View Full Version : Songs that blew you away...

stann
31/08/2009, 11:32 PM
... and still do maybe.
The music forums is gone a bit meh lately, we need a new youtube thread! :D

So, post up some clips of songs that totally blew you away when you heard them first, opened your mind to new possibilities, showed you what music could be, summat like that. No sh!te please!

The Sugarcubes - Birthday
rbw4cxQvkTQ
The song that really got me properly into music. Astonishing. Just love it.

Throwing Muses - Hate My Way
KYpCU13hdi8
Powerful song from still the best band there's ever been.
(the video doesn't quite match the audio I'm afraid, but YT clips from their best days are rare)

Thin White Rope - It's OK
_VzUzKV_h-Y
Raw, driving, primeval howl from the best band the world has never heard of.
Another live clip here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Kb2KgdYA90&feature=related), Red Sun, again from the wonderful In The Spanish Cave LP.

A Guy Called Gerald - Voodoo Ray
5ADoBW0c-18
This is probably the tune that got me into dance music.

Public Enemy - Brothers Gonna Work It Out
MlLvFUigPzE
And definitely the tune that open my ears to hip hop as something a bit more than b-boy shape throwing, fine and all as that was!

01/09/2009, 1:11 AM
keane somewhere only we know, what a song i love it, seen them live, this blew me away at the concert!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVOa4-JwdV8

Natasha bedingfield has a version too its very good aswell. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07yiwTwgLRM

Dont know how to put the youtube video on, like stann

endabob1
01/09/2009, 7:38 AM
Most recently it's been
Elbow - One day like this - live at the EP last year
anthemic pop at it's very best

01/09/2009, 8:09 AM
keane somewhere only we know, what a song i love it,

DJ Shadow does an excellent remix of that tune too. One of the boys on OWC sent it on to me a while back.

For my own part - a tune that'd fulfill the criteria set down by Stann would be my first hearing 'One' by Metallica in April 1989. Completely knocked my musical world off it's axis.

Wangball
01/09/2009, 8:41 AM
I went to see the new Tarantino film and his use of the David Bowie tune (Cat People) in the film is pretty mind blowing, it was excellent.

Have been listening to it almost non stop since

01/09/2009, 8:53 AM
IpGp-22t0lU

01/09/2009, 12:10 PM
first time I heard smells like teen spirit........

Lev Yashin
01/09/2009, 12:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7hw5NkSPvs

Kevin Carter-Manic Street Preachers....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbMeAOTPJzM

Sea of Love-Cat power

Wolfie
01/09/2009, 12:15 PM
Predicatable but true - "Fools Gold" and "I am the Resurrection" by the Stone Roses.

Life changing.

endabob1
01/09/2009, 12:40 PM
I think for songs that changed the way I listened to music or opened up new genre's etc..

The Smiths - Ask - the song that made me "get" Morrissey & the Smiths & Indie Music
Happy Mondays - Halleluliah - Dance music that I like knock on effect to the Rose, James and subsequently portishead, massive attack, morcheba, even hip hop, can all be traced to me hearing the Happy Mondays for the first time
Neil Young - Helpless - Difficult to pin down when because I grew up with older sibblings but one of earliest non TOTP music memories was this song & almost 30 years on I still love the man.
Northern Sky - Nick Drake - How is/was this guy not a billion selling musical icon, a bit like Neil Young I had a lot of late 60's early 70's Led Zep Rolling Stones etc but this was different, I heard him much later and it blew me away (to coin a phrase)
There are others
The Cranberries - Uncertain - what a voice, timid, fragile, angelic, where did it all go wrong??
David Gray - Shine - Up until and including the White Ladder album I thought he produced great records but has descended into to MOR, I guess it's true that a lot of art is driven by personal suffering. As soon as he got comfortable the edge went.
Billy Bragg - Levi Stubbs Tears - I never really got Billy before this but it instilled a life long love affair with the Barking Bard.

02/09/2009, 2:45 PM
Interestingly, some of my favourite artists don't make the list, as I can't pinpoint one particular song of theirs that blew me away like the following did/do. I tried to pick 10 songs that blew me away the first time I heard them or that still do every time I hear them.. but I gave up after 7 :D

Our Lady Peace - Not Enough http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ojv5oV9Yrc

Trial Kennedy - My Idol Who. Here is the version that I witnessed live, and it was awesome http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SpXQtMtF-Rg. But this video is much better quality, although missing the intro that I love: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-BqnVrBYZY&feature=related
They were unbelievable that night I saw them, musical machines. Nice guys into the bargain :)

Elbow - every song.. Switching Off was the first I heard, it moved me big time.

