View Full Version : Leaving Cert results on Wednesday

11/08/2009, 11:29 AM
Anyone else getting their results tomorrow?

11/08/2009, 11:56 AM
Anyone else getting their results tomorrow?

I feel like I am, am that nervous for my lil sister.

Good luck to everyone, hope you get the results you want.

11/08/2009, 12:11 PM
Anyone else getting their results tomorrow?They're over-rated. Don't heed the whole this decides your life thing.

Good luck though!

11/08/2009, 12:55 PM
They're over-rated. Don't heed the whole this decides your life thing.

Good luck though!
Ha I feel the same way. Sure I still dunno what I want to do next year. Have applied to CAO and all that but sure it means feck all to me tbh. Will work my life out as it goes along!:)

11/08/2009, 1:01 PM
Ha I feel the same way. Sure I still dunno what I want to do next year. Have applied to CAO and all that but sure it means feck all to me tbh. Will work my life out as it goes along!:)I'm still doing that...4 years later:D.

11/08/2009, 1:13 PM
I'm still doing that...4 years later:D.
+ 1, only 16 years later...

Best of luck regardless to all you crazy kids.

11/08/2009, 1:28 PM
Remember kids, if you didn't get the results you wanted, it's not the end of the world. The University of Life did me no harm. As did the School of Hard Knocks. :)

adamcarr
11/08/2009, 1:29 PM
Best of luck to any of ye getting your results. I got mine last year and was quite nervous beforehand but about 5 minutes after getting the results you realise its not that important.

11/08/2009, 1:59 PM
Good luck to Dmanetc, and the other lads on here getting results.

Try not to get too wound up about them. People have consistently lied to you for the past couple of years - the LC is not the end of the world.

11/08/2009, 2:44 PM
Lads, I'm sorry but to some people it did. I cant say I was expecting the world when i got my results, but had i not got what I did, which wasn't what i expected either, I would have not met any of the people i did and probably would never have secured a job in London, lived in the states for a year, made the contacts I did or ended up in the position I am now.

It doesn't change your whole life, but it definitely dictates a serious part of it should you chose to continue whatever it is you chose.

But at the end of the day, thats just one side, as are the others. Don't panic either way, as whatever you do you do, just make sure that you enjoy it as much as possible.

11/08/2009, 3:20 PM
I'm still holding out for ice cream taster, Derry City manager, or bra-fitter.

11/08/2009, 3:24 PM
Plenty of ice-cream in the shops, start as an amateur and work your way up.

11/08/2009, 3:41 PM
Good luck to all you young tykes, don't stress it! I never did my Leaving and look at me!

Okay, bad example.

11/08/2009, 3:57 PM
I never did my Leaving and look at me!

Typical Shamrock Rovers fan..;)

11/08/2009, 5:36 PM
Good luck to all you young tykes, don't stress it! I never did my Leaving and look at me!

Okay, bad example.
Did you get your,
Did you get your Junior Cert?

11/08/2009, 5:45 PM
Don't listen to above posters. The leaving cert is the single most important thing anyone in Ireland could ever do. it will affect the rest of your life in terms of work, getting decent looking birds, and even the weather

I hope dahamsta starts checking results before allowing people on here.

Good luck though ;)

11/08/2009, 6:19 PM
Jesus Dodge, if we based membership on LC results the place'd be decimated! I didn't do all that brilliantly meself for that matter... :)

Mr Maroon
11/08/2009, 9:53 PM
I'll be getting them too. I'm really not nervous about it at all though.

11/08/2009, 9:59 PM
Best of luck to any of ye getting your results. I got mine last year and was quite nervous beforehand but about 5 minutes after getting the results you realise its not that important.
I always had you down as somebody who was around 30 years old.:D

I'll be getting them too. I'm really not nervous about it at all though.
Same here. I think most people have already done whatever worrying they'll do about results after the exams. I'd be surprised if many people didn't have a rough idea how they are going to do. Monday is what I'm nervous about.

12/08/2009, 8:53 AM
So happy and proud. My ickle sis got 500 points! Despite the English mixup (although her English results and History results were affected) and her friend being in a coma and then dying on the day of her physics exam (she got an A2!) She got all As & Bs.

Looking good for Edinburgh for her!

God it was such a different day for her than when I got my results. Her, my mum and I went for breakfast together and were excited. I got mine & my mum dropped me home with her words of "any eejit could have gotten those results" ringing in my ears. :( She failed to take into account that I was bullied throughout my leaving cert year, had missed loads of school due to being really ill and a friend had killed himself a week before my exams. Doesnt matter coz I ended up where I was meant to be college wise, met the father of my 2 greatest achievements and now work in a job I love that many would kill for. Moral of story, if you dont get what you hoped for you will still end up where you are meant to be.

12/08/2009, 9:57 AM
Magicme, your sister must be very smart and strong-willed. When i was doing it only 13% acheived over 410 and around 5% acheived over 500. Im sure its a lot easier now but still :p: only messing, that is some acheivement fair play to her. It doesn't limit her in anyway now, which is always a good thing. Just so long as she is sure and happy in doing whatever it is she decided(s) to do.

I'm sorry but I cant beleive your mother said that to you, bullied or not. That is terrible. :shocked:

12/08/2009, 10:01 AM
Aw, am over it now. Just brought it home a little to me today. Just proves our Laura is smarter than the rest of us even though when my mum was pregnant with her at 45yrs old we were worried sick she would have downs or other problems but she turns out to be the smartest, prettiest and the nicest person on the planet!

