View Full Version : Win World Cup or Win All Ireland

an_ceannaire
21/09/2009, 2:15 PM
Had this discussion with 7 mates last saturday. All into GAA and soccer. Would you rather Ireland win a Soccer World Cup, A Rugby World Cup or your county win an All Ireland.
Six said they would rather see their county (Dublin x2, Galway, Limerick and Clare x2) win an All Ireland.
One said The soccer, and he is from Carlow :D

Jicked
21/09/2009, 2:37 PM
Is that a joke? Beating Tipperary and Kilkenny in a sport played by relatively nobody, or beating England, Spain, Italy, Germany, Brazil, Argentina et al in the most popular sport played by hundreds of millions of people in front of a global audience of billions in every corner of the globe?

What was that quote from In Bruges? "Maybe if I was retarded, or grew up on a farm...."

21/09/2009, 2:49 PM
Oh the hot topics at a barn dance ha?
...and all that before the sex pig gets brought out. :D

L37Ultra
21/09/2009, 2:53 PM
I'd rather Ireland even qualified for a World Cup over Limerick winning the all Ireland in football or hurling.

Now if you were to ask me which I would prefer, Limerick FC winning the League or Ireland winning the World Cup, that would be a difficult one to answer.

Murfinator
21/09/2009, 3:02 PM
For me Personally I'd take Ireland in rugby, followed by my country in Football, followed by the soccer world cup.

I know a lot of people will wholeheartedly disagree with my reasoning but hopefully you'll at least respect it and not go nuts disputing it! :)

So here it is.

I don't feel the soccer lads represent me or my country very well. None of them live in this country, most of them will continue not living in this country after their careers are finished and a sizable chunk of them aren't Irish at all and simply play for us as a convenient means for them to get international soccer.

Growing up I had to deal with the starts of our Irish team having English accents such as Townsend, Cascarino, Aldridge etc. And it confused me a lot, it gave out the message that we weren't good enough and needed the dregs of Britain to compete.
Not to mention the likes of Stephen Ireland, Joey O Brien, Dean Kiely and Andy O Brien and how they've disrespected the shirt in recent times. It doesn't make me proud in the least to follow them. :(

Conversely the rugby side does have everyone living in the country, they are legitimate Irish people living in the community and they more than capable of competing with anyone in the world being european champions both at club and international level at the moment. It's something to be proud to support.

IsMiseSean
21/09/2009, 3:04 PM
Soccer world cup anyday.... I've already witnessed Galway winning two All-Ireland football titles :)

21/09/2009, 3:27 PM
I would rather Ireland win a throw in at football then anyting to do with GAA or rugby.

For me Personally I'd take Ireland in rugby, followed by my country in Football, followed by the soccer world cup.

I know a lot of people will wholeheartedly disagree with my reasoning but hopefully you'll at least respect it and not go nuts disputing it! :)

So here it is.

I don't feel the soccer lads represent me or my country very well. None of them live in this country, most of them will continue not living in this country after their careers are finished and a sizable chunk of them aren't Irish at all and simply play for us as a convenient means for them to get international soccer.

Growing up I had to deal with the starts of our Irish team having English accents such as Townsend, Cascarino, Aldridge etc. And it confused me a lot, it gave out the message that we weren't good enough and needed the dregs of Britain to compete.
Not to mention the likes of Stephen Ireland, Joey O Brien, Dean Kiely and Andy O Brien and how they've disrespected the shirt in recent times. It doesn't make me proud in the least to follow them. :(

Conversely the rugby side does have everyone living in the country, they are legitimate Irish people living in the community and they more than capable of competing with anyone in the world being european champions both at club and international level at the moment. It's something to be proud to support.

YOu should read your history books and maybe go on a few Ireland trips and speak to a few of the Irish fans who have English accents and maybe re post that drivel.

CarrickFan
21/09/2009, 3:34 PM

So here it is.

