View Full Version : FAI Cup Semi Final - Waterford United Home 23rd Oct

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

MMVIII
12/10/2009, 3:26 PM
How many do Waterford get? I think they will do well to bring a couple of hundred. as they seem to be only getting small crowds. Think they only got 250 tickets.

red_away
12/10/2009, 3:59 PM
Think they only got 250 tickets.

but what percentage of the gate?

I want to do these boys in the showgies as i dont want the trip to the SE!!!

Rovers Maniac
12/10/2009, 4:38 PM
Cookie appealing for support for us here http://www.sligorovers.com/ on friday week.

sligofan4ever
12/10/2009, 4:41 PM
Not sure how long its been up, but just found this video on the rovers website homepage.
http://www.sligorovers.com/

Cookie appealing for support for us here http://www.sligorovers.com/ on friday week.

brianw82
19/10/2009, 9:02 AM
How are the tickets going for this does anybody know, can imagine there will be a big run on them just before the match if it is like the Derry match from a few years ago. How many do Waterford get? I think they will do well to bring a couple of hundred. as they seem to be only getting small crowds.

Same question again, how are tickets selling? I might be able to get down on the day but unfortunately don't have anyone to buy me a ticket in advance. :(
No point heading down if I won't be able to get in.

19/10/2009, 12:27 PM
Rovers, and I'd guess any LOI club, don't refuse money at the gate.

brianw82
19/10/2009, 12:48 PM
Shamrock Rovers often do.:p

19/10/2009, 12:56 PM
Shamrock Rovers often do.:pThat will stop once the bandwagon has finished rolling.

Even on the opening night, some people with no tickets got in at the gate.

Rovers Maniac
19/10/2009, 1:45 PM
I heard they only asked for 150 tickets for the match, that seems very low?

Redie
19/10/2009, 3:27 PM
Rovers, and I'd guess any LOI club, don't refuse money at the gate.

I think anyone going along on friday night without a ticket will be taking a big chance. If all tickets are sold out then very unlikely you would get in by paying on the gate. Best thing would be to ring the club - 0719171212

red arrow
19/10/2009, 8:31 PM
come along on friday night if you ain't got a ticket. don't worry we wont refuse cash. there will be plenty of place & bring some friends to.

srfc1928
19/10/2009, 8:35 PM
come along on friday night if you ain't got a ticket. don't worry we wont refuse cash. there will be plenty of place & bring some friends to.
Exactly, more the merrier. I hope people arent put off going because they think they need a ticket.

srfc1928
19/10/2009, 10:41 PM
http://oceanfm.ie/news/2009/10/11/rovers-call-on-sligo-to-show-its-colours/

Sligo Rovers are calling on all local business in Sligo and the surrounding
counties to show their colours ahead of the club’s upcoming FAI Ford Cup
semi-final against Waterford United on Friday October 23rd in the
Showgrounds. The club wants to see the county painted red and white and are
encouraging local shops and businesses to proudly display the club’s
colours. Flags can be got through the club and the club is hoping that
there will be a large response to their call. This game is without question
going to be the highlight of the Sligo sporting calendar and it has
captured the imagination of the Sligo public with the game fast approaching
a sell out. For further information or to get a Sligo Rovers flag for your
premise please contact Sligo Rovers Club Promotions Officers Keith O’Dwyer
on 086-8235780 or 071-9171212.
Think this is a great idea.
But maybe the club should approach businesses rather than waiting for them to come forward, turn it into a good will gesture.

Rovers Maniac
19/10/2009, 10:56 PM
But maybe the club should approach businesses rather than waiting for them to come forward, turn it into a good will gesture.
Most business in town are fighting for their lives at the moment due to being in the middle of a reccession and the devaluation of sterling. They have bigger things on their minds rather than a few flags,( I dont mean for this to sound smart) but if they were approached Im sure 95% would be more than happy to assist. If the public see the flags up around the place it can only help the attendance figure on Friday night

Spot on totally agree 1928, The club need to be pro-active in this, it would be class to see this week if something like this could be done as reaching a national final is a huge thing for any Sligo team in any sport.It's can be difficult for shops and businesses to source these things themselves, easier for the club to organise the flags and bunting. They could do a much bigger job around the town if we reach the final.

cathalsligo
21/10/2009, 11:22 AM
Does anyone know where you would get the Rovers semi-final online?

roversman
21/10/2009, 11:48 AM
rte.ie try

sligored
21/10/2009, 12:06 PM
Was just up at the office in the showgrounds and there seems to be a good few adult tickets left but they seem to be running short on kids tickets

Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/10/2009, 12:09 PM
I heard they only asked for 150 tickets for the match, that seems very low?

