View Full Version : GAA gets higher ratings than Ireland Qualifier

Pages : 1 2 [3]

08/09/2009, 4:20 PM
As an adjunct to this discussion, I recently discovered that matches in the "Gaelic" "Games" last only 70 minutes. :D

Even rugger buggers can keep it up for longer than that.

When, next carrying out your fact finding mission, have a look at the size of the pitch.

08/09/2009, 4:20 PM
think he's suggesting that there's going to be precious few from outside Limerick at the game, whereas there's always loads from outside Dublin at games in Lansdowne or Croke Park
No, I was picking up on his argument that in order to be proper Irish, you should be passionate about your locality. This doesn't seem to follow through in the football side of things though.

Edit - in particular, I was responding to this:

To GAA fans and Irish people in general. I'd honestly only expect some comment like that [an anti-GAA comment; possibly a legitimate one] from some english supremest who deludes themself that they have an in depth understanding of our country.

and this:

Your Irishness is how integrated you are in the culture and how passionate you are about the land and the people in it.
I was also responding to the contradiction that some people in, say, Carlow support Leinster Rugby, or some people in Bantry support Cork GAA, but Murfinator doesn't feel the same support should apply to him in the LoI. I'm questioning his Irishness as a result.

(And I'm obvioulsy doing it all in a sarcastic manner to poke holes in his argument)

08/09/2009, 4:24 PM
When, next carrying out your fact finding mission, have a look at the size of the pitch.
Yeah, I did, thanks. I also noted that the game was played fifteen-a-side and largely involved whacking the ball as far as possible from a near-stationary position, like a less skillful form of netball.

08/09/2009, 4:26 PM
Im to ****ed to read all the posts here.....but there is no way that football is going down in popularity at all, at least not in the areas I grow up, just casue we dont qualify dont mean diddly squat........football is the game of the masses....gah is something you might play if you were bored (rarely) and rugby easlily desends in to aussie rules............

I watch all sports but gah is a complete joke of a sport, and as much as i love hurling there is only one team!

and by the way the reason why some of us HATE the gah is we have seen the way they treat local football teams................from digging up pitches....having training sessions at same time as football..........telling players not to play "soccer", and generaly sneering attitude.......and they are the same fellas at the pub cheering on Man u!!!

08/09/2009, 4:27 PM
I see games in passing, not nearly enough to know the state of teams or the best players, but enough to see the physical condition of players. They are amateurs. Very fit amateurs no doubt, but not comparable in fitness levels or physical build to top sportsman in other disciplines. The GAA side look like boys compared to the professional Aussie Rules lads in the international series. And every so often I seem to spot a keeper who simply doesn't look like any cut of a sportsman.

As for the heavy hitting, you're going to tell me we don't often hear stories about players being involved in fights on the GAA pitch?! :rolleyes:

The aussies are pumping themselves full of steroids from the age of 16 its impossible to compare the players in those terms. In fitness terms the gaelic lads have put it up to them as has been shown the last couple of times. Strenght is a whole different question though.

Murfinator
08/09/2009, 4:34 PM
No, I was picking up on his argument that in order to be proper Irish, you should be passionate about your locality. This doesn't seem to follow through in the football side of things though.

Edit - in particular, I was responding to this:

and this:

I was also responding to the contradiction that some people in, say, Carlow support Leinster Rugby, or some people in Bantry support Cork GAA, but Murfinator doesn't feel the same support should apply to him in the LoI. I'm questioning his Irishness as a result.

(And I'm obvioulsy doing it all in a sarcastic manner to poke holes in his argument)

That would make sense if I was from an area that has a team, you might have mistaken it earlier but there is no team in my locality. I'll support any LOI team in Europe but why would I take sides nationally when I have equally little in common with every team?

I support Munster and my county in hurling and football because I do have something in common with the teams, I can chat to people at work or at home about their progress, go to matches with friends and support them heartily, so it is a community and culture thing to an extent. I can't do that for a LOI team because... there isn't one. You're looking for hypocritical comments where there aren't any, dude. :D

Straightstory
08/09/2009, 4:57 PM
To GAA fans and Irish people in general. I'd honestly only expect some comment like that from some english supremest who deludes themself that they have an in depth understanding of our country. Pretty sick to think there's people living in my country with that kind of caveman view on our national game and the people who support it. :(

I hate the GAA and GAA supporters. Horrible games with a nasty, sectarian backdrop. And what's the point of hurling? You can't even see the ball.