Listen Murfinator of course you are entitled to your opinion as is everyone so fair play..but as for your agruements as to why...we have been through this before on another thread have we not???...you were going on about the exact same things so no need to rehash it again...and as i pointed out to you last time that only 2 of the Irish team in recent times are not Irish born and obviously the sport they are in dictates that the have to move on from Ireland to play the sport at the top level!!!..anyway as i said i have no interest going through it all again...

to answer the original thread question i would get more pleasure from Ireland qualifying for the World Cup or even winning a friendly to be honest than My County doing the Hurling and Football double and Ireland winning the Rugby world cup as i have little to no interest in those sports.

Drumcondra 69er
21/09/2009, 3:36 PM

Yeah but it's a sh1t sport for people too fat or too stupid to master the graceful art of Association Football.

Plus only about 8 countries (including the UK's 3) play it to any sort of decent level.

21/09/2009, 3:43 PM

So here it is.

Try these sites maybe

www.rugby.ie

www.bogball.ie

www.stickfighting.ie

www.beatyourwife.ie

www.sangwichesandtae.ie

shep
21/09/2009, 3:44 PM
Yeah,Ireland even qualifying for a world cup would be a million times better than anything the Gah or rugby lads could win.I actually feel a bit stupid sometimes being "fakely" enthusiastic about Ireland winning in Rugby.Like how many of these newbie rugby fans even know the rules of rugby.

21/09/2009, 3:45 PM
Football World cup is far more prestigious to me.
The Dubs have won the All-Ireland plenty of times before and sure, rugby is only played by a handful of countries. So football all the way.

kingdom hoop
21/09/2009, 3:52 PM
Not even the lucid brilliance brought by the sheer ecstasy of winning yesterday can make sense of this topic. The fortunes of Kerry GAA and Ireland influence my mood greatly, but I still struggle to see how you can compare a World Cup to an All-Ireland. I suppose if Ireland had won 36 World Cups and I supported Leitrim it might make more sense.

Yesterday was amazing (and as L37Ultra alludes to there's something to be said for a more local side winning something) but come on, Ireland, little old Ireland, winning the World Cup. Nothing could ever come close - Alexander Shulgin would struggle to concoct anything as powerfully joyous. Alas, it is as fanciful as it would be fantastic. I'll take Option C - real delight over dream delight. :)

Anyway An Ceannaire, what were the reasons given in your little survey? Was it more of a most-local-is-best thing; or that they were more into one team over the other; or that they preferred the sports, etc; or was there any kind of thought process at all - maybe their answers came simply cos it's All-Ireland season at the moment?

EastTerracer
21/09/2009, 4:03 PM

What country do you support, Murfinator? Brazil, Spain, England??

Norm
21/09/2009, 4:05 PM
Easy Peesy.

Ireland winning the world cup.

It baffles me how somebody could think otherwise.

21/09/2009, 4:06 PM
http://www.newstalk.ie/newstalk/off-the-ball/murph-country-pages.html

This explains it.

hoops1
21/09/2009, 4:08 PM

support.

Agree with that. Well said

21/09/2009, 4:10 PM
Try these sites maybe

www.sangwichesandtae.ie

I was really hoping that was a real site :(

Anyway seeing Wexford win a hurling All Ireland was incredilble, seeing them win a football one would be equally so, but I don't think either could ever come close to matching Ireland winning the world cup. As has been pointed out the All Irelands are possibilities, the World cup is the stuff of fantasy. I'd probably put a rugby world cup ahead of an All Ireland too, in fact there's plenty of Irish sporting achievements on a world scale that would mean more to me than Wexford winning an All Ireland and I love hurling and enjoy Gaelic football too.

Razors left peg
21/09/2009, 4:40 PM
Love Rugby and would love to see Ireland win the world cup in that, Id defo go on the beer for the day to celebrate it. But if we won the world cup in soccer Id end up celebrating for about a month... and thats after I stopped crying my eyes out in happiness. As for Gaa, I would probably watch it if Galway were in the All Ireland, but it would just about manage to make me smile if they won it

21/09/2009, 4:49 PM
An_Ceannaire is a wind up merchant. Have you not sussed this out yet? He might even be Laughing Bill in disguise. Throw in ridiculous comment: discuss..

Greenbod
21/09/2009, 4:55 PM
I would rather Ireland win a throw in at football then anyting to do with GAA or rugby.

