View Full Version : An Post Promotion
24/10/2009, 4:11 PM
Apparently this lark has cost Bohs €6,000 for the Pat's game on Friday.
We look forward to Mr Mooney making the case to Padraig Smith and his other FAI colleagues when they are on the warpath re the SCP.
Ezeikial
24/10/2009, 4:52 PM
Apparently this lark has cost Bohs €6,000 for the Pat's game on Friday.
We look forward to Mr Mooney making the case to Padraig Smith and his other FAI colleagues when they are on the warpath re the SCP.
Your kidding, right?
This €6,000 in lost revenue would have freed up a whole €3,900 for the 65% SCP. Would barely pay a barman (sorry player) or two.
An Post caper is a farce, but please dont pretend it has a real impact on compliance with SCP
The Lep
24/10/2009, 5:21 PM
Is there a shels head working for an post? This lad seems to be handing them out like flyers. Whoever he is, he is no fan of the league if he prefers to see clubs losing money just so he can laugh that he got people in for free.
CSFShels
24/10/2009, 5:38 PM
Is there a shels head working for an post? This lad seems to be handing them out like flyers. Whoever he is, he is no fan of the league if he prefers to see clubs losing money just so he can laugh that he got people in for free.
That was just at Fingal wasn't it? As I'm sure you've gathered already, fans of Shels, a few other clubs and various other people in the league view the 21 other clubs in the league and Fingal as separate cases. I would not try to deprive 99% of clubs of much needed money, I would do anything possible to avoid giving money to Sporting Fingal. You can argue about it all you want, but my reasons are my own, and as long as I stay within the law I'm grand, and I'm sure the same applies to the lad who was handing them out outside.
24/10/2009, 5:53 PM
Your kidding, right?
This €6,000 in lost revenue would have freed up a whole €3,900 for the 65% SCP. Would barely pay a barman (sorry player) or two.
An Post caper is a farce, but please dont pretend it has a real impact on compliance with SCP
It's a small component, yes, and probably won't matter either way.
But, hypothetically, if it were marginal - say we were almost there but needed a sum of this order to squeak through - wouldn't it be relevant? How, in such circumstances, could the FAI punish a club for financial stupidity?
And, more generally, doesn't the fact that they are so demonstrably dim dent their financial rectitude credentials?
The Lep
24/10/2009, 6:18 PM
That was just at Fingal wasn't it? As I'm sure you've gathered already, fans of Shels, a few other clubs and various other people in the league view the 21 other clubs in the league and Fingal as separate cases. I would not try to deprive 99% of clubs of much needed money, I would do anything possible to avoid giving money to Sporting Fingal. You can argue about it all you want, but my reasons are my own, and as long as I stay within the law I'm grand, and I'm sure the same applies to the lad who was handing them out outside.
Heard a shels head was handing them out at ucd as well.
Your post gave my a chuckle :D
LeixlipRed
24/10/2009, 6:26 PM
Rumour has it Harps launched one of those rain inducing missiles above Ballybofey last night to insure today's fixture was canceled and refixed for November saving them from the vast horde of an post voucher wielding zombie Shels fans. Only a rumour though.
CSFShels
24/10/2009, 6:50 PM
Your post gave my a chuckle :D
Probably 1 of the knacker kids giving them to his friends. If so, bit of a non-story don't you think?
24/10/2009, 7:53 PM
I got one off a group of 4 Shels fans, they had about 20 in their pockets!:D
GlasnevinRed
24/10/2009, 11:18 PM
I'd say you took a fair hit that night.:cool:
The Lep
24/10/2009, 11:43 PM
Im sure we did but we can afford it :D
Lamper.sffc
25/10/2009, 12:20 AM
I'd say you took a fair hit that night.:cool:
Would have been true if we where depending on gate money to pay our bills:p
Petty attempt from the bitter element in shels. Im not suprised by anything this element of the clubs support will get up to. Its the bad side of this league and unfortunately its ingrained in a lot of shels supporters.:( (Not all I know)
Lamper.sffc
25/10/2009, 12:28 AM
:D Thats hilarious. Keep up the preaching to the converted. Maybe you will get more of those thanks thingys you are so fond of. :)
LeixlipRed
25/10/2009, 9:00 AM
Would have been true if we where depending on gate money to pay our bills:p
Petty attempt from the bitter element in shels. Im not suprised by anything this element of the clubs support will get up to. Its the bad side of this league and unfortunately its ingrained in a lot of shels supporters.:( (Not all I know)
Ingrained in us that we don't like your club? Maybe you should move to a slightly less competitive sport were opposing fans have dinner dates and spoon on the couch if that annoys you so much.
