PDA

View Full Version : If your club went out of business...

Pages : [1] 2

peadar1987
10/08/2009, 4:34 PM
What would you do? Would you switch your allegiance to the next nearest club, adopt another LOI club, stop following domestic football?

I would say that if Bray went out of business I would start going to watch one of the Shankill sides in the LSL. My next nearest LOI club is UCD, but as a Trinity graduate I would rather travel to Derry every week than follow that shower! That leaves Shams, who I could see myself keeping an eye out for, but never going every week to watch them, or cheering when they score.

foot.ie members with an irrational hatred of hypothetical situations need not reply to this thread.

Mr A
10/08/2009, 4:39 PM
I'd put my energies into bringing Harps back into existence.

Hopefully it does not come to that.

Longfordian
10/08/2009, 4:40 PM
Athlone have nice jersies. I could see myself wearing one.

micls
10/08/2009, 4:40 PM

Spot on.

My club wont go out of business, worst case scenairo the holding company does, and the clubs senior team doesnt have an FAI license, but the club itself is going nowhere.

jinxy lilywhite
10/08/2009, 4:43 PM
I wouldn't watch LOI football until another Dundalk based side entered.

brendy_éire
10/08/2009, 4:44 PM

Basically that. Whilst supporting Institute more in the meantime.

The Lep
10/08/2009, 4:47 PM
When Dublin City folded i couldnt support a team i was shouting against with city so i didnt go to any matches although i was watching out for Drogheda's results. Seeing that i live in the Fingal area i was pleased to hear of the plans to get a Fingal team into the A championship and i was all set to go and watch them play. It was a bonus when they got into the first division. If Fingal happened to go the same way as Dublin city then unless a local side made the step up to senior soccer then i wouldnt be going to any other league matches.

marty
10/08/2009, 4:51 PM