08/09/2009, 5:10 PM
Murfinator, i might have missed it earlier but where in the midwest do you live?

DeLorean
08/09/2009, 5:11 PM
I hate the GAA and GAA supporters. Horrible games with a nasty, sectarian backdrop

Yes GAA supporters are evil, every one of them. There are no exceptions whatsoever, same with people who like U2. And as for the sectarian thing you'd never find anything like that in the beautiful game.

And what's the point of hurling? You can't even see the ball.

Oh sweet mother...

Jicked
08/09/2009, 5:22 PM
Yes GAA supporters are evil, every one of them. There are no exceptions whatsoever, same with people who like U2. And as for the sectarian thing you'd never find anything like that in the beautiful game.

But the sectarianism in GAA has been propogated by the governing body themselves, unlike any other sport I can think of.

08/09/2009, 6:02 PM
To me the GAA represents an inward looking attitude, tied hand in hand with the FF view of Irishness and Ireland.

I've always preferred the "foreign" games myself because it allows Ireland some visibility in the outside world.

DeLorean
08/09/2009, 6:09 PM
I think, like most things Ireland related, the GAA has been very backwards in it's attitude towards 'foreign games'. This is slowly but surely changing but it will take time for it to drown out completely. While there are many GAA chiefs still around who remember the days where it was a battle for them to get their sports played I'd imagine they'll continue on with a chip on their shoulder.

08/09/2009, 7:16 PM
The worst of both sides of the argument can be seen here.

I'm a football fan, a gaelic fan, a rugby fan and a cricket fan. I've watched local and national sides in all sports, at all levels, all over the country and around the world. Can someone tell me how Irish I am, I'm confused.......

Murfinator
08/09/2009, 7:53 PM
And what's the point of hurling? You can't even see the ball.

:D:D:D

Excellent question, I'll forward it to the GAA comment desk to see if they have some sort of explanation.

livehead1
08/09/2009, 8:59 PM
I must say I'm delighted our national sport is so well followed.

Colbert Report
09/09/2009, 3:59 AM
Who cares about GAA, this is a football website. Yawn.

northwestexile
09/09/2009, 8:23 AM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=117471

Surprised?

Is this article for real. Basically what they are saying is that I've got more friends than you have:p

DeLorean
09/09/2009, 9:08 AM

I'm a football fan, a gaelic fan, a rugby fan and a cricket fan. I've watched local and national sides in all sports, at all levels, all over the country and around the world. Can someone tell me how Irish I am, I'm confused.......

I works like this I believe...

Gaelic Fan: 100 credits
Rugby Fan: 5 credits for supporting Ireland, 10 credits for supporting your province
Football Fan: 5 credits for supporting Ireland, 10 credits for supporting your LOI side, -50 for supporting PL team
Cricket Fan: -100 credits

Scram
09/09/2009, 10:07 AM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=117471

Surprised?

Can’t open the link, and I would not recommend that any GAA fan in Dublin or Ulster go anywhere near that bigoted Hogan Stand site because it will put you off the GAA completely. (if bigots like Pat Spillane and Kevin McStay have not already…they would rather the Sunday Game was called “Keep it Culchie”.

What are the viewing figures based on (RTE only?) because the game was also shown on Sky so most pubs would show it on Sky.

But anyway, there was far more excitement in Tipp v Kilkenny than any Ireland game to date. Having said that, the country will stand still for Ireland v Italy.

09/09/2009, 10:33 AM
Yeah, it's a bit unfair to compare the biggest game of the hurling season to a regular football game, albeit an important one. Likewise in the rugby, where almost every game is against a top 8 side in the world. In football almost every game is against an unglamourous team, only a handful are against the better teams.

Noone can doubt that football has lost its lustre but it's on the road to recovery I think.

