View Full Version : FAI Cup Semi Final - Waterford United Home 23rd Oct

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

sligobhoy67
23/10/2009, 7:45 PM
RTE realplayer sh*te as usual does anybody have a link for the game not on atdhe.net

worked perfectly for me all game so far!

carrickharp
23/10/2009, 8:26 PM
Well done tonight lads, all the best in the final!!

northwestexile
23/10/2009, 8:46 PM
kept freezing on me missed the goal because of it....:mad:

rovers100%
23/10/2009, 9:32 PM
very poor first half but the change of boco back to right back and morrison on was the turning of the game. why cook started with ventre at rb and boco cmid is beyond me but at least he realsied his mistake. even bringing richie on was a great substitution cos we needed someone to create something in the middle which unfortunately danny couldnt provide, i thought kendrick was terrible his distribution is awful. keane battled extremely hard and went in 100% for every ball. peers was comfortable mostly but made a few few slight errors which was unusual. raf got very little service and blinkhorn put in another tremendous work rate and got a deserved goal for his performances throughout the season. great crowd tonight really makes ya wonder why cant we have 500 or 600 more at least in every week.

sligofan4ever
23/10/2009, 9:52 PM
Absolutly f*ckin delighted! poor first half, but it was a 2nd half to remember. Their keeper done very well and was why it was only 1-0. Morrison coming on made the difference, his delivery for the goal was top drawer and really injected some life into the game. Blinkhorn played out of his skin and got what he fully deserved. Easily 4500 at that game tonight, and everyone was lively from k/o which was great to see, the red stand at its loudest since we got promoted i'd say! I wish I could say next stop Tallaght Stadium, but we still have a premier division status to fight for. For those who dont know yet, both Pats and Galway lost tonight, that just made this night a little bit better!

rovers100%
23/10/2009, 9:55 PM
galway look in real trouble they have the hardest of final 2 gamer. the crusties looked safe not so long ago but now i feel they could join drogheda and bray !!! no loss either lol but its a handy drive for away game. we will take russell of their hands next year if they like

Boo_Boy
23/10/2009, 10:06 PM
Feckin brilliant night. I was talking to a few people that have not been to the showgrounds in years(early 90's) and they really enjoyed the atmosphere and will be back. Love hearing things like that :).

Brian Boru
23/10/2009, 10:12 PM
magic night. Every player was great. Tactically moving Boco to right back and bringing in Morrison and Ryan made us better. Great crowd. ? 5,000. Good program. Hearing about Galway and Pats is great. Life couldn't be better.

bingoballs
23/10/2009, 10:25 PM
Another three points and we avoid the play offs by my maths. Great second half performance but the way we were set up in the first half was shocking. Morrison showed his class tonight and although I wouldn't be his biggest fan, Ryan did very well too when he came on. The club, the team and the fans deserve a night like this and hopefully we top it and bring the fai cup back to Sligo.

sligofan4ever
23/10/2009, 10:36 PM
Its a bit quiet here, A long but enjoyable night in Mooneys after a spectacular occasion took place ? Yes, Sligoman's 18000th post celebration in Mooney's really must be a blast right now.

mint sauce
23/10/2009, 10:44 PM
great amosphere, headed over 20 to 30 minutes before kick off, thought i'd get there early, even then both stands were full

never heard as much noise in the place, and well done to the forzas, you put on a great show, liking the new chants

next stop tallaght, via staying up, just seen the derry v pats result, sweet

thanks for a great game waterford

lowroadrover
23/10/2009, 11:34 PM
great result, thought we were awful in the first half , we gave up the midfield and played to their style. Second half performance was much better , switching boco and bringing on Morrison changed things .Peers and Keane were so solid ,was Danny injured , he looked off the pace tonight.
All that messing with the waterford fans inthe main stand was poor , why weren't in the usual away end? I felt for them ,if I had travelled that far to then not get a proper place to see the game and hassle , i would be ****ed.

Fivesilver
24/10/2009, 12:37 AM
Over 10,000 miles from the Showgies, but the Melbourne air tastes sweet this morning. GO ON THE BIT O' RED!

CarrickFan
24/10/2009, 1:18 AM
thought we had stage fright or something first half but the tactical switch and introduction of Morrison changed it..easily his best game so far..brilliant...as was Keane..delighted..a final this team deserves..coupled with Pats and Galway results an amazing night...i only wish the Showgrounds was as full every night...god i love being a fan(atic) of this team!!:)

24/10/2009, 3:00 AM
Just home from Toffs. Lads, you all missed the best night out ever. Hyperbole is not present in that sentence by the way, it was brilliant.