I read somewhere (maybe on extratime.ie) that they had 283 at their game last night

Rovers Maniac
21/10/2009, 12:12 PM
Was just up at the office in the showgrounds and there seems to be a good few adult tickets left but they seem to be running short on kids tickets

Grand, i have to go up later on and get another adults.

dublinred
21/10/2009, 1:18 PM
Any word on who the officals are yet ? I'm not going if its Richie Winter.

blue til i die
21/10/2009, 2:03 PM
I read somewhere (maybe on extratime.ie) that they had 283 at their game last night

Dont know whether that 283 is the paid in figure, but it usually is.

I'd say if we brought 250, we'd be doing well though.

21/10/2009, 2:08 PM
Even on the opening night, some people with no tickets got in at the gate.

Did they?:confused:

oldrover
21/10/2009, 7:10 PM
really need to avoid complacency or over confidence......all out effort.... Waterford will be no push over

1st time post
21/10/2009, 8:02 PM
Just had an advance look at the weather forecast and altho not too detailed looks like there will be patchy showers, might have an effect on attendance but hopefully it will be clear enough and the wind appears to be calmer than any of the other days this week..........In sayin that it was met eireann:rolleyes:

red bellied
22/10/2009, 12:32 PM
All concession tickets are sold out.

dublinred
22/10/2009, 1:49 PM
really need to avoid complacency or over confidence......all out effort.... Waterford will be no push over

Agree , really looking forward to this now , walked down talbot street in the rain to get the champion and the special supplement got back opened the paper and it was missing raging , on a lighter note interesting to see the Model getting 2.4m and ballymote copshop getting 3.8m imagine what we could do with just 1m in the showgrounds which surely must be of greater public significance and benefit that the model.

redobit
22/10/2009, 2:41 PM
Agree , really looking forward to this now , walked down talbot street in the rain to get the champion and the special supplement got back opened the paper and it was missing raging , on a lighter note interesting to see the Model getting 2.4m and ballymote copshop getting 3.8m imagine what we could do with just 1m in the showgrounds which surely must be of greater public significance and benefit that the model.

We could buy the league for that.

dong
22/10/2009, 3:10 PM

Great idea but from looking around the town you would be none the wiser that this game is coming up apart from the signs on the roads leading into the town.

bluemovie
22/10/2009, 4:50 PM
What's the name of the pub near the Showgrounds? Mooneys? Looking forward to a session in Sligo whatever the result of the match. Not at all confident. We're in shocking form, we've to play a kid in goal and will have SFA on the bench. That said, stranger things have happened. That penalty shoot-out two years ago is still fresh in my memory. Couldn't believe Robbie Hedderman of all people scored the winner.

Rovers Maniac
22/10/2009, 5:06 PM
Great idea but from looking around the town you would be none the wiser that this game is coming up apart from the signs on the roads leading into the town.

Fair play to the Belfry they have a good luck Sligo Rovers sign up, it would be nice to see a few more. I had to buy an extra one today in Barton Smiths and the girl said they have sole a load which is good to hear.

22/10/2009, 5:28 PM
What's the name of the pub near the Showgrounds? Mooneys? Looking forward to a session in Sligo whatever the result of the match. Not at all confident. We're in shocking form, we've to play a kid in goal and will have SFA on the bench. That said, stranger things have happened. That penalty shoot-out two years ago is still fresh in my memory. Couldn't believe Robbie Hedderman of all people scored the winner.

forgot that ye knocked them out of penos two years ago.. I think it will be a close call. the last time Waterford were in the semis in the northwest they beat Derry City! I know someone from work a rovers fan who has already made arrangments for the cup final in Dublin.. I really hope theres not egg on his face!:eek:

stann
22/10/2009, 7:50 PM

Think it's Mooney's alright, nice place IIRC. :D
We'll have a full bench I reckon, couple of the twenties being handed a promotion, and by the way that kid in goal will be consigning an Ireland International to benchwarming duties by the looks of it!

Shedzer
22/10/2009, 8:17 PM
How many will attend?

4000+ ???

sligofan4ever
22/10/2009, 8:23 PM
How many will attend?

4000+ ???

4800-5000 would be my guess, but 5000 might be pushing it, the again, it was that in 206 semi final so who knows. If everyone of the Rovers fans create an electric atmosphere from the minute they walk on the pitch, we should be in for some night especially if the result goes well. The Red Stand hasn't been this lively since we've come back to thepreier division, so it can only be even louder with the crowd expected. Hopefully after this we can paint Tallaght Stadium in red and be the first Rovers to lift a cup in Tallaght Stadium ;). On the topic of ticket sales, is there many left ? would expect a good few to sell tomorrow.

