View Full Version : Israel (Away) Sat 26th Mar 05

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Junior
04/02/2004, 10:27 AM
Please use this thread to post any useful links, websites that can assist travel, accomodation, tickets etc...

lopez
04/02/2004, 1:12 PM
How about this site for some handy casual wear for downtown Tel Aviv, or even certain parts of Broughton Park? :eek:

http://store.yahoo.com/pgfc/index.html

04/02/2004, 1:58 PM
Those jerseys are nice

Beavis
12/02/2004, 12:49 PM
Looks like we'll definitely be in Tel Aviv for the Israel game.Sepp Blatter said so after a meeting in Switzeland.

Beavis
15/02/2004, 6:55 PM
Yeah cheers for that Davros we'll leave it until close to the date (don't think the demand will be great so a shortage of flights shouldn't be a problem anyway) but I was just looking at what type of price range to expect.
For anyone interested in doing this trip the cheapest flights to Tel Aviv seem to be from Heathrow where you could get about £180-£200 return.Dublin is generally about £350(but might be a bit safer cos the Palestinians have nothing against us:D)with Belfast flights from about £300 (sorry all prices were in the STG£ so thats all I can give).

lopez
24/03/2004, 12:56 PM
Alas,even Paisley talks more sense than Blatter;would say 40% chance,max.in Israel......he doesn't have a crystal ball/a clue about the mindset of Sharon/Hamas/Al-Quaida et al........& numerous wider events...

My advice,is don't book anything until the last possible moment,or if you do,ensure goes via Cyprus!
Following the murder of Ahmed Yassin we can safely say that it's now more like 4%.

Beavis
25/03/2004, 2:02 PM
Following the murder of Ahmed Yassin we can safely say that it's now more like 4%.
Yeah I wouldn't want to be around when them 'gates of hell' open and Tel Aviv has even been underlined as their number one target.We are most likely going to go,but probably will have to reconsider if it is in Tel Aviv :(

sylvo
27/03/2004, 1:15 PM
I'd like to see them move the game to another venue they were considering playing @ before they chose cyprus, spurs's white hart lane.
I could walk to that venue instead of getting a boat or plane, plus listen to some cracking chas 'n' dave tune's @ the same time, i'm aving it.

lopez
27/03/2004, 1:56 PM
I'd like to see them move the game to another venue they were considering playing @ before they chose cyprus, spurs's white hart lane.
I could walk to that venue instead of getting a boat or plane, plus listen to some cracking chas 'n' dave tune's @ the same time, i'm aving it.
I think the L-ighbury would be more appropriate. I've known more Scoobies support Arsenal than Spurs. In all honesty I can name about a dozen Jews I've known that are (or were, RIP) gooners but the only one that claims to be a 'Yiddo' in both sense of the word is Jack Straw from the Curragh. :confused: Despite my run in with PC Plod at my last visit to WHL over yer man being thrown out for bringing along a Palestine flag, it struck me that the Irish tricolour might be more offensive looking at the knuckle-head, master-race, tanfieldians that go there.

sylvo
27/03/2004, 4:04 PM
I think the L-ighbury would be more appropriate. I've known more Scoobies support Arsenal than Spurs. In all honesty I can name about a dozen Jews I've known that are (or were, RIP) gooners but the only one that claims to be a 'Yiddo' in both sense of the word is Jack Straw from the Curragh. :confused: Despite my run in with PC Plod at my last visit to WHL over yer man being thrown out for bringing along a Palestine flag, it struck me that the Irish tricolour might be more offensive looking at the knuckle-head, master-race, tanfieldians that go there.

What you got against Chas 'n' Dave, just admit it hoss their the reason you would want the game played @ the L-ighbury.

lopez
27/03/2004, 7:21 PM
What you got against Chas 'n' Dave, just admit it hoss their the reason you would want the game played @ the L-ighbury.
Sylvo. You know that I reckon Chas is the cooooooolest guy I've ever seen. He was also the inspiration for Milwall Andy to take up the spoons. :D

sylvo
27/03/2004, 8:39 PM
Was talking the morning after the Spurs friendly (yea right) to some of my Spurs workmate's cyrille da squirrel, lish da dish and da general, who were all terrace legand's @ spurs in the 70's so they say, they told me that those gezzer's in the shelf were'nt nothing to do with them and they spent the whole game scratching their burburry cap's trying to work out who they were, mind you Cyrille da squirrel did enjoy the chucky-oke, anyway i smoothed thing's out after that night :rolleyes: so it should be ok to go back there again so everyone can p :D :D s a load more people off.