The players have done us proud, now lets win the fooking thing!

roversforever
24/10/2009, 7:38 AM
Owen morrisson was unbelievable and was the reason we won that game. It'll be hard to leave him out now. Great second half performance but the first half was dire. We can't afford to start that slowly in the cup final. Great crowd,great atmosphere and just a great night overall. What had been a pretty crap year could now be our best season in years!

forza rovers
24/10/2009, 8:59 AM
great result, thought we were awful in the first half , we gave up the midfield and played to their style. Second half performance was much better , switching boco and bringing on Morrison changed things .Peers and Keane were so solid ,was Danny injured , he looked off the pace tonight.
All that messing with the waterford fans in the main stand was poor , why weren't in the usual away end? I felt for them ,if I had travelled that far to then not get a proper place to see the game and hassle , i would be ****ed.they were susposed to be put in that end.but when peoplw started ariving there the stewards did nothing to move the people

Dixie Dean
24/10/2009, 9:24 AM
great amosphere, headed over 20 to 30 minutes before kick off, thought i'd get there early, even then both stands were full

never heard as much noise in the place, and well done to the forzas, you put on a great show, liking the new chants

next stop tallaght, via staying up, just seen the derry v pats result, sweet

thanks for a great game waterford

I arrived a hour before kick-off looking for 4 good seats. Only got 2, the place already had our average seasons attendance by then. I havent seen the terrace behind the goals that full since the famous cobh game in '83.

About time the town came out in big numbers the players really deserve it.

Da Real Rover
24/10/2009, 9:37 AM
What a game, what a bit of craic in mooneys and as for toffs, unreal.
Cup Final on the way, tallaght here we come.

red arrow
24/10/2009, 10:59 AM
oh me head ! honestly, great to get the win. we were v. poor in the ist half but the changes did the trick. i thought owen morisson was very creative , just shows how much football he has in him. he was spraying the ball around beautifully. we nearly got sucked into there style of play & believe me w'ford would have bet us if we did,nt start to play football in the 2nd half. anyway its all over now & we're in the final. its great to get this far , a just reward for all the hard work by those who are committed to the club. we still have a job to do in the league and lets now bring this club forward

24/10/2009, 11:29 AM
Morrison was brilliant last night, If himself and Rommy could have got something going like they did last night, we'd be some team. Pity it's coming so close to the end of the season. Won't sink in that we're in a Cup Final for weeks.

Fair play to the Waterford fans too for travellin down. Must have been a bitch of a trip back! Don't know who the dopes who were abusing them as they got on their bus were.. but they were'nt Rovers fans anyway!

blue til i die
24/10/2009, 11:59 AM
they were susposed to be put in that end.but when peoplw started ariving there the stewards did nothing to move the people

Our officials arrived at the ground early, arranged a spot with the stewards for our fans. Sligo stewards allowed people to sit there and kept no space for our fans.

Nearly 5 hours trip up to be treated like that, absolutely discraceful!
How can a club fail to keep a section for the away team in a cup semi final?

MMVIII
24/10/2009, 12:10 PM
Our officials arrived at the ground early, arranged a spot with the stewards for our fans. Sligo stewards allowed people to sit there and kept no space for our fans.

It was a huge f*** up on our behalf.

But anyways, words can't describe last night. Amazing

Well Red
24/10/2009, 1:14 PM
Called Ocean FM this morning to see when I could hear local sports news and any news of last nights match and they told me to listen in at 2pm today.
I am still listening and its music I hear, can anyone tell me when local sport is covered. Surely they should broadcast at least the second half of the two remaining matches, is there some reason why they stopped doing this?
Do people think Rovers get a fair crack of the whip when it comes to coverage.:confused:

Brian Boru
24/10/2009, 1:26 PM

I agree with you. You added hugely to the occasion and should gave been treated better. You have a good team.

1st time post
24/10/2009, 1:52 PM
Unbelievable night!!crazy how good we were in 2nd half compared to the first and great credit must go to morrision for turning the game,does anyone know when the game will be on rte.ie to watch again??been looking for it but can only see a 4 minute clip from the end with blinks interview

sligo23
24/10/2009, 2:01 PM
Unbelievable night!!crazy how good we were in 2nd half compared to the first and great credit must go to morrision for turning the game,does anyone know when the game will be on rte.ie to watch again??been looking for it but can only see a 4 minute clip from the end with blinks interview
http://www.rte.ie/player
(http://www.rte.ie/player/)Its on there.

