View Full Version : Cyprus (Away) Sat 8th Oct 05

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

Cowboy
13/06/2005, 4:12 PM
try http://travelocity.co.uk/ Lufthansa go from Dublin

13/06/2005, 7:40 PM
Check out skyscanner.net

I found flights out on Sat 1st and back on the Thursday 6th for £217 out of London and into Paphos

13/06/2005, 7:46 PM
Flights on Expedia for £180.30 via Italy

Schlooooomp
16/06/2005, 2:14 PM
Just got this from Gavin from the FAI (16/06/2005):

Ray,
The Cyprus application form is currently being updated. It will be posted on our website again soon.

Regards,

Gavin

Duffer
16/06/2005, 3:35 PM
Why is it being updated??
Does this mean we will all have to re-write the form and re-apply??

16/06/2005, 3:46 PM
I found flights out on Sat 1st and back on the Thursday 6th

You not going to the game then?
It is on Saturday the 8th you know?

20/06/2005, 11:48 AM
out on 28th September from Belfast returning the morning of the 12th the night we play the swiss in Dublin. One of our crew has dropped out so we have package Flight Accomodation,Match Ticket and Accomodation in Dublin for the swiss game as well.Anyone male or female (as we are a mixed group) interested pm me.

horney
22/06/2005, 9:22 AM
were going ryanair to gatwick and gatwick to larnaca wiyh thompson holidays wed to sun for 350 euro plus the ryanair 80 euro not bad

Colie
25/06/2005, 1:38 AM
Oh Lordy can I not wait for this one. I will probably die from booze/ drug/ Irealnd overdose at this one so can everyone please try & make it a biggun coz it will probably be Colie's last stand.

25/06/2005, 9:30 AM
Oh Lordy can I not wait for this one. I will probably die from booze/ drug/ Irealnd overdose at this one so can everyone please try & make it a biggun coz it will probably be Colie's last stand.

:D God help Cyprus, oh nation of Cyprus we now beg for forgiveness in advance of whatever Colie might do out there....... :D

michaelguineys
25/06/2005, 9:58 AM
Lads do ye have any idea of Global Travel are a legit company??
Just that weve booked with em to go to the game and are a bit worrited.
Anyone travelled with em before??

25/06/2005, 10:09 AM

One of the lads from Global Travel posts on here, so expect him on later, steve i think it is. From what i know, the seem to be one of the decent ones, so i wouldn't be worried, I've never heard anything bad, I'd say you'll be fine.

27/06/2005, 8:01 AM
Just booked my trip on Friday for 293euro from Heathrow. Out on the 6th,
back the 11th. Flights with Alitalia. Back in time for the Swiss game.
Have to get a flight Dub - Lon but I'll worry about that later

Details as follows
========
Going Out:
========
London to Rome
Depart: Thu 06 Oct 05 - Time: 06:40
Arrive: Thu 06 Oct 05 - Time: 10:10

Rome to Larnaca
Depart: Thu 06 Oct 05 - Time: 12:30
Arrive: Thu 06 Oct 05 - Time: 16:30
==========
Coming Back
==========
Larnaca to Rome
Depart: Tue 11 Oct 05 - Time: 09:15
Arrive: Tue 11 Oct 05 - Time: 11:30

Rome to London
Depart: Tue 11 Oct 05 - Time: 13:45
Arrive: Tue 11 Oct 05 - Time: 15:35

Colie
27/06/2005, 6:06 PM

I'll vouch for Steve, he sorted my accom in Faroes at the last minute. He's a sound lad & I'd say the man'll be there himself.

Steve, if you're talking to the London boys say hi. They are some shower of total legends & I hope to see them at the next games.

michaelguineys
28/06/2005, 12:59 PM
Dats the job, few of us were just wonderin

onenilgameover
08/07/2005, 1:44 PM
Just seen this add if someone wants a hundred quid off this travel package from this quitter!

http://classifieds.buyandsell.ie/scripts/lootsite.dll?MfcISAPICommand=Search&FirstClass=1000000&LastClass=9269999&query=ireland+ticket&Location=0-15&Option=0&dbVersion=0

Still reckon Global travel is they way to go...I have me factor 40 sun-cream bought...Roll on Cyprus......

Duffer
14/07/2005, 1:34 PM
Anyone know what the story is with these - they never answer emails and you can't get them by phone.
Bit concerned about handing over the rest of the money for the trip if their so hard to get hold of.

