View Full Version : Champions League 2009-2010
briancool21
17/08/2009, 9:11 PM
So how does everyone think the Arsenal celtic game will go? I fancy Arsenal heavily in both legs. They've got way too much quality
old git
17/08/2009, 11:21 PM
RTE have decided it would be a great idea to air coverage of the Athletico Madrid vs Panathinikos game instead of the Celtic Arsenal game:rolleyes:.
is this definate as they were still advertising celtic v arsenal on rte yesterday :confused:
17/08/2009, 11:57 PM
is this definate as they were still advertising celtic v arsenal on rte yesterday :confused:
TV3 are showing it.
They have CL on Tuesday nights now
DeLorean
18/08/2009, 9:06 AM
Yeah, presumably RTE will have the 2nd Leg as it is on a Wednesday (tomorrow week).
I think Celtic will give a good account of themselves. Their more robust team of a few years ago might have been better equipped to play Arsenal though. Tonight is vital I think cos I think Arsenal may be more dangerous at Celtic Park than The Emirates. I think 0-0 would be a decent result for Celtic tonight but 1-0 would be ideal.
18/08/2009, 2:46 PM
Arsenal will beat them tonight I think, will just be too good for them.
18/08/2009, 8:18 PM
Paddy McCourt comes on for Celtic with 15 mins to go
18/08/2009, 8:33 PM
Good 1st half from Celtic, very poor 2nd.
18/08/2009, 8:37 PM
Good 1st half from Celtic, very poor 2nd.
They were absolutely rubbish from start to finish IMO. Just tried to kick lumps out of Arsenal at every opportunity.
Very harsh. Can't remember a bad tackle in the game.
Better team won without playing well, but Celtic worked hard and if they had a top class striker might've been in with a shout.
18/08/2009, 8:43 PM
Very harsh. Can't remember a bad tackle in the game.
Donati and Caldwell in particular seemed to be fouling non stop. "kicking lumps" may be slightly harsh, but I thought Celtic were constantly fouling whenever they got close to an Arsenal player.
18/08/2009, 8:43 PM
Great game between Sporting and Fiorentina. Some class goals and a daft red card.
18/08/2009, 8:44 PM
Wrong. Celtic created 2 of the best chances of the 1st half while holding Arsenal out for the most part. They rarely hit it long and only Donati was really giving it away. McGeady and Maloney were doing well. Caldwell and Donati made a few fouls but no change there.
Actually, the move for Brown's shot that went through Samaras' leg was brilliant.
18/08/2009, 8:45 PM
Great game between Sporting and Fiorentina. Some class goals and a daft red card.
What was it for? I just presumed it was for celebrating the goal.
Wrong.
So because I have a differing opinion to yours I'm automatically wrong?:confused:
18/08/2009, 8:55 PM
What was it for? I just presumed it was for celebrating the goal.
He got a second yellow for taking his shirt off after scoring. It's a stupid rule IMO but he should have more cop on. I don't know what he did for the first yellow. A Fiorentina player punched a Sporting player and was only booked and he must have done something in the general handbags after. The Firoentina guy should have been off.
18/08/2009, 9:17 PM
I watched the Timisoara Stuttgart game and Hleb scored a cracker for Stuttgart. A great run through the defence past three players then a little flick over the keeper.
Timisoara only had two decent chances and they made a mess of both. Stuttgart had an easy enough time of it.
18/08/2009, 9:19 PM
Yeah just saw that Hleb goal on Sky, absolutely fantastic run and finish.
HarpