View Full Version : MNS/Cup Draw

Pages : 1 [2] 3

24/08/2009, 8:35 PM
The glory days of Longford in the cup are back! It will be some achievement if you get to the semi-finals as a First Division team :)

you never know.. in 1988 da town reached the fai cup semis as a first divison side in the previous two occasions da town reached the semis they were a non league side.. by the way the last time we played bray in the cup was away in 1956 when we lost two nil..

24/08/2009, 9:08 PM
jesus Kenny looked liked a ghost, he really has aged badly...................

Dillonman
24/08/2009, 9:18 PM
after a fit of rage at the draw i just had to laugh. no luck at all this season

I hope ye stuff them and go on to win the cup. Just to p off that little nuscience of a man! Only hope ye have is depending and hanging on who the FAI appoint ref, if its Hancock, ye havnt a hope in hell! And im guna put a 5 quid bet that it is Hancock!

Umberside
24/08/2009, 9:32 PM
I hope ye stuff them and go on to win the cup. Just to p off that little nuscience of a man! Only hope ye have is depending and hanging on who the FAI appoint ref, if its Hancock, ye havnt a hope in hell! And im guna put a 5 quid bet that it is Hancock!

I liked your old avatar better

Dillonman
24/08/2009, 9:37 PM
I liked your old avatar better

It was our 3rd jersey, we never had to use it!:rolleyes:

24/08/2009, 9:52 PM
It was our 3rd jersey, we never had to use it!:rolleyes:
I prefered your old avatar when it was Dundalk's crest. :)

Umberside
24/08/2009, 9:53 PM
I prefered your old avatar when it was Dundalk's crest.

Oh God I'm confused :confused::confused::confused:

25/08/2009, 11:55 AM
Surprised there was no comment on the mysterious reason Alan Kelly (the best referee in the world:o) disallowed Galways Goal on Friday night when the score was 1-0. Not saying we might not have still got walloped but for the life of me I still cant see why it wasnt given after replaying it 20 times.

Trap's presence wouldnt have anything to do with it :rolleyes:

25/08/2009, 11:59 AM
Trap's presence wouldnt have anything to do with it :rolleyes:

That would be correct.

25/08/2009, 12:06 PM
Given the economic times we are in, everyone could do with a laugh now and then - first Cork, then Derry, now Bohs, you gotta laugh!!!!!!!!!!! Until you realise we would have drawn Bray at home, and then you start to cry all over again

But you didn't, your out of the cup so it's not a concern for you.

Knappagh Red
25/08/2009, 12:19 PM
Sligo Rovers won't even make any money from the gate, saw the Bohs "crowd" for the Dundalk cup game on MNS, laughable for the "big club", there would be a bigger crowd in the Showgrounds then Dalymount for a cup QF, maybe cash-strapped Bohs would swap?

Da Real Rover
25/08/2009, 1:23 PM
What a shock.
I hate going to Dalymount :(.

mcgonigle
25/08/2009, 2:23 PM
Sligo Rovers won't even make any money from the gate, saw the Bohs "crowd" for the Dundalk cup game on MNS, laughable for the "big club", there would be a bigger crowd in the Showgrounds then Dalymount for a cup QF, maybe cash-strapped Bohs would swap?

Ah now that's a bit unfair. Alot of them had already spent their money on the reserves v Liverpool U19's the night before. Bet their sick they didn't get a "Bohs v Liverpool" t-shirt for €5 on Tuesday though, what a bargain!

25/08/2009, 2:36 PM
keep getting those digs in lads, you're making me laugh and im enjoying it.

25/08/2009, 2:36 PM
Surprised there was no comment on the mysterious reason Alan Kelly (the best referee in the world:o) disallowed Galways Goal on Friday night when the score was 1-0. Not saying we might not have still got walloped but for the life of me I still cant see why it wasnt given after replaying it 20 times.
:

but they did chat about it?:eek:

Umberside
25/08/2009, 2:44 PM
but they did chat about it?:eek:

No :mad:

ped_ped
25/08/2009, 2:53 PM
I'm seriously hoping Pat's win the FAI Cup, because that's the only way they're getting back into Europe, right?

[Cue 4 - 0 victory in the RDS followed by a meteroric rise to the European elite, thrashing Ajax in the final to clinch Europa League Trophy and thereby securing a Group Stage place the following season]

mcgonigle
25/08/2009, 3:33 PM
keep getting those digs in lads, you're making me laugh and im enjoying it.

So we're all enjoying it.

Laughter is the best medicine

25/08/2009, 3:35 PM
So we're all enjoying it.

Laughter is the best medicine

it sure is, especially when people from Dundalk try to act like they are intelligent... :p

Dalymountrower
25/08/2009, 4:24 PM

#1381 17/08/2009, 4:38 PM
Da Real Rover

"Id say the cup games attendance was about 1800, with about 400 Derry fans."

So that was your crowd in your "derby" cup match with Derry....impressive stuff, lets swap venues for the quarters and you might reach the dizzying heights of....1900?:D

25/08/2009, 4:24 PM
No :mad:

no, Im sure it was on, unless i have completely lost it:p

Umberside
25/08/2009, 4:26 PM
no, Im sure it was on, unless i have completely lost it:p

Well I watched all of MNS last night and I don't remember them even mentioning it....

What are we talking about again?

Da Real Rover
25/08/2009, 4:30 PM
So that was your crowd in your "derby" cup match with Derry....impressive stuff, lets swap venues for the quarters and you might reach the dizzying heights of....1900?:D
Hahaha derby game?
Are you well?
Not to mention that was in the aftermath in the same week we lost 4-0 to them in the showgies.
Not to mention that we are second from bottom (Bray do have a game in hand) and we have won about 2 games in the past 2 months.
Not to mention yee are top of the league in one of the most successfull periods in your clubs history and we are consistently within touching distance of your attendances.
Impressive, no wonder they call you the big club.

