View Full Version : Weekend latest (07/08)
Must be going mad so. Time to retire from the update business..:o
6 minutes added time in United Pk
Don Cowan ready to come on for Rovers...
longfordjames
07/08/2009, 8:35 PM
IMHO Rovers will win the league.
Bohs 1-0 Cork FT
Fingal 2-0 Mervue FT
christo
07/08/2009, 8:41 PM
UCD equalise in the last minutes
UCD equalise.!
1-1
FT Drogs 0-1 Rovers.
Sunny Jim
07/08/2009, 8:43 PM
IMHO Rovers will win the league.
I hope you're right, but I don't think so. Bohs are better at grinding out results. And scoring last-minute winners.
brianw82
07/08/2009, 8:44 PM
I hope you're right, but I don't think so. Bohs are better at grinding out results. And scoring last-minute winners.
They also have more fans among the Dublin refs. :)
Umberside
07/08/2009, 9:00 PM
I wouldn't rule ourselves out either.
07/08/2009, 9:03 PM
Shouldn't ye be getting rid of players not trying to compete to win leagues?!.
Umberside
07/08/2009, 9:17 PM
Shouldn't ye be getting rid of players not trying to compete to win leagues?!.
Well it would seem that our squad has been kept almost completely intact and now we are clear with the Revenue and everyone else (temporarily I'd imagine) so there's nothing else to focus on only on the field matters. There's 14 games left to play and only nine points behind so it means we've still got a chance. If we're ruled out of winning, then Derry have no hope at all.
07/08/2009, 9:24 PM
Your squad may be intact but the point, I think, is that Cork can't go on spending as much as they do at the moment.
It's very naive to think that all Cork's troubles are over just because they avoided being liquidated. The reasons why they got there in the first place have to be addressed or else this will all come up again further down the line.
07/08/2009, 9:25 PM
Unless you're drastically reducing your wage bill even with the current squad, CCFC deserve everything and anything that would come their way. Is Tom adopting the Bohs business plan of winning the league to pay the bills?. Remember you've used up alot of your future income already.
Maybe by saying "ourselves" he meant Pat's..:)
http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1206708#post1206708
sonofstan
07/08/2009, 9:34 PM
Two big 'Coughlan Out' Banners in (our) Shed tonight...
Although apparently, according to the Irish Times (http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2009/0807/1224252229713.html), the real game was in Turner's Cross
Bohs travelled to Cork City where Kilian Brennan's goal on the hour took the wind out of the Leesiders’ sails after their dramatic High Court reprieve this week.
brianw82
07/08/2009, 9:51 PM
Well it would seem that our squad has been kept almost completely intact and now we are clear with the Revenue and everyone else (temporarily I'd imagine) so there's nothing else to focus on only on the field matters. There's 14 games left to play and only nine points behind so it means we've still got a chance. If we're ruled out of winning, then Derry have no hope at all.
The squad is together for the moment only. Most of the senior players will be off at trials in the UK after the game on Tuesday.
It's utter delusion to think/expect you can win the league after what's just happened.
irishultra
07/08/2009, 10:06 PM
woot!!! :D
that win was so fufilling for some reason, went with my mum to the game and she thought it was a great game:)
Ndo was on fire at times, really thought he was good. Cork had a few half chances and I think we were lucky to not concede.
07/08/2009, 11:14 PM
If we're ruled out of winning, then Derry have no hope at all.
Hardly news, where have you been the last month? :confused:
topia
07/08/2009, 11:45 PM
woot!!! :D
that win was so fufilling for some reason, went with my mum to the game and she thought it was a great game:)
Ndo was on fire at times, really thought he was good. Cork had a few half chances and I think we were lucky to not concede.
