View Full Version : FAI Cup QF's/League latest
15/09/2009, 8:55 PM
Sligo rovers beat bohs -Game over
We were cheated out of it in the Showgrounds (and maybe Bohs were too...?), but thank you Sligo for stopping Bohs.
We still have our treble! :p
15/09/2009, 8:58 PM
Ah well, a step to far.
Gareth
15/09/2009, 9:02 PM
extratime beckons in tallaght
my favourite period of play ;)
if you dont mind Gareth, im awaiting reports of Rovers demise....
It seems to be 50-50 ATM, both sides having attacking periods. Penalties on the way methinks. How come 'super keeper' is on the bench?
citybone
15/09/2009, 9:08 PM
We were cheated out of it in the Showgrounds (and maybe Bohs were too...?), but thank you Sligo for stopping Bohs.
We still have our treble! :p
Yee and us would want one of those dublin clubs above us to win the cup to give the top 4 league spots to europe/ 3rd spot higher qualifying round and its looking unlikely. Another small team in Europe to discrace us (I know how we did in Finland i was there)
Gareth
15/09/2009, 9:11 PM
if you dont mind Gareth, im awaiting reports of Rovers demise....
Rovers won ;) they beat Bohs.....
On a serious note, both sides are tiring in Tallaght. Looking like penos.
Rovers won ;) they beat Bohs.....
Oooohhhhh...:D:p
Longford were very unlucky after there 2nd half preformance tonight, they had several chances to score but for our keeper and bad finishing they desered at least extra time if not the win...
I for one aint complaining though, delighted to be in the semis and with how the other results went we have a great chance of winning it i think.
sonofstan
15/09/2009, 9:19 PM
Well done to Sligo, whatever the details. If we can't win it, I'd prefer youse to almost anyone else. And if it's a final against Wicklow, I suspect a lot of us will be along to lend our support.
sonofstan
15/09/2009, 9:22 PM
Oh yessssss......:D
15/09/2009, 9:23 PM
Fair played to Sligo, I honestly didn't think they could do it but it's great to see the under-dog win.
I would also like to congratulate Waterford, they are having a fabulous season and Henderson is once again proving to be one of the top managers around. The win also shows that the 1st division is not quite as bad as people like to make out. Longford holding Bray only to go out by 1 goal of difference in the replay and Fingal holding Rovers to a draw twice over 90 minutes and then Waterford beating Pats.
Saying that, I loath the 1st division from a "discover Ireland" point of view.
SMorgan
15/09/2009, 9:23 PM
Oh yessssss......:D
That cup defeat is going to cost Bohs and won't help them meet the 65%.
Go on the mighty Fingal :D :D :D
sonofstan
15/09/2009, 9:24 PM
You reckon? bright boy wanted....
thats where peoples "understanding" of the magical 65% is so warped. We didnt budget to win the FAI Cup therefore it doesnt really affect us.
It harms us only in that we have debt that needs servicing.
15/09/2009, 9:26 PM
You reckon? bright boy wanted....
Well if the job is still up for grabs.........................
Well done to Sligo, whatever the details. If we can't win it, I'd prefer youse to almost anyone else. And if it's a final against Wicklow, I suspect a lot of us will be along to lend our support.
Wicklow, never heard us called that before :D We'd prefer the the Hoops lending their support anyway, i's always nice lending our green and white brothers a hand now and again ;)
15/09/2009, 9:27 PM
Longford were very unlucky after there 2nd half preformance tonight, they had several chances to score but for our keeper and bad finishing they desered at least extra time if not the win...
:(:(:(
Peno missed!
hahahaha. Class :D the rent boys will be fuming.
All over. Rovers, Bohs, Longford and Pat's out
SMorgan
15/09/2009, 9:28 PM
thats where peoples "understanding" of the magical 65% is so warped. We didnt budget to win the FAI Cup therefore it doesnt really affect us.
It harms us only in that we have debt that needs servicing.
Arrr, what a load. A cup semi-final and a cup final means money and money that you badly need... What is there to understand in that??
"We didnt budget to win the FAI Cup.." Honestly
Your man doing the Rovers commentary didn't take long getting off the air anyway!! :D
Arrr, what a load. A cup semi-final and a cup final means money and money that you badly need... What is there to understand in that??
