View Full Version : vs Derry City Cup Game
srfc1928
16/08/2009, 11:34 AM
massive win for the club.
fair play to the players, they really dug deep last night.
having Boco and O'Grady back made a huge difference.
Credit to Cookie also, made the right substituions at the right time,
all the lads that came on done really well and gave us a boost when we needed it.
Cash put in some amount of running and made one great tackle when derry were attacking, thought Ritchie played really well and was positive on the ball going forward.
I was surprised at the time to see Blinkhorn coming off,
but he was wrecked and straight away when Turner came on he took a great ball down and layed it off to one of our players, held the ball up well.
really happy for my family as well, cant of been easy living with me for the last couple of weeks:D
red arrow
16/08/2009, 1:31 PM
fair play to forza rovers. yee are a credit to the club. ye bring colour and passion to every game. the pics are brilliant & the message came across very well and the team responded. im following the bit 'o red for 43 years and all i can say is yee do the club proud especially this week when there was a unreal air of doom & gloom. keep it up lads and thanks for all the hard work making those flags etc
redobit
16/08/2009, 1:42 PM
Fantastic to see some pride back in the players, the main difference between that game and the last was that we went at them, and then we got what we deserved.
Boco and morrison are a great partnership on the right. I dont know how many times they were down at the opponents corner flag trying to get moves and neat passes together so they could try and get the supply we need into the box.
Id nearly give Cashie MOTD for that tracking back and tackle during added-time, stuff like that can be the difference between winning and losing football matches.
16/08/2009, 1:42 PM
Delighted!
Get that into ya Hutton and Delaney!
srfc1928
16/08/2009, 2:25 PM
fair play to forza rovers. yee are a credit to the club. ye bring colour and passion to every game. the pics are brilliant & the message came across very well and the team responded. im following the bit 'o red for 43 years and all i can say is yee do the club proud especially this week when there was a unreal air of doom & gloom. keep it up lads and thanks for all the hard work making those flags etc
couldnt agree more
impressive display & 90 mins of singing
showgies
16/08/2009, 2:36 PM
Agreed:ball:
The Midget Gem
16/08/2009, 2:54 PM
Brilliant stuff!!
I actually didn't know what happened for about 10 seconds!! Thought their fella had been sent off, then looked at the dugout and all the players celebrating with Cook then i knew what had happened! Quality!
Jeesh if we are winning the cup this year we are doing it the hard way!
Any bets we'll get Shams in tallaght next?!:p
rovers100%
16/08/2009, 4:15 PM
is the draw monday nite ??? oh i pray this is our season turning cos we had too many false dawns so far. bray is def a game we can win. wish i dint have to work
16/08/2009, 6:30 PM
lads I only got the message this morning from sligoman! I am really made up for ye and heres hoping that we meet in the next round or so ! Believe that magicme is lookin to play ye if the magic mons go thro!
lowroadrover
16/08/2009, 7:31 PM
Great result ,I didn't see the goal goin in ,wasn't expecting it ,just like derry!
thought everyone played well and for each other .
forza rovers
16/08/2009, 9:04 PM
That is what the cup is all about
dublinred
17/08/2009, 4:22 PM
Looking forward to seeing this on MNS tonight , got as far as sligo but didn't make the match due to a prior commitment overunning , everyone i met afterwards was in great form and laughing at the reaction of derry fans and players , hopefully we can get a decent draw preferably at home to a first division team and avoid Richie Winter being the ref.
clubman
17/08/2009, 5:19 PM
As I stated at the outset, more or less, if we got the ball down and ran at them their confidence levels would plummet. Yes we got the ball down, yes we went at them but they held strong. To be honest I thought at the stage of the free kick that we were heading to the Brandywell and wasn’t feeling optimistic. Still don’t know how Raf got away with what he did, basically because I, like the Derry defence, wasn’t alert to what happened. Had to ask the guy beside me who scored so was the moment of confusion. Really looking forward to seeing and hearing the comments tonight. Since then a referee told me that it’s allowed to take a quick free providing the ref says its ok. So obviously Raf asked and he said fire away ….. bang!!
Oh but it’s so sweet. Like everyone else I was sick after both the Dundalk and Derry league games. What kept me going was the thought was we aren’t such a bad side. I thought we played really well for most of the game and probably deserved the win. Next round surely we deserve a little luck as concerned the opposition. Over the last couple of seasons we’ve drawn big sides and it’s happened twice already this season. Still if we are to win the cup then we certainly are going to do it the hard way.
Bring it on!!!
17/08/2009, 7:40 PM
is this the first time ye have beaten derry city in the fai cup since 1994?
red bellied
17/08/2009, 8:11 PM
is this the first time ye have beaten derry city in the fai cup since 1994?
