View Full Version : Galway

18/09/2009, 12:52 PM
I intend to apply to go to University next year and I'm currently weighing up my options. My current no.1 choice is UNSW in Sydney, where I've been living since February. NUI Galway is my top Irish option at present. Anyhow, without getting into my story, if you're going to live somewhere for a few years, it's fairly important that you like the city. So I thought I should try to give Galway a fair go, and at least ask what the place is like. I have been reading about the place a bit, but you can always learn more if you ask (and listen) ;)

I already know that Sydney has excellent entertainment (most of my favourite bands play here regularly), a large and vibrant population, great vegan restaurants, job opportunities, beautiful sights, decent transport (I don't drive), reasonable cost of living and so forth.

I know little about Galway as regards; nightlife/entertainment (not into going to a club with no band, and the latest dance/chart music blasting out as people stumble about. But if there are plenty of gigs to go to with a good variety of music then that is a plus.) cuisine, aesthetics, transport (in relation to getting around the city, getting to Dublin, and of course getting to the nearest LOI grounds), cost of living, employment etc

In a nutshell, I'm looking for Galwegians or any students in Galway to give me an honest sales pitch on 'Irelands cultural heart'.

18/09/2009, 1:02 PM
Sydney all the way.

18/09/2009, 1:47 PM
Sydney all the way.

...+1.

18/09/2009, 1:51 PM
Went to NUIG myself, in terms of going to college in Ireland it's great fun and a good college but I can't imagine it being better than Sydney, though I haven't been to Sydney so I'm not much use on that score.

GalwayRed
20/09/2009, 12:30 AM
Well Ive never been to Sydney but I would imagine its better than galway.
To start off, galways a real student city. Its great craic. During college semesters its a lively city and a pretty nice city too. Everythings easy to acess. They have pretty much everything covered for students. Accomodation is easy enough to get too. Terryland Park is only a 15 minute walk from eyre square for all your loi needs;). Theres a load of pubs in galway with lots of different varieties to choose from. In general its a pretty friendly city which is pretty much ideal for students. If you do choose NUIG i would be confident you would like it.

20/09/2009, 5:25 AM
ive also never been to Sydney so all i can tell you is i agree with GalwayRed (having also moved to college in Galway) and the place is brilliant. Enjoyed every minute of my 3 years there. The music scene is 7 nights a week, wide selection of local, national and international bands. The people are friendly and a good mix of students, locals and tourists. Great pubs and clubs. Laid back atmosphere. Good renting and everything is in the college and 5-10mins walk from the college. The city has decent public transport but you'll find you can walk to almost everywhere you need to.. Its good like that ;)

If you like your Home and Away birds and sunny christmases, stay in Sydney.
If you like hippies (who can probably show you a good vegan restaurant :D ), and a fair dose of rain, move to Galway. :)

Keep us posted on what you end up doing.

Paddyfield
20/09/2009, 8:04 PM
i

If you like your Home and Away birds and sunny christmases, stay in Sydney.
If you like hippies (who can probably show you a good vegan restaurant :D ), and a fair dose of rain, move to Galway. :)

Many of the hippies in Galway are from Oz!

I am born and bred Galway so feel free to ask any specific questions.

21/09/2009, 9:05 PM
Thanks for all of the help lads, Galway is certainly looking like a very appetising second choice at the moment. Gotta run and start work now :cool:

19/11/2009, 7:50 AM
Keep us posted on what you end up doing.

Righto :)

Raising the funds to go to University in Australia is looking near impossible (unless anyone has a great tip for the bookies that I can chuck all of my money on). It works out at around $25,000 (roughly e15,500) per year in fees alone. When on a student visa you can also only work 20 hours a week during term. I did know these things when I started the thread.. I was just more hopeful about earning money at the time.

So, at the moment it looks like it'll be between NUIG and UCD. I already meet the minimum requirements for NUI, whereas I'd have to do a maths resit for UCD. In UCD's favour is family and friends nearby and a cheap place to stay - with my parents in Bray. In case you're wondering why UCD, the other colleges in Dublin don't seem to have as much to offer when it comes to my field of interest - zoology.

So, from 'Galway or Sydney' we're now at 'Galway or Dublin'. Just letting ye know what's happening, but feel free to comment.. or to give me au$100,000 :D

19/11/2009, 8:11 AM
I think you miss out on some of the fun of the college experience if you do it while living at home.

On the other hand of course, zero accommodation costs is a serious, serious saving.

It kinda comes down to a craic v finance argument.

Paddyfield
19/11/2009, 9:14 PM
So, from 'Galway or Sydney' we're now at 'Galway or Dublin'. Just letting ye know what's happening, but feel free to comment.. or to give me au$100,000 :D

No prob. Send me a PM with all of your bank details including PIN numbers, passwords, home address and phone numbers. Thanks