liam88
29/03/2004, 8:39 PM
Any good IRish bars in Tel Aviv? :D

lopez
29/03/2004, 9:41 PM
Any good IRish bars in Tel Aviv? :D
Liam: Stay well clear of Irish bars. They're like Cocaine. Synthetic, expensive and they eventually f*ck you up. I hate Irish bars. I mean Oirish bars. If I remember I got a bit p*ssed in Tel Aviv on a fine ale called Macabbi - as in the basketball team - and it wasn't in any Oirish bar. Not that we'll (I f*cking won't for starters) be any where near Tel Aviv next March after Ironside got wasted. There's a few real Irish bars near White Hart Lane, and they don't play any Chas'n'Dave. :D

Beavis
29/03/2004, 11:00 PM
Stay well clear of Irish bars..... I hate Irish bars.

Ah c'mon,I agree they're very fasle but Paddy Reilly's in Basel was great craic and thats straight where I'll be heading in September,although pints were dear at about e6.50 (I just brought down tinnies from the supermarket ;) cue cough *tight b@stard* :D )

lopez
30/03/2004, 10:36 AM
Ah c'mon,I agree they're very fasle but Paddy Reilly's in Basel was great craic and thats straight where I'll be heading in September,although pints were dear at about e6.50 (I just brought down tinnies from the supermarket ;) cue cough *tight b@stard* :D )
No not at all. At €6.50 at pint that's exactly what I 'd do. Anyway, what I saw, half the pub was on the street.

Agree with what you say, but I swerve from them now. When they started up, course, we'd all head there, but I think the one in Prague years back told me to stuff them. £3 a pint (always a foreign ale) when it was just 20p in normal bars, and you can't say Czech beer is sh*t. My last visit was to one in Madrid where I took in the Liverpool v Celtic and Ireland v Wales rugby last year. €5 for a pint of Heineken but could I get a Spanish (and therefore cheaper) beer. Not a hope! Anyway they're always filled with the local avant garde when we're not in town.

sylvo
30/03/2004, 1:41 PM
Liam: Stay well clear of Irish bars. They're like Cocaine. Synthetic, expensive and they eventually f*ck you up. I hate Irish bars. I mean Oirish bars. If I remember I got a bit p*ssed in Tel Aviv on a fine ale called Macabbi - as in the basketball team - and it wasn't in any Oirish bar. Not that we'll (I f*cking won't for starters) be any where near Tel Aviv next March after Ironside got wasted. There's a few real Irish bars near White Hart Lane, and they don't play any Chas'n'Dave. :D

Don't know what Chas 'n' Dave have done to you but you seem to have it in for them, it's no wonder you were like a demon @ that Spurs friendly, arguing with copper's throwing abuse @ people in burburry cap's. Come on they hav'nt had a song out in year's, I wonder why ?. There is indeed plenty of decent Irish bar's not far from WHL including the irish center, that are not all full of sign post's stating Kinnagad 5 mile's, or have old bike's hanging on the wall and beer that cost's the same price as a house. Would be handy if it was played there.

30/03/2004, 4:46 PM
I can't believe anyone would seriously contemplate going to Israel. Even buying a ticket for the match is funding the murdering *******s. they should be boycotted.

lopez
31/03/2004, 12:00 AM
I can't believe anyone would seriously contemplate going to Israel. Even buying a ticket for the match is funding the murdering *******s. they should be boycotted.
I can't believe anyone would call the place 'Israel'. Geddit right: It's called Zionist Occupied Palestine, or ZOP for short. :D Now where's me spoons, Sylvo?

01/04/2004, 2:33 PM
I can't believe anyone would call the place 'Israel'. Geddit right: It's called Zionist Occupied Palestine, or ZOP for short. :D Now where's me spoons, Sylvo?
hats off to ya sir. you are of course, totally correct :)

liam88
21/05/2004, 2:40 PM
HAsn't Israel been around since Biblical times?

lopez
22/05/2004, 1:12 PM
HAsn't Israel been around since Biblical times?No. Only since 1948. During the time of Christ, wasn't Palestine split into two: Judea, Samaria? The thing is that few Jews can claim to be descendants of the original Jewish inhabitants of the area. Ashkenazim Jews who make up over 90% of the world's Jewry are originally from the Caucus kingdom of Khazaria after the 8th/9th century conversion of the King of the Khazars.