While winning the football World cup would be my preference (If I had to choose), as a sports fan and an Irishman I would be almost equally delighted for Ireland to win the Rugby World cup. GAA All-Ireland I'd also be pleased but doesn't come anywhere near the other two.

I don't understand people who follow one sport exclusively......sometimes to the extent of developing a hatred for other sports.

Winning a throw in, would not be high on the agenda......i'd like to win the world cup without the ball going into touch.

Jicked
21/09/2009, 4:57 PM
I don't understand people who follow one sport exclusively......sometimes to the extent of developing a hatred for other sports.

You should put that on a postcard to GAA HQ, Jones Rd, Dublin 3

21/09/2009, 5:02 PM
Well I support the Irish football team so winning a throw in is more significant for me than Ireland winning the rugby world cup or Dublin winning the All Ireland. I would also prefer Katie Taylor to win Olympic Gold or and League of Ireland team to get through to the next round in a European qualifier. I am sure you do not like every sport that Ireland competes at.

In some ways I think the French attitude is great. I remember chatting to a French guy in 1999 and saying he must have been delighted that France won the world Cup and he said Non, I am a cycling fan, I do not like football much. Irish people love a good old bandwagon and if some equestrian guy won Gold we would be all tuning it Oh that already happened ok, some swimmer girl then wins a few golds oh yeah that already happened. Yet we do not support the grassroots week in week out in the way we should.

I do like other sports but I must say that GAA and Rugby would be low down in my sports I must say probably because what they represent more than anything.

Greenbod
21/09/2009, 5:06 PM
I do like other sports but I must say that GAA and Rugby would be low down in my sports I must say probably because what they represent more than anything.

What do they represent?

21/09/2009, 5:12 PM
What do they represent?

To me the GAA represents the conservative farmer class in this country which was led by Fianna Fail and the Catholic Church for so long and was anti football and sectarian in many ways.

Rugby represents the private colleges and schools and the closed golden cirlcle of the professional classes.

Both of these have had a corrosive affect on Irish sociey in my view. That is not to say that the GAA and the IRFU are all bad but they do not represent me and as I said, I would rather that the Irish football team wins a corner or a throw than anything significatn in either of those sports.

Greenbod
21/09/2009, 5:12 PM
Sorry, just have a mental picture of 99% of people throwing a party celebrating Ireland winning the rugby World cup (yes bandwagoners included), while Neil sulks in the corner cause Montenegro won a throw in!:D

21/09/2009, 5:15 PM
Sorry, just have a mental picture of 99% of people throwing a party celebrating Ireland winning the rugby World cup (yes bandwagoners included), while Neil sulks in the corner cause Montenegro won a throw in!:D

Well I would be in a stadium either in Dublin or Podgoricia half ****ed with my friends singing the songs and having the craic and caring passionately about a game I love rather than having an empty feeling that I am at a party that I was not invited to and I did not want to go to anyway.

Greenbod
21/09/2009, 5:17 PM
I think you're too quick to put people in neat little boxes.

In my opinion your closed-minded attitude is out of date and in fact very similar to what you accuse the GAA and Rugby of representing.

21/09/2009, 5:24 PM
I think you're too quick to put people in neat little boxes.

In my opinion your closed-minded attitude is out of date and in fact very similar to what you accuse the GAA and Rugby of representing.

Did you read my post I said that not all of them were like that but to me that is what the core of the sports represents.

Even to this day the core element of the GAA would be Catholic, white and Fianna Fail voting people.

In additon to that, they are both sports that I a am not particularly fond of as spectacles either. Stuart Barnes was on the other day lamenting the demise of rugby union and how as a spectacle it has gone to the dogs. Gaelic football is a joke to look at in my view. Hurling is a far better sport when played at the top end but there are not enough good teams for that to happen much. The fans at both games are rubbish in that there very little singing and usually rubbish atmospheres. Supporing the Irish football team can bring you to Podgoricia, Bratislava, Torshaven, Tel Aviv, wherease in the main with Rugby its, Cardiff, London, Edinburgh, Paris again and again and again and again.

