View Full Version : Is the Italy game now a dead rubber?

Pages : 1 [2]

09/10/2009, 1:04 PM
At the end of the day football is always going to be more popular in Ireland than Rugby. You go to the parks or school fields at lunch time, what are kids playing, the majority are playing football. Rugby will nearly always get top attendances because you are guaranteed championship games every year, 6 nations etc, where every game is critical, like a final on its own merit.

Football is the working class game, from kids through to adult hood. Regardless of FAI ticketing policy, this will remain. Although they are still shooting themselves in the foot by forcing away loyal fans from attending games due to pricing. Its time the FAI started repaying all the loyalty fans have shown, especially over the last two decades. If we are to move forward we need full stadiums, kids able to go to games, the buzz and feel good factor back which will bring on the next keanos, duffers and dunnes.

Then we might be a little happier to hand over some hard earned cash and start a new legacy of Irish football to be proud of.

Under the current FAI setup, I fear we are at best stuck at this level of scant hope and low expectation for the considerable future.

I agree that football is a much bigger sport here and much more popular. Playing numbers dwarf those of rugby.

However football is becoming more and more of a sport people play and then watch in the pub.

Football is the only sport that can shut down the country eg World Cups and even big qualifiers like 1993. There were 500,000 people out to welcome home the Euro88 side. I think it was 20,000 to welcome the Grand Slam winners.

jaykay
09/10/2009, 1:12 PM
Hi Lads,

I gave the threads a quick scan and I couldn't find the answer to this question: If we end up on the same points as Bulgaria, what seperates us - is it goal difference against all teams in the group or what?

Going through a load of scenarios in my head and starting to worry!!!!

Thanks

09/10/2009, 1:17 PM
My 6 year old son would have more marketing know how that that bunch of fools in the FAI. Maybe I'm wrong, but I rarely if ever see proper discounted tickets for children. They should be going in for five, ten euros tops. Get them involved, and you get the parent going to. We have struggled to fill croker for many games, and that is a disgrace when we could have done so much to make sure it was full and rocking.

10 euro each for children. One school in Limerick has 50 and are running a special bus up tomorrow with the obvious huge demand.

Good chunks of 310 and 312 (I'm guessing 311 also) are designated for children's seats.

It isn't possible to convert block bookings to children's tickets afaik.

09/10/2009, 1:19 PM
Hi Lads,

I gave the threads a quick scan and I couldn't find the answer to this question: If we end up on the same points as Bulgaria, what seperates us - is it goal difference against all teams in the group or what?

Going through a load of scenarios in my head and starting to worry!!!!

Thanks

Goal difference. If we end up on the same points (a draw and a defeat) they will get 2nd place and a playoff.

Polster
09/10/2009, 1:24 PM
10 euro each for children. One school in Limerick has 50 and are running a special bus up tomorrow with the obvious huge demand.

Good chunks of 310 and 312 (I'm guessing 311 also) are designated for children's seats.

I know they do some schoolboys prices, always have. My point is overall they could do a lot more, and the full adult prices have risen to much over the last 5 years in my opinion to. As Blobbyblob pointed out, gone are the days of €20 tickets for top qualifying games, and that wasnt so long ago.

09/10/2009, 1:40 PM
I know they do some schoolboys prices, always have. My point is overall they could do a lot more, and the full adult prices have risen to much over the last 5 years in my opinion to. As Blobbyblob pointed out, gone are the days of €20 tickets for top qualifying games, and that wasnt so long ago.

Cheapest seat for a child for the GAA finals was 70 euro. A very limited separate area for children on Hill16 for 6 nations rugby games. Otherwise 90 euro for a child and never every club adds on a minimum 10 euro to that now.

Donegalcelt
09/10/2009, 1:40 PM
It's Ireland playing a competitive game against the World Champions, when was the last time that happened? I'm certainly excited anyway. On the pitch a draw suits both parties so I'm sure it won't be a potential repeat of the drama of the Dutch game from a few years ago.

We've never played a competitive home game against the World champions - the used to qualify automatically. Don't think we ever met World champs when we were in Euro Championship qualifiers either

Polster
09/10/2009, 1:42 PM
Cheapest seat for a child for the GAA finals was 70 euro. A very limited separate area for children on Hill16 for 6 nations rugby games. Otherwise 90 euro for a child and never every club adds on a minimum 10 euro to that now.

Thats the GAA and Rugby, we are discussing Irish soccer

Mise Le Mas
09/10/2009, 1:47 PM
What is the population of Moscow and what is the population of Russia?
How many oil tycoons will be at the game?

Can people here at least show a bit of respect for reality and accept the fact that the FAI are a shower of w*nkers, ripping off the fans, and that achieving 70,000 at any international football match is an amazing achievement, whatever the country.
So you don't think The IRFU don't rip off their Fans!!
They Charge € 100 upwards about 25/30% more for tickets

at Croke Park than the Fai, Do you think they get better value or What???

09/10/2009, 1:55 PM
Agree on all points, this game is less important than all the games we have played up to this. We aren't going to win the group, bulgaria probably wont beat cyprus away, and if we need to beat montenagro at home and don't, we do not deserve to go any further.
Saying all that, I am very much looking forward to getting down to my local in N London for a good game, and expect a draw. I to am a block booker, but finances rule the day, so I am waiting to see how the play off draw goes, Paris here we come.

On the other point, I totally agree, sooner we get out of croker the better. I do love Croke Park. For me nothing beats championship day, Wexford valiantly rising above expectations on the hallowed turf, the county as one behind them. But I just don't feel at home there with the Soccer. Lansdown is our sacred ground for the football, and thank God we are going back there rather than tallaght or anywhere else.