DeLorean
09/09/2009, 10:46 AM
and I would not recommend that any GAA fan in Dublin or Ulster go anywhere near that bigoted Hogan Stand site because it will put you off the GAA completely

I'm a GAA fan myself (the games as opposed to the organisation/administrators) but I would agree with that. I browsed through the forums lately and it's pure juvenile rubbish. It reminded me of the BBC 606 forums which is complete muck also. Just pointless slagging matches with very little discussion. Not sure as to the extent of the bigotry but don't really want to know.

Scram
09/09/2009, 12:31 PM

You're a total Brit ! ;)

Agree all that except for the Cricket (which is a game for picnics in the park and not a sport! :p). I only follow rugby when it’s Ireland, Leinster beating Munster or, Leinster, Connaught or Munster in the Heineken Cup.

Amazed at the posts above referring to sectarianism in the GAA when you see and hear Linfield and Glentoran fans chants at Setanta Cup games etc. These are not focused on anymore by the media because they choose to adopt the position that all is well, when they should be weeding out these bigots and throwing them out of every ground they travel to.

Far from being sectarian, the GAA Championship is the only real inclusive 32 County competition on the island and support and participation from all sides of all communities is encouraged, in Ulster and all the provinces, (despite the history of teams like Crossmaglen being harassed and brutalized by State forces.)

My only problem with the GAA elite (as opposed to the grass roots) is their apparent dislike and applying double standards to Ulster teams and Dublin teams and their fans, and this is reflected in RTE commentary with the appalling Pat Spillane etc.

09/09/2009, 1:20 PM

But anyway, there was far more excitement in Tipp v Kilkenny than any Ireland game to date. Having said that, the country will stand still for Ireland v Italy.

Again this is all about perception really, a neutral watching both games would say that sun was better. But as an Ireland fan first and foremost, nothing comes close an competitive Ireland fixture for me, thats just my preference.

On a general excitment level, I thought the Georgia home game was pretty good, as was the Italian away game. I was in bari and plenty non football fans said it to me when i got back how great they thought the game was. Of course the last min goal always helps forget some of the not good stuff that went beforehand.

Source
09/09/2009, 1:30 PM
it doesnt happen because as Soccer people we/they dont feel the need to have a chip on their shoulder or belittle other peoples sports..as i've said..each to their own..whatever sports you enjoy is fine..why always make comparisons and say one is better than another..

do you mind if i ask do you like soccer yourself or how have you come to post here?..genuine queation..just curious...i like Foot.ie as its about our league and usually a good spot for chat about the LOI and the national squad...dont come on here to talk about the GAA.

So some soccer fans don't have a chip on their shoulder, don't make me laugh.
http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=121098

Nice titled thread from an open minded soccer fan :rolleyes:
You will get idiots in all sports

DeLorean
09/09/2009, 1:34 PM
So some soccer fans don't have a chip on their shoulder, don't make me laugh.
http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=121098

Nice titled thread from an open minded soccer fan :rolleyes:
You will get idiots in all sports

Great example

The Legend
09/09/2009, 4:37 PM
i'm guessing none of the gaa "haters" are from Cork, Kerry or Kilkenny lol

I dunno, im a sports lover and love all sports involving ireland. Feel kinda sad to see some people hate GAA, LOI or their national team in anything

09/09/2009, 4:37 PM
To me the GAA represents an inward looking attitude, tied hand in hand with the FF view of Irishness and Ireland.

I've always preferred the "foreign" games myself because it allows Ireland some visibility in the outside world.

Stuttgart you are forgetting the Roman church there as well:)

10/09/2009, 8:55 AM
Amazed at the posts above referring to sectarianism in the GAA when you see and hear Linfield and Glentoran fans chants at Setanta Cup games etc. These are not focused on anymore by the media because they choose to adopt the position that all is well, when they should be weeding out these bigots and throwing them out of every ground they travel to.

Far from being sectarian, the GAA Championship is the only real inclusive 32 County competition on the island and support and participation from all sides of all communities is encouraged, in Ulster and all the provinces, (despite the history of teams like Crossmaglen being harassed and brutalized by State forces.)

I've been to quite a few setanta Cup game sinvolving both Linfield and Glentoran and haven't heard anything untoward. Even the odd sectarian chant does not make football sectarian. Sure it is not perfect all clubs sign players irrespective of religion (there is very strong circumstantial evidence that one club did not for just less than 40 years in the past).