For some unbiased :rolleyes: commentary on Israel/ZOP, see.
http://www.jerusalem.indymedia.org/news/2002/10/81076_comment.php

Metrostars
14/06/2004, 7:06 PM
FWIW, Palestine also has a team who is currently trying to qualify out of Asia:
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/040414/1/zpx.html

Closed Account 2
25/06/2004, 3:53 PM
I dont reckon it'll be played out there... its a war zone, Tel Aviv is only c. 15 miles from the West Bank. There is no way I'd set foot anywhere in the Middle East or Israel for the forseeable future... I hope they move it somewhere safer, Florence, Palermo and Cyprus have been used to hold "home" Israeli events in the past - of the 3 I'd prefer Florence.

28/06/2004, 12:09 PM
My main concern is that the game will be moved shortly beforehand. Treacy will probably charge a grand min although if the game is moved the travel agents will have to reimburse you. you are screwed if you book an independent trip. Still at less than half the price prob worth the risk.

I hope the Israel home game does not become a target for protestors.

BTW Iranian tv refer to Israel as "Zionist Regime" when giving european footbal lscores.

Closed Account 2
29/06/2004, 11:08 AM
I'd say its got an 80-20 chance of being moved. If you look at a map you can see how close Tel-Aviv is to Ram-allah and other dodgy places. I dont think UEFA will hold the game in Israel, no disrespect to any Israelis if they want to live their fine, but I for one wont be going there as I dont really want to run the gauntlet of travelling on an Israeli bus which are prime targets for the Palestinians.

I dunno if they'll move it Cyprus as they're in our group, my guess is they'll move it to Palermo which would be excellent from my point of view.

Metrostars
29/06/2004, 3:49 PM
... If you look at a map you can see how close Tel-Aviv is to Ram-allah and other dodgy places.

yeah, Israel is actually a pretty small country.

Any westerner going to that part of the world right now should have their head examined. Whatever you do, don't take the bus.

Closed Account 2
30/06/2004, 10:19 PM
Yeah there are nightly rocket attacks by Hamas, Hezbollar or whatever theyre called, and then counteractions by Israeli tanks and helicopters, I wouldnt go there for love or money or both.

PS - that bottom line, I sure you didnt mean to give it connertations but in the light of whats happend to the heads of a few westerners - well it could have been phrased a bit better.

tarzan_bray
23/07/2004, 3:09 PM
HAsn't Israel been around since Biblical times?

Yes indeed there are numerous references to Israel in the Old Testament

Fr. Murphy
30/07/2004, 9:15 AM
I doubt anybody cares or anybody knows any of the players but this is the Israel squad for there friendly against Croatia on the 18th. From what i read its quite a young squad the oldest player being 30.

Goalkeepers: Nir Davidovich (Maccabi Haifa), Liran Strauber (Maccabi Tel Aviv)

Defenders: Arik Benado, Ori Uzan and Ravid Gazal (all Maccabi Haifa), Shimon Gershon and Yigal Antebi (both Hapoel Tel Aviv), Tal Ben-Haim (Bolton Wanderers), Tomer Ben-Yosef (Maccabi Petah Tikva), Adoram Keisi (Hapoel Petah Tivka)

Midfielders: Idan Tal and Walid Badir (Maccabi Haifa), Avi Nimni and Ophir Azu (Betar Jerusalem), Yossi Rosen (Hapoel Tel Aviv), Abbas Suan (Bnei Sakhnin), Yossi Benayoun (Racing Santander), Manor Hassan (Hapoel Petah Tikva)

Strikers: Yaniv Katan and Michael Zandberg (both Maccabi Haifa), Pini Balili (Kayserispor, Turkey), Omri Afek (Racing Santander), Omer Golan (Maccabi Petah Tikva)

liam88
03/08/2004, 7:24 PM
Yes indeed there are numerous references to Israel in the Old Testament

Can anyone clear this up? Was it just the Promised Land back then?
I brought a copy of New Statesman and watched a documentary both on the subject and it does indeed seem to have been set up in 1948 in Palestine and then they invaded the rest of Palestine-so I'm still trying to work out why there are referances to Israel about 3000 years before :confused:

Closed Account 2
03/08/2004, 8:48 PM
We had to do this time and time again during History in school. Not a great fan of the topic and I usually switched off when the lesson started. What I do remember is that the Jewish take on it says its been their land for virtually the whole of recorded history... Moslems says it one of their "holiest" sites and where Mohamed went took a flight upon "a beast with wings" and so had their "dome of the rock" over an old Jewish temple. This is probably fanicful tho as Islam has a great tradition of taking over the places of worship from indigenous religions, eg the main Mosque in Istanbul.