The beauty of footbal is that it is egalitarian in that all sectors of society play it and all colours creeds sexualities play it and it is played in ever corner of the world and all you need is a few mates and a ball and away you go.

and players like Paul Scholes, Lionel Messi, Iniesta, Fabregas and Xavi can be amongst the best players of their generation.

Greenbod
21/09/2009, 5:27 PM
Fair enough......but is hurling better because there are more or less Fianna Fail voters involved..I'm confused.

Neil, If the Kerry footballers were black, Hindu Fine Gael voters would you support them?;)

21/09/2009, 5:30 PM
Fair enough......but is hurling better because there are more or less Fianna Fail voters involved..I'm confused.

Its probably a bit too much for you to understand. I was just pointing out that purely as a spectacle that hurling is a better sport, not that I would be a big fan of it either but purely as a spectacle and a form of entertainment its streets ahead of Gaelic football. However they both largely share the same gene pool of support which is a monoculture in the main. That is not to say its not slowly changing but it has take a long long time for that to happen.

Neil, If the Kerry footballers were black, Hindu Fine Gael voters would you support them?;)

No cause I dont like the sport. Is that really hard for you to understand and I not from Kerry or a Hindu or a Fine Gael voter.

Greenbod
21/09/2009, 5:37 PM
I'm not from Kerry or a Hindu or a Fine Gael voter.

Show's how stupid I am. I had you down as all three!

CarrickFan
21/09/2009, 5:40 PM
While winning the football World cup would be my preference (If I had to choose), as a sports fan and an Irishman I would be almost equally delighted for Ireland to win the Rugby World cup. GAA All-Ireland I'd also be pleased but doesn't come anywhere near the other two.

Winning a throw in, would not be high on the agenda......i'd like to win the world cup without the ball going into touch.

I do enjoy many other sports...Tennis,Boxing,Horse racing,Swimming and enjoy watching the Golf on occasion...just have no interest in GAA or Rugby...

If memory serves not a lot of people had much interest in Rugby until 2 things happened..1. the team started winning!!!...2. The Celtic Tiger...certainley around where i've lived it's popularity soared when alot of people found themselves wealthy all of a sudden and the SUV's and designer clothes,Sunglasses and handbags just did'nt fit with Soccer or even the GAA!!!....i remember there was a small hardcore of Rugby Fans around while now EVERYONE is a fan..and as was mentioned earlier in thread most dont even know the rules!!

21/09/2009, 5:43 PM
Has to be Ireland winning the World Cup. For the sheer prestige of it.

That said a fans owned Cork City team winning the league (or anything for that matter) would be miles ahead of any of them for me.

boovidge
21/09/2009, 5:55 PM
and a sizable chunk of them aren't Irish at all and simply play for us as a convenient means for them to get international soccer.

Growing up I had to deal with the starts of our Irish team having English accents such as Townsend, Cascarino, Aldridge etc. And it confused me a lot, it gave out the message that we weren't good enough and needed the dregs of Britain to compete. :(

Might have been a valid argument in the early 90s but when Ireland only has 2 or 3 British born who all supported Ireland as a kid then it loses credibility. Unless you want all players to undergo an "Irishness" test and sign a contract promising to live in Ireland when their career ends.

21/09/2009, 6:16 PM
Foot.ie has really slid. No offence lads, you are giving it a go, but really, you're not having that much success. Gone are the days, when a topic like this would lead to rallies like:

I'd rather my league club's secretary won a hand of poker for matchsticks than the Irish Rugby team won the Grand National of Intergalactic Cricket.

Yeah. Call yourself Irish - we'll cut yer n*ts off on live TV to the National Anthem. Anyone with a whiff of Guinness in their background, would find watching the Carlow County handball team warming up before a training session would be more of a source for pride than some poxy provincial soccer club team winning Wimbledon, and anyone who differs is only a semisynthetic organic amorphous solid material based Paddy of the lowest regard.

Anyone who is anyone, who knows anything and has ever been anywhere knows for a fact that what I said is right, and to prove that I am 110% correct: FACT!

Lads, let's get this back on topic - I'd like to see Ireland do well at anything. I'd like to see a combined All-Ireland combined Rugby Hurling and Football team, where the best athletes in the country are honed to produce a single winning unit to dominate world sports.

