21/08/2009, 7:08 PM
1 1 now

bingoballs
21/08/2009, 7:15 PM
one each but galway are one nil down

bingoballs
21/08/2009, 7:38 PM
Must be half time now.
The next 45 minutes define our season. I hope they show us what they are made of.

roversman
21/08/2009, 7:38 PM
2 1 raf again

bingoballs
21/08/2009, 7:40 PM
two one rovers, raf again

Rovers Maniac
21/08/2009, 7:41 PM
Ah come on Rovers we need to hang on to this, big time !

bingoballs
21/08/2009, 7:42 PM
2 1 raf again
i'm too slow
:p

Rovers Maniac
21/08/2009, 7:50 PM
2-2 ffs Rovers

roversman
21/08/2009, 8:13 PM
2 2 now

21/08/2009, 8:27 PM
Peers was taken off after being put on. :S

roversman
21/08/2009, 8:29 PM
silly to risk him so soon

21/08/2009, 8:38 PM
FT. Jays.

red bellied
21/08/2009, 9:02 PM
Bus delayed due to stop at guards station.

Boo_Boy
21/08/2009, 9:05 PM
Peers on and back off, why bother rushing our best defender back?

ok...:confused:

celticV3
21/08/2009, 9:10 PM
Who caused the trouble?:)

21/08/2009, 9:32 PM
Who caused the trouble?:)

Not Ian believe it or not!

celticV3
21/08/2009, 9:35 PM
Not Ian believe it or not!
Or not.
Spill the beans anyway, was there no tax and insurance on the dooley express?:D

Uncle Tupelo
21/08/2009, 9:36 PM
Just back. Not a great display and got all we deserved. Thank god for Cretaro, took his goals well. Peers came on for Cremano in the second half, he made one great tackle when they were in on goals and then broke down and was carried off on a stretcher. Disaster, the defence is jittery to put it mildly without him.
Boco & Raf played well, Doyle was pretty good in the first half, Blinkhorn got zero service but worked hard. Apart from that it was average. Brush is looking shakey these days.
The game passed O'Grady by and he was replaced by Ryan who wasn't much better. What we wouldn't give for a bit bite that the likes of Chris Turner can proviide in there.
Bray are poor enough but work hard and are well organised by Gormley, that said they look certainties to be relegated.

Boo_Boy
21/08/2009, 9:38 PM
Peers came on for Cremano in the second half, he made one great tackle when they were in on goals and then broke down and was carried off on a stretcher.

Oh FFS :mad:.

dong
21/08/2009, 9:41 PM
Just back from that muck.
How the hell can we not do the basics and close out a game? Camano was terrible. Rare to see a centre half taken off but he was having a nightmare. We haven't time to coach the lad the basics of defending. How this guy is earning a living, yes a living, playing football is a mystery. Peers had to come on and he was outstanding. He was on the end of two particularly tough challenges but when he went off he appeared to be holding his head. Maybe concussion.
We were okay in the first half. I hate to say it but O'Grady wasn't at the races. Maybe nursing an injury coming into it but never imposed himself. We looked proper relegation fodder I'm afraid all in all. Cue the excuses but Paul Cook has to teach his team how to defend as a team. Do they even realise what will happen to them next season if they keep this up?
There seemed to be no fight in us to go on and win the game. This will come back to haunt us I'd say.

21/08/2009, 9:41 PM
Wasn't the worst performance, or result I suppose, but we should be winning and outclassing Bray. Disappointed.

Rovers Maniac
21/08/2009, 10:01 PM
Just back from that muck.
How the hell can we not do the basics and close out a game? Camano was terrible. Rare to see a centre half taken off but he was having a nightmare. We haven't time to coach the lad the basics of defending. How this guy is earning a living, yes a living, playing football is a mystery. Peers had to come on and he was outstanding. He was on the end of two particularly tough challenges but when he went off he appeared to be holding his head. Maybe concussion.
We were okay in the first half. I hate to say it but O'Grady wasn't at the races. Maybe nursing an injury coming into it but never imposed himself. We looked proper relegation fodder I'm afraid all in all. Cue the excuses but Paul Cook has to teach his team how to defend as a team. Do they even realise what will happen to them next season if they keep this up?
There seemed to be no fight in us to go on and win the game. This will come back to haunt us I'd say.