I think the common interpretation of neturals is:-

- Jewish run before, and during early Roman times.
- Fall of Rome, became part of Eastern ex-Roman Byzantine Empire
- Moslems take over between C12th -C14th, Crusaders try to take it back but no lasting sucess.
- Turks dominate Middle East c. C16th effectivly becomes part of the "Ottoman Empire"
- Ottoman Empire ends post WWII, Brits and French run Middle East via "Mandates" untill post WWII.

Given today's sad events in Ryhiad, its clear the savages in that part of the world now targets us as well as the Brits and Yanks... Don't go to the game unless its switched to somewhere that better resembles civilisation!!

20/09/2004, 2:22 PM
Per adult
Total: GBP 258.90
Fare: GBP 191.00
Tax: GBP 67.90

Outbound: Fri. 25 March 05, 1 stop(s) Trip duration: 6h15

Dep 06:20 Fri
Heathrow (LHR), London, United Kingdom
Arr 09:00 Fri
Zurich (ZRH), Zurich, Switzerland

Non-stop
Swiss (LX 345)
Airplane type - 321
Economy

09:00 Fri - 09:50 Fri
Change plane
Stop-over duration: 0h50
Dep 09:50 Fri
Arr 14:35 Fri
Ben Gurion Int'l (TLV), Tel Aviv, Israel

Non-stop
Swiss (LX 254)
Airplane type - 343
Economy

Inbound: Sun. 27 March 05, 1 stop(s) Trip duration: 7h05

Dep 15:00 Sun
Ben Gurion Int'l (TLV), Tel Aviv, Israel
Arr 19:15 Sun

Non-stop
Swiss (LX 255)
Airplane type - 343
Economy

19:15 Sun - 20:15 Sun
Change plane
Stop-over duration: 1h00

Dep 20:15 Sun
Arr 21:05 Sun
Heathrow (LHR), London, United Kingdom

Non-stop
Swiss (LX 340)
Airplane type - 321
Economy

21/09/2004, 2:30 PM
Looks a good deal.

Best I can get

Don't have flight numbers etc yet.

Dublin - Prague Dep 24/3 12.30

Long wait in Prague (not too much of a hardship with the price of beer there. :) )

Overnight flight to Tel Aviv - arr 6am Fri 25/3.

27/3 early am departure. Back in Dublin at 11.40am via Prague.

€375 + Tax - tax is another €75.

Easter is proving a huge issue with flights and no deals available yet.

Hats off to the Cork Travel Agent who managed to beat anything I could find on the web or though local agents hands down.

21/09/2004, 2:48 PM
Looks a good deal.
Best I can get

Still think mine's better.
Works out around GBP 259 where yours is about GBP 300 but you've no confirmed flights.
Are people really considering going?
We should be safe enough*

*Hope they don't become my famous last words :eek: :D

Beavis
21/09/2004, 3:20 PM
We have 3 definites going,with a possible few more.

Gary thanks for posting those flights,I was expecting to pay E650 for flights :)
(I presumed the cheapest flight would be direct from London :rolleyes: [totaling E650 including Dublin-Gatwick] )

lopez
21/09/2004, 3:37 PM

*Hope they don't become my famous last words :eek: :DMadonna said this week that the ZOP is less dangerous than New York. If you avoid public transport, I'd say it would be a lot less dangerous.

21/09/2004, 3:59 PM
Still think mine's better.
Works out around GBP 259 where yours is about GBP 300 but you've no confirmed flights.

*Hope they don't become my famous last words :eek: :D

Peadar agree yours are better. Mine are ex Dublin though so suits me.

Mine are confirmed flights just didn't take all the details down at lunchtime on the phone. My mates are going for a bit longer but we all fly back together on the sunday morning. They fly ex Cork for a little more. Also able to hold these for a few months just in case the game gets moved. I don't think it will now that Cyprus have played there.

Never been before but sure we'll be safe. Definitely safer than O'Connell street on a friday/saturday night.

No doubt the press reports will start soon explaining how dangerous it is and you are only safe on an escorted trip right alongside the advert for bargain trips for 1k+

Given the Irish government is the most pro Palestinian in the EU it is unlikely
that any attacks would be planned around the game. Still it is Easter and Passover time.

