View Full Version : Sligo Rovers V Dundalk

rovers100%
04/08/2009, 6:57 PM
so lads its all up one week down the next, so after last nights near heroics whats our predicitions for the weekend. we really need to stuff dundalk after them beating us on our own turf but getting one over seanie has to be another incentive. hopefully a good turn out for us, the lads singing last nite were a credit to us as i hadnt the heart after we went 3-2 down. well done boys hope the players realise the effort ye put in :ball:

Rovers Maniac
04/08/2009, 7:38 PM
You know its a good game to have to pick ourselves up, Connor coming back to the Showgrouds and bringing his chums it would be a good one to win. Our lads should be up for it and you would imagine a decent crowd there as well. We also need the points obviously.

sligofan4ever
04/08/2009, 7:43 PM
If they can keep up the way they played against Bohs (wasn't there, but going by what i've heard we had pretty much our best game of the season) then i can see them beating Dundalk, and hopefully if they keep up that match form for the whole season then we should be safe. No reason the lads should go back to how they played at home to Dundalk at home last time, they have to look at how they challenged Bohs and realise they can win most of our remaining match.

dong
04/08/2009, 10:24 PM
You know its a good game to have to pick ourselves up, Connor coming back to the Showgrouds and bringing his chums it would be a good one to win. Our lads should be up for it and you would imagine a decent crowd there as well. We also need the points obviously.
Wouldn't there only be two or three in our team now that would've played under Connor? Fans play this up but I don't reckon it matters a bit now to the players.
Probably means a lot to Connor himself but he's as childish as they come.
If we play as well as against Bohs and if Peers is back we have a chance in this one.

Shedzer
04/08/2009, 11:13 PM
Starting 11??

sligo23
04/08/2009, 11:14 PM
Starting 11??
I should hope so, we didn't do too well playing with 10 against Bohs...

Rovers Maniac
04/08/2009, 11:35 PM
Wouldn't there only be two or three in our team now that would've played under Connor? Fans play this up but I don't reckon it matters a bit now to the players.
Probably means a lot to Connor himself but he's as childish as they come.
If we play as well as against Bohs and if Peers is back we have a chance in this one.

It's an important game for the fans, and if it is important for the fans it is important for the players to perform in my view or should be that way at least. To be honest for me i have no time for Connors or the way he acts, you're right he is childish so that the reason i don't want to get turned over on Saturday night, and i don't want to have to look at him or his little gestures.

CF1989
04/08/2009, 11:57 PM
theres still a few players here who played under connor but to be hoenst it wouldn't mean an awful lot to them anymore, it shouldnt really. its old news at this stage. all that matters is sligo rovers f.c....not sean connor

hopefully the lads can get over the defeat last night, and with the 3 cup tied players back for this one it'll strengthen us further. i fancy us to get the result needed, although they are in good form. will need to watch turner he's their main threat.

05/08/2009, 12:05 PM
I should hope so, we didn't do too well playing with 10 against Bohs...

I've taken on more staff to deal with the workload.

red_away
05/08/2009, 12:06 PM
b011ox to players and managers past....its an extremely vital 3 points at stake and i hope that cookie can get the players motivated after monday as the manner of the defeat would be heartbreaking to the players!

Black and White
05/08/2009, 12:36 PM
Should be a good game, are ye missing much? Think we are only down Michael Daly through suspension, we have a new player in the squad, James Creaney, another Scot!

Actually i see ye are missing Ventre and Camano through suspension!

CF1989
05/08/2009, 5:01 PM
2 centre halves gone again. maybe move kendrick into centre half although not sure if he's played there before. hard to know what he'll pick.

Mayo Red
05/08/2009, 5:15 PM
It's hard to call this one with the way things are so topsy turvy at the minute!! I'd hope we'd have enough for them, especially at home but I've given up predicting scorelines. 3 points are pretty much vital to us so hopefully we can come away with a victory against the little round chancer!!;)

05/08/2009, 7:12 PM
Not gonna make this one, so Rovers will win 2-0 and it'll be an amazing game.;)

Mansaram will miss a penalty and then get sent off,
As will Mr. Connor.
Gareth Gorman will be the games real winner.

rovers100%
05/08/2009, 9:22 PM
as long as we win. i still think even with galway result we are on the way up. starting to play some good footie again. pity camano out i thought he looked very good ubtil sent off. he really took command of defence something we badly needed. peers situation is really starting to bug me is there more to it than people know or am i paranoid lol

05/08/2009, 9:31 PM
Not gonna make this one, so Rovers will win 2-0 and it'll be an amazing game.;)

Mansaram will miss a penalty and then get sent off,
As will Mr. Connor.
Gareth Gorman will be the games real winner.