14/07/2005, 1:39 PM
Anyone know what the story is with these

Everyone on foot.ie who has dealt with them before had nothing but good things to say about them.

Eire06
14/07/2005, 1:56 PM
Anyone know what the story is with these - they never answer emails and you can't get them by phone.
Bit concerned about handing over the rest of the money for the trip if their so hard to get hold of.
I've been talking to the girls in there office a few times all seem nice and Steve from Global travel posts on here too..
Seems sound enough

14/07/2005, 2:09 PM
Company I work for has an office over in cyprus, might stick myself in a box and post myself over. Knowing an post though before I get out of the country I will have been misrooted to Carlow.

Duffer
14/07/2005, 2:52 PM
Sorry Steve
Panic over was a digit out on the phone number - well I am blond :o

14/07/2005, 3:59 PM

I'm having the same trouble, no answer to e-mail and the phone number keeps ringing out (doesn't seem to be an answering machine to leave a message even) :confused:

Eire06
14/07/2005, 4:01 PM
I'm having the same trouble, no answer to e-mail and the phone number keeps ringing out (doesn't seem to be an answering machine to leave a message even) :confused:

From Ireland the number is

0044 1889 801901

this web page

http://www.globaltravelrugeley.co.uk/

I got through fine today

14/07/2005, 4:41 PM
From Ireland the number is

0044 1889 801901

this web page

http://www.globaltravelrugeley.co.uk/

I got through fine today

Thanks, that might be it. The number given on their web page is 0044 1889 801900 which I'd been trying, so I'll give the other number a go tomorrow.

petef
19/07/2005, 2:11 PM
I see the FAI have updated with a new form, prices have increased somewhat, Cypriots copped the fact that quite a few will be travelling, moved us to a different section and ripped us off sorry…charged us accordingly.

Eire06
19/07/2005, 2:39 PM
Thanks, that might be it. The number given on their web page is 0044 1889 801900 which I'd been trying, so I'll give the other number a go tomorrow.

Sorry copied and pasted the wrong number it is
0044 1889 801900
and I've been able to get through fine :o

roboyle
27/07/2005, 8:35 AM
hi sorry if you have had trouble getting through this week ive been away in sligo so girls have been short handed!
i see someones been ringing our fax number!!
our phone number is 0044 1889 801900
the office is open from 9am til 5pm except wednesdays when we close at4pm!
our emergency number i stress emergency number is 0044 7970 648989
steve :D

Booked myself yesterday... the omens are good - anyone that recognises a Donegal brogue is good in my books! :)

Sligo Hornet
27/07/2005, 9:43 AM
Four of us booked for 7 nights in Protaras (Tsokkos Beach Hotel ) £407 ALL-INCLUSIVE.............anyone else staying in this resort?

deego11
10/08/2005, 12:52 PM
I see the FAI have updated with a new form, prices have increased somewhat, Cypriots copped the fact that quite a few will be travelling, moved us to a different section and ripped us off sorry…charged us accordingly.

Do you know how much the tickets have gone up to now?

Sligo Hornet
10/08/2005, 1:21 PM
fai price 38 euro!!.......have applied but not yet heard if successful!

pegan
15/08/2005, 9:26 AM
Anybody see that in yesterdays papers ..........46 bleeding euro.

If its anything like our match v andorra, Im taking my chances in Cyprus. :eek:

roboyle
15/08/2005, 10:32 AM

Thing is, I don't think they're moving us - probably just bumped up the price of the tickets cos they can! Anyway, for peace of mind I'll just get them now so I don't have to make an allowance in my budget for them when I get there.

Incidentally, my (flight) tickets from Globaltravel arrived this morning, canne wait now! :-)

Eire06
15/08/2005, 1:43 PM
hi glad to here you got your tickets!!
before others start panicing hes on the 4 day package 7 day packages will be sent out 14 days before!!!
steve :D
hi Steve,

Is there still availability on your 4 and 7 day package and how much are they?

Thanks

Paulie
16/08/2005, 10:19 AM
This was on the FAI website.

The Ambassador of the Republic of Cyprus, Andreas Kakouris, has asked that the following advice be placed on the FAI website in respect of the Senior and Under 21 games in Cyprus in October:

“Persons travelling to the Cyprus-Ireland match must enter the Republic of Cyprus through the legal ports of entry, namely Larnaca and Paphos airports. Arrival in Cyprus via any other airport or port in the area in which the Government of the Republic of Cyprus does not exercise effective control (Turkish occupied area) is illegal.”