Da Real Rover
25/08/2009, 4:33 PM
Sorry I also neglected to mention we havent won a piece of silverwear in over a decade either.

dublinred
25/08/2009, 4:35 PM

We have got hot showers also and a covered away section with seats and decent stewards.

Dalymountrower
25/08/2009, 4:36 PM
[QUOTE=Da Real Rover;1218905]Hahaha derby game?
Are you well?

Fine thank you

Not to mention blah
Not to mention blah blah
Not to mention blah blah blah

You must have few more "not to mentions surely? Barnesmore Gap Rockslide?
Sligo Airport Runway not long enough? Clashing with a "hop" in Strandhill?

Impressive, no wonder they call you the big club

Grudgingly accepted.

Da Real Rover
25/08/2009, 4:38 PM
Hahaha derby game?
Are you well?

Fine thank you

Not to mention blah
Not to mention blah blah
Not to mention blah blah blah

You must have few more "not to mentions surely? Barnesmore Gap Rockslide?
Sligo Airport Runway not long enough? Clashing with a "hop" in Strandhill?

Impressive, no wonder they call you the big club

Grudgingly accepted.
Slide on so.

25/08/2009, 5:11 PM
jesus Kenny looked liked a ghost, he really has aged badly...................

That's what managing us does to ye.

25/08/2009, 8:04 PM
Well I watched all of MNS last night and I don't remember them even mentioning it....

What are talking about again?

Are we talking about the high ball that went over the Bohs goalkeeper and was disallowed because of a soft push by the attacker?

Umberside
25/08/2009, 8:06 PM
Are we talking about the high ball that went over the Bohs goalkeeper and was disallowed because of a soft push by the attacker?

Sorry, I can't remember it :rolleyes:

That goal should've stood no doubt.

26/08/2009, 7:24 AM
Sorry, I can't remember it :rolleyes:

That goal should've stood no doubt.

well that was def on MNS:rolleyes:

WoodquayBoy
26/08/2009, 8:57 AM
We have got hot showers also and a covered away section with seats and decent stewards.
Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight

Redie
26/08/2009, 9:16 AM
Sorry I also neglected to mention we havent won a piece of silverwear in over a decade either.

A trophy came with the First Division title a few years ago.

Rovers Maniac
26/08/2009, 9:38 AM
Bohs away is a terrible cup draw, will be difficult to get through and Bohs don't get big crowds except for cross channel Friendly's, Shams and Champions league night. We should at least ask would they like to switch it.

Da Real Rover
26/08/2009, 1:21 PM
A trophy came with the First Division title a few years ago.
First Division doesnt count, its a mickey mouse trophy.

Redie
26/08/2009, 2:06 PM
First Division doesnt count, its a mickey mouse trophy.

Maybe so - but its a piece of silverwear all the same.

Mind you I do seem to remember a lot of people being more than happy to give a loud cheer when it was raised aloft in the Showgrounds on a cold and wet November night, myself included.

Da Real Rover
26/08/2009, 3:12 PM
Mind you I do seem to remember a lot of people being more than happy to give a loud cheer when it was raised aloft in the Showgrounds on a cold and wet November night, myself included.
When your a Rovers fan you would be happy to see the team lift their arses to fart not to mind a trophy.

26/08/2009, 4:38 PM

In fairness, it is Sligo we're talking about, waving any shiny object aloft is enough to have the locals looking up in amazement.

:p

brianw82
26/08/2009, 4:57 PM
In fairness, it is Sligo we're talking about, waving any shiny object aloft is enough to have the locals looking up in amazement.

We're still gawking up at that tinfoil tower. By jaysus, it's a sight! :)

27/08/2009, 10:23 AM
Maybe so - but its a piece of silverwear all the same.

A piece of cutlery if anything.

showgies
27/08/2009, 10:31 AM
In fairness, it is Sligo we're talking about, waving any shiny object aloft is enough to have the locals looking up in amazement. :p

In fairness, we do have a better chance than Derry of lifting a cup this season ;)

dublinred
27/08/2009, 11:46 AM

Buttimer waved his shiny whistle last week and the Derry players were looking in amazement whilst Raf stuck the freekick in the net.

BillytheFin
01/09/2009, 5:51 PM
S Fingal V S Rovers
Sat. 12th sept
Morton stad. @ 7.30pm
(live on TG4)

02/09/2009, 10:27 AM
S Fingal V S Rovers
Sat. 12th sept
Morton stad. @ 7.30pm
(live on TG4)

thats an interesting choice so I safely assume the other live game shown would be the bohs sligo rovers game..:(

sheao
02/09/2009, 3:33 PM
S Fingal V S Rovers
Sat. 12th sept
Morton stad. @ 7.30pm
(live on TG4)
That is a good game alright for tv. Good chance of an upset there.

02/09/2009, 3:36 PM
In fairness, we do have a better chance than Derry of lifting a cup this season ;)

Very true.

Even a broken clock gets the time right twice a day..... ;)

BillytheFin
02/09/2009, 5:26 PM
thats an interesting choice so I safely assume the other live game shown would be the bohs sligo rovers game..:(
yes,fri 11th @7.45 -TG4

Knoert
04/09/2009, 5:18 PM
Does anyone know where and when the final will be played? :)

04/09/2009, 5:23 PM
Does anyone know where and when the final will be played? :)

Where - Tallaght
When - Probably the 1st Sunday in December - not sure though.

Knoert
04/09/2009, 6:15 PM
Where - Tallaght
When - Probably the 1st Sunday in December - not sure though.

So it won't be at the RDS?

Thanks!