Yes, think Rovers have played Derry a total of four times in the FAI Cup, wining two and losing two. Its a good omen for us, anytime we have beaten Derry, Rovers have gone on to win it.
Did we beat them in 83 as well?
Rovers Maniac
17/08/2009, 8:30 PM
Just watched it again on +, and you can see Cretaro chatting the ref before the free, if those are the rules Derry fell asleep.
red bellied
17/08/2009, 9:01 PM
Did we beat them in 83 as well?
No, Derry didnt enter the league till 85' or 86'. As in beating Derry, going on to win the cup, I meant the actual final!
Rovers Maniac
17/08/2009, 9:03 PM
I think the crux of the matter was Buttimer not blowing his whistle though?
No, an attacker can take a free quick if they get permission from the ref, thats my understanding anyway. He was deffo talking to the ref right before he struck it, you can see if you watch it back, no sign of the ref making a whistle gesture either. I'm not sure why MNS never showed the free kick again, surely if they are inundated by emails about the incident it is worth a second look ???? Thought MNS were poor overall tonight, i usually think that though when Rico is on.
bingoballs
18/08/2009, 6:34 AM
No, an attacker can take a free quick if they get permission from the ref, thats my understanding anyway. He was deffo talking to the ref right before he struck it, you can see if you watch it back, no sign of the ref making a whistle gesture either. I'm not sure why MNS never showed the free kick again, surely if they are inundated by emails about the incident it is worth a second look ???? Thought MNS were poor overall tonight, i usually think that though when Rico is on.
MNS is always poor. The first game against Cork in the showgrounds when we had a good goal disallowed the didnt show a replay and they never showed the two horror tackles in the second half in the Dundalk match and so on. They never have a panelist from the west/northwest and all they are interested in are Dublin clubs and Cork. We are just insignificant others. Even if we were top of the table they still wouldnt give us as much air time as Bohs or Shams!
Da Real Rover
18/08/2009, 1:40 PM
TBF MNS is a decent product for the LOI.
Being realistic here we dont have the pull or viewership of the Premiership or Match fo the Day etc but for who it caters for its a decent product and far superior to what we were usually provided with.
So a bit of realism wouldnt go astray.
red_away
18/08/2009, 2:14 PM
TBF MNS is a decent product for the LOI.
Being realistic here we dont have the pull or viewership of the Premiership or Match fo the Day etc but for who it caters for its a decent product and far superior to what we were usually provided with.
So a bit of realism wouldnt go astray.
I have to agree - its no perfect by any means but its better, much better than nothing which is what went on before!!
Rovers Maniac
19/08/2009, 12:36 PM
In the champion that the crowd on saturday night was 2,600, good crowd if correct looked smaller to me would have said 2,000 give or take, but i found it hard to judge where i was.
red arrow
19/08/2009, 1:24 PM
no way was it 2600. the game against valaznia was all ticket and limited to 2700 and there wasn'nt a seat to be got. i was in the main stand and there was plenty of empty seats. i'd say the crowd was closer to 1800 people. i dont no where the champion gets its estimates from but as they say they are away with the "fairies"
Rovers Maniac
19/08/2009, 1:46 PM
no way was it 2600. the game against valaznia was all ticket and limited to 2700 and there wasn'nt a seat to be got. i was in the main stand and there was plenty of empty seats. i'd say the crowd was closer to 1800 people. i dont no where the champion gets its estimates from but as they say they are away with the "fairies"
Ya was kinda surprised alright when i read it, but i spent most of my night standing beside the big red security box to hard to judge far end of the stand. I would say your estimation is a lot closer than the Champions. Seems to be no mention of Peers coming back either in the champion this week either. :(
sligofan4ever
19/08/2009, 3:04 PM
No way was it 2600. I'd say it there was in or around 2000 people on Saturday.
srfc1928
19/08/2009, 10:27 PM
In the champion that the crowd on saturday night was 2,600, good crowd if correct looked smaller to me would have said 2,000 give or take, but i found it hard to judge where i was.
Ya i seen that aswell, but sure isnt it printed in Belfast now,
Feckin nordie conspiracy to get a bigger cut of the gate,
change 1600 into 2600
theyre worse than that shower down in cork ;)
CF1989
19/08/2009, 10:34 PM
isnt the crowd counted on the turnstiles after every time it lets someone in? we never have an official attendance
Inside Man
20/08/2009, 9:40 PM
Great win! Was absolutely delighted with that last week. Had it been a league game i wouldn't have bothered traveling up from dublin, but seeing as it was the sup, theres always something special about it.
The Goal was questionable obviously, but after all our hard luck and heartbreak we deserved it.
This still doesn't detract from my opinion that changes need to be made in the club fast if we want to stay up. And i said before the Derry game that even if we win the problems will still be there. You we see tomorrow.
21/08/2009, 10:25 AM
sup,
Sup man, dude, amigo?