Signed

Andreas Kakouris
Ambassador

Beavis
16/08/2005, 9:27 PM
Do we have duty free?
I presume we do, Cyprus isnt in the EU (although Greece is but Turkey isnt).
Sure hope so.. :)

16/08/2005, 9:51 PM
Anybody flying Helios?! I was close to booking with them before going a different route! :eek: Apparently they're being raided now in connection with the crash, although yer man who "received" the text message from his cousin on the flight has been arrested for a hoax.

Bluetonic
17/08/2005, 9:07 AM
On the globaltravel ex Dublin what are the flight details... i.e via the Uk? Where? How long of a stop over? And where is the accomodation Cyprus?

It's late but thinking of booking on the 4........ hopefully there'll be some availability....

Anyone know any of the above SHOUT!

17/08/2005, 6:08 PM
On the globaltravel ex Dublin what are the flight details... i.e via the Uk? Where? How long of a stop over? And where is the accomodation Cyprus?

It's late but thinking of booking on the 4........ hopefully there'll be some availability....

Anyone know any of the above SHOUT!

check their website

www.globaltravelrugeley.co.uk
think it is via gatwick or birmingham. accomodation in mayfair aparthotel paphos and the 4 day is somewhere in ayia napa, tells u on website. stevie boy will come on later prob to confirm! :D

Saint Tom
18/08/2005, 8:14 PM
Cyprus isnt in the EU (although Greece is but Turkey isnt).

Greek Cyprus became a member on 1st January 2005, so that rules out duty free im afraid

18/08/2005, 8:50 PM
hi ya kerrs tribe thanks for the posting!!! im only just back from dublin!!
gatwick and bham is correct!!! you should be my agent!! :D

:D can i've a job? ;)

19/08/2005, 9:46 PM
hi i think the travelling to/from scotland would be a bit much!!! :D

I'm never late for work :eek: :o :o

22/08/2005, 9:32 AM
FAI sent out confirmation of tickets today. I got 2 from them.

Sligo Hornet
22/08/2005, 9:49 AM
:( Ive not heard yet about my application ( 4 tickets ).......did everyone get what they asked for...or has anyone been told they were unsuccessful?

Eire06
22/08/2005, 9:58 AM
:( Ive not heard yet about my application ( 4 tickets ).......did everyone get what they asked for...or has anyone been told they were unsuccessful?
I got a letter saying I was unsucessful and that they were giving the allocation to Block bookers, but were applying to the Cypriot FA for more tickets and won't know until sept if they have them or not..

But its ok cause I have them through Galway United anyway :D

Sligo Hornet
22/08/2005, 10:16 AM
;) :mad: Just opened today's mail.......same "Dear John" letter!!.........don't suppose Galway United would have 4 "spares" ??

Eire06
22/08/2005, 10:25 AM
;) :mad: Just opened today's mail.......same "Dear John" letter!!.........don't suppose Galway United would have 4 "spares" ??
For a sligo fan :eek: you have to change over to the good side first and become a GUFC fan.. :rolleyes:

From what I hear the tickets will be easy to get over there, the Cypriots don't have much interest in their national team..
So I'd say you'll be fine, there will be plenty floatin about

Only2keanos
22/08/2005, 11:13 AM

We are travelling in a group and we put in 3 applications for 4 tickets each and they were all rejected. Anyway shouldnt be much problem getting a ticket to this one, the stadium is about 25,000 seater. I would say the same thing that happened when we went to the faroes will happen again. Loads of us were rejected in the original allocation of tickets and the FAI then got back to everyone that was rejected I think to offer them tickets at a later stage.

onenilgameover
23/08/2005, 2:51 AM
Incidentally, my (flight) tickets from Globaltravel arrived this morning, canne wait now! :-)
hi glad to here you got your tickets!!
before others start panicing hes on the 4 day package 7 day packages will be sent out 14 days before!!!
steve :D[/QUOTE]

Hey Steve,

When are yis taking the rest of the dosh for the 7 day package....?

Gotta start moving money around in time for the sucker punch. I'm paying for the Girlfriend too as a birthday present!!!

ccfcgirl
24/08/2005, 7:29 PM
Cyprus is coming around very quick .I cant wait for this trip :D :D

24/08/2005, 8:22 PM
Are you on the Block Booking?