MarkyH
24/10/2009, 3:39 PM
Great to see the Showgrounds so packed. 1st half we were poor but in fairness to Cook the changes at ht, changed the game. Morrison really turned it on last night after he came on, everthing good went through him. Just watching the game again on RTE and they were making the same point. I also though Keane was immense throughout the game

Blowin_Rover
24/10/2009, 7:27 PM
Id like to make a point about Morrison,the guy is an enigma,I think things hinge on which Morrison turns up,he can unlock defences with a single pass,cause most fullbacks nightmares,but when hes not interested a big section of the crowd get on his back.In my opinion when he plays with Bocco on the right we look invincible,he seems like a player that needs encouragement not critism,he ran around like a man possessed last night laying quality balls and threading top passes,so id like to make a case for him and say give the guy a break,we need him and i hope he stays with us next season,Well done to all the lads for a great performance!

oldrover
24/10/2009, 8:33 PM
What a brilliant night...even the weather was right for the occasion. Morrison made a huge difference when introduced..Keane was outstanding also...delighted for Blinkhorn.

Lets make it a final to remember...they dont happen often...but we must not be complacent in any way...we need to build the club and use this opportunity to the full. Posters for game and indeed programme itself shows very professional approach and great commitment.Lets keep it going and show the country what the Bit O Red means to Sligo and the West of Ireland....it represents a never say die attitude no matter how difficult it is through all the lean times.

sligofan4ever
24/10/2009, 8:40 PM
I'll just take this chance to mention something.

Over the course of our last 16 games (only losing one of them), i've seen very little if anything of Inside Man, is he too embaresed to show himself after his many comments or is he not willing to accept he was wrong about how this season would fare for us ? I hope i'm not speaking to early but its amazing how the likes of him dissapear when we do well.

Well Red
24/10/2009, 9:57 PM
Called Ocean FM this morning to see when I could hear local sports news and any news of last nights match and they told me to listen in at 2pm today.
I am still listening and its music I hear, can anyone tell me when local sport is covered. Surely they should broadcast at least the second half of the two remaining matches, is there some reason why they stopped doing this?
Do people think Rovers get a fair crack of the whip when it comes to coverage.:confused:

Odd answering my own post but have I touched a raw nerve, nobody wants to comment on Ocean FM, whats the story. I have many times Emailed Ocean FM and never have I got a reply, even from senior people at the station. I can make a lot of the games but when I cannot i would love to hear some coverage. Someone fill me in?

Partizan
24/10/2009, 10:04 PM
It was a huge f*** up on our behalf.

But anyways, words can't describe last night. Amazing

I will not be surprised if Waterford lodge a protest to the FAI over their way we were treated by SRFC. I was pesonally abused and threatened by a number of so called Sligo fans in the stand. if is wasnt for the Gardaí, a riot most definitley would have occured.

I am submitting a letter of protest to the FAI over the absolute scandalous behaviour by SRFC. Your club couldnt even reserve a section fr away fans. You sold the section designated for us to make a quick buck. Action must be taken.

Boo_Boy
24/10/2009, 10:10 PM
I will not be surprised if Waterford lodge a protest to the FAI over their way we were treated by SRFC. I was pesonally abused and threatened by a number of so called Sligo fans in the stand. if is wasnt for the Gardaí, a riot most definitley would have occured.

I am submitting a letter of protest to the FAI over the absolute scandalous behaviour by SRFC. Your club couldnt even reserve a section fr away fans. You sold the section designated for us to make a quick buck. Action must be taken.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1322/1200976028_1f9ca41fc5.jpg

Partizan
24/10/2009, 10:20 PM
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1322/1200976028_1f9ca41fc5.jpg

did you bust a few brain cells there coming back with that magical reply?

I'm addressing a real secrity concern here. If Sligo fans came to the RSC they would have been treated 1st class by Waterford with their own allocated seated area. We were treated horribly and our fans were jostled by thick stewards and abused by local mongos despite us telling them that we had absolutley nowhere to go.

srfc1928
24/10/2009, 10:29 PM
Id like to make a point about Morrison,the guy is an enigma,I think things hinge on which Morrison turns up,he can unlock defences with a single pass,cause most fullbacks nightmares,but when hes not interested a big section of the crowd get on his back.In my opinion when he plays with Bocco on the right we look invincible,he seems like a player that needs encouragement not critism,he ran around like a man possessed last night laying quality balls and threading top passes,so id like to make a case for him and say give the guy a break,we need him and i hope he stays with us next season,Well done to all the lads for a great performance!
To put it breifly, Morrison was quality last night.
I suppose people get frustrated with him because they know what he is capable of.
What a player, if he can just be a bit more consistent

Boo_Boy
24/10/2009, 10:31 PM
did you bust a few brain cells there coming back with that magical reply?

I'm addressing a real secrity concern here. If Sligo fans came to the RSC they would have been treated 1st class by Waterford with their own allocated seated area. We were treated horribly and our fans were jostled by thick stewards and abused by local mongos despite us telling them that we had absolutley nowhere to go.

If we came to the RSC we could just sit in one of the many available seats..