The GAA have a policy to support "the struggle for national liberation" and attempts to modify it to the "unarmed struggle" were roundly defeated. Clubs, grounds and cups are named after convicted terrorists. Last month all Tyrone games were cancelled to facilitate a rally at a GAA ground that featured armed masked men. The official line is they were cancelled because of the hurling semi final but they scheduled plenrty of games for last sunday.

Do you also believe that the Orange Order are inclusive and non sectarian because they march through nationalist areas? :confused:

Were Joe Cahill, Kevin Lynch, Bobby Sands, Gerard & Martin Harte, lochrie, campbell (lovely family to name a GAA ground after btw) , Farrell, Leonard , hurson non sectarian?

10/09/2009, 11:22 AM
Gspain, you should have attended one of those Glentoran Linfield games that regularly end in riots with robot cops trying to keep the peace.

The GAA have a policy to support "the struggle for national liberation" and attempts to modify it to the "unarmed struggle" were roundly defeated.
Still quoting Kevin Myers.
Still suspending rationality in favour of emotional terror.

Once I went into precise detail to explain to you what defines policy.
I have never heard the slightest reference to this as being GAA policy.
An ambiguous motion passed at a general congress in the middle of the Hunger Strike era some 30 years ago does not define as a GAA policy.

10/09/2009, 11:41 AM
Gspain, you should have attended one of those Glentoran Linfield games that regularly end in riots with robot cops trying to keep the peace.

Still quoting Kevin Myers.
Still suspending rationality in favour of emotional terror.

Once I went into precise detail to explain to you what defines policy.
I have never heard the slightest reference to this as being GAA policy.
An ambiguous motion passed at a general congress in the middle of the Hunger Strike era some 30 years ago does not define as a GAA policy.

The motion was passed in 1979. This was only done after Rule 7 was modified to make the GAA "non party political" instread of "non political". Attempts were made to modify in 1980 to only support the "unarmed struggle" these were roundly defeated. No attempt has been made since.

Kevin Myers is not the only one to complain about this. Tom Woulfe from the Civil Service club tried for many years afterwards to make the GAA go back to being non political and to end the support for "the struggle for national liberation". It was a huge issue at the time also for the gardai.

These are actual facts. Perhaps you'd care to refute them if you can (Appreciate you can't) rather than personalise it.

Hooliganism is not as rampant as you claim in NI football however I don't see how this is relevant to the GAA. I have been to Glens v Blues games btw albeit not in the Setanta Cup.

Straightstory
10/09/2009, 12:26 PM
Sam Maguire, close friend of Michael Collins, was head of the IRB (Irish Republican Brotherhood - main instigators of the 1916 rebellion) in London. Historian Tom Garvin mentions in his book 'Nationalist Revolutionaries in Ireland' that at one point (I am guessing here - I don't have the book handy - probably the 1918-1921 period) approximately half the committee members of GAA clubs were also members of the Irish Volunteers (IRA).
I think it's been mentioned somewhere here before that only two Protestants have ever won All-Ireland medals? With so many clubs and GAA grounds called after either saints, Archbishops or physical force Irish nationalists, I think we can safely say that the GAA holds little appeal to a certain section of the community.

Murfinator
10/09/2009, 12:32 PM
to be fair less than 3% of the population are protestant, there's more actual polish in the country than there are people of that religion so it's a small number base you're dealing with in the first place.

But I'd have said the country has gone long past religion being a factor in anything, only the older generation care about stuff like that anymore. I for one don't know or care what (if any) religion my friends belong to. Why would it be any different as to what sport they get involved in as kids?

Scram
10/09/2009, 12:57 PM
Sam Maguire, close friend of Michael Collins, was head of the IRB (Irish Republican Brotherhood - main instigators of the 1916 rebellion) in London. Historian Tom Garvin mentions in his book 'Nationalist Revolutionaries in Ireland' that at one point (I am guessing here - I don't have the book handy - probably the 1918-1921 period) approximately half the committee members of GAA clubs were also members of the Irish Volunteers (IRA).
I think it's been mentioned somewhere here before that only two Protestants have ever won All-Ireland medals? With so many clubs and GAA grounds called after either saints, Archbishops or physical force Irish nationalists, I think we can safely say that the GAA holds little appeal to a certain section of the community.

