View Full Version : "Cult" heroes from your team

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

25/08/2009, 2:28 PM
to continue the cycle of "best of" threads, i think this one would be a good one...

for me it has to be former Bohs player Alex Nesovic. I loved watching him play and i will never forget the goal he scored against Pats into the shed end with about 3 minutes to go to put us ahead 2-1. It was the foot and mouth season and the whole crowd knew afterwards that we would win the league. Nesso's goal was the moment that Bohs fans believed we could put that long wait to an end. Massive goal, super player, one of my Bohs cult heroes.

25/08/2009, 2:31 PM
Mick O'Donnell
Conan Byrne
Tony McDonnell

Too lazy to write stuff.

Umberside
25/08/2009, 2:34 PM
Joe Gamble. Our best player this century ;)

25/08/2009, 2:36 PM
Joe Gamble. Our best player this century ;)

not looking for best players - looking for cult heroes!

Umberside
25/08/2009, 2:38 PM
not looking for best players - looking for cult heroes!

Best player and cult hero :)

25/08/2009, 2:49 PM
Would have to be David Koresh for City fans.

Umberside
25/08/2009, 2:54 PM
Would have to be David Koresh for City fans.

Why in the name of God would he be a cult hero? ;)

25/08/2009, 3:02 PM
Too lazy to write stuff.
Oh, fine, I'll do it.

Mick O'Donnell
Micko was a utility player who did his best work for UCD on the left wing. A guileless donkey of a player, he made up for it with the work ethic of one of those mythical heroes of the Soviet Union - UCD's own Alexei Stakhanov. He won our player of the season in 2003, and was UCD hardcore champion (essentially, filthiest player - though this was in a team which kept winning the fair play award) in 2003, 2004 and 2005. As he got older, he was moved to left back, where he, well, you've seen Kevin Kilbane - same story, but UCD instead of Ireland. Anyway, he spent a short and unhappy spell at Galway before retiring.

Conan Byrne
If we produced a yearbook, Conan would be listed under "Most likely to be introduced to your sister." Everybody likes him. Scored a hatful of goals for our U21s before graduating to right wing in the senior team. A little short of pace, but dogged and skillful, his loss was a major factor in our relegation last year. He'd been happy with the team, but, unlike Fingal, we were unable to offer him the off the field role he wanted.

Tony McDonnell
Club captain, second on our record appearances list, somehow on our record goal-scoring chart. All-round LoI legend.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_McDonnell
http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=45431

Rovers Maniac
25/08/2009, 3:14 PM
'The Midget Gem'

redobit
25/08/2009, 3:22 PM
Loved watching the Aussie Willie Hastie. A centre midfielder, who if he didnt like the decisions the referee was making, was known to 'slip' while running past the referee and put him on his ass. Always got a laugh.
He done a trick on the pitch one night, all the lads on my street were trying to copy it for ages.

25/08/2009, 3:22 PM
Danny Murphy for us in the past few years

The Betting Man
25/08/2009, 3:24 PM
to continue the cycle of "best of" threads, i think this one would be a good one...

for me it has to be former Bohs player Alex Nesovic. I loved watching him play and i will never forget the goal he scored against Pats into the shed end with about 3 minutes to go to put us ahead 2-1. It was the foot and mouth season and the whole crowd knew afterwards that we would win the league. Nesso's goal was the moment that Bohs fans believed we could put that long wait to an end. Massive goal, super player, one of my Bohs cult heroes.

Dont forget his wave to the Rovers fans after we got our 6th goal in Santry

Da Real Rover
25/08/2009, 3:25 PM
Dooley
Kevin Julian
Gerry Carr
Choice
Hughie

25/08/2009, 3:31 PM
Mick O'Donnell
Conan Byrne
Tony McDonnell

Too lazy to write stuff.

Have to add Alan Mahon's epic quest for a league goal over 250 games or something. It eventually ended when he was handed penalty taking duties last year and scored the rebound after the penalty was saved. :D

shep
25/08/2009, 3:41 PM
Tom Mc Nulty,Gino Lawless.....Michael Daly showing all the makings of one if he stays

And of course Jeff Mc Namara...signed for the playoff game with Waterford all those years back by Eddie may and duly scored two to keep us up!!!

Row Z
25/08/2009, 3:53 PM
Gotta be big Ricky O'Flaherty... never forget his penalty save when he went between the sticks! fans loved him for his all action display.... he was like an irish mark hughes at the time!!!

"I say ooh aah Ricky Fla', say Oooh Aaah Ricky Fla'...."

25/08/2009, 4:05 PM
Mental Mickey.

25/08/2009, 4:06 PM
Mental Mickey.

i said cult

25/08/2009, 4:07 PM
Bogdan!

Da Real Rover
25/08/2009, 4:08 PM
Jim Flanagan.

