View Full Version : Tuesday Latest

Black and White
10/08/2009, 7:32 PM
Flu bug has hit our camp,
From Dundalkfc.com

Dundalk will look to make it back-to-back wins when they welcome Bray Wanderers to Oriel Park on Tuesday night (kick-off 7.45pm) just 72 hours after a remarkable comeback against Sligo Rovers. The Lilywhites trailed by two goals in the Showgrounds with just quarter of the match remaining but three late strikes, including a double from Chris Turner, saw them secure the most unlikeliest of wins.
Contrasting form
Bray, on the other hand, have not been in action since last Friday week, when they lost by a single goal in Cork, after their planned trip to Saint Patrick’s Athletic on Sunday was postponed. Eddie Gormley’s side currently prop up the table having found wins hard to come by, their only victory in their last seven league games coming at Drogheda United three weeks ago. That is in stark contract to Dundalk, who were at the weekend recording their sixth win in eight in the league, and their seventh in nine in all competitions.
Flu outbreak
Sean Connor can welcome back Michael Daly as the midfielder has now completed his suspension, but some of the squad are suffering from a flu outbreak and may be unavailable for selection. However, despite that, Michael McGowan, who scored his first club goal in Sligo, knows the quality in the squad can overcome such hindrances. “To come from 3-1 down to win 4-3 I think shows the spirit and the character of the players that we have got in the club,” the versatile 24-year-old told dundalkfc.com. “We know that Bray will be another tough game but we’ll be looking for another positive result and hopefully we can get it.”
Advantage Dundalk
The sides have already met twice this term and it is Dundalk who hold the upper hand so far, taking four points. Back in April, Declan O’Brien and Jake Kelly exchanged first-half goals as Bray, despite hitting the woodwork four times, had to settle for a share of the spoils at the Carlisle Grounds. At Oriel Park in June, it was a different matter as Dundalk hit the front through Turner after just 30 seconds before Ger Rowe and Tiarnán Mulvenna sealed a comfortable win. The Lilywhites, interestingly, have not been involved in a goalless game in any competition since holding Bray at the seaside in the FAI Cup on 15 August last (39 games ago).

gufc2000
11/08/2009, 5:33 PM
Team News

Galway United take on Drogheda United in Terryland Park on Tuesday 11th Aug. United must plan without the suspended John Russell.
Ian Foster hopes to have Derek O'Brien and David Cooke available after both players went off injured in United's match against Sligo last Friday week

11/08/2009, 5:45 PM
Sligo Rovers v Derrry City chatroom (http://www.irishfootienetwork.com/derrycitychat/chat/index.php3)

11/08/2009, 5:46 PM
http://www.saintsforum.net/

Pats ustream audio commentary linked above for tonights game with Bohs

11/08/2009, 5:59 PM
Extratime.ie Live Matchtracker (http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/)

Hibs4Ever
11/08/2009, 6:07 PM
St Pats v Bohs commentary

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/st-pats-live-commentary

11/08/2009, 7:09 PM
Drogheda one up in Galway.

http://www.futbol24.com/f24_livenow/LiveNow.html?__igp=1&l22=15036&submit.x=84&submit.y=11

11/08/2009, 7:43 PM
Drogs now 2 up in Galway at half time. Bohs 1 up in Inchicore.

brandy86
11/08/2009, 7:56 PM
1-0 Derry

Aaron
11/08/2009, 7:57 PM
David Scullion header

Buller
11/08/2009, 8:01 PM
Big crowd in turners cross apparently - fair play to Cork, tuesday night too.
Still 0-0 with 55mins gone and a great atmosphere from what I can hear!

Aaron
11/08/2009, 8:08 PM
2-0 Derry, Peter Hutton:)

fionnsci
11/08/2009, 8:09 PM
Pats 2 down

Aaron
11/08/2009, 8:20 PM
3-0 City, Mark Farren

d rovers
Derry 3-0

Pats 2 down
Oman with his second of the game.

Derry 3-0 up now, Farren with the goal.

Turner also missed a penalty for Dundalk in first half stoppage time.:(

Aaron
11/08/2009, 8:24 PM
4-0 Derry, Mark Farren again:)

d rovers
11/08/2009, 8:27 PM
Derry 4-0 up now

11/08/2009, 8:34 PM
4-0 Derry, Mark Farren again:)

Wow. Is that three games in a row that Sligo have conceded 4 goals?