I think you'll find that Ireland doesn't have the resources to support this

yer a big man on the internet, but you clearly know nothing about the matter. Look at the impact that Ireland doing well internationally has had on work in the computer industry. And amplify that by how popular hurling and football were at the time. Compare that with when there were big attendances at your Fried Chicken football? Only a muppet would try to argue this:rolleyes:

Will there be many people reading the thread on the World Cup and All Ireland?

Why did my thread on the World Cup get moved here?

Did many people notice it moving?

OK, the last bit is familiar enough.

For what it is worth, I don't think it is possible to compare them as better or worse - each hits a different part of our identity in a different way. In my case, I love cycling and participate in it as a matter of my life and lifestyle, hurling is in my family going a long time back, the Blues are my chosen family; conversely football and Rugby mean nothing to me. I will be happy for my country to win in the Rugby, while it not impacting on me, but I couldn't choose between seeing an Irish world champion in cycling or football or my county win the All-Ireland as they all tap into almost unrelated areas of my psyche, and I'd dare to guess this is true for all. Ultimately the whole matter will be heavily influenced by what people's favourite sport is, or which they have been involved with longest or most regularly. Trying to create a hierarchy to cover all is a two dimensional excercise that happens after a few pints too many in the pub, and is something which really should stay there.

longfordjames
21/09/2009, 6:25 PM
All-Ireland Tadgh kennelly showed what it can mean

21/09/2009, 6:31 PM
Yeah by acting like a thug and nearly taking a cork players head off. Just an act of thuggery really.

Cymro
21/09/2009, 6:40 PM
The beauty of footbal is that it is egalitarian in that all sectors of society play it and all colours creeds sexualities play it and it is played in ever corner of the world and all you need is a few mates and a ball and away you go.

You hardly need anything more than a few mates and a (different shaped) ball to play rugby, and as far as I know gaelic football is not exactly beyond most peoples' financial means.

There aren't any openly homosexual footballers, and in many parts of the world football is dwarfed by supposedly more 'elitest' sports (such as cricket and rugby) in all sections of society. Football is just like any other sport as regards 'equality', with some obvious exceptions like motorsport in which wealth is an overwhelming factor in your ability to compete.

21/09/2009, 6:54 PM
Rubbish you cant really play rugby or Gaelic football without goalposts, whereas with football you can have as they say jumpers for goalposts.

In Ireland in the main rugby is a middle class and uppper sport with the exception of Limerick. This is the same for England and Scotland. Maybe not so much Wales and New Zealand. Football is the biggest sport in the world by a mile. Htere are always going to be exceptions but in general the crux of my argument is through and your nitpicking does not really disprove my main points.

21/09/2009, 7:07 PM
There aren't any openly homosexual footballers.

Ahem...

http://www.topnews.in/sports/files/ronaldo_3.jpg

Murfinator
21/09/2009, 7:42 PM
ha before even looking at the second post I could tell from the number of "thanks" it was going to be something horribly offensive to the GAA or those that like the GAA.

Could some of you guys grow up and stop bashing other sports and the people that support it? :(

It's much in the same way that any thread on this site about why the public aren't watching the LOI will inevitably result in the words "barstoolers" and "RTE" popping up at some point.

I get it Foot.ie, you don't like the GAA, RTE, people who follow foreign leagues or other sports in general. Can't we all just accept these facts and not continue dragging them up day after day? :confused:

Yeah but it's a sh1t sport for people too fat or too stupid to master the graceful art of Association Football.

Plus only about 8 countries (including the UK's 3) play it to any sort of decent level.

And that's just being downright childish. That's just picking one, I know there's a lot of other nasty replies there because I don't follow your line of thought.

Some people need to learn how to debate an issue like this properly without throwing their toys out of the pram at me. :(

21/09/2009, 7:47 PM
ha before even looking at the second post I could tell from the number of "thanks" it was going to be something horribly offensive to the GAA or those that like the GAA.

Could some of you guys grow up and stop bashing other sports and the people that support it? :(

It's much in the same way that any thread on this site about why the public aren't watching the LOI will inevitably result in the words "barstoolers" and "RTE" popping up at some point.

