View Full Version : Keith Gillespie joins Glentoran
HarpoJoyce
14/08/2009, 9:40 PM
Keith Gillespie joins Glentoran and gives the Setanta Cup an extra boost.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8202669.stm
"..Irish Premiership champions Glentoran plan to parade their star signing at the Oval on Tuesday night before the derby clash with Linfield.....
"When asked on Tuesday about the player's rumoured move to the Irish League side, Northern Ireland manager Nigel Worthington said it would not enhance his international prospects.
15/08/2009, 11:33 AM
I seen this on BBC Newsline last night and I was genuinely shocked. Any idea what wages he'll be on?
Steve Bruce
15/08/2009, 11:36 AM
I seen this on BBC Newsline last night and I was genuinely shocked. Any idea what wages he'll be on?
Rumour has it £2k.
But it is a rumour, I have no hard evidence to back it up.
This could be a fantastic signing of massive proportions or he could come in with the attitude 'i'm better than everyone else' and not perform to his abilities.
I think the fact he was unable to get a team in England/Scotland speaks for itself.
Mr_Parker
16/08/2009, 1:19 PM
He will be getting just und £1k
The fact that it made the news shows it can be a decent signing. If he brings an extra 100 people to the games he'll pay for himself
A signing that surely represents a bit of a gamble. :)
Steve Bruce
16/08/2009, 5:28 PM
He will be getting just und £1k
Sources?
Steve Bruce
16/08/2009, 5:29 PM
The fact that it made the news shows it can be a decent signing. If he brings an extra 100 people to the games he'll pay for himself
Considering Glentoran aren't paying his wages, anything extra that comes in the gate is profit.
Predator
16/08/2009, 6:44 PM
Considering Glentoran aren't paying his wages...
Yeah, isn't it 'Fone a Cab' or something that's 'sponsoring' him?
I heard it was William Hill.
16/08/2009, 11:12 PM
Probably good for the Glens for a season but surely the end of his Northern Ireland involvement.
Playng in the IL hasb't stopped others from being called up. Alaan Mannus is with Rovers now, and still got called up
17/08/2009, 10:16 AM
Playng in the IL hasb't stopped others from being called up. Alaan Mannus is with Rovers now, and still got called up
He's 34 now and very much an average footballer at this stage of his career. Signing for Glentoran seems more to be a marketing gimmick than anything else. Obviously you don't need to be much of a footballer to play for Northern Ireland but there's a few players ahead of Gillespie now on the international scene so it's unlikely that he'll play for NI again.
Predator
17/08/2009, 10:40 AM
Obviously you don't need to be much of a footballer to play for Northern Ireland but...
Ooooh controversial! :D
17/08/2009, 10:58 AM
He's 34 now and very much an average footballer at this stage of his career. Signing for Glentoran seems more to be a marketing gimmick than anything else. Obviously you don't need to be much of a footballer to play for Northern Ireland but there's a few players ahead of Gillespie now on the international scene so it's unlikely that he'll play for NI again.
That wasn't my point. Lionel's post implied that his NI career was over because he signed for Glentoran. Thats isn't the case.
Its over because there are better options around
17/08/2009, 11:13 AM
Lionel's post implied that his NI career was over because he signed for Glentoran. Thats isn't the case.
Its over because there are better options around
Agree with what you are saying but I didn't read Lionel's post that way - ie I read his post as questioning the circumstances behind why Gillespie has signed for Glentoran rather than knocking the status of Glentoran as a club and IL football in general. Glentoran have done a lot of cost cutting since the end of last season so a sponsor coming in to pay Gillespie's wages suggest that this is no more than a marketing gimmick rather than Gillespie trying to further his career and get back into the NI international setup.
Mr_Parker
17/08/2009, 11:18 AM
Sources?
Glentoran.:cool:
Steve Bruce
17/08/2009, 11:33 AM
Glentoran.:cool:
A reputable one ;):D
17/08/2009, 11:33 AM
I heard it was William Hill.
It was Fon A Cab according to the Glentoran manager on Final Score on Saturday evening..
17/08/2009, 1:08 PM
Call ups to NI squads for players in the IL or LOI tend to be as a weapon of last resort do they not. That's not meant to be a slight on my part toward either league or their clubs.
Lionel's post implied that his NI career was over because he signed for Glentoran. Thats isn't the case.
Its over because there are better options around Nothing to do with the Glens or any other IL club per se. If I implied his international career was over then it's because in the first post on this thread his international manager is quoted as saying the move won't help his prospects.
If he couldn't get a club in the entire English league -where he'd have been far more likely to find a club able to pay him a grand a week without enlisting a cab company (I'd say there are clubs in the blue square who could've come up with that ...again no disrespect intended to the IL clubs) that would tend to indicate that he just doesn't bring that much to the party anymore to justify the expense.
17/08/2009, 7:28 PM
It was Fon A Cab according to the Glentoran manager on Final Score on Saturday evening..
You sir are a legend, this almost made me choke on my cup of tea :D
Mr_Parker
18/08/2009, 11:06 AM
A reputable one ;):D
Very. :)
Steve Bruce
18/08/2009, 11:36 PM
Very. :)
I'm sure he's a tactical genius:o
Mr_Parker
18/08/2009, 11:51 PM
I'm sure he's a tactical genius:o
Nope. :cool:
HarpoJoyce
19/08/2009, 1:25 AM
A reputable one
Very.
I'm sure he's a tactical genius
Nope.
When is it possible for everybody else to touch him?
I understand, normal, it's cool, it's cool... but when!
galwayjames
16/09/2009, 1:48 PM
What sort of impression has he made lads?
adamcarr
16/09/2009, 2:10 PM
Just had a look on ILS and the Glens fans aren't impressed so far, they say he's playing more like a full back then a winger and is very unfit.
16/09/2009, 5:19 PM
i'd say hes well past it to be honest?
27/03/2011, 2:52 PM
i'd say hes well past it to be honest?
I take that back :D