Jeez would be amazing if it was not the same injury, if its the same injury you can forget about Peers this season.

21/08/2009, 10:02 PM
Didn't look the same injury.

R&W Rover got in a confrontation with Barry Ryan on way home. Conceding 5 goals must not agree with him.

roversforever
21/08/2009, 10:31 PM
I hope it is a different injury,if its the quad again we're in big trouble. The quad muscle is very hard to get right because its a big muscle,its used for everything,its your kicking muscle so you can't play unless its 100%. Rushing a player back from it is disasterous,can even take up to a year to recover fully. By the way talking about quad injuries in general,not peersy's in particular. I know we're all mad to have him back playing but in the long run it would be a lot better to give him time and make sure he's right before playing.

peadar1987
21/08/2009, 10:44 PM
Ye were the better side tbh. Skippy had to pull us out of the fire on a few occasions with some great saves. That was my first time seeing Cretaro play, he looks like a very good player, ran our defence ragged in the first half, but we did look a better side at the back when Foran came on. Chris Deans had a shocker. I'm not sure if he's back to full fitness yet.

Anyway, long ramble short, I can't see you going down instead of us on tonight's performances. Looks like our best hope is to finish ahead of Drogheda and try and get through the playoffs. We really need to invest in some stronger and more experienced players if we're to avoid the same situation next season.

Rovers Maniac
21/08/2009, 10:51 PM
Lads don't forget we have Bray, Drogs and Galway all have to come to the showgrounds.

Cue Inside man :)

dong
21/08/2009, 11:02 PM
Lads don't forget we have Bray, Drogs and Galway all have to come to the showgrounds

Yeah. Fortress.:)

Guts&Glory
21/08/2009, 11:21 PM
Peers seemed to go off from the after effects of the second challenge when he got a boot in the head.

He was sitting down on the picth holding is head as we took a corner,then ref blew up when Bray keeper caught the corner as Peers was still prone on the ground holding is head.

Why oh why do we continue to pass the ball inside the 18 yard box when a player has a chance of a shot on goal? why do we take short corners and then not now what to do next/feck it up? Why can no one on the team win the second ball??????? Oh and WTF was Owen Morrison at in his continous attempts to turn down blind alleys and give the ball away - then not bother chasing back.

redtildead
22/08/2009, 1:01 AM
word is peers went off with a head injury, thank god its not a reoccurence of last one

CF1989
22/08/2009, 1:01 AM
peersy just had concusion after a late challenge on him, not the thigh muscle again thankfully. he done well when he came on. hoping he gets through another week's training and play against bohs

bad result imo, bray were brutal. had nothing about them at all. number 5 was muck for them, worst defender ive seen ina long time. raff took his goals well. blinky quietest ive seen him, but wouldnt say anything bad about him, he tries his best. doyle done well i thought, gave his everything on the left, morrison was poor imo. great footballer at the heart of alot of our goals but just didnt have the best of nights.
need a result against bohs, 11 games left, still time to get out of this. galway will be dragged into the mix soon imo. pats will probably be strong enough to geta few results and pull away too. think its a 3 horse race for the 2 play offs between us, drogs and galway.

we stopped at a shop on the outskirts of dublin after the game. the galway united team were in there aswell, a young rovers fan tried to have a bit of banter with barry ryan (galway keeper), then ryan walked over to him, pulled him by the arm and squared upto him, pushing him away with his head. then walked back to the counter. on his way out he said he was lucky he didnt break his jaw. great to see such professionalism from an experienced LOI player. scumbag