I get it Foot.ie, you don't like the GAA, RTE, people who follow foreign leagues or other sports in general. Can't we all just accept these facts and not continue dragging them up day after day? :confused:

Shock horror people on an Irish football fans forum like Irish football.

Murfinator
21/09/2009, 7:47 PM
All-Ireland Tadgh kennelly showed what it can mean

Sure did, great to see that kind of passion in the modern day with a grown man holding back the tears in joy and pride that they won. :)

Shock horror people on an Irish football fans forum like Irish football.

There's a difference between liking soccer and being a jackass about it through undermining every other sport.

21/09/2009, 7:49 PM
Sure did, great to see that kind of passion in the modern day with a grown man holding back the tears in joy and pride that they won. :)

Pity he did not hold back on nearly breaking the cork players jaw. Absolute thug and if you did that in any other walk of life you would be arrested but sure GAA and Rugby allows thugs like this get away with and nearly glorify it. It was a cowardly act to hit a man in the face while he is vunerable. Nothing joyful or proud about that act in my opinion.

There's a difference between liking soccer and being a jackass about it through undermining every other sport.

Well did GAA not ban people from actually playing football and rugby and also playing GAA. Football has never done that and had that ban. In addition GAA banned those games from their grounds up until recently and in general still have that ban except for their HQ. GAA also banned people from a particular job from playing their game. GAA has openly tried to block Shamrock Rovers trying to have their own ground in Tallaght. Sof you are going to call people jackass for undermining sports they dont like, you should take a good look at the GAA before you pontificate about this. Do your homework first before you post on these issues.

Murfinator
21/09/2009, 7:56 PM
Well did GAA not ban people from actually playing football and rugby and also playing GAA. Football has never done that and had that ban. In addition GAA banned those games from their grounds up until recently and in general still have that ban except for their HQ. GAA also banned people from a particular job from playing their game. GAA has openly tried to block Shamrock Rovers trying to have their own ground in Tallaght. Sof you are going to call people jackass for undermining sports they dont like, you should take a good look at the GAA before you pontificate about this. Do your homework first before you post on these issues.

Welcome to the 21st century pops.

Get over yourself and stop dragging up that crap from the past. The notion of you being either soccer or GAA hasn't been relevant in decades, time to move on.

21/09/2009, 8:01 PM
Welcome to the 21st century pops.

Get over yourself and stop dragging up that crap from the past. The notion of you being either soccer or GAA hasn't been relevant in decades, time to move on.

Eh the ban is still there on "foreign sports" with the exception of Croke Park and that is only temp arrangement. The Shamrock Rovers and Thomas Davis was in the last year and is still on going in some ways.

Drumcondra 69er
21/09/2009, 8:03 PM
And that's just being downright childish. That's just picking one, I know there's a lot of other nasty replies there because I don't follow your line of thought.

Some people need to learn how to debate an issue like this properly without throwing their toys out of the pram at me. :(

:rolleyes: Ah get over yourself, your sense of humour bypass was obviously a massive sucess.

21/09/2009, 8:59 PM
I get it Foot.ie, you don't like the GAA, RTE, people who follow foreign leagues or other sports in general. Can't we all just accept these facts and not continue dragging them up day after day? :confused:,

I enjoyed my county's victory yesterday, my favourite TV show is just over on RTE (MNS), I also enjoyed Manchester United's win yesterday (they've been my English team since I jumped on the bandwagon in 1983). I really like basketball and (when drunk) Curling.

I would rather Cork City won a match than any if the options given, but Of those given I'd sooner see Ireland qualify for the world cup than see rugby or gaa success. I just don't see how there's even a choice really, the world cup is the biggest single sport event there is, and the world's most played and most popular sport.

Predator
21/09/2009, 9:31 PM
I'd rather see Ireland win a World Cup than for Derry (or Donegal, I'm a dual county-er) to win the All-Ireland. That's not to say I wouldn't like Derry or Donegal to win an All-Ireland again.

All this nonsense about foot.ie posters hating everything other than SAWKER is a load of shíte.