Neil Finn/Crowded House - Fall At Your Feet

Evanescence - My Immortal

The Cars - Drive (though maybe this shouldn't be in here, because I remember when I first heard the song I also saw the video.. and the girl in the video was part of what got me, :o)

Goo Goo Dolls - Iris

02/09/2009, 4:11 PM
first time I heard smells like teen spirit........
ditto, changed everything I thought I knew about music

02/09/2009, 7:34 PM
Muse - Citizen Erased / Microcuts

Two tracks off Origin of Symmetry just stopped me in my tracks at the time. Citizen Erased was impressively proggy and epic, easily one of my favourite Muse tracks. It then segues into Microcuts and that astonishing falsetto that nobody knew existed.... Double whammy.

03/09/2009, 12:34 PM
Funkadelic - Free Your Mind And Your Ass Will Follow
xiqmEibSY0I
It just sounded so different from every song I'd ever heard, even other Funkadelic stuff. It's a great song.

DeLorean
03/09/2009, 3:31 PM
Dont know how to put the youtube video on, like stann

That's the bit where ye offer some advice lads!!:D I don't know either, obviously.

stann
04/09/2009, 10:56 AM
It's straightforward enough once you know, just put everything after the equals sign in the youtube address (all the letters and numbers gobbledigook) inside yt and /yt tags.

Click 'quote' on any of the posts here that have embedded the clips and have a look at how they've done it.

04/09/2009, 11:08 AM
Here ya go: http://foot.ie/forums/misc.php?do=bbcode#yt

kingdom hoop
06/09/2009, 8:13 PM
Nice thread. I'll contribute in the only way I know how.

First is a song that blew me up, up and away when I first heard it howevermany years ago, and it still works its magic today. A pure-cut opiate, it wraps you up in a comfy quilt, sends you up into the exosphere - and beyond, up around the moon, floating, floating, higher and higher, as you coo and gurgle at little Earth down below. Per Stann's criteria, "it showed me music could be" pretty much anything really, and moreover, (coming at the question from the other end) it showed me what music can do to you. I could talk in awe about it all day, but suffice to say that no Mind-Expansion Playlist would be complete without it -

lOgQyIMX_XU

It might be worth putting up another song, a similar one, more of a modern incarnation maybe. Also amazingly beautiful. If ever you need to be made feel the world is a warm, fuzzy, special place where rabbits bound freely alongside playful foxes and eloquent elephants, this is your song.

CWXLDtgCZP8

And last, a bit of light reprieve from the above, the song that most recently blew me away. I just absolutely love this -

Hsbj-CBy-X0&feature=PlayList&p=024865405504A711&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=36

11/09/2009, 5:09 PM
Predicatable but true - "Fools Gold" and "I am the Resurrection" by the Stone Roses.

Life changing.Listened to the latter in the car today at full blast. First listen in about 5 years as I'd got a bit sick of the album.

Astounding.

11/09/2009, 5:51 PM
og1HAkjOuL0

stann
11/09/2009, 11:54 PM
A few more...

First tune I ever heard by the Pixies...
Bone Machine
TX2_wZc-MU4

Best hip hop song ever, bar none.
Ty - Ha Ha
1YPH39b5uF4

Blew me away when I heard it first on a magazine coverdisk. Taken to a whole 'nother level inside a tent at Oxegen. Achingly beautiful video too.
Sigur Ros - Svefn-g-Englar
zQ5Grncdjlc

A great example of just how good this stuff can get in the hands of people who know what they're at. Not a glass or a mug safe in the house when this comes on...
Freestylers - Boom Blast (Deekline & Wizard Remix)
tW0r6DaQOl4

Their first album (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_X9VwQQaYU) blew me away, but this one from their second finished me off altogether.
Transglobal Underground - Chariots (with the divine Ms Natacha Atlas, of whom more of a similar nature here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpW0qjLwD5s&feature=related), and here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ttlU1-bCzM&feature=related))
dkK-_9r4cXU

kingdom hoop
12/09/2009, 1:06 AM
Mmm, me mucho likey the last one there Stann.
In-keeping with the Oriental ambient theme, here's Banco De Gaia's "Amber" off the album Last Train To Lhasa. The whole album blew me away. Real nice.