It was a f*** up on SRFC's behalf as it was already said, get over it FFS.

24/10/2009, 10:58 PM
Partizan, I was in the section of the stand where the Waterford supporters came in and there was never any danger of a riot. Any problem would have been caused by your ginger lad with the banner who seemed to be up for a bit of it.
Already stated that our stewards ****ed up but that's to be expected. BTW, I don't suppose you have ever encountered Mr. Oliver Davey - now that's the man who would have explained the whole situation to you and left you in no doubt that you had somewhere to go.
Wouldn't waste my time writing to John Delaney about this - he'd probably send you back a brochure for the tickets in the new stadium.
Sorry you had such a miserable experience but he, dat's life and sometimes you're the dog and sometimes you're the lamppost.

Well Red
24/10/2009, 11:01 PM
I'll just take this chance to mention something.

Over the course of our last 16 games (only losing one of them), i've seen very little if anything of Inside Man, is he too embaresed to show himself after his many comments or is he not willing to accept he was wrong about how this season would fare for us ? I hope i'm not speaking to early but its amazing how the likes of him dissapear when we do well.

Good shout Sligofan 4ever, have to feel sorry for Inside Man, where does he turn to now, or is he another Dunphy, god forbide we had one of that kind in our midst.

Rovers Maniac
24/10/2009, 11:01 PM

I hear the game is going to be replayed :D

sligofan4ever
24/10/2009, 11:10 PM

You might aswell go to Burger King and ask for a Big Mac while your at it.

Just get on with life Partizan, if you're being a sour sh!te about losing then fine, but if the result were a little different I doubt ye'd be complaining. Ye were in full voice last night, so why complain ? If anything ye were the ones causing a bit of a problem with flares and trying to put up a banner blocking peoples view.

CF1989
24/10/2009, 11:16 PM
a riot? seriously....

sligo23
24/10/2009, 11:24 PM
a riot? seriously....
I heard there was rape and pillage involved too:eek:

blue til i die
24/10/2009, 11:24 PM
even where i was sitting, i had people shouting abuse and throwing things over at our fans. If your club had kept the proper segredation for our fans, then the banners wouldnt have been blocking anyone's views.

Knowing it was going to be a sold out game, and not to keep the space was just plain stupid.

Nothing can be done about it now, but maybe sligo should learn something from it...

sligo23
24/10/2009, 11:27 PM
even where i was sitting, i had people shouting abuse and throwing things over at our fans. If your club had kept the proper segredation for our fans, then the banners wouldnt have been blocking anyone's views.

Knowing it was going to be a sold out game, and not to keep the space was just plain stupid.

Nothing can be done about it now, but maybe sligo should learn something from it...
not much hope of that:p

The Lep
24/10/2009, 11:49 PM
Looked like sligo put profit ahead of saftey.

25/10/2009, 12:11 AM
Looked like sligo put profit ahead of saftey.

No danger of that happening with you guys. See in the Irish Times today that you brought 39 to the replay at Tallaghtfornia.

bluewater
25/10/2009, 12:45 AM
You might aswell go to Burger King and ask for a Big Mac while your at it.

Just get on with life Partizan, if you're being a sour sh!te about losing then fine, but if the result were a little different I doubt ye'd be complaining. Ye were in full voice last night, so why complain ? If anything ye were the ones causing a bit of a problem with flares and trying to put up a banner blocking peoples view.

Why complain? Maybe because of the verbal abuse our supporters had to put up with.. calling a female supporter a fat old c**t or how about one of your so called supporters crushing the fingers of a teenage female suporter because she tried to move his hands off her shoulders. As already mentioned we were all verbally berated for where we were standing even though we were in the section that was allocated to us. Being told we were free to leave the ground if we weren't happy about not having any seats after travelling for over 5 hours to get there. We could not have cared less what section of the ground we were put in as long as there was a section for us.

We have no compliant over the result. I thought we gave ye a good game and it was a good header that beat us..I know I'm probably being biased but I thought our keeper should have been in with a shout for man of the match, he really kept us in the game.

Fivesilver
25/10/2009, 1:02 AM
I think most reasonable Rovers fans agree it was bad form, but to be honest, by getting into an extended argument on a web forum, you're not going to do your blood pressure or sense of injustice much good. You'd probably get far more satisfaction by writing that letter; the FAI have a fair old track record when it comes to finding reasons to fine us. :o

dublinred
25/10/2009, 8:40 AM

Your section wasn't sold the tickets were for any part of the ground the issue is that there were home fans let into that block by the stewards it probably wasn't helped by the fact that a lot of the away fans were resting their sore legs standing up outside mooneys a few minutes before kick off ,there was plenty space behind both goals , waterford brought a hundred fans and are getting a 25k payday so ye didn't do too bad.