It is the one country in the world where a British passport is much more welcome than an Irish one but we should be fine - although if they notice the Iranian stamp and visa on mine it might arise suspicion. We might be a bit more fanatical than Osama and his lads but the Irish fans pose no threat to the state of Israel. :) :)

Cowboy
21/09/2004, 5:45 PM
Gary I think you should carry the palestinian flag as you never have much luggage :-)

Junior
21/09/2004, 8:08 PM
whats the craic with getting yer passport stamped. Have heard it can cause you problems when trying to get in to other countries, anyone got any more info on this?? :confused:

21/09/2004, 9:40 PM
whats the craic with getting yer passport stamped. Have heard it can cause you problems when trying to get in to other countries, anyone got any more info on this?? :confused:

You certainly would not have got into Iran with an Israeli stamp.

I believe Saudi and a few others won't let you in either. The Israelis used to just stick a page in which can be removed but I'm not sure if that is still the case. I intend to check it out

I met 2 Dutch guys who were travelling in the Middle East, Israelis did not stamp the passport but their youth hosteling card showed they had visited Israel, were driven to the border at 2am by Syrian secret police and dumped out.

Junior
22/09/2004, 1:34 PM
You certainly would not have got into Iran with an Israeli stamp.

I believe Saudi and a few others won't let you in either. The Israelis used to just stick a page in which can be removed but I'm not sure if that is still the case. I intend to check it out

I met 2 Dutch guys who were travelling in the Middle East, Israelis did not stamp the passport but their youth hosteling card showed they had visited Israel, were driven to the border at 2am by Syrian secret police and dumped out.

a guy I know had to go to Tel aviv for work purposes and he asked them not to stamp his passport as he had to travel around alot for his work. He said they were ok about this. Its always nice to get a stamp in the passport, but it prob won't be worth the aggro on this one...........

22/09/2004, 1:41 PM
Its always nice to get a stamp in the passport, but it prob won't be worth the aggro on this one...........

I got a load of hassle going to the US because I had Egypt and Cyprus stamps on my passport. Had loads of great stamps from other countries and a cool visa for India. Had to replace my passport at Christmas so all I've got now is Switzerland. Guess I wont be getting a complete set of away game stamps so then :)

06/10/2004, 4:43 PM
Hey lads, just curious . . . BA ballsed up on my trip home from the Olympics and they've given me two tickets to anywhere they fly to in Europe as compo.
Israel isn't in Europe. :)

06/10/2004, 4:48 PM
Don't know much about Israel really.

Here's your first lesson on Israel.
1. It's Not In Europe!

lopez
06/10/2004, 10:19 PM
Erm...Israel isn't in...Europe. :D

06/10/2004, 10:28 PM
lesson two: its a murderous organisation which specialises in genocide, murder of innocents (children a speciality), and doing whatever it wnats in the name of "national security."

Oh yeah, and its not really their country, they stole it by blowing the palestinians out of their homes with american help. quite a nasty shower really

06/10/2004, 10:33 PM
I hope the Israel home game does not become a target for protestors.
I would certainly hope it does. Any right thinking person has a duty to show the representatives of that state how they feel about their genocide against the palestinians.

Brian O'Clough
06/10/2004, 10:57 PM
Oh yeah, and its not really their country, they stole it by blowing the palestinians out of their homes with american help. quite a nasty shower really

Well, to be honest it was the Brits again in 1948 but supported by the yanks since.

We have to protest at the home match. Palestinian flags throughout. Killing Palestinian children day in day out is wrong. What message do we send if we allow them over without any protests? The right of the minority (and the tiny minority) is more important than the less priviliged majority.

And we shouldn't travel away.

Tiocfaidh arab la!

But enough politics....Paris here we come.

lopez
07/10/2004, 12:50 PM
lesson two: its a murderous organisation which specialises in genocide, murder of innocents (children a speciality), and doing whatever it wnats in the name of "national security."

Oh yeah, and its not really their country, they stole it by blowing the palestinians out of their homes with american help. quite a nasty shower reallyLesson three. The proper title of the country is 'Zionist Occupied Palestine.' Please forgive me for using the I word before. Yes, I'm certainly up for some Palestinian flags at this game. It's the only one at home I'm aiming to get a ticket for, although I'm sure there'll be enough 'it's only sport, lads, FFS' a*seholes trying to put a dampener on things.

BTW, not that I'm an Ameriphile, but the Russians and Czechs were probably more keen on the setting up of this faux state. Probably the Germans too as it finished off what they started by getting rid of most Jews from W. Europe. Yes they 'stole' it alright...well perhaps received stolen property off the UN and the British. They should have been given a large chunk of Bavaria or Kazahkstan instead.