The Midget Gem
22/08/2009, 1:39 AM

Absolute joke. Yes indeed it was me. HOOLIGAN!!:rolleyes:
Was an absolute joke though in fairness, the event controller said he seen me with a pint of guinness down the road at the pub and he wouldn't let me in when i approached the gate(even though i am 18).
He kept saying after the trouble with Shams and the wall collapsing he wasn't letting in any drunkards!! I went mad as i had done nothing wrong only to travel down to the match all the way from sligo and have a couple of beers. He insisted i walk away, i refused rightfully, and he called the guards who demanded i walk away as well, i refused and was subsequently put in a cell for the night.
I'm so annoyed right now its unreal. Can you imagine traveling down for that match, doing nothing wrong, and being put in a f*cking cell for the night??? I'm ringing that club tomorrow looking for answers as to who this John Fitzpatrick(event contoller) thinks he is.

As for the game..... well i cant actually comment on it as i was in bloody jail for the night!!!!

NOW RORYH/ROVERSFAN THATS WHY I DONT GO TO AWAY GAMES.:D:p

roversforever
22/08/2009, 1:45 AM
peersy just had concusion after a late challenge on him, not the thigh muscle again thankfully. he done well when he came on. hoping he gets through another week's training and play against bohs

bad result imo, bray were brutal. had nothing about them at all. number 5 was muck for them, worst defender ive seen ina long time. raff took his goals well. blinky quietest ive seen him, but wouldnt say anything bad about him, he tries his best. doyle done well i thought, gave his everything on the left, morrison was poor imo. great footballer at the heart of alot of our goals but just didnt have the best of nights.
need a result against bohs, 11 games left, still time to get out of this. galway will be dragged into the mix soon imo. pats will probably be strong enough to geta few results and pull away too. think its a 3 horse race for the 2 play offs between us, drogs and galway.

we stopped at a shop on the outskirts of dublin after the game. the galway united team were in there aswell, a young rovers fan tried to have a bit of banter with barry ryan (galway keeper), then ryan walked over to him, pulled him by the arm and squared upto him, pushing him away with his head. then walked back to the counter. on his way out he said he was lucky he didnt break his jaw. great to see such professionalism from an experienced LOI player. scumbag

Poor barry...i do believe aggression is one of the side effects of the stuff he dabbles in!;)

CF1989
22/08/2009, 1:46 AM
Absolute joke. Yes indeed it was me. HOOLIGAN!
Was an absolute joke though in fairness, the event controller said he seen me a pint of guinness down the road at the pub and he wouldn't let me in when i approached the gate(even though i am 18).
He kept saying after the trouble with Shams and the wall collapsing he wasn't letting in any drunkards!! I went mad as i had done nothing wrong only to travel down to the match all the way from sligo and have a couple of beers. He insisted i walk away, i refused rightfully, and he called the guards who demanded i walk away as well, i refused and was subsequently put in a cell for the night.
I'm so annoyed right now its unreal. Can you imagine traveling down for that match, doing nothing wrong, and being put in a f*cking cell for the night??? I'm ringing that club tomorrow looking for answers as to who this John Fitzpatrick(event contoller) thinks he is.

As for the game..... well i cant actually comment on it as i was in bloody jail for the night!!!!

or jail for 3/4 of an hour more like;)

MMVIII
22/08/2009, 2:57 AM
Absolute joke. Yes indeed it was me. HOOLIGAN!!
Was an absolute joke though in fairness, the event controller said he seen me with a pint of guinness down the road at the pub and he wouldn't let me in when i approached the gate(even though i am 18).

Didn't realise they had computer access in prison cells?

Of all matches to ****ing miss.

On the performance side, cant say a lot as I wasn't there :(. Terribly disapointed still. Kept telling myself, "no we wont go down", "we'll pick it up", "were better than the likes of Bray, Drogheda, Galway". We may have bigger budgets, better players, but we certainly don't have a better team as of late.