25/08/2009, 4:11 PM
Bogdan!
I knew I was forgetting somebody. ;)

Can't wait to this feature for the fanzine next season. :)

25/08/2009, 4:12 PM
Steve Birks

Shelsred
25/08/2009, 4:16 PM
Dave McAllister=Reds legend

25/08/2009, 4:49 PM
Sini Savic. Came, scored in the Brandywell on his debut to earn a 1-1 draw, and was absolute sh!te after that. Had his own website IIRC promoting himself.

Rocky77
25/08/2009, 4:49 PM
Vinny Perth
Stephen O'Brien
Sean Prunty

Umberside
25/08/2009, 4:51 PM
Vinny Perth
Stephen O'Brien
Sean Prunty

What about Eric Lavine?

Scatman
25/08/2009, 5:33 PM
Bobby Browne, Andy Myler, Graham Gartland

stann
25/08/2009, 5:42 PM
There's been loads for us...

Some I recall directly:
'Snackbox' Keane
Big Trond Debes from Norway
There's only one Tony Hall (he was 10 foot tall you know!)
Jose Quintongo, twice
Kevin (Junior) O'Brien
Iorfa for Ireland
Rennie without doubt, very few fans on the fence regarding him!
Pat "He used to be sh*te, but now he's alright" Flynn
and now (as well as then) Mick Devine definitely

25/08/2009, 5:43 PM
Wes Charles, legendary status of Brays night club haunts and longest in the shower, apparently.
Possibly Colm Tresson, record appearance holder and now has a huge arse.
Chippy Devlin in the field of rotund goalkeepers.
Bo Mckeever for kicking people.

howsyourtouch
25/08/2009, 5:47 PM
vinney perth as a player,some of the stuff that then came out about him from when he was in management with us wrecked that for me personally doh...eric lavine,

how wex hasnt been mentioned yet i dont know!

MMVIII
25/08/2009, 6:00 PM
Alice Kerr

25/08/2009, 6:37 PM
for the older town fan:

zac hackett
the two devlin brothers
heysham el khershi
ritchie parsons
dave savage

Present day cult hero by a long shot was Dave Mooney followed by Eric" Babymaking" Lavine!

Umberside
25/08/2009, 6:39 PM
followed by Eric" Babymaking" Lavine!

That player is missed. Would be great to see him return in a coaching role.

Real Rover
25/08/2009, 7:37 PM
Wexler.

25/08/2009, 7:47 PM
for the older town fan:

zac hackett

I remember him well. Wasn't he your captain, and doesn't he run a barbers or a bar or something now in the town ?

heysham el khershi

Another one I remember from years ago - though this time for being fairly
sh!te..... :D

25/08/2009, 7:50 PM
Agree with centremid and I'd add Kieran Tarzan O'Brien, absolute legend for us.

Franco was a big fan favourite when he was here too.

Umberside
25/08/2009, 7:55 PM
Franco was a big fan favourite when he was here too.

http://gi105.photobucket.com/groups/m215/EUH1NNDAC5/Untitled-4-8.gif

sligofan4ever
25/08/2009, 8:14 PM
Xano.

Umberside
25/08/2009, 8:15 PM
Xano.

Most briliantest player ever. Did you know he's scored 19 goals in 18 apps for Sligo?

purplemonkeydis
25/08/2009, 8:25 PM
im a legend

25/08/2009, 8:46 PM
Mauro Almeida...go on the bebe.

sligofan4ever
25/08/2009, 9:10 PM
Gino O' Boyle

roversman
25/08/2009, 9:11 PM
the skeff
john skeffington

25/08/2009, 9:12 PM
Tom the Gom.

(Not for my team, just for the sake of it.):)

roversman
25/08/2009, 9:14 PM
falcon rose
lee thew
paul ski mcgee
fago
brendan bradley
micheal clancy
harry mcloughlin

Paddyfield
25/08/2009, 9:39 PM
Jumbo is Jesus.

srfc1928
25/08/2009, 9:52 PM
Tony Kelly
Ski
Eddie Annand
Fran Hitchcock
Martin Bayley

sonofstan
25/08/2009, 10:14 PM
Jimmy Aggrey

sheao
25/08/2009, 10:53 PM
Has to be Danny Murphy. The way he set TNB stright in an interview a few weeks ago really showed how much Cork City fc means to him .

Blue Man
26/08/2009, 1:05 AM
Seeing as I dont have a club, I think these should be added:

Henry McKop - Shels circa 1995 - Deported on drug charges!

Marc Kenny - For all the stories fans and players know about him

Alan Reynolds - For mouthing off in a nightclub and having his jaw broke

Roddy Collins' 'friends' at Dublin City (Efan Ekoku, Carlton Palmer)

Eddie Van Boxtel for just being a lunatic in his post career behaviour