Great history lesson :rolleyes:, having nothing whatsoever to do with the GAA of today nor is this news to anyone I'd imagine.

Lansdowne Road was named after a British thug but it doesn’t lessen the appeal of watching Ireland play in Lansdowne!

Sure is a ridiculous argument made by some that because Protestants have no interest in playing GAA that the GAA is sectarian!

There is absolutely NO CURRENT basis to support claims that religion is a barrier to being a GAA member. INDEED, JUST TO AID YOUR ACCOUNT OF HISTORY: SAM MAGUIRE WAS A PROTESTANT

Crosby87
10/09/2009, 1:21 PM
Who cares about a midweek friendly when there are meaningful games on opposite it, etc? Ireland was almost unwatchable with their starters in on a saturday in a key game so it left a bad taste in people's mouth.

10/09/2009, 3:02 PM
The motion was passed in 1979. This was only done after Rule 7 was modified to make the GAA "non party political" instread of "non political". Attempts were made to modify in 1980 to only support the "unarmed struggle" these were roundly defeated. No attempt has been made since.

Kevin Myers is not the only one to complain about this. Tom Woulfe from the Civil Service club tried for many years afterwards to make the GAA go back to being non political and to end the support for "the struggle for national liberation". It was a huge issue at the time also for the gardai.

These are actual facts. Perhaps you'd care to refute them if you can (Appreciate you can't) rather than personalise it.
Facts?
Show me one fact that supports your statement that this is GAA policy.
Read my post carefully.
You claimed it was GAA policy, I refuted this absolutely. There is no mention of this being GAA policy anywhere at anytime in the 30 years.
I seriously doubt that you have a clue about constitution, congress, motions and what is clearly defined as GAA Policy.

As for Kevin Myers, he was the source years ago you referred to for this particular gem, you have been posting the exact same self righteous tiresome nonsense about the GAA for years in any thread that you have a slight chance to slip into.

11/09/2009, 7:19 AM
Facts?
Show me one fact that supports your statement that this is GAA policy.
Read my post carefully.
You claimed it was GAA policy, I refuted this absolutely. There is no mention of this being GAA policy anywhere at anytime in the 30 years.
I seriously doubt that you have a clue about constitution, congress, motions and what is clearly defined as GAA Policy.

As for Kevin Myers, he was the source years ago you referred to for this particular gem, you have been posting the exact same self righteous tiresome nonsense about the GAA for years in any thread that you have a slight chance to slip into.

Kevin Myers did refer to it circa 2003 but his article was never refuted either.

Buy an online Irish Times subscription and read back over the time and the early 1980s. The motion and amendement are covered extensively and then in the letters pages for many years afterwards by Tom Woulfe of the GAA Civil Service Club who seemed to be a lone voice in the GAA against this.

Are you disputing that GAA Rule 7 was amended at the 1979 congress on March 26th 1979 to make the association "non party political" rather than "non political"?

Are you disputing the motion "unequivocally to support the struggle for national liberation" was passed at the 1979 GAA Congress?

Are you disputing that the amendment to qualify this support for the "unarmed struggle" was overwhelming defeated at the 1980 Congress?

The Gardai held protest marches at the time in Bundoran and Dublin.

The fact that you have resorted to personal abuse shows that you have clearly lost the argument.

These are facts. This is GAA policy. Abusing the messenger is not refuting the argument.

You may not like it being exposed although it would be nice to hear you condemn it as being wrong.

11/09/2009, 8:59 AM
Kevin Myers did refer to it circa 2003 but his article was never refuted either.

Buy an online Irish Times subscription and read back over the time and the early 1980s. The motion and amendement are covered extensively and then in the letters pages for many years afterwards by Tom Woulfe of the GAA Civil Service Club who seemed to be a lone voice in the GAA against this.

Are you disputing that GAA Rule 7 was amended at the 1979 congress on March 26th 1979 to make the association "non party political" rather than "non political"?

Are you disputing the motion "unequivocally to support the struggle for national liberation" was passed at the 1979 GAA Congress?