He doesn't start now we have Alex Williams..:D

(Thank fcuk)

Da Real Rover
06/08/2009, 9:39 AM
He doesn't start now we have Alex Williams..:D

(Thank fcuk)
Why in the name of god Connors brought him to Bohs and then Dundalk is beyond me, he was horrible with us and was consistent in his horribleness when with Bohs and Dundalk.

red_away
06/08/2009, 11:22 AM
peers situation is really starting to bug me is there more to it than people know or am i paranoid lol

Can anyone from the club clarify the peers situation? he is meant to back every week but then it doesnt happen?

06/08/2009, 11:54 AM
Can anyone from the club clarify the peers situation? he is meant to back every week but then it doesnt happen?

http://sligorovers.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=803:ventre-and-camano-suspended-for-dundalk-clash-&catid=19:match-previews

Gavin Peers who was well on the way to recovery has aggravated his thigh injury in training and could be out for up to four weeks.

sligofan4ever
06/08/2009, 11:59 AM
So what does this do to our defence with only one centre back available to us ? I would go with

Boco----Keane----Kendrick----Keohane

Still a strong defence, but will it be good enough against Dundlak ?

Boo_Boy
06/08/2009, 12:03 PM
http://sligorovers.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=803:ventre-and-camano-suspended-for-dundalk-clash-&catid=19:match-previews

Gavin Peers who was well on the way to recovery has aggravated his thigh injury in training and could be out for up to four weeks.

wow..

CF1989
06/08/2009, 12:53 PM
rafter could also play although he came off injured in the A game on saturday so not sure how he is

06/08/2009, 2:47 PM
rafter could also play although he came off injured in the A game on saturday so not sure how he isRead the team news;)

the rock n roll
06/08/2009, 7:38 PM
I think it will be a 1 all draw.

MMVIII
06/08/2009, 10:58 PM
With Ventre, Peers and Rafter out, we'll be very shaky at the back. Cant see us winning to be honest.

Head says 2-0 Dundalk

Heart says 1-0 Rovers

07/08/2009, 12:41 AM
According to Paddy Power, this game is live on telly? Both are 6/4 to win btw.

07/08/2009, 12:43 AM
It's not.

brianw82
07/08/2009, 12:54 AM
According to Paddy Power, this game is live on telly? Both are 6/4 to win btw.

That means they're doing live betting on it.

'Don't do what 'Donny Don't!' does' springs to mind.

CF1989
07/08/2009, 10:23 PM
we wont lose this one........

red arrow
08/08/2009, 12:21 PM
i reckon the defence will be
boco keane kendrick ryan

The Cop
08/08/2009, 3:51 PM
hi all,

big match 2nite, wat are the predictions? we are without peers and camano, and danny V!!!i ink we need to get our own back on dundalk and send sean and his team packing home in misery(he was hiding out with his team in the yeats country hotel y.day). we need a big show from our lads tonight.

srfc1928
08/08/2009, 4:08 PM
(he was hiding out with his team in the yeats country hotel y.day)
Dundalk must have plenty of cash to spare,
overnights stay for a game in Sligo,
They also stayed over for the pre season game against us,
what a waste of money

08/08/2009, 5:16 PM
Updates for Sligo V Dundalk.

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/CustomPages/CustomPage.aspx?pageid=80069

For anyone interested....

08/08/2009, 8:50 PM
shocking result really we threw it away with a total lack of concentration , 3 nice goals for us if there any positives

sligored
08/08/2009, 9:02 PM
ffs...what a disaster - dundalk deserved the 3 points in the end

rovers100%
08/08/2009, 9:15 PM
there was only one man to blame tonight and that was the manager !!! at 3 -1 a blind man could see turner was running the show and in the midfield we were totally out of it. we should have played 1 up front with a 5 man midfield. fair enuf we had no real midfielder to bring on but kizzy could have done a job. all we had to do was bring on a pair of legs. i think connor is finished after 60 mins and the game passed mcgrath by a lot of the time tonight. people saying we cant defent but when allow a team to walk through midfield its hard to defend and its going on all season !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! fooking annoyed i am. its simple we WILL be relegated if things keep going the way they are:mad:

red arrow
08/08/2009, 9:16 PM
what can i say i'm gutted. we threw this game away. i've being saying it for a long time now peers is a massive loss. we stood off them for two of the goals also i hate to say it but i think conor 'o grady needs to have a good look at himself as he is second to every ball. i hope to god that camano delivers in the next two games in the middle of the defence. i feel sorry for boco and blinkhorn and keane they gave there all. kendrick i think gave away the penalty but again it was poor defending. i thought that the 4th goal we scored was a good one but will have to see it again. well lads all i can say is we have 2 games to turn our season around. start praying.