She wants to do Psychology in Edinburgh or Queens or Maynooth so its opened up for her now. If she was my own daughter I couldnt love her more or be more proud. I can understand my mum's disappointment in me when I think I could have done much better and how much joy Laura's results have brought.

12/08/2009, 10:08 AM
Maynooth? Is she fit?:D

12/08/2009, 10:12 AM
Got 130.....getting locked tonight.

12/08/2009, 10:25 AM
Maynooth? Is she fit?:D

Very, if she was an inch taller she would be a model!

12/08/2009, 10:26 AM
Got 130.....getting locked tonight.

Enjoy!

12/08/2009, 11:43 AM
The LC is not the be-all and end-all etc as has been pointed out, there is no excuse from any quarter.

MagiceMe, your sister is just like me then, my mother was nearly that age too when she had me, and I turned out the smartest :D No seriouslly though is she fit? Post a pic there. Fit-ness and Intelligence all in one, ye cant beat it really can you?! :D

BTW i didnt know an inch was so important in modelling ;)

12/08/2009, 11:49 AM
Happy out with my results, better than I expected anyway! :D

12/08/2009, 11:52 AM
good man rory and de town, enjoy yerselves tonight!

12/08/2009, 11:55 AM
The LC. Those were the days, 11 years ago now bloody hell. Well done to all who got what they hoped for. I think Rory may have been taking the mick somehow.

12/08/2009, 12:07 PM
The LC is not the be-all and end-all etc as has been pointed out, there is no excuse from any quarter.

MagiceMe, your sister is just like me then, my mother was nearly that age too when she had me, and I turned out the smartest :D No seriouslly though is she fit? Post a pic there. Fit-ness and Intelligence all in one, ye cant beat it really can you?! :D

BTW i didnt know an inch was so important in modelling

Am not posting one up here, she doesnt need stalkers!! :p

celticV3
12/08/2009, 12:15 PM
Enjoy!

He's only joking. He's actually 27 but he's trying to get his story sorted for the nightclub tonight.

Wolfie
12/08/2009, 12:16 PM
No seriouslly though is she fit? Post a pic there.

Am not posting one up here, she doesnt need stalkers!! :p

Nice try, Paul! :D

A wise move, Magicme.

12/08/2009, 12:45 PM
Very, if she was an inch taller she would be a model!
And if I had an inch more I'd be a porn star.:D

Not even two o'clock and I'm half drunk. Nice!;)

DeLorean
12/08/2009, 1:08 PM
Fit-ness and Intelligence all in one, ye cant beat it really can you?

Fit and braindead would suit me better:D

And if I had an inch more I'd be a porn star

Or at least adequate!!:D

Da Real Rover
13/08/2009, 12:07 PM
He's only joking. He's actually 27 but he's trying to get his story sorted for the nightclub tonight.
What did you get again? :eek:

Conroy
13/08/2009, 3:48 PM
375 for me! Delighted with that, Hopefully Busness in DCU will come on Monday.

Great night last night all the same.

13/08/2009, 4:08 PM
Well done Conroy. Hope it all works out.

13/08/2009, 4:11 PM
375 for me! Delighted with that, Hopefully Busness in DCU will come on Monday.

Great night last night all the same.
Well done. Which business course do you want? My brother's out there, it's really good.

Last night was a good one alright.:)

13/08/2009, 4:16 PM
I'm so old LC results were double-digits when I were a lad.

celticV3
13/08/2009, 4:17 PM
What did you get again? :eek:
Enough to get the same course as you:p

Conroy
13/08/2009, 4:19 PM
Dman - Looking for the straight Busness Degree, Its 410 point's but I'm hoping the HEAR scheme will bump me up, But its a long shot.

13/08/2009, 4:26 PM
I'm so old LC results were double-digits when I were a lad.
Not that old, but I can reminisce about bonus points for honours maths if you want! Extra 40 points; thank you. :)

Course, the exams were tougher in our day too...

13/08/2009, 4:45 PM
My year were the first of the A1 A2 brigade and the last of the Peig era.

13/08/2009, 6:43 PM
Six years now and the last of the old 25-30 year old Biology course..:(

Congratulations and commiserations to those who want them.it is just a memory test though :p

13/08/2009, 9:14 PM
dfx its late and a long day at work but i dont get your post.

Conroy, I had a similar problems when going to UCD for dyslexics, and it dropped to the required level so good luck with that hope it works out for you.

Conroy
13/08/2009, 10:51 PM
Thank's ill be sure to let you know how it goes on Monday.

14/08/2009, 7:22 AM
I always had you down as somebody who was around 30 years old.:D

I could say the same about you Dman! Never thought you were only doing the LC this year!

14/08/2009, 11:12 AM
Six years now and the last of the old 25-30 year old Biology course..

Congratulations and commiserations to those who want them.it is just a memory test though :p

I think i get the post now, :D Although the first line has no relation to the second one really, only in that Biology( and History and Business possibly geography too) when I did it at least, were the only "memory" tests ones. Needless to say I did those as Im a bit thick :D

14/08/2009, 11:42 AM
Not that old, but I can reminisce about bonus points for honours maths if you want! Extra 40 points; thank you. :)

Course, the exams were tougher in our day too...

And not forgetting The Matric ...