Are you disputing that the amendment to qualify this support for the "unarmed struggle" was overwhelming defeated at the 1980 Congress?

The Gardai held protest marches at the time in Bundoran and Dublin.

The fact that you have resorted to personal abuse shows that you have clearly lost the argument.

These are facts. This is GAA policy. Abusing the messenger is not refuting the argument.

You may not like it being exposed although it would be nice to hear you condemn it as being wrong.

Cop on to yourself, there is no personal abuse. I take on the post not the poster.
You are stuck with a belief which has become a dogma.
You have not produced one teeny weeny fact to support your claim that the motion became GAA policy.
I have not denied an ambiguous motion was passed.
You do not have a clue what defines policy in general or what defines GAA policy.
A motion passed is an opinion, at given congress, at a given time and nothing more.
Policy is a plan of action to implement goals or procedures common to an organisation..

11/09/2009, 9:48 AM
Cop on to yourself, there is no personal abuse. I take on the post not the poster.
You are stuck with a belief which has become a dogma.
You have not produced one teeny weeny fact to support your claim that the motion became GAA policy.
I have not denied an ambiguous motion was passed.
You do not have a clue what defines policy in general or what defines GAA policy.
A motion passed is an opinion, at given congress, at a given time and nothing more.
Policy is a plan of action to implement goals or procedures common to an organisation..

So you accept the motion WAS passed. We are getting somewhere. Do you accept the amendment was also roundly defeated in 1980.

Now the ambiguous paert. Perhaps you can give me a different definition as to what was meant by this motion other than endorsing the IRA.

Since then there were subsequent motions passed in support of IRA Hunger Strikers.

Perhaps there is a higher level of decision making in the GAA rather than Congress that I'm not aware of.

GAA clubs cups and grounds were named after IRA members.

GAA President Nicky Brennan took a sunday out in late July 2006 to open Kevin Lynch GAA ground which involved him receiving a paramilitary parade while on a platform wearing his chain of office. Late July is of course normally a quiet time in the GAA season and it's not like he could have had any matches to go to. :(

Now before you go through 50 posts denying the above why do a bit of googling. Check out Kevin Lynch GAA club, Sands McSwiney, kevin lynch GAA ground, campell lochrie park, louis leonard memorial park etc etc etc etc

These are real clubs, real grounds and real cups named after real terrorists.

Perhaps you might first of all CONDEMN the IRA and what they did or is that the real problem here.

11/09/2009, 10:27 AM
Your post has descended to emotionally charged fanatic political babble which has no place on a discussion board.
You still have not a clue what defines policy or what defines GAA policy.
A motion is not policy, a motion could be passed at congress condemning the Government for cutbacks in funding. It has no impact on policy.
Nothing you have offered is, even in the remotest way, evidence of a motion passed at congress becoming GAA policy.

11/09/2009, 11:04 AM
Your post has descended to emotionally charged fanatic political babble which has no place on a discussion board.
You still have not a clue what defines policy or what defines GAA policy.
A motion is not policy, a motion could be passed at congress condemning the Government for cutbacks in funding. It has no impact on policy.
Nothing you have offered is, even in the remotest way, evidence of a motion passed at congress becoming GAA policy.

So motions to GAA Congress have no impact on policy.

The GAA claim to be a democratic organisation and that even the smallest club can propose a motion to congress. So if a GAA club lets say proposes that a goal now be worth 4 points. It goes all the way to Congress and gets passed then it actually means nothing. I wonder why all those clubs spend so much time proposing motions and sending delegates to GAA Congress.

Why bother with Congress then and claim it is the highest decision making body of the organisation?

Unless of course there is the faintest possibility that you are totally wrong but then of course that isn't possible is it?

11/09/2009, 11:30 AM
So motions to GAA Congress have no impact on policy.

The GAA claim to be a democratic organisation and that even the smallest club can propose a motion to congress. So if a GAA club lets say proposes that a goal now be worth 4 points. It goes all the way to Congress and gets passed then it actually means nothing. I wonder why all those clubs spend so much time proposing motions and sending delegates to GAA Congress.

Why bother with Congress then and claim it is the highest decision making body of the organisation?