CSFShels
25/10/2009, 9:47 AM
:D Thats hilarious. Keep up the preaching to the converted. Maybe you will get more of those thanks thingys you are so fond of. :)
..........what?
if its true that Shels fans orchestrated an attempt to screw Fingal over like this, then they should hang their heads in embarrassment instead of shouting it from the rooftops. Pathetic.
Now, more than ever, the league (clubs and fans) needs to unite as much as possible with all the sh1te flying around at the moment. Otherwise we're just ****ing against the wind in ever trying to get the general public to take irish football seriously. To be handing out these flyers outside the ground is petty, bitter and minnowistic. Im not a fan of the Fingal thing but this is totally unnecessary.
CSFShels
25/10/2009, 3:41 PM
if its true that Shels fans orchestrated an attempt to screw Fingal over like this, then they should hang their heads in embarrassment instead of shouting it from the rooftops. Pathetic.
Now, more than ever, the league (clubs and fans) needs to unite as much as possible with all the sh1te flying around at the moment. Otherwise we're just ****ing against the wind in ever trying to get the general public to take irish football seriously. To be handing out these flyers outside the ground is petty, bitter and minnowistic. Im not a fan of the Fingal thing but this is totally unnecessary.
Unnecessary yes, hilarious yes.
whatever floats your boat....
25/10/2009, 4:20 PM
What absolute hypocrisy. As if Bohs fans wouldn't do such a thing? Get the **** off your high horse
Why does it always have to be a club thing? It's a crappy thing to do, and feck who you support.
Ezeikial
25/10/2009, 4:22 PM
What absolute hypocrisy. As if Bohs fans wouldn't do such a thing? Get the **** off your high horse
Maybe they would or maybe not - its not relevent.
However the alleged behaviour of so-called Shelbourne fans is pathetic.
What comes around, goes around, you reap what you sow etc etc
LeixlipRed
25/10/2009, 5:32 PM
I'll correct my statement to call you all hypocrites so. Not a chance any one of you would turn down free entry to an opponents ground. And if you say you would you're lying.
i cant think of any other set of fans who would orchestrate a campaign to ensure that more people than normal would avail of the flyer promotion and for that campaign to specifically be designed to deprive a rival of cash.
Theres a world of difference from the picture you are trying to paint now.
LeixlipRed
25/10/2009, 5:39 PM
i cant think of any other set of fans who would orchestrate a campaign to ensure that more people than normal would avail of the flyer promotion and for that campaign to specifically be designed to deprive a rival of cash.
Theres a world of difference from the picture you are trying to paint now.
A campaign? I'm starting to LOL now Stu :) Sure we had P.J. Mara pulling strings in the background and Eddie Hobbs as our financial guru, we spent 2 million on a poster campaign and had the whole cast of Fair City appear in promo material. We made an overall loss though. Plus side, all our bills were paid on time.
Ezeikial
25/10/2009, 5:39 PM
I'll correct my statement to call you all hypocrites so. Not a chance any one of you would turn down free entry to an opponents ground. And if you say you would you're lying.
Totally different statement to what you made earlier.
LeixlipRed
25/10/2009, 5:41 PM
It's in addition to what I said earlier. I accused a Bohs fan of being a hypocrite. Now I'm accusing you all of the same :)
Ezeikial
25/10/2009, 6:28 PM
It's in addition to what I said earlier. I accused a Bohs fan of being a hypocrite. Now I'm accusing you all of the same :)
Is that every foot.ie poster, every LoI fan, or the whole world wide population?
Lamper.sffc
26/10/2009, 1:40 AM
Please stop now before its too late:o Oh wait
LeixlipRed
26/10/2009, 11:03 AM
Is that every foot.ie poster, every LoI fan, or the whole world wide population?
