View Full Version : Bray, Waterford, Sligo or Fingal for the cup

Pages : 1 [2] 3

sheao
16/09/2009, 3:38 PM
Would have to be Sligo for me. They deserve to win it after beating Cork City, Derry and Bohs. But who knows if any more shocks like last night are still instore.

16/09/2009, 3:40 PM
i'd rather any of the three over fingal soley for the reason that thay wont have baght it because i think atleast fingal have an unfair advantage over many clubs with the council backing?mabe i'm rong thou but still its a great cup draw!:D

As opposed to an unfair advantage by spending money they don't have, sold land twice to gain, or that they've borrowed off of a 'mystery' donor....? :confused:

Iorfa2MaccaJim
16/09/2009, 4:45 PM
WATERFORD UNITED FOOTBALL CLUB - F.A.I. Ford Cup Champions 2009

COME ON BLUES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

peadar1987
16/09/2009, 5:12 PM
WATERFORD UNITED FOOTBALL CLUB - F.A.I. Ford Cup Champions 2009

COME ON BLUES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well that's them jinxed!

sligofan4ever
16/09/2009, 5:17 PM
*Cue Iorfa2maccaJim to make 4 threads on The FAI Cup and in the following order*

1:FAI Cup Latest. first post - any updates ?
2:FAI Cup semi finals. first post -who'll win ?
3:FAI Cup in two weeks. first post -any commentary over the radio ?
4:FAI Cup semi final next week. first post how many fans will be at the games and how many are travelling to the away games ?

OneForTheFuture
16/09/2009, 5:20 PM
I reckon Fingal will win it....:(

And it won't do anything for their fanbase....That's just deluded.

A waterford/fingal final with 916 the official attendance

16/09/2009, 5:38 PM
feck ya bray shattering my dreams hope they make it to the final atleast i'd actually like any of them to win

CSFShels
16/09/2009, 8:07 PM
Hope Fingal win it,and get promoted purely because PD and Europa League football would kick start their fanbase.
Em I think it'd do that for any real club too.

16/09/2009, 8:22 PM
Has to be Sligo (deservedly).

Why?

Whoever wins it will beat either us ,Silgo, Waterford or Fingal and good luck to them, No particular team "(deservedly)" is in the semi finals, they all are.

The only problem for them would be complacency. Or one of the other teams beat them as there is very litle between the sides left in.

marty
16/09/2009, 8:23 PM
Bray V Sligo

For a team fighting for the first division W/fords crowds are just dire so for this reason I think maybe a Bray V Sligo final would be a more attractive finale.

16/09/2009, 8:49 PM
For a team fighting for the first division W/fords crowds are just dire so for this reason I think maybe a Bray V Sligo final would be a more attractive finale.

Forgive the possible naevity, but, i'd be pretty sure Waterford would bring alot more than Bray. Waterford, like us, would probably attract alot of sunshiners and event junkies.

16/09/2009, 8:58 PM
Forgive the possible naevity, but, i'd be pretty sure Waterford would bring alot more than Bray.

You could be right,

I suppose the biggest cup final crowd in the last 20 years didnt involve Bray.

16/09/2009, 9:01 PM

I suppose it may not have. Then again it may.

16/09/2009, 9:08 PM
In 1990 Wanderers secured their most prized trophy ever by winning the FAI Senior Cup, defeating St. Francis 3-0 before a crowd of 30,000 people in the first ever Lansdowne Road final.

probably (http://www.braywanderers.com/showarticle.php?id=18)

16/09/2009, 9:11 PM

I was 2 years old at that stage.. my LoI time hadn't begun i'm afraid. :(

For a minute i thought you might say the games V Harps in 99 and include the replays, wasn't there 2 of those?

Any pictures of that 90' final btw?

CSFShels
16/09/2009, 9:13 PM
waterford only conceded 12 goals in 24 games so far this season.
best back line in the country by a mile.

come on ye blues.
Are you serious? Theres a reason these players are playing in the First Division and not the Premier.

blue til i die
16/09/2009, 9:16 PM
Are you serious? Theres a reason these players are playing in the First Division and not the Premier.

Kenny Browne would get into any defence in the premier division without a doubt. FACT! Anybody who has seen him would agree.

16/09/2009, 9:17 PM
I was 2 years old at that stage.. my LoI time hadn't begun i'm afraid. :(

For a minute i thought you might say the games V Harps in 99 and include the replays, wasn't there 2 of those?

Any pictures of that 90' final btw?

yeah went to a replay in 99'

there is coverage of the 90 cup final but rte have it on lockdown.