Unless of course there is the faintest possibility that you are totally wrong but then of course that isn't possible is it?

I´appreciate that you have refrained from highly charged bursts of emotion.

You are right, there is not the remotest chance of me being wrong in this instance. I have some understanding of what constitutes GAA policy in regard to annual congress, its constitution and the central GAA committees.
A motion at congress can only become policy if it affects amongst other things, rule changes, changes to structure and a general way of doing its business. The implementation of those decisions become part of what we call policy.
The motion you are referring to has no more status than an agreed opinion at a certain time some 30 years ago.
It had no effect on the constitution, the structure, evident policy of the GAA or the actions of the GAA in its daily business. It never was part of policy 30 years ago and it has remained in that state of not being a part of policy ever since.

11/09/2009, 1:24 PM
I´appreciate that you have refrained from highly charged bursts of emotion.

You are right, there is not the remotest chance of me being wrong in this instance. I have some understanding of what constitutes GAA policy in regard to annual congress, its constitution and the central GAA committees.
A motion at congress can only become policy if it affects amongst other things, rule changes, changes to structure and a general way of doing its business. The implementation of those decisions become part of what we call policy.
The motion you are referring to has no more status than an agreed opinion at a certain time some 30 years ago.
It had no effect on the constitution, the structure, evident policy of the GAA or the actions of the GAA in its daily business. It never was part of policy 30 years ago and it has remained in that state of not being a part of policy ever since.

Since the GAA chose by amending their constitution at the 1979 congress (Rule 7) from being a "non political organisation" to being a "non party political organisation"

They then immediately passed the motion "supporting the struggle for national liberation" followed by other pro IRA motions on prisoners rights.

Some GAA members saw fit to qualify this support a year later to "the unarmed struggle" but were roundly defeated.

Subsequently clubs, cups and grounds have been named after IRA members who shall we say were killed on active service if the term terrorist offends you too much.

This is as blatant and obvious a change in GAA policy as there possibly could be. Yet you still claim that you are right on this. :confused: Why don't you argue Bulgaria beat Italy 2-0 the other night because you'd be much closer to being right on that.

These aren't opinions these are facts none of which you even try to refute.

Furthermore Tom Woulfe who has a long history (tried from the 50's to the 70's before eventually overturning the ban on foreign games) in the GAA tried for many years afterwards to get this policy reversed and he had numerous letters published on the subject in national newspapers and tried to reverse this at Congress.

Now the GAA just go ahead and do what they please confident that they won't get negative publicity on the matter in the Republic. When they get criticised in NI for postponing all the Tyrone league games to allow clubs to host and attend an IRA march they just claim the games were postponed because of the All Ireland hurling semi final on tv. Needless to say nobody bothers to question why they didn't even have to have the charade of postponing the games on the day of the final.

11/09/2009, 1:40 PM
GSPain no games are meant to be played on the day of either All-Irelands.

11/09/2009, 1:50 PM
GSPain no games are meant to be played on the day of either All-Irelands.

A number of Tyrone league games were played incl a division 1 game in Eglish at 3.45. Maybe it is just the same code as Tyrone is hardly a hotbed of hurling. Anyway the semi final date would have been known for many months I assume so how come the games that day were postponed so late. Maybe it is because Tyrone people are all fans of Limerick hurling.

http://www.tyronegaa.ie/latestfixtures.jsp?type=res

1 division 1 game and loads of div 2 games played on Sunday Sept 6th.

11/09/2009, 1:58 PM
Just for completeness here is the story re the games being moved

http://www.nwipp-newspapers.com/UH/free/321241549489971.php

GAA accused of 'republican agenda' over fixture change

By Alan Rodgers

GAA chiefs in Tyrone have strongly rejected controversial claims that a decision to switch matches this weekend was taken to avoid a clash with the National Hunger Strike Commemoration being held in the county.

Thousands are expected to attend the high profile event which takes place in Galbally. But a leading Red Hand official says the move was made instead to accommodate those wishing to watch the All-Ireland Senior Hurling semi-final on television.

West Tyrone DUP MLA, Tom Buchanan accused the GAA of letting its 'sectarian mask' slip. However, the Association official defended the decision. He was reacting to complaints that the decision breached the GAA's rule designating it as a non-political and non-sectarian organisation.