Ah now, don't be simple. All LOI fans. Though in general most people indulge in a spot of hypocrisy or two throughout their lives. My last input on this topic. You can still believe it's only Shels fans who've availed of this offer en masse if you want :)
Higgo
26/10/2009, 12:23 PM
To any Fingal supporter on this mb, I would say this - LOI clubs have been around for over 100 years. Most of them are struggling financially...and have been for a long time. In that time, none of you saw fit to follow a local club. Then, all of a sudden, a new club is created less than half an hour from at least two other clubs and you start takin' an interest. I just cannot understand the mentality of someone who could attach themselves to a club like Sporting Fingal FC, considering other local clubs have been crying out for support for so long. The league couldn't even sustain the clubs that existed before you came along...it seems so pointless to create another one! Shels supporters made their point by not paying into Morton. FFS lads, we're both competing for the same prize, we're not supposed to be nice to each other!
Ezeikial
26/10/2009, 12:43 PM
Ah now, don't be simple. All LOI fans. Though in general most people indulge in a spot of hypocrisy or two throughout their lives. My last input on this topic. You can still believe it's only Shels fans who've availed of this offer en masse if you want :)
Yet another twist inserted to deflect from the patronising nonsense previously posted.
No one claimed that fans of all clubs did not take advantage of the daft An Post offer - the assertion was that Shels fans distributed these outside both Sporting Fingal and UCD grounds. If that is true it reflects badly on the people involved.
The Lep
26/10/2009, 12:48 PM
There wasnt a local club for me to follow but i went to some of the euro games and i wasnt in the country 15 years ago so couldnt get into any of the other dublin clubs.. Im going to watch the local ladies knock lumps out of each other in a charity match in a few minutes so will that do you?
You seriously need to get over the fact that Sporting Fingal are here to stay so we dont get all this repeated over and over and over again.
POST OF THE MONTH JUNE 2010
" I dont like Sporting Fingal "
The Lep
26/10/2009, 12:52 PM
Yet another twist inserted to deflect from the patronising nonsense previously posted.
No one claimed that fans of all clubs did not take advantage of the daft An Post offer - the assertion was that Shels fans distributed these outside both Sporting Fingal and UCD grounds. If that is true it reflects badly on the people involved.
Agreed, there isnt an issue with home or away fans using them to get in just that someone who may work for an post who must have swiped a few from work and hand them out. There is no way that shels head paid that many bills.
1895ringsend
26/10/2009, 1:28 PM
There wasnt a local club for me to follow but i went to some of the euro games and i wasnt in the country 15 years ago so couldnt get into any of the other dublin clubs.. Im going to watch the local ladies knock lumps out of each other in a charity match in a few minutes so will that do you?
You seriously need to get over the fact that Sporting Fingal are here to stay so we dont get all this repeated over and over and over again.
POST OF THE MONTH JUNE 2010
Your entitled to follow whatever club you want in fairness and at the end of the day if your going to see a league of ireland team playing regular then fair play to you. The 2 or 300 fingal fans that go regular have an interest in the league and as much as i'm not a fan of this whole sporting fingal idea the league has a few hundred new fans and i don't think thats a bad thing. With bohs pats and rovers in the prem you's have given us a derby game with a bit of banter which all shels fans miss from playing the other dublin clubs and i enjoy the fixture to be honest.
Its just that dalymount park and tolka are'nt exactly a million miles from morten stadium and you've obviously been back in ireland a while if you attended european games down the years so would 2 old clubs like shels or bohs not have appealed to you?
I think fingal can be here to stay if they get run like a football club and get themselves out to swords in the next few years. The current set up though is just not sustainable given your location, gates and wage bill. If you win the cup maybe it'l boost you numbers but we were'nt that far away from the champions league group stages not so long ago and it made no difference to our gates unfortunatley. It'l be interesting to see what happens to fingal. Europe would be a huge bonus and could make the club.
Joey Killester
26/10/2009, 9:30 PM
This thread is bleedin hilarious! Big bad Shels fans picking on poor Fingal.
PartySaint
26/10/2009, 10:30 PM
You seriously need to get over the fact that Sporting Fingal are here to stay
I hope not
Higgo
27/10/2009, 11:47 AM
Here to stay? That's quite presumptious to be fair Lep. LOI football is literally on its knees. The fact that only 900 turned up for a cup semi-final the weekend is, by any standards, pathetic. Just because your club is currently being backed by money-people does not mean you will be immune from meltdown in the future. A bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss!
OneForTheFuture
27/10/2009, 12:53 PM
Masochist!
27/10/2009, 2:17 PM
There wasnt a local club for me to follow...
You lifted that from the EPL heads on boards.ie, right?
The Lep
27/10/2009, 2:33 PM
Name another club that represents D15.