"We didnt budget to win the FAI Cup.." Honestly
think about it and think about what you said about 65%, you
howsyourtouch
15/09/2009, 9:30 PM
All over. Rovers, Bohs, Longford and Pat's out
thats the big 4 gone then!!! :p:p:D
Ah here look does this really need to turn into this boll!x again?
thats the big 4 gone then!!! :p:D
class :D
GalwayRed
15/09/2009, 9:32 PM
So one of Bray, Sligo, Waterford or Fingal are going to be in Europe next year:eek: Thats a nice little earner for one of those clubs.
think about it and think about what you said about 65%,
The only way it wont affect ye, is if your budgeted income was as high as expected, and expenditure is as low.
Budgets are great, but rarely followed in the LOI
Have ye been getting crowds ye expected etc?
If not, getting knocked out could play a big part in putting ye over the 65%
15/09/2009, 9:33 PM
So one of Bray, Sligo, Waterford or Fingal are going to be in Europe next year:eek: Thats a nice little earner for one of those clubs.
Not really. And we already were in Europe this season thank you very much.
15/09/2009, 9:33 PM
think about it and think about what you said about 65%, you.
It's 35% short of 100%?
You, big you ya.
I think Sligo deserve to win this considering the teams they have went through.
Just hope it ain't Fingal.
Hmm, well thats the '6 steps to europe out the window'.
Bad night for us, Euopr and Setanta both probably gone.
GalwayRed
15/09/2009, 9:35 PM
Not really. And we already were in Europe this season thank you very much.
I know but you have a weaker side this year. It would be more of an achievement this time around.
15/09/2009, 9:37 PM
I think Sligo deserve to win this considering the teams they have went through.
Yeah, especially compared to us beating Bluebell, Tralee and Longford. :o
Delighted to get through, especially after Longford gave us such a close run tonight. They did really well tonight and should have scored way earlier than they did.
It's 35% short of 100%?
Not sure if name calling is the right way to go about it buddy.
i edited that post fairly sharpish so im pretty sure you typed that last bit in yourself. Either way, could you remove it from your post please?
MICLS, if we didnt budget for winning the cup then i cant see that it will affect us greatly. Unless im reading it incorrectly, it is only sanctions for clubs that exceed 65% of income as per the budget as approved by the FAI and not the actual final figure?
sonofstan
15/09/2009, 9:42 PM
Sligo are now going to have to cope with being favourites.:eek:
i edited that post fairly sharpish so im pretty sure you typed that last bit in yourself. Either way, could you remove it from your post please?
MICLS, if we didnt budget for winning the cup then i cant see that it will affect us greatly. Unless im reading it incorrectly, it is only sanctions for clubs that exceed 65% of income as per the budget as approved by the FAI and not the actual final figure?
Nope, the sanctions are for real figures afaik, not the budget.
Lamper.sffc
15/09/2009, 9:47 PM
Get in. :D. Raging I couldnt go to this. The only Dublin team left:D. Dont worry boys we will keep the flag flying:p
15/09/2009, 9:49 PM
:D That's hilarious, did you not know? I am part of the referee assosiation that is plotting against You, Bohs, Derry, Dundalk, Sean Connor and Roddy Collins. We mean business, next in our list is to go to peoples homes and tickle their feet with feathers, pure evil im sure you will agree, You.
Nope, the sanctions are for real figures afaik, not the budget.
okay, maybe, but doesnt that mean that clubs cant therrefore be sanctioned until accounts are finalised, signed off, filed etc which, and i could be wrong, arent filed until next year?
15/09/2009, 9:49 PM
Yee and us would want one of those dublin clubs above us to win the cup to give the top 4 league spots to europe/ 3rd spot higher qualifying round and its looking unlikely
This may have been discussed before, but would the Europa League place not go to the runners up?
:D That's hilarious, did you not know? I am part of the referee assosiation that is plotting against You, Bohs, Derry, Dundalk, Sean Connor and Roddy Collins. We mean business, next in our list is to go to peoples homes and tickle their feet with feathers, pure evil im sure you will agree, You.
i bloody knew it. You you, you.
15/09/2009, 9:51 PM
Longford were very unlucky after there 2nd half preformance tonight, they had several chances to score but for our keeper and bad finishing they desered at least extra time if not the win.
Thats disappointing. At least we gave a good account of ourselves.
okay, maybe, but doesnt that mean that clubs cant therrefore be sanctioned until accounts are finalised, signed off, filed etc which, and i could be wrong, arent filed until next year?
I honestly dont know.Can anyone clarify.
But if they were just based on budget, everyone could just overbudget and overestimte crowds etc to get around it, making it redundant. Now I dont have much faith in the FAI but surely they're not that slow