"This decision was taken to give supporters a chance to watch the hurling semi-finals on television. That is the official decision of the CCC," he said.

"Obviously we are aware of the commemoration taking place in Galbally, although it is not an over-riding factor. There are members of the Association who would want to be in attendance.

"The fact that there are matches on television provided a reason to move the matches. The organisers will be relying on people from within the GAA to volunteer for stewarding and other official duties.

"As far as I am concerned the GAA is neutral, although there are those who genuinely want to attend this event and people are required to assist in the organisation."

The decision to move the games for an All-Ireland Hurling clash will be seen as breaching previous precedents where matches regularly clash with important inter-county ties elsewhere.

In a statement West Tyrone DUP MLA, Tom Buchanan, condemned the move.

"Despite all their grand words and statements, their plans to move their matches this weekend to an earlier time in order to allow their supporters to go to the hunger striker memorial proves just how sectarian this sporting organisation really is," he said.

"No right thinking Protestant person can now accept the GAA as being anything more than a sporting organisation with a sectarian and republican agenda. Their actions on this occasion demonstrate just how deeply rooted they are in republican politics.

"I call on the GAA to come clean and to admit that they are moving the timing of their matches to an earlier slot simply to allow their supporters to get to this commemoration later on Sunday evening. Their weasel words of unity will never wash with the people that I represent because it is very clear that the GAA has always been and will always be a sectarian sporting organisation."

The UH was contacted about the issue by a GAA member who said the earlier start times for the All-County League games would also impact on those hoping to attend Sunday morning Mass.

kennedmc
11/09/2009, 3:28 PM
foot.ie is kind of famous....
http://forum.planet-rugby.com/index.php?t=msg&th=168751&start=0&
OK maybe not!!

By the way don't take the opinions of the Plant Rugby forum too seriously as generally anything goes in there...and it does!!

For what its worth as somebody who loves football and rugby I think the rise of rugby is a good thing but I think it willl have a bigger impact on the GAA - the top players who may traditionally stayed in GAA willl be attracted to the professionalism of the rugby game. Also the GAA is becoming a good breeding ground for young players and there is a number of Irish professionals now in football and rugby that have played GAA at minor level.

As for the hurling I'm not surprised it got a bigger viewing than the Ireland game given the magnitude of it etc.

11/09/2009, 4:24 PM
foot.ie is kind of famous....
http://forum.planet-rugby.com/index.php?t=msg&th=168751&start=0&
OK maybe not!!

By the way don't take the opinions of the Plant Rugby forum too seriously as generally anything goes in there...and it does!!

it's run by the same people as football365. Their forum is legendary!

Scram
11/09/2009, 4:40 PM
If the GAA do allow changes in fixtures or whatever in order for people to commemorate Irish Nationalism then fair play to them! Let's not forget who it was that made us the Republic of Ireland!

Total double standards to have British players and pundits come out wearing the poppy commemorating an army with a history of appalling attrocities and no cries of the FA, IFA etc. being Sectarian! And what's more can you imagine the reaction if any footballer or TV pundit refused to wear the poppy! Sectarianisn is OK as long as it is institutionalised?!

11/09/2009, 4:45 PM
That army also had a history of Irish people fighting for it. I've worn a poppy over here as my family was represented in WW1. I've no issue commemorating the lives of young men that were lost in awful circumstances. I've several issues with the behaviour of the British Army in Ireland. I don't see the contradiction though.

MeathDrog
11/09/2009, 4:51 PM
If the GAA do allow changes in fixtures or whatever in order for people to commemorate Irish Nationalism then fair play to them! Let's not forget who it was that made us the Republic of Ireland!

Certianly no thanks to the GAA anyway, although I'm sure they'll tell you differently.

Total double standards to have British players and pundits come out wearing the poppy commemorating an army with a history of appalling attrocities and no cries of the FA, IFA etc. being Sectarian! And what's more can you imagine the reaction if any footballer or TV pundit refused to wear the poppy! Sectarianisn is OK as long as it is institutionalised?!
Also double standards to have English turf on Croke Park too.