View Full Version : The Byrne Ultimatum
sligofan4ever
05/09/2009, 7:17 PM
Just seen the ad there. Do ye think it will be any good ? personally I already think its going to be sh!te because of the ad.
06/09/2009, 2:30 AM
well if it's a cheap knock off of the Bourne Ultimatum, what would you expect?
10/09/2009, 11:10 AM
I think he is an awful comedian whose jokes are mainly rip offs of other comedians jokes so i certainly won't be tuning in for this.
10/09/2009, 11:31 AM
Jason Byrne is a skanger, a pain in the hole and completely over-rated.
His namesake that works in TV is worse.
Monkfish
10/09/2009, 11:47 AM
Crap ad for a (no doubt) crap progamme with crap guests on crap RTE.
Good to see TV licence money is being well spent.
10/09/2009, 9:53 PM
Jason Byrne is a skanger, a pain in the hole and completely over-rated.
You can't argue with his goal scoring record though ;)
14/09/2009, 10:18 AM
I think he is an awful comedian whose jokes are mainly rip offs of other comedians jokes so i certainly won't be tuning in for this.
@rse cancer is funnier than this guy. In that light it is entirely consistent that RTE keep him in regular gainful employment. His 'sting' show whatever it's called is just 'The Live Mike' from the the 1970s with updated gadgetry.
Wangball
14/09/2009, 3:56 PM
This clown is only marginally less annoying than Andrew Maxwell and his show last year was nothing short of awful so am not expecting anything groundbreakingly hilarious....
14/09/2009, 5:48 PM
Jason Byrne is a pain in the hole! Cancel it before it's begun.
Jaysus that was Brutal. PJ Gallagher is as funny as a box in the jaw and Bernard
O'Shea is mildly amusing on radio (i105 Breakfast Show) but thats mainly cos his
co-presenter spends the show taking the p!ss out of him. Rosanna Davidson was
only there to keep the male population watching and John Bishop couldnt buy a gag
on that show.
As for Jason Byrne ... he's just not funny, but the talentless sod is laughing all the
way to the bank thanks to RTE!
15/09/2009, 11:00 AM
Do RTE run pilots of shows?
As in, do they make one episode, test it with a sample group and get feedback on whether it's worth following up?
I remember getting called in for a test group on a pilot for 'Two and a Half Men' when I lived in the states. Obviously they paid no attention to my opinion as it's still going and is hugely popular. I thought it was awful [still do based on the handful of episodes I've seen since].
15/09/2009, 11:18 AM
missed it thankfully, but I did see the new "Dan and Becks" style show, Sarah and Steve
same basic setup, short video clips of 2 people who are dating talking about the same event. Except instead of D4, they're from Tallaght
it's on RTE player: http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1055415
not as good as Dan and Becks, but not total dreck either
Lev Yashin
15/09/2009, 3:58 PM
This clown is only marginally less annoying than Andrew Maxwell and his show last year was nothing short of awful so am not expecting anything groundbreakingly hilarious....
Don't call him a clown because clowns can actually be funny every now and then...
17/09/2009, 12:14 PM
I thnk Jason Byrne live is fantastic. Have seen him a few times live and really enjoyed it, never really watched him on the tv though.
17/09/2009, 12:17 PM
missed it thankfully, but I did see the new "Dan and Becks" style show, Sarah and Steve
same basic setup, short video clips of 2 people who are dating talking about the same event. Except instead of D4, they're from Tallaght
it's on RTE player: http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1055415
not as good as Dan and Becks, but not total dreck either
Just watched that clip its so obvious its actors trying to be tallaght heads. They have not pulled off the accents consistantly at all.