16/09/2009, 9:55 PM
Kenny Browne would get into any defence in the premier division without a doubt. FACT! Anybody who has seen him would agree.

None of the Premier Division managers must have seen him play so

16/09/2009, 10:07 PM
You could be right,

In fairness - the game may have involved Bray, but the vast majority of the attendnace didn't.

If Bray could bring out such a decent fan-base, why did the FAI resort to opening the gates for free on the day of the game - letting in half the Liberties ?

thedoyler
16/09/2009, 10:36 PM
In fairness it's generally accepted that Bray had over 10,000 fans there. Thats a lot more than Bohs or Derry had last year, so-called 'bigger clubs'.

CarrickFan
16/09/2009, 10:52 PM
Why?

Whoever wins it will beat either us ,Silgo, Waterford or Fingal and good luck to them, No particular team "(deservedly)" is in the semi finals, they all are.

Or one of the other teams beat them as there is very litle between the sides left in.

Id say when they say Sligo deservedly they mean because we knocked out Cork,Derry and Bohemians(Holders and League Champions)...3 of the top 4 teams in the country...a very tough run by any standards......

Bray on the other hand have knocked out Bluebell,Tralee and Longford....a slight difference.

CF1989
16/09/2009, 10:55 PM
Why?

Or one of the other teams beat them as there is very litle between the sides left in.

theres a difference in getting to the semis by beating cork, derry and bohs, than beating bluebell, trallee and longford at home

thedoyler
16/09/2009, 10:57 PM
If football was scored on points like boxing yes sligo would be way ahead at this stage. Now for us to muster up a late knockout :D

16/09/2009, 11:13 PM
theres a difference in getting to the semis by beating cork, derry and bohs, than beating bluebell, trallee and longford at home
Not really, both teams beat the teams they were drawn against.

blue til i die
16/09/2009, 11:15 PM
None of the Premier Division managers must have seen him play so

and why would they? shur the first division doesnt really exit :D

But on a serious note,he's awesome, he has improved more than anyone i've seen in this league. Was offered 2 deals last year, but rejected them, one from fingal for crazy money. He's big, strong, good control, calm under pressure and very quick. Someone will snap him up if we dont go up.

CarrickFan
17/09/2009, 12:16 AM
Not really, both teams beat the teams they were drawn against.

Well pal if things had been the other way around i'd still fancy Rovers to have beaten Bluebell,Tralee and Longford while Bray would have fallen at first hurdle away v Cork never mind Derry or Bohs.

Dalymountrower
17/09/2009, 8:34 AM
Well pal if things had been the other way around i'd still fancy Rovers to have beaten Bluebell,Tralee and Longford while Bray would have fallen at first hurdle away v Cork never mind Derry or Bohs.

I don`t. Sligo seem to be able to raise their game against the bigger clubs and blow it against the so called lesser lights. Getting a distinct sense from some of the Sligo supporters on this Forum that they have done all the hard work. That sort of attitude will see them getting stuffed in the semi by any one of the three other remaining teams (pal!)

srfc1928
17/09/2009, 9:21 AM
Getting a distinct sense from some of the Sligo supporters on this Forum that they have done all the hard work.
I dont think so tbh. We know ourselves weve struggled against the 'weaker' sides this season. But one thing that has come good for us is that we now have a full squad available, weve had a nightmare season with injuries, up till now.
The winning of a cup is still a long way away.

The last time we won the cup in 94 we were a 1st division side ourselves and beat Cork on the way and Derry in the final. So we have been in this situation before looking in from the other side.

17/09/2009, 9:45 AM
I believe the fai cup draw is on next monday on mns!

17/09/2009, 9:52 AM
Waterford v Fingal final.

CarrickFan
17/09/2009, 11:34 AM
I don`t. Sligo seem to be able to raise their game against the bigger clubs and blow it against the so called lesser lights. Getting a distinct sense from some of the Sligo supporters on this Forum that they have done all the hard work. That sort of attitude will see them getting stuffed in the semi by any one of the three other remaining teams (pal!)

Totally agree with you and have been saying it would be just like us to be beaten by a 1st Division team after such a good run...the 3 other clubs in the semis are all good sides so i am not one bit complacent...my point was to the Bray fan who didnt think we had a harder run to the semis saying "you can only beat who ur drawn against"...Bluebell,Tralee,Longford or Cork,Derry,Bohs...you tell me which is the tougher route??..and i believe im correct in saying that if Bray had got our draws they would no longer be in the competition.

