View Full Version : FAI Cup Weekend

13/08/2009, 10:44 AM
Crumlin United -V- Waterford United

Cup weekends always bring up David v Goliath games and tomorrow night we have got the best one of the round. Crumlin played the role of David already in the previous round knocking out Shelbourne after a replay. However, those games were the worst from Shels by far this season and it could be argued that the Shels side on those occasions weren't even trying and took their opponents for granted. Since that game Crumlin have lost two of their best players and have joined Shelbourne in the past couple of weeks funnily enough. Crumlin are out of season while Waterford are bang in season and one of the form sides in the country. They themselves were involved in a David -V- Goliath fixture in the previous round. Waterford showed no mercy by running out 6-0 winners. Here's a bit of a write up from the WUFC website:

United have faced their fair share of potential non-league banana skins already this season, getting by Carrigaline United in the last round of this competition, and Douglas Hall, Clonmel Town and Rockmount in the Munster Senior Cup. Stephen Henderson’s men are not in the habit of taking anything for granted, and will prepare for this game as any other.
However, though they will be scrupulously professional in their approach to the match, the Blues must be considered strong favourites to progress. They are in fine form in recent games, winning their last five on the trot, and in Graham Cummins they have a striker in scintillating form right now. A brace at Kildare County last weekend makes it 13 goals in the last nine games, and 22 in all competitions this season. United also have an exceptional away record – in 15 competitive games away from the RSC this year, they have won 12 and lost only the once. That to Shelbourne in the league. Who were dumped out of the Cup by Crumlin…
Waterford have no suspensions to deal with, and the only injury worry is to midfielder Dave Warren, who limped off towards the end of the Kildare match with groin trouble, and has to be rated a slight doubt for Friday’s game.

WUFC's manager's Quotes:

“We are on a roll right now, and our away record is brilliant to date.” “But we will prepare for that game [Crumlin] like every match we have played this season.” “We will not treat it any differently from any other game.”

Here's the results from the previous round in which it was league -V- non-league:

Shelbourne 1-1 Crumlin United
Shelbourne 0-1 Crumlin United
U.C.D 3-1 Arklow Town
Derry City 6-0 Ballymun United
Bray Wanderers 2-1 Bluebell
Bohemians 8-1 Mayfield United
Cherry Orchard 2-2 Monaghan United
Monaghan United 4-0Cherry Orchard
Blarney 0-2 Sporting Fingal
Waterford United 6-0 Carrigaline United AFC

So apart from Shels and Monaghan's slight blip it has been pretty comprehensive that there is a big difference between the top divisions in Ireland to the non-league sides. Boyles go a massive 4/9 on a Waterford win here. They are looking into Crumlin's results into the Shels games too much I feel. I'd have Waterford at something like 1/3 or so, the 4/9 definetly won't last. I'm going to be a little bit more exotic and take the (-1) handicap @ 23/20.

Backing Waterford United -1 @ 23/20 (Boyles) - 5pts.

brianw82
13/08/2009, 1:34 PM
Will probably just go for Shels again away to Harps. 3/5 with Bet365.

Any team news you can give me? Harps seem to be in the manure financially again according to extratime.ie.

13/08/2009, 1:56 PM
No more than usual Brian.

From our point of view we're completely fecked for Strikers. Can't see anything but a Shels win TBH.

13/08/2009, 1:59 PM
Just that our best player is suspended, McAllister, so far - haven't heard of any injuries yet. Team news should be posted up on our site after tonight's training as usual I'd imagine. He's a big loss for us, he grabbed a brace last week, but we've plenty of cover. Our midfield is probably the strongest in the division so I wouldn't worry too much. Worryingly our strikers still haven't scored since 1907. We were 4/6 yesterday but that's gone but 3/5 is still worth a bet. We're going forward, Harps are going back.

brianw82
13/08/2009, 4:46 PM
Finn Harps v Shelbourne

No more than usual Brian.

From our point of view we're completely fecked for Strikers. Can't see anything but a Shels win TBH.
Just that our best player is suspended, McAllister, so far - haven't heard of any injuries yet. Team news should be posted up on our site after tonight's training as usual I'd imagine. He's a big loss for us, he grabbed a brace last week, but we've plenty of cover. Our midfield is probably the strongest in the division so I wouldn't worry too much. Worryingly our strikers still haven't scored since 1907. We were 4/6 yesterday but that's gone but 3/5 is still worth a bet. We're going forward, Harps are going back.

Pretty much what the lads say. Similar to my last bet on Shels, they're just more likely to win this game than not.

Backing Shelbourne @ 3/5 (Bet365) - 5 pts

eL Bettor
13/08/2009, 6:00 PM
On bet365, if you go to the Goal Line Markets on Shamrock Rvs v UCD you can have under 3 goals @ 1.7 and under 2.75 goals @ 1.95, both of which are value IMO.

These are asian handicap markets so for the first you get your money back if there are exactly 3 goals and for the second you lose half your stake if there are exactly 3 goals. UCD's results this season against the rest of the top 4 in Div 1 have had 4 games from 6 with2 goals or less. their EA cup win in Galway also had 2 goals. Rovers havent scored more than 3 in any game this season and this should be a low scoring tight game IMO. With Twigg possibly going to be rested, it makes me even more confident about the bet.

14/08/2009, 6:43 AM
Small bet on Fingal -1 with Boyles @2.15. Athlone coud be missing up to 10 players for various reasons, Fingal are finally approaching full strength. Fingal also seem to have it "easy" for Athlone - afaik they have won all previous meetings between the two sides.

