd, 700 easily.
Was that the biggest crowd for a domestic fixture in the RSC?

Derry
27/09/2009, 9:56 AM
Dont think we robbed.

Ref was poor, but i'll hold judgement on a few decisions til i see the replys, the peno and the elbow incident, but every decision seemed to go bohs way. Also appointing a dublin ref was stupid!

Really showed the difference in full time and part time teams, bohs much better on the ball, creating the space, and movement without the ball was outstanding.

Was happy that we fought back in the second half and didnt get hammered, and played very well. showed we are able to play some decent football. Dont know why ndo got motm, keegan was much better too.

Anyway, well done bohs.

And that surprises you. c'mon, you can't be that naive.

trevy
27/09/2009, 11:13 AM
It was the biggest crowd at the RSC for a domestic game since the new stand went in 2 years ago and it was good to see that. Bohs dominated the game with some very good passing although the Dublin ref seemed to give every 50/50 decision their way including a soft penalty and the game was over at half time after a terrible mistake by Devine for the 3rd goal. We finished the game strongly and still have the promotion race and FAI Cup to look forward to.

corkharps
27/09/2009, 11:39 AM
3000 is a bit dissapointing. Waterford did a great job promoting the game in the local media and around the local area and then only approx 2200/2300 locals to turn up isn't great really. But hopefully word of the style of football being played will spread and....;)

roinuj
27/09/2009, 12:10 PM
even with bohs been the home team waterford supporters out numbered them 4 to 1 :D

Dalymountrower
27/09/2009, 12:16 PM
even with bohs been the home team waterford supporters out numbered them 4 to 1 :D

It just seemed that Bohs were the home team given the poor vocal support for the blues.

27/09/2009, 12:33 PM
Tomney is a Pats fan so there is no advantage to us.

blue til i die
27/09/2009, 12:38 PM

So if it had been a Waterford ref, who didnt support waterford united, that would have been okay then?

27/09/2009, 12:40 PM
So if it had been a Waterford ref, who didnt support waterford united, that would have been okay then?

Difference is, there's only one team in Waterford. If for example I was refereeing a game between Waterford and Rovers, I'd be more likely to favour Waterford because my feelings towards them are neutral where as I fckn hate Rovers.

blue til i die
27/09/2009, 12:49 PM

And who did we beat only a week and a half ago??

So we beat Pats a week and a half ago, more of a reason not to have a St Pats supporting dublin ref!

27/09/2009, 12:52 PM
So we beat Pats a week and a half ago, more of a reason not to have a St Pats supporting dublin ref!

Jesus, that's really clutching at straws.

sonofstan
27/09/2009, 12:58 PM
I'm tempted to type this in capitals for the hard of thinking around here: three things:

1) There are 4 big clubs in Dublin, so, even if a ref supports a LoI team (not necessarily the case), there's a three to one chance -at least - that he won't support the Dublin team on the pitch.

2) Dublin is a big city, so, unlike all you sad provincials, we Dubs are not automatically 'up for' each other. We don't have that inferiority thing you guys have where we feel we have to 'stick together' because you know in your hearts you're not good enough on your own.

3) We don't have it in for you - most of the time, we don't even know you're there. (and LoI supporters are exceptional among metropolitans in actually occasionally interacting politely with you lot in your native habitats*)

*Outside of scummy 'nite' clubs in the basements of hotels and the Garda club - or the pubs around Croke Park.

28/09/2009, 10:56 PM
The first goal from the free kick was never a free. To be fair you could only help and fell robbed after the ref giving that. It was complete ball to hand, and the player didn't know anything about it.

eL Bettor
29/09/2009, 12:11 AM
And for the penalty Ndo was in the box before Brennan kicked the ball, should have been retaken!

dong
29/09/2009, 1:21 AM
We don't have it in for you - most of the time, we don't even know you're there.

That'll be the smack.

29/09/2009, 5:04 PM
And for the penalty Ndo was in the box before Brennan kicked the ball, should have been retaken!

Happens all the time and rarely gets punished.

29/09/2009, 5:25 PM
That'll be the smack.

He's not from Inchicore you know! But then you probably don't know the difference as there's not much call for running moonshine in the big smoke.

Leejo
29/09/2009, 6:08 PM
The first goal from the free kick was never a free. To be fair you could only help and fell robbed after the ref giving that. It was complete ball to hand, and the player didn't know anything about it.