dong
08/08/2009, 9:17 PM
An absolute horror show in the second half. Can't hold on to a two goal lead at home is bad enough but to lose it is hard to accept. Blinkhorn, Raf, O'Grady and boco were all excellent. I thought Doyle and Morisson were hit and miss. McGrath was poor enough i thought. The defence will get blamed but they were exposed by players coming from midfield that we never picked up.

dong
08/08/2009, 9:19 PM
what can i say i'm gutted. we threw this game away. i've being saying it for a long time now peers is a massive loss. we stood off them for two of the goals also i hate to say it but i think conor 'o grady needs to have a good look at himself as he is second to every ball. i hope to god that camano delivers in the next two games in the middle of the defence. i feel sorry for boco and blinkhorn and keane they gave there all. kendrick i think gave away the penalty but again it was poor defending. i thought that the 4th goal we scored was a good one but will have to see it again. well lads all i can say is we have 2 games to turn our season around. start praying.

I think it looked that way but McGrath was never pulling his weight.

08/08/2009, 9:25 PM
Didn't make the game, but did subscribe to the Sligoman Text Service. ****ing gutted. 3-1 up and we couldn't hold the lead.

Can't see us picking up points V Derry. Bray away and Bohs at home is even bigger for us now.

rovers100%
08/08/2009, 9:25 PM
lads cook brings in 8 lads and i central midfielder its madness. how long we saying richie not good enough and connor is only 60 mins in a game and last few games we not even getting that !!! i now understandwhat galway fans are on about mcgrath cos tonight he barely challenged and let the game pass him by. its sp hard on the player who play well to come outta there beat

MMVIII
08/08/2009, 9:27 PM
As someone said to me after the match, this has been the cruelist season in a long while.

Cant believe we fcuked that up tonight. Two goals up? And we throw it away. I just hope and pray that now on Tuesday with Camano back in defence that we'll have a bit of security there. Please god Peers will be back soon. Oh, how we've missed him.

Guts&Glory
08/08/2009, 9:54 PM
I think it looked that way but McGrath was never pulling his weight.

Agree re McGrath tonight but O'Grady has been a few yards short pretty much all season so so he has to take some responsibility.

Teams running through our midfield unchalleneged has happened all season - for fecks sake at times you are just shouting at them to foul the player (eg Bohs last Monday) rather than let them walk through.

Brian Boru
08/08/2009, 10:00 PM
Badly need 2 specialist centre halves. We never replaced Almeida and thats the problem. Rubbish teams just cruise through the middle (Vllaznia etc.) The players who are played there have been out of their normal positions (eg Keane, Ventre etc.) I wouldn't blame them.

Camano looked good in the first half against Bohs so hopefully......

rovers100%
08/08/2009, 10:10 PM
they are cruising through the middle !!! ya middle of the park its very easy to blame defenders buts its the central midfield that are the problem

jinxy lilywhite
08/08/2009, 10:11 PM
class come on the lilywhites

rovers100%
08/08/2009, 10:13 PM
stick your lily whites up your hole !!!!;)

roversforever
08/08/2009, 10:16 PM
Conor o'grady hasn't looked near fit enough to me all season.and like i said before we can't keep using injuries as an excuse.we have had rotten luck with injuries and suspensions but does that mean we should just put no expectation on the lads coming in to do a job?if they want to play for the club they need to step up and show they are good enough.we are better than drogheda and bray but we need to start showing it.we can get out of this but i hope our lads are not thinking they're too good to go down.

08/08/2009, 10:17 PM
Agree re McGrath tonight but O'Grady has been a few yards short pretty much all season so so he has to take some responsibility.

Agreed, he's starting to slow down now, plus McGrath and Ryan are too similiar to him.I'd like to see Rommy play beside him. Saying that, i still rate Conor as a first 11 player.

How did Morrison paly. I didn't hear good reports.

bigredtruck
08/08/2009, 10:35 PM
Muet be very hard on the under 20's players watching the team play the last 30 mins of a game like that and not be considered for the bench, lot of noise earlier in the season about danny fallon but cookie has hardly used him, is it a waste of time haning a reserve team if they don't get a chance when players are out?