YpPmbkL8ZTs

From Lhasa, you could really only go to Mali for a song that has emotional relevance for kickstarting a love-affair with the African sounds, the increasingly popular Amadou & Mariam's "La Realité".
99WVI86gQeo&feature=related

And last, a man who loves his bit of African, legendary producer turned solo artist Adrian Sherwood (feat Lee Scratch Perry, and some little girl) with "Animal Magic" off delightful 2006 album Becoming A Cliche. Odd, yes, but there's something about it.
VBi9Mkyhwmc&feature=related

12/09/2009, 7:45 AM
Zr_MJAOyOeU&feature=fvst

So beautiful it nearly makes me cry everytime I listen to it. Amazing song.

12/09/2009, 10:56 AM
Speaking of tear jerking songs
MS4gRmvvDsU

12/09/2009, 1:51 PM
My brother and his wife had that as their first song at their wedding. Beautiful.

12/09/2009, 6:26 PM
One of the best, most uplifting Outros ever written - from 4 minutes 30 onwards.

j2GjOC79gVI

03/10/2009, 9:57 AM
iGxFAn0zj7o

03/10/2009, 10:17 AM
For people who like Sigur Ros-the footage of Tom Cruise falling is awesome.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqWEkam9H4w

ken foree
04/10/2009, 9:55 PM
one for stann, kingdom hoop, and superfrank:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ykpwr8K3M4

felaaaaaa!

04/10/2009, 10:29 PM
one for stann, kingdom hoop, and superfrank:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ykpwr8K3M4

felaaaaaa!
Much appreciated ken, one of the many Fela albums I haven't seen around.

This song just blows my mind.
_766qaBFfLU

corkharps
04/10/2009, 10:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Ka-WpqCAJI

Cocteau Twins.

twoenz
05/10/2009, 10:55 AM
wDe_znFhP4c

Sorry it's not the video version, which adds to the atmosphere, but this is the best I can find on YT.

My mate rang me during their performance at Electric Picnic, just for this song. They're not a great band, but this song just towers above most things this century.

06/10/2009, 11:49 AM
corkharps,this one is my favourite Cocteau Twins song,this band seriously worth checking out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEpeZm_f1Zk&feature=related&yt

corkharps
06/10/2009, 1:27 PM
I saw them live once about 1990, it was just.......
One more for the unconverted!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mUmdR69nbM&feature=related

07/10/2009, 12:14 AM
Ian Brown - F.E.A.R.
genius
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KgI1ovaYrl4

stann
07/10/2009, 10:47 PM
Nice clip Ken, got a wee groove going, that hasn't happened in a while, cheers! :D

Cocteau Twins ever and always have a place in a thread like this. Couple more to add to the pile, surprised the first hasn't been already mentioned.

Love's Easy Tears
Sr6LycuPWJY

Carolyn's Fingers
Qh83z5vIP0w

And it may be at the frothier end of their oeuvre, but how could I not take the opportunity to post a tune called... Bluebeard!
DqEYJnIWgeE

Mad Moose
14/10/2009, 8:52 PM
David Gray - Shine - Up until and including the White Ladder album I thought he produced great records but has descended into to MOR, I guess it's true that a lot of art is driven by personal suffering. As soon as he got comfortable the edge went.

I have to agree and though I'm not critical of his later stuff post White Ladder stuff like Shine, Birds Without Wings, Late Night Radio etc etc still stirs me and its timeless stuff.

A personal favourite at the minute, though more so the voice of Bridget Kelly on this is 'Empire State of Mind'. I think its fantastic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXE7Wj-zlCI

And the legendary Rufus Wainwright.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-hZS9oYHj74

As you'll see from the video's both featured on Jonathon Ross's show.

twoenz
18/10/2009, 1:39 PM
And the legendary Rufus Wainwright.

Been listening to Poses recently. Very good.

corkharps
25/10/2009, 11:10 PM
I've held off for ages BUT MVB.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djnQJJn0CHI&feature=related

noby
26/10/2009, 6:48 AM
Dexys Midnight Runners - This is what she's like.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVmR-mQM2Sk

Pulp - Babies

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7T_ucNb7GqU

Plus I could post a whole bunch of Stone Roses' ,but I won't bother.

26/10/2009, 2:57 PM
Arcade Fire - Wake Up
DEKC5pyOKFU

Park_Lane
26/10/2009, 4:49 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5CaagwSYGk&feature=related

31/10/2009, 5:53 PM
He probably doesn;'t have too many fans round here but I really love this song

Ekgb5oJSobU

danonion
03/11/2009, 9:34 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AG8fugqFn9Q

heard this song "Panic Switch" on 101.9 in New York recently. Wow.

03/11/2009, 10:39 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AG8fugqFn9Q

heard this song "Panic Switch" on 101.9 in New York recently. Wow.
Lazy Eye has been getting a lot of airplay on Phantom: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-mxBDuRaZ8