To be fair, sh*t happens. The lino was the one who called for a free, not the ref. He was no more than 2-3 meters away from the incident, he was in the best position to make the call, not me, not you, not anyone.

29/09/2009, 9:28 PM
To be fair, sh*t happens.

Despite being peeved at many of the decisions, there is nothing to be gained by harping on about this, and Leejo is right. Time to move on, and let the game be in the past. We were poorer in the first half. One can argue that we were cowed by the free kick, but that is as maybe. If an objection is lodged, then it might spin on a while, but I can not see any objection retrospectively being worthwhile except about the ref, and that is an as maybe. Otherwise, time to consign last Saturday to the past, and move on. Bohs won the League Cup in 2009. End of story.

dong
30/09/2009, 2:03 PM
He's not from Inchicore you know! But then you probably don't know the difference as there's not much call for running moonshine in the big smoke.

Phibsboro crawls with smackheads too.
Whatever about Moonshine, I've yet to see a line of space cadets lined up outside a Meth clinic in Sligo or had a syringe held to my neck at a cash point either for that matter.:D

30/09/2009, 3:19 PM
Phibsboro crawls with smackheads too.
Whatever about Moonshine, I've yet to see a line of space cadets lined up outside a Meth clinic in Sligo or had a syringe held to my neck at a cash point either for that matter.:D

Sligo. So horrible even junkies wouldn't go there.

30/09/2009, 4:24 PM
Sligo - 17,000 people live there - only 2 surnames - no wonder it's sometimes known as "The Norfolk of Ireland"

Must be an absolute bugger on Fathers Day...

30/09/2009, 8:22 PM
Actually, I really like Sligo, but Dong left himself open, and I couldn't resist.

And besides, what are Sligo doing caught up in a thread that has passed it's sell by date?

30/09/2009, 11:01 PM
the bigger question is why are people still voting on the poll!
aparently bohs are favourates to win it now

PartySaint
30/09/2009, 11:13 PM
1) There are 4 big clubs in Dublin,

:eek::eek: Shels are big??

30/09/2009, 11:13 PM
haha Acorn - i noticed that myself, i think it was 43-51 prior to kick off - the late voters have given me a chuckle.

01/10/2009, 6:35 AM
the bigger question is why are people still voting on the poll!
aparently bohs are favourates to win it now

I hadn't noticed. I'll get on to some of the lads to vote Waterford back as favourites. At least this match isn't over yet:D

01/10/2009, 11:43 AM
:eek::eek: Shels are big??

And bigger than you'll ever be!

01/10/2009, 11:50 AM
Sligo - 17,000 people live there - only 2 surnames - no wonder it's sometimes known as "The Norfolk of Ireland"

http://www.toolazytodoit.com/tumbleweed1.jpg

01/10/2009, 3:18 PM
Is that a recent photo of Sligo gustavo?

01/10/2009, 3:24 PM
Is that a recent photo of Sligo gustavo?

No, it's Belfield Bowl...duh!

How mature! :D

01/10/2009, 4:37 PM
How mature! :D

In keeping with the thread so far I think. :)

dong
01/10/2009, 4:40 PM
And now its 52 a piece. Quality!

01/10/2009, 5:23 PM
And now its 52 a piece. Quality!
With more attending than a Sporting Fingal game :p

01/10/2009, 8:42 PM
Waterford gone into a shock lead now. I'm on the edge of my seat.

01/10/2009, 8:44 PM
haha u beat me too it was about to say the same!

**FrOsTy**
01/10/2009, 9:00 PM
Dodgy handball decision resulting in a great free kick from Waterford number 11 Kevin Waters :P

PartySaint
01/10/2009, 9:23 PM
And bigger than you'll ever be!

I laughed:D

01/10/2009, 10:15 PM
Lisbon 2 ain't got nothing on this

01/10/2009, 10:39 PM
this and watching paint dry are more intresting than the lisbon treaty at this stage!

02/10/2009, 6:50 AM
How much injury time has been added? I hope the ref blows soon, while we're still ahead - the way this poll has been going, I wouldn't be surprised if we see Bohs back in it again.

dong
02/10/2009, 2:30 PM

Good one!
Please enlighten us as to what those two surnames are?