View Full Version : does this make anyone feel better?
irishultra
11/09/2009, 2:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQURzPw9KzE&feature=related
:p
i know our barstoolers are bad but as far as i'm aware they've never stooped to that!!! at least we're not the only country with these problems.
Oh and here
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6SGg3RO4X8&feature=related
11/09/2009, 2:39 AM
You would have a salient point - however - 95% of the Liverpool fans (or indeed any British/European side) in those two videos will also be found in the stadium of their local Norwegian Professional side on a Sunday/Monday evening watching their local team play.
11/09/2009, 8:44 AM
Meh, I was in a bar in Letterkenny when Liverpool came back from 3 down and almost the entire place was up singing "You'll never walk alone".
In fairness it's a proper feckin anthem though, in comparison we have in LOI, Bohs fans singing a Johnny Logan Song and Rovers sing "why do you build me up, buttercup" although it's a classic :D
No problem with anyone supporting a foreign club, it's the one's who "support" them and couldn't even be dragged to a LOI game, that I aint fond of ;)
GreenStar
11/09/2009, 9:00 AM
Meh, I was in a bar in Letterkenny when Liverpool came back from 3 down and almost the entire place was up singing "You'll never walk alone".
In fairness it's a proper feckin anthem though, in comparison we have in LOI, Bohs fans singing a Johnny Logan Song and Rovers sing "why do you build me up, buttercup" although it's a classic :D
No problem with anyone supporting a foreign club, it's the one's who "support" them and couldn't even be dragged to a LOI game, that I aint fond of ;)
To be fair Sam, Buttercup is not classed as a Rovers 'Anthem'. It's just a song we sing.
srfc1928
11/09/2009, 9:24 AM
The Cavern by any chance?
i was there that night unfortunatly, nightmare stuff
Agreed
11/09/2009, 9:25 AM
Norwegian fans singing an American song in praise of an American-owned football club located in England that has a disproportionate number of Irish tricolours at its matches. Is this new?
I feel the same.
11/09/2009, 11:38 AM
...or manufacturing rivalries, eg. Liverpool fans living in Derry who just really hate Everton. :rolleyes:
13/09/2009, 4:13 PM
Some LOI clubs have a decent club song/anthem that they at least have some connection to...... :D
Jonny Logan's 'Hold me Now' is dreadful, and the story behind how Bohs adopted it just highlights how poorly supported LOI football is.
sligofan4ever
13/09/2009, 5:49 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jZ3vQaCbHw
A proper football chant.
13/09/2009, 5:52 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jZ3vQaCbHw
A proper football chant.
Proof to everyone, that Sligoman has the voice of an angel.
We were alot louder than there on Friday night ;)
sligofan4ever
13/09/2009, 5:55 PM
Proof to everyone, that Sligoman has the voice of an angel.
We were alot louder than there on Friday night ;)
A rumour is doing its round that Sligoman is lined up to replace Noel Gallagher in Oasis ;) Just as soon as hes convinced to give up the church choir, you know, with the angels voice and all :D. I was looking for a video of ye doing it last friday actually, sounded great on television.
stamullendrog
13/09/2009, 7:02 PM
You would have a salient point - however - 95% of the Liverpool fans (or indeed any British/European side) in those two videos will also be found in the stadium of their local Norwegian Professional side on a Sunday/Monday evening watching their local team play.
thats the big difference dont know why ye bother with this taking the mick out of people who like watching their football on a barstool.any hope ye have of getting them to a game is gone with that elitist attitude.anyone with non LOI going mates try the "ah the lads arent coming up tonight do ya wanna come" trick,its worked a few times for me.get them in the gate once or twice they will be back
CF1989
13/09/2009, 7:19 PM
havnt got a problem with people who support a british team if they come to LOI games, i myself am a man united fan, the ones who say 'ah i wouldnt go upto see that shower' etc i cannot stand. and the ones who dont give a damn about their local side. when you think about it, you could say about 80% of people in a county are interested in football. i find it hard to figure out why teams can only get 1 or 2000 to games. grounds should be packed
stamullendrog
13/09/2009, 7:30 PM
i think its more an occasion culture in this country compare attendances in the GAA from league to championship and the magners league to heineken cup in the rugby.
sligofan4ever
13/09/2009, 8:09 PM
I feel its a continuing trend of following British clubs only even when living in Ireland. However I must say that in Sligo anyways, every game you always see plenty of young people out which is very good to see in the LoI, some may have a man united tracksuit top or Liverpool jersey on them but so long as their following their local club too I don't mind. Its even more promising for years to come as they could bring their kids about 10/15/20 years down the line along with them which just increases numbers further.
13/09/2009, 8:17 PM
This always makes me laugh...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xN1WN0YMWZU
sligofan4ever
13/09/2009, 8:48 PM
This always makes me laugh...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xN1WN0YMWZU
Love it :D
I know its nothing to do with what this threads about, but this makes me laugh anytime I watch it, just came to mind when I seen the Liverpool thing :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qamVB4ixxGs
Our antham: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P45e_y5dFOk&feature=related
peadar1987
13/09/2009, 8:57 PM
There was a small movement to get Bray to start singing the Piano Man a few months back. I'm gutted it didn't get off the ground! Top tune for a crowd to sing!
14/09/2009, 12:24 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQBB02KjO8o
stamullendrog
14/09/2009, 8:15 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQBB02KjO8o
WOW flares at a preseason friendly how hardcore is that
14/09/2009, 10:50 AM
WOW flares at a preseason friendly how hardcore is that
We had stanley blades as well.
14/09/2009, 8:15 PM
We had stanley blades as well.
Pwoper Nawty that
14/09/2009, 8:28 PM
Pwoper Nawty that
http://www.contactmusic.com/pics/m/women_awards_3_071207/danny_dyer_5064289.jpg
14/09/2009, 8:29 PM
A few of our "anthems" include...
The Home and Away theme tune...
Whats New Pussycat...
Gay Bar...
Charlie Lansborough's 'Forever friend"..(which hasn't been sung in quite a while)
We might'nt be top of the league, but we do have a VERY strong catalogue of motivational choooons.