Redie
17/09/2009, 1:32 PM

The attitude of Rovers supporters will have no bearing on the success of the team whatsoever. It is only the attitude of the players and managemaent that will count.

peadar1987
17/09/2009, 2:29 PM
Totally agree with you and have been saying it would be just like us to be beaten by a 1st Division team after such a good run...the 3 other clubs in the semis are all good sides so i am not one bit complacent...my point was to the Bray fan who didnt think we had a harder run to the semis saying "you can only beat who ur drawn against"...Bluebell,Tralee,Longford or Cork,Derry,Bohs...you tell me which is the tougher route??..and i believe im correct in saying that if Bray had got our draws they would no longer be in the competition.

You never know. I admit we had the easier route to the semis, I don't think anyone is suggesting we didn't, but who's to say we wouldn't have beaten the sides you did? We have just beaten Bohs away from home, and have done the same to Shamrock Rovers earlier in the season, so we've shown we have those results in us.

And who's to say Sligo wouldn't have hammered Bluebell for 90 minutes without scoring, and conceded a last minute winner off someones backside?

The point is, the matches that have been played are immaterial so long as they've been won, and the team that wins the cup will be the one who wins the next two games, not necessarily the side that knocked out Bohs, Derry and Cork.

Da Real Rover
17/09/2009, 3:53 PM
I just hope we make the final and most of all Fingal dont.
Fair play to Bray but most of all Waterford on the season they have had so far.
Its sad to see a once traditional football town struggling with crowds so badly when they are having such a cracking season.
If we do make the final you can be sure half the town will be out at it and a cracking atmosphere as we have had the whole way through the cup.
Heres me hoping. :)

17/09/2009, 3:57 PM
Half the town weren't at the 2004 final, I wonder would the bandwagoners be more interested this time around. Not meant to be a dig by the way.

dublinred
17/09/2009, 4:05 PM
Hope Fingal win it,and get promoted purely because PD and Europa League football would kick start their fanbase.

The result in tallaght seems to had done that alright ,met loads of people in the pub last night who are considering going to the Fingal semi and will defo go to the final if they make it.

Da Real Rover
17/09/2009, 4:05 PM
Half the town weren't at the 2004 final, I wonder would the bandwagoners be more interested this time around. Not meant to be a dig by the way.
We werent in the 2004 final?

17/09/2009, 4:08 PM
and i believe im correct in saying that if Bray had got our draws they would no longer be in the competition.

I think pretty much every football fan in the LOI would have said the same about you on your cup run so far though. On paper Sligo should have been knocked out way earlier in the cup but thats the thing about cup football, form goes out the window so who knows how we would have done......

17/09/2009, 4:11 PM
We werent in the 2004 final?

Yeah sorry I misread it, thought he was on about Waterford. Carry on!

trevy
17/09/2009, 4:25 PM
The Cup is wide open this year so we'll all be looking out for the semi final draw on Monday night on MNS. I agree our crowds are very poor but hopefully when we get to the semi final or final they'll come out in bigger numbers as the win over St Pats have certainly made people sit up and take notice of what we are doing this season.

Lamper.sffc
17/09/2009, 6:20 PM
The result in tallaght seems to had done that alright ,met loads of people in the pub last night who are considering going to the Fingal semi and will defo go to the final if they make it.

If our club can take anything from this cup run its the good press. Everybody has been talking about Shamrock Rovers this year and the fact we beat them promotes our club in a good light.

17/09/2009, 6:24 PM
And who's to say Sligo wouldn't have hammered Bluebell for 90 minutes without scoring, and conceded a last minute winner off someones backside?

Don't bring back painful memories :(

CarrickFan
17/09/2009, 6:45 PM
I think pretty much every football fan in the LOI would have said the same about you on your cup run so far though. On paper Sligo should have been knocked out way earlier in the cup but thats the thing about cup football, form goes out the window so who knows how we would have done......

fair enough..i didnt think we'd get through all 3 myself to be honest.

Peader1987 i agree with you also!!

Dixie Dean
17/09/2009, 8:09 PM

Ah we're well past that. We are now in full planning for the 2011 Europa league final, thats practically in the bag as well. Everton in the final with seamus coleman losing to his old club. Cant wait for it. ;)

As long suffering fans we expect nothing but disappointment.

roinuj
17/09/2009, 8:28 PM

90% of them neutral or st francis supporters,
bray never had big support.

Knappagh Red
17/09/2009, 8:51 PM
Is the cup final date confirmed?

17/09/2009, 8:59 PM
Is the cup final date confirmed?November 22nd.

17/09/2009, 9:18 PM

So there was only 3000 Bray fans then?

red bellied
18/09/2009, 10:52 AM

I watched that game on the telly. Bray had the West stand and it was full, so it must of been around the 10,000 mark.