Fivesilver
22/08/2009, 4:16 AM
Is there any truth in the rumour that cookie's buying a dog for every member of the squad?

brianw82
22/08/2009, 6:21 AM
What exactly was the penalty for?

brianw82
22/08/2009, 7:10 AM
At least the Bray stewards were up for a bit of craic, though.

CF1989
22/08/2009, 10:16 AM
What exactly was the penalty for?

bray player had the ball about 19 yards out, bit to the left of the goal. either boco or keane were behind him and just put both hands on his shoulders and either pulled him or he just went down. cant put your hands up like that

BrayUnknowns
22/08/2009, 11:31 AM
Absolute joke. Yes indeed it was me. HOOLIGAN!!:rolleyes:

I was walking by at that time and i'll be honest, you looked and were kid of acting drunk so i think the club had every right to refuse you entry. But i can understand your annoyance, pain in the hole !

clubman
22/08/2009, 11:31 AM
Didn't think it was a peno to be honest. Clumsy tackle by Boco who in my opinion had a stinker. Disappointed how we gave the lead up so easily after having it on two occasions. We stepped off our men far too much, seemed to be waiting for the break of the ball rather than going to win it. No passion or gusto in that performance. A game there for the taking, but for some reason we don’t seem to have the killer punch required. Disappointing performances throughout the team. Too many players just not up for the 100% requirement. There seems to be a worrying lack of knowledge in the precarious position the club finds itself. Very hard to see where the win is going to come from over the next few games. Huge improvement required in the application stakes if we are to fight our way out of this conundrum, don’t see it on last night’s performance.

BrayUnknowns
22/08/2009, 11:32 AM
bray player had the ball about 19 yards out, bit to the left of the goal. either boco or keane were behind him and just put both hands on his shoulders and either pulled him or he just went down. cant put your hands up like that

It was Keane, defo peno alright.

The Midget Gem
22/08/2009, 12:36 PM
I was walking by at that time and i'll be honest, you looked and were kid of acting drunk so i think the club had every right to refuse you entry. But i can understand your annoyance, pain in the hole !
The club?? I asked to talk to a club official but this fella refused again. Totally unreasonable. He was completely on a power trip. Indeed i had a couple of beers, i was still completely literate and i was nowhere near as bad as some others on the bus down and i felt i was very very harshly treated.
When you have Hooligans kicking the sh!t into each other, getting into grounds and not getting arrested, yet me, a true LOI fan who just wanted to see the game being refused entry and being put in a cell you have to question the whole thing. I'm still so annoyed by the whole thing its unreal, will be a while before i go to an away game again i think.

redobit
22/08/2009, 12:51 PM
Really dissapointed we didnt get teh 3 points, they were there for the taking. A lot of Rovers players not on their game at all and we just cant seem to close games out at the minute.
Peers done well when he came on, made a great block in the box. He said after that he was feeling grand but just couldnt remember anything about what happened.
As for The Texaco Standoff, discraseful stuff by Ryan. Ian Foster has gone up a peg in my book tho - at least he was using his head (the right way that is).

22/08/2009, 12:59 PM
, will be a while before i go to an away game again i think.

Because you're a "true LoI fan"?

dong
22/08/2009, 2:48 PM

You do realise that you have to be inside the box to get a penalty?:D
I would have said that he was eight yards out, ball came to him, Boco was wrong side and hauled him down.
Sure we'll see it again on mns. Looked fair enough to me. Camano should have gotten his head to it in the first place.

Hulsey
22/08/2009, 3:03 PM
Dissapointment on our side that we didn't get the three points aswell.Gifted you the 2nd goal and if Paul Byrne was fit I think we would have won it.
Always liked Cretaro and thought he was a class act, but last night he constantly tried to get players booked, is this a part of his game or did he just do it last night? Trying to get players booked for nothing tackles isnt on and imo Sligo, and Cretaro in particular, seemed intent on that all night.
Fair play to the lads who came down, made a lot of noise