Aaron
11/08/2009, 8:35 PM
FT in the Showgrounds, 4-0

Aaron
11/08/2009, 8:36 PM
Wow. Is that three games in a row that Sligo have conceded 4 goals?

Not sure about 3 games, defo 2 anyway

d rovers
11/08/2009, 9:07 PM
Not sure about 3 games, defo 2 anyway

Thats 4-2 after extra time vs Bohs in the league cup, 4-3 vs dundalk at the weekend and now 4-0 vs derry. Derry again this weekend in the cup.

Ohdannyboy
11/08/2009, 9:09 PM
not looking good for Sligo but at the same time it wont be that easy on Sat night for us in the cup

11/08/2009, 9:15 PM
Wow. Is that three games in a row that Sligo have conceded 4 goals?In our defence(something we don't have on the pitch), Bohs only scored 2 of their 4 in extra-time.

Paddyfield
11/08/2009, 9:19 PM
There was a minute silence before the game in Terryland as a mark of respect to manager Ian Foster on the death of his father last night.

RIP

eamo1
11/08/2009, 9:24 PM
Lost 2-0 tonight.No home team scored tonight i see,unusual.We could be there till next week and still wouldnt score.
Some awfully cynical stuff from Drogheda tonight,time wasting etc.Deserved their win but it was tough to watch,even at 0-0 they were at it.

Black and White
11/08/2009, 9:44 PM
There was a minutes silence at oriel tonight as a mark of respect for the two young lads who lost their lives yesterday in a tragic accident at Drummonds seed factory just outside the town.

Was a very eventful game,. the Bray goal lived a charmed life, We hit the post, crossbar, 3 off the line, 2 goals disallowed and a missed peno! And Bray missed two one on ones basically! Nil Nil rather eventful. Our first nil nil in over a year!

Black and White
11/08/2009, 9:45 PM
Lost 2-0 tonight.No home team scored tonight i see,unusual.We could be there till next week and still wouldnt score.
Some awfully cynical stuff from Drogheda tonight,time wasting etc.Deserved their win but it was tough to watch,even at 0-0 they were at it.

Thats because they try to just defend and see if they can grab anything while their at it. They did that since the start of the season, 10 men behind the goal. At one stage they didnt have one striker as their only 3 where all injured!An JP kelly was playing up front for them!

gufc2000
11/08/2009, 9:56 PM
There was a minute silence before the game in Terryland as a mark of respect to manager Ian Foster on the death of his father last night.

RIP
Fair play to Fozzy, couldn't have been easy for him.

R.I.P.

Mr Maroon
11/08/2009, 9:58 PM
We were useless tonight. No passion, no creativity. We badly need someone to start hitting the target for us.

11/08/2009, 10:01 PM
If ye could keep it up for next week we'd be very much obliged.

11/08/2009, 10:06 PM
Thats 4-2 after extra time vs Bohs in the league cup, 4-3 vs dundalk at the weekend and now 4-0 vs derry. Derry again this weekend in the cup.

Comprehensive 4-0 midweek victory can only mean we'll lose 1-0 on Saturday.

ndrog
12/08/2009, 12:38 AM
Thats because they try to just defend and see if they can grab anything while their at it. They did that since the start of the season, 10 men behind the goal. At one stage they didnt have one striker as their only 3 where all injured!An JP kelly was playing up front for them!

Well deserved win from a decent hard working side with lots of quality in it , chambers was class again tonite and created the 2 goals .Delighted for jamie duffy hes been great leately but needed a goal badly .Galway created nothing and were never a threat to our goal .And try and keep your mindless comments to yourself craptown boy . You dont know what your talking about .We are a vastly different proposition compared to when jp kelly was playing :D great win and totallly deserved after being robbed against bohs and a good performance against rovers ..

d rovers
12/08/2009, 7:06 AM
Comprehensive 4-0 midweek victory can only mean we'll lose 1-0 on Saturday.

Nah, the way we are playing it will be more of the same on sat night.

brianw82
12/08/2009, 7:22 AM
How brutal are we at the moment?

Drogman.
12/08/2009, 7:52 AM

Haha, this should be binned for trolling!

Seriously!!!