he was also fecking brutal at times although admittedly better than he has been in recent weeks when he has been shocking
Joseph McSweene
08/08/2009, 3:20 AM
Hardly news, where have you been the last month? :confused:
I imagine like a lot of us, worrying about going out of business. I tend to ignore the table when we hit financial trouble, and was sort of surprised at our league position recently!:D
I still think he's off his nut, we have no chance of winning this league, even if we hold together this squad, it lacks goals-and, despite what a lot of fans in this league and especially Cork City fans themselves believed, Denis Behan is a massive, massive loss for Cork City. But more to the point, we have 9 home games left (including SC) to generate revenue and that seems to be it. We need to cut expenditure like we should've done at the start of the season-however, you can understand why City fans think we'll keep this squad together. Tom Coughlan is an awful chairman at times, and seems to lack the common sense to truly realise how close we are to death, even now.
wexfordned
08/08/2009, 9:53 AM
Well it would seem that our squad has been kept almost completely intact and now we are clear with the Revenue and everyone else (temporarily I'd imagine) so there's nothing else to focus on only on the field matters.
Your players haven't been paid in 7 weeks. This week the players with accounts with a certain bank will receive 40% of this weeks wages. The rest won't get a penny.
08/08/2009, 12:28 PM
Your players haven't been paid in 7 weeks. This week the players with accounts with a certain bank will receive 40% of this weeks wages. The rest won't get a penny.
Cork players get paid monthly, as has already been mentioned throughout this thread.
wexfordned
08/08/2009, 1:14 PM
Cork players get paid monthly, as has already been mentioned throughout this thread.
Well this must be week 8 then, because the players a few of us were talking to last night have'nt been paid for 7 weeks. Unsuprisingly not impressed with Tom Coughlan
The Betting Man
08/08/2009, 5:11 PM
I wouldn't rule ourselves out either.
Well if Doolin continues to settle for a draw nearly every match,have no plan B and not play Gamble then I dont think you will be winning any league for a while never mind this year
Updates for Sligo V Dundalk.
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/CustomPages/CustomPage.aspx?pageid=80069
08/08/2009, 6:55 PM
Sligo 1 up.
dfclilywhite
08/08/2009, 7:02 PM
Sligo 1-1 Dundalk Mcgowan
The Lep
08/08/2009, 7:11 PM
Two big 'Coughlan Out' Banners in (our) Shed tonight...
Although apparently, according to the Irish Times (http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2009/0807/1224252229713.html), the real game was in Turner's Cross
Lucky his surname wasnt Cox :D
dfclilywhite
08/08/2009, 7:18 PM
Sligo 2-1 Dundalk
Blinkhorn with his 2nd.
Limerick and Shels both 1 up.
Waterford 1 up, Longford down to ten men.
08/08/2009, 7:50 PM
2-0 Shels
McAllister with both, the second a penalty, Londford's McCarthy sent off in what I presume was the incident leading to the spot kick.
McAllister with both for Shels
Battery Rover
08/08/2009, 7:52 PM
Scorer(s) perchance?
Longford down to 10 just before 2nd goal.
McAllister with both the second a penalty
prince20
08/08/2009, 7:52 PM
Scorers perchance?
McAllister with the 2, second was a peno after McCarthy got sent off
08/08/2009, 7:54 PM
Lims 2 up.
08/08/2009, 7:55 PM
2-0 Limerick, O Flynn.
Good man himself, debut goal.
Battery Rover
08/08/2009, 7:58 PM
Good man himself, debut goal.
He scored against Fingal last week as well
dfclilywhite
08/08/2009, 7:59 PM
3-1 to Sligo Cretaro
dfclilywhite
08/08/2009, 8:13 PM
Sligo 3-2 Dundalk Mulvenna
Come on one more!!
prince20
08/08/2009, 8:14 PM
Finn Harps 1-2 Limerick
prince20
08/08/2009, 8:20 PM
Waterford 2 up on Kildare now ( Cummins with both)
dfclilywhite
08/08/2009, 8:21 PM
3-3 Penalty Turner
Come on!!
dfclilywhite
08/08/2009, 8:31 PM
Sligo 3-4 Dundalk Turner
Yessssssssss!!!!!!!!
dfclilywhite
08/08/2009, 8:39 PM
Sligo 3-4 Dundalk FT:D
What a comeback!!!
Oooh, and that's a loss that will hurt Sligo Rovers.
08/08/2009, 8:43 PM
Sligo 3-4 Dundalk FT:D
What a comeback!!!
Jaysus!!