My 6 year old son would have more marketing know how that that bunch of fools in the FAI. Maybe I'm wrong, but I rarely if ever see proper discounted tickets for children. They should be going in for five, ten euros tops. Get them involved, and you get the parent going to. We have struggled to fill croker for many games, and that is a disgrace when we could have done so much to make sure it was full and rocking.

So, here's to Pairs and sticking it to Platini, here's to a World Cup and a much needed shot in the arm for all the Irish, and here's to Lansdown, where I fully expect the old buzz to return, and draws turning into wins.

Come on you boys in green........

Keep an eye out for me on the tele polster ;) Tell them all in the well i was asking for them :D

Gspain you are flogging a dead horse with that argument, playing numbers doesn't mean support, ive said it many times before and ill say it again, the average country person(not including dubs here) in this day prefers watching rugby to soccer. Soccer is waining in that regard and rugby has taken over. Im sorry but its true.

09/10/2009, 1:57 PM
Thats the GAA and Rugby, we are discussing Irish soccer

I take it then you believe the IRFU and the GAA are even more crap at marketing than the FAI.

Your 6 yearold has a bright future ahead in sports marketing.

The FAI are far from perfect but they get a lot of criticism for being crap at things that they do far better than other sporting organisations.

Polster
09/10/2009, 2:05 PM
Keep an eye out for me on the tele polster ;) Tell them all in the well i was asking for them :D

Gspain you are flogging a dead horse with that argument, playing numbers doesn't mean support, ive said it many times before and ill say it again, the average country person(not including dubs here) in this day prefers watching rugby to soccer. Soccer is waining in that regard and rugby has taken over. Im sorry but its true.

Your full of s**t Ronane, I'll pass on your best to all those in the Well :)

09/10/2009, 2:05 PM

1 county generally per final, i.e. 1 game a year, 1 big day out for the year. There are 4-5 qualifiers a year, thats 5 big day outs, that is a dif of say 300 or 1500. Italy is the all-ireland final as far as soccer is cocerned, and yet we are saying its not sold out. GAA finals are always sold out.

Polster
09/10/2009, 2:06 PM
I take it then you believe the IRFU and the GAA are even more crap at marketing than the FAI.

Your 6 yearold has a bright future ahead in sports marketing.

The FAI are far from perfect but they get a lot of criticism for being crap at things that they do far better than other sporting organisations.

I'm not discussing the merits or issues of the IRFU and GAA, they are seperate discussions, I am discussing Irish Soccer, as I thought this site is here for.

09/10/2009, 2:14 PM
ah why not we haven't had that in so long...

09/10/2009, 2:36 PM

I don't agree.

There is still a huge difference in the playing numbers. However the amount of people who watch premiership football in this country is huge.

The big rugby games are certainly far more of an event than the big football games as far as people wanting to be there. However the country didn't stop for the Wales rugby game this year. Even Limerick didn't although it did for the Heineken Cup finals.

Football is still the biggest sport in the country in terms of playing numbers and interest. It is not the biggest spectator sport unless you couunt bums on barstools but even there I'd guess rugby is well behind gaelic football in this regard.

hunt4the
09/10/2009, 3:51 PM

That maybe the case in Ballybackwards in Mayo, im in Galway and majority I know prefer watching the beautiful game, be it la liga, epl or internationals....

Your always ranting on about gaa and ruggers why do you even post here?!?!

09/10/2009, 4:40 PM
That maybe the case in Ballybackwards in Mayo, im in Galway and majority I know prefer watching the beautiful game, be it la liga, epl or internationals....

Are there any studies done on Galway culchies who believe that watching soccer on tv makes them less backward than their Mayo neighbors?

Might be an entertaining read.

09/10/2009, 8:09 PM

Your always ranting on about gaa and ruggers why do you even post here?!?!

is it now the pale and galway.

Im just calling it as it is, and the shift in popularity to rugby as one that people say they dont want to miss as oppossed to those that can miss the soccer matches is huge.

Ill agree though a soccer world cup well at least 7 years ago, did stop the country. I wonder would it be the same now though?!

old git
09/10/2009, 9:23 PM

quick question why do fai not advertise these special children tickets on their website or ticketmaster how come every schools / clubs not ofered schoolboy tickets :confused:

Drumcondra 69er
09/10/2009, 9:46 PM
Ill agree though a soccer world cup well at least 7 years ago, did stop the country. I wonder would it be the same now though?!

Yes it would. I'm staggered anyone posting here would think otherwise tbh...

10/10/2009, 6:51 AM
It's interesting how Paul can make such authoritative comments on soccer support outside the Pale from his home in north London :)

10/10/2009, 10:21 AM
There is a media spin that is anti FAI no doubt about it.

Couple of points A tribune journalist was on the other night comparing Ireland not seeling out the game to Sweden and Denmakr selling out. There will be just over 35,000 and then Denmark game and over 70,000 at our match so stupid comparison.

I have heard people saying that this would not happen during Jack Charltons time. Again we had max attendance then of 49,000. Now we have over 70,000 and we are just at the start of a recession with boom prices.

We will have one of the biggest attendances anywhere in Europe tonight. We were getting big friendly attendances against the likes of China and the States and Canada at Lansdowne Road when others were getting small numbers for such games.

I think Paul is inovled in a bit of self loathing. He likes football but the culchie in him wont let him forget his past and he probably has some sort of thing stuck in his leg like a character from the De Vinci Code.