Black and White
12/08/2009, 7:52 AM
Well deserved win from a decent hard working side with lots of quality in it , chambers was class again tonite and created the 2 goals .Delighted for jamie duffy hes been great leately but needed a goal badly .Galway created nothing and were never a threat to our goal .And try and keep your mindless comments to yourself craptown boy . You dont know what your talking about .We are a vastly different proposition compared to when jp kelly was playing :D great win and totallly deserved after being robbed against bohs and a good performance against rovers ..

MODS, that merits a ban, I got one for less so this Drugs lord clown deserves one for slander!

CuanaD
12/08/2009, 8:22 AM
Thats because they try to just defend and see if they can grab anything while their at it. They did that since the start of the season, 10 men behind the goal. & one on the pitch? - not sure that's a good formation :rolleyes: :D

12/08/2009, 8:46 AM
MODS, that merits a ban, I got one for less so this Drugs lord clown deserves one for slander!
If you've a problem with a post, report it. That's what the "Report Post" function is for. Crying in-thread just looks silly.

(And your post also deserves an infraction for calling a poster a clown, making up claims of slander and referring to him a Drugs lord)

Flexy
12/08/2009, 8:47 AM
How brutal are we at the moment?
How did derry play lastnight

12/08/2009, 10:39 AM
Great game despite the 0-0 scoreline at the Cross.
The largest away following of the season, fair play to Rovers, they sang throughout. Not many goalcsoring opportunities but a keenly fought contest
Rovers closed us down all over the park, we had a few chances near the end with Billy Dennehys the best when he fluffed a 1 on 1 with their keeper.
Biggest laugh of the night was for the official attendance announcement of 3691, there was easily between 4 and 5000.

WoodquayBoy
12/08/2009, 11:02 AM
chambers was class again tonite and created the 2 goals
No question ye deserved the win, we were shocking and created zippity in front of goal - one shot on target all game I think, a scuffed effort from Faherty when he was clear through on goal.
But you can't credit Chamberfs with creating the 2 goals - both times he hit shots which were going wide, but the defender and Duffy got touches to both efforts.
Still, I suppose it is only nit-picking. We are in serious need of a striker, and play the top 4 in our next four games - ouch

12/08/2009, 11:25 AM

Played well enough in the second half. First half was pretty dire really.
Tbh though, it was probably more a case of Sligo being so bad rather than us setting the world alight. Brush had a shocker for the third goal. Would love to see it again.

The Betting Man
12/08/2009, 11:25 AM
Handy enough win for us last night I thought, with the exception of Quigley's shot which was a great save by Murphy he didnt have much too do last night. Still cant believe Crowe missed that header for 6 years out. Good home crowd there last night more than when we were there in June and also nice to see a club shop opened beside the ground fair play

CameramanConka
12/08/2009, 11:26 AM

Derry looked very solid at the back and very quick and slick going forward. Just glanced over the game again this morning and 7 or 8 nil would have been a fair result to be honest.

First half was poor enough, but after Scullion opened up the scoring, with a header in splendid isolation, Sligo had to come out at Derry, left them selves severely exposed at the back and Derry punished them. Brush had a few moments he's rather forget. Sunstitute Mark Farren should have had a hat-trick, only to be wrongly denied by the linemans flag for his third.

Sligo booed off at the end.

Good display from City and Sligo would need to improve drastiacally to stop this current rot.

Black and White
12/08/2009, 11:33 AM
If you've a problem with a post, report it. That's what the "Report Post" function is for. Crying in-thread just looks silly.

(And your post also deserves an infraction for calling a poster a clown, making up claims of slander and referring to him a Drugs lord)

So sue me then Stu.

12/08/2009, 12:01 PM
Biggest laugh of the night was for the official attendance announcement of 3691, there was easily between 4 and 5000.Coughlan paying the wages tonight?

http://weblogs.baltimoresun.com/business/consuminginterests/blog/cash.gif

A N Mouse
12/08/2009, 12:35 PM
So ignore me then everyone.

Fixed that for ya

Black and White
12/08/2009, 12:47 PM
Fixed that for ya

Good man yourself, I dint want attention in the first palce but OBVIOUSLY you do! Well done, thats the best comment Iv ever seen in me life, you obviously have alot of free time on your hands!

12/08/2009, 1:13 PM
Great game despite the 0-0 scoreline at the Cross.

Something had to make up for the dross 0-0 draw earlier :)

Neither side really threatened too much.