sligored
22/10/2009, 9:11 PM
referee is damien hancock - not great(but not the worst either)

red arrow
22/10/2009, 10:31 PM
ticket sales have being going very well. i would say crowd will be approx 4300. there has being a lot of kids tickets sold so if you want a seat in the stand arrive very early. we need to create an atmosphere from the start and get behind the team. dont let complacency set in. yee forza guys need to get things going. dont leave it until the last half hour to come to the ground as rte will be taking a section of the old stand as there is no gantry (or tv studio being set up). bring as much colour & good humour as possible. we are very close but the crowd will have to be the 12th man. this is a huge oppurtunity to show the rest of the country how well our ground looks and the passion of our supporters, so lets all behave ourselves and roar the team home to a memorable night. our club is on the up & if we win this game it will be a massive boost.

srfc1928
22/10/2009, 10:44 PM
ticket sales have being going very well. i would say crowd will be approx 4300. there has being a lot of kids tickets sold so if you want a seat in the stand arrive very early. we need to create an atmosphere from the start and get behind the team. dont let complacency set in. yee forza guys need to get things going. dont leave it until the last half hour to come to the ground as rte will be taking a section of the old stand as there is no gantry (or tv studio being set up). bring as much colour & good humour as possible. we are very close but the crowd will have to be the 12th man. this is a huge oppurtunity to show the rest of the country how well our ground looks and the passion of our supporters, so lets all behave ourselves and roar the team home to a memorable night. our club is on the up & if we win this game it will be a massive boost.

Will people be able to pay in on the night ?
Seems to be a lot of confussion about this

Kevin L
22/10/2009, 10:51 PM
Hi SRFC1928,

I am not involved with the ticket end of things but as Red Arrow said, there is over 4,000 sold and more than likely that will increase tomorrow, so the ground will be fairly full.

I would say there might be a limited number of tickets on sale tomorrow evening and we will take any currency from euro,stg,us$ and even the good ould pound notes but my advice for what it's worth is get up to the ground tomorrow and get your ticket.

So confusion over!!

srfc1928
22/10/2009, 10:56 PM
Thanks Kevin.
A couple of friends are traveling from letterkenny for the game. I'll buy the tickets in the morning just to be sure. Great to hear tickets are selling really well.

CF1989
22/10/2009, 10:57 PM
just a note to say we'll be up in the ground from 11am tomorrow morning doing a bit of a clean up etc for anyone who wants to give a hand

red bellied
23/10/2009, 11:19 AM
I heard Waterford have sold 91 tickets.

sligored
23/10/2009, 11:44 AM
spoker to carmel in showgrounds office and they still have tickets and the office will not close until 4pm.
She did not want to say if there will be any tickets available tonight.
She said that no concession tickets remain(just 15 euro tickets).

Mooneys around 6pm is the plan.

Well Red
23/10/2009, 1:19 PM
Does anyone on here know if we get a fee from RTE tonight for the live transmission of the game ? Good luck Rovers I feel confident about the outcome, lets give them massive support and I want everyone to be speaking like the manager after the game and I dont mean like a scouser.

The Midget Gem
23/10/2009, 1:40 PM
Does anyone on here know if we get a fee from RTE tonight for the live transmission of the game ? Good luck Rovers I feel confident about the outcome, lets give them massive support and I want everyone to be speaking like the manager after the game and I dont mean like a scouser.
I think there was some deal this year with the FAI and clubs that stated every club got an equal share of TV money for the whole year, dont know the figure. But for any club who was shown over 3 times live on TV they recieved an extra lump sum (we'd be in that category).

I'm going to the game today without a ticket. Traveling up from dublin from college so i had no means of getting one, i am a season ticket holder as well. If they didn't let me in at the gate it would be poor form tbh.

Well Red
23/10/2009, 1:40 PM
Just seen Waterford will have a rare start tonight for rookie goalkeeper Kevin Burns as Devine the regular keeper is suspended.

Rovers Maniac
23/10/2009, 1:49 PM
I think there was some deal this year with the FAI and clubs that stated every club got an equal share of TV money for the whole year, dont know the figure. But for any club who was shown over 3 times live on TV they recieved an extra lump sum (we'd be in that category).

I'm going to the game today without a ticket. Traveling up from dublin from college so i had no means of getting one, i am a season ticket holder as well. If they didn't let me in at the gate it would be poor form tbh.

Relax you'll get in, can't see there being a problem there. Will it be a capacity crowd?

sligofan4ever
23/10/2009, 2:16 PM
Relax you'll get in, can't see there being a problem there. Will it be a capacity crowd?

Would love to see that but probably not. Theres about 4,500 tickets sold though so thats great to hear!

23/10/2009, 3:24 PM
Over 4,000 tickets sold so far. Waterford sold 98 of them. So with over 4,000 plus whatever amount of people that turn up on the night...it should be a good night for the club financially:)

Red Soldier
23/10/2009, 4:33 PM
How are the gate receipts split in the cup???

northwestexile
23/10/2009, 6:34 PM
RTE realplayer sh*te as usual does anybody have a link for the game not on atdhe.net