The Lep
27/10/2009, 2:33 PM
Here to stay? That's quite presumptious to be fair Lep. LOI football is literally on its knees. The fact that only 900 turned up for a cup semi-final the weekend is, by any standards, pathetic. Just because your club is currently being backed by money-people does not mean you will be immune from meltdown in the future. A bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss!
Read my post on the other thread.
LeixlipRed
27/10/2009, 2:42 PM
Does Fingal?? Dublin 15 is in Fingal county alright but Santry is hardly close and Lusk certainly won't be!
brianw82
27/10/2009, 3:04 PM
Hop on the 38 and get off at Dalymount, pretty simple!
27/10/2009, 5:13 PM
I wasn't aware that when they invented Fingal they had abolished local geography. Here, for the confused of D15 and other parts of Dublin's northside, are some easy to follow directions (http://bohemians.ie/stadium/directions/57-getting-to-dalymount.html).
No franchise required.
Lamper.sffc
27/10/2009, 6:07 PM
Your entitled to follow whatever club you want in fairness and at the end of the day if your going to see a league of ireland team playing regular then fair play to you. The 2 or 300 fingal fans that go regular have an interest in the league and as much as i'm not a fan of this whole sporting fingal idea the league has a few hundred new fans and i don't think thats a bad thing. With bohs pats and rovers in the prem you's have given us a derby game with a bit of banter which all shels fans miss from playing the other dublin clubs and i enjoy the fixture to be honest.
Its just that dalymount park and tolka are'nt exactly a million miles from morten stadium and you've obviously been back in ireland a while if you attended european games down the years so would 2 old clubs like shels or bohs not have appealed to you?
I think fingal can be here to stay if they get run like a football club and get themselves out to swords in the next few years. The current set up though is just not sustainable given your location, gates and wage bill. If you win the cup maybe it'l boost you numbers but we were'nt that far away from the champions league group stages not so long ago and it made no difference to our gates unfortunatley. It'l be interesting to see what happens to fingal. Europe would be a huge bonus and could make the club.
Decent post. Fair play. Hard to disagree with any of what you have said.
To the rest of you
As for who a person chooses to follow thats there choice. I have come late to the league thats true. Bohs or shels never appealed to me. Im not from any where near there. Fingal is where I live so fingal is who I will support. I dont get why thats a problem. I know others are now going to come on and start saying fingal is just a made up county(dont bother) Or that im just supporting them because of the money we have. I didnt know we would have money until after I decided to support them. Im not from the outskirts of the city im from north county Dublin. This is a club that represents me and my area, simple. Why would i support Shels when they are a South side club. The argument for bohs is more valid but the way I see it is Bohs will be the North Dublin city club and we will be the north county dublin club.
OH, Did I mention we are in the FAI cup final :p
The Lep
27/10/2009, 6:10 PM
Just because a few heads in blanch follow bohs it doesnt mean they represent D15. Few follow Pats, shels and rovers as well, do they all represent D15?
I live in Fingal, i support Sporting Fingal, the new sport complex will be in Fingal so how does bohs , pats, rovers or shels represent my area? Why be a glory hunter when you can follow a team from the start.
Lamper.sffc
27/10/2009, 6:17 PM
Does Fingal?? Dublin 15 is in Fingal county alright but Santry is hardly close and Lusk certainly won't be!
Your club isnt even on the right side of the liffey. So do shels fans from the south side stop supporting shels because its far away. I think you need to read back over the last four or five posts on this thread and ask yourself could I have represented myself in a better light :)
The Lep
27/10/2009, 6:22 PM
Santry is only 10 minutes , lusk 20 so . Why arnt you supporting Kildare County? Not big enough club for you or newbridge is to far away for you?
OneForTheFuture
27/10/2009, 7:00 PM
St Moctas, Mountview, Verona, Huntstown Villa, Corduff, Clonee Utd.......
It's certainly not Shels, Bohs, Pats, Fingal, Derry or Glaway utd...
Lamper.sffc
27/10/2009, 7:06 PM
St Moctas, Mountview, Verona, Huntstown Villa, Corduff, Clonee Utd.......
It's certainly not Shels, Bohs, Pats, Fingal, Derry or Glaway utd...
Did I mention we are in the FAI cup final :D
27/10/2009, 7:30 PM
Did I mention we are in the FAI cup final :D
Did I mention that you won't exist in 5 years?