CF1989
14/08/2009, 10:47 AM
cummins anytime for waterford 6/5 with PP. going to do that and back him to get two or more @ 13/2. been scoring 1 or 2 nearly everygame in FD

14/08/2009, 11:14 AM
Might have a wee punt on Dundalk at 11/4 at home to Bohs.

14/08/2009, 11:30 AM
On bet365, if you go to the Goal Line Markets on Shamrock Rvs v UCD you can have under 3 goals @ 1.7 and under 2.75 goals @ 1.95, both of which are value IMO.
If Waterford beat us 3-1, I can see Rovers matching that at least. Was thinking of putting on Rovers -2, but Paddy Power (my online account) don't offer that. Think we'll be well beaten tomorrow.

eL Bettor
14/08/2009, 12:07 PM
If Waterford beat us 3-1, I can see Rovers matching that at least. Was thinking of putting on Rovers -2, but Paddy Power (my online account) don't offer that. Think we'll be well beaten tomorrow.

The usual UCD pessimism! We'll see how it goes!

JC_GUFC
14/08/2009, 12:24 PM
I can't understand the price United are at home to Longford.

There's been a big drift on us this morning and we're now 1.6

We have everyone available for selection and in their last 3 games Longford have scored 0 and conceded 8!

I haven't backed us yet but am tempted to steam in.

I think Pat's are a very decent bet too - Kenna didn't risk Quigley or Dempsey from the start on Tuesday and is aiming to win the cup to get into Europe next season.

I've also backed Tralee +1.75 AH.

eL Bettor
14/08/2009, 2:05 PM
I can't understand the price United are at home to Longford.

There's been a big drift on us this morning and we're now 1.6

We have everyone available for selection and in their last 3 games Longford have scored 0 and conceded 8!

I haven't backed us yet but am tempted to steam in.

I think Pat's are a very decent bet too - Kenna didn't risk Quigley or Dempsey from the start on Tuesday and is aiming to win the cup to get into Europe next season.

I've also backed Tralee +1.75 AH.

I saw that earlier, and duly backed Galway at 1.56 with 188bet. Huge price. A quick read of the views of both fans and the Galway fans are very optimistic (for a change!) and the Longford fans saying they'd be absolutely delighted and surprised to get a draw. With Galway saving no injuries either, this drift makes no sense.

I'm also on Tralee +1.75 away to Bray. I got 1.91 but the odds have fallen a bit since. Also put a small stake on Tralee to win the match @ 16/1 on betfair and on 0-0 at a very big price of 18/1 with sportingbet.

14/08/2009, 2:13 PM
Paddy Power are offering 5/6 on Derry to win in Sligo, five days after Derry won 4-0 in Sligo. Don't see them winning 4-0 again, but surely good odds given how Sligo are in freefall. On that and Rovers -1 to beat us (10/11).

Edit - Cummins to score is an interesting spot. Put a tenner on him to score and Waterford to win at 13/8.

14/08/2009, 2:19 PM
Done a few small bets:

Pats(8-15) & Fingal(3-10) double,
Tralee draw no bet(10-1),
Tralee +2(11-10),
Chris Turner anytime(9-2).

14/08/2009, 5:51 PM
Also a small accy of:

1 Crumlin Utd v Waterford (Backing Waterford @ 1.35)
2 Galway Utd v Longford (Backing Galway Utd @ 1.49)
3 Monaghan Utd v St Patricks (Backing St Patricks @ 1.7)
4 Sporting Fingal v Athlone (Backing Sporting Fingal @ 1.32)

0.5 pts with Betfair. Looks pretty "safe" to me. My biggest worry is Galway.

14/08/2009, 6:17 PM
Have a 1 pt accy on Fingal, Galway, Waterford, Shamrock Rovers, Man United and Chelsea -1.

14/08/2009, 8:48 PM
Looks like Galway screwed a lot of us over :(

14/08/2009, 8:52 PM
Can't pick a winner for love nor money lately.

14/08/2009, 8:59 PM
Fecking Pat's:mad:

CF1989
14/08/2009, 9:17 PM
chelsea to win 3 or 4 nil tomorrow to get ye back in the money

15/08/2009, 9:30 AM
Feckin Graham Cummins. :mad:

Hope I've jinxed the Rovers bet too. :)

15/08/2009, 11:01 AM
Just a few bit and pieces for our game.

Shels win @ 1.64. Our main peno taker is out suspended so Creepy Crawley will replace him. 20/1 first scorer so I'l have a bit of that ew. Flood anytime score @ 11/10 :eek: - if only I could lay that :).

brianw82
15/08/2009, 1:35 PM
Unexpected results all round in the Cup. Only Fingal came through with the expected thrashing. Glad I stayed away from it, tbh.

brianw82
15/08/2009, 8:41 PM
Finn Harps v Shelbourne

Pretty much what the lads say. Similar to my last bet on Shels, they're just more likely to win this game than not.

Backing Shelbourne @ 3/5 (Bet365) - 5 pts

Another late goal conceded away from home proves my undoing. Fup's sakes, Shels have won 4/5s of their games and yet 2 of the last 3 bets I've put on them have been losers.

That's football for you. :(

brianw82
16/08/2009, 6:35 PM
Bohs 8/15 with Ladbrokes in the replay on Tuesday. Seems pretty big, I have to say.

16/08/2009, 9:05 PM
Another late goal conceded away from home proves my undoing. Fup's sakes, Shels have won 4/5s of their games and yet 2 of the last 3 bets I've put on them have been losers.

That's football for you. :(

We were awful with the draw being the fair result. Though that's nothing when your bet loses to an injury goal.

CF1989
17/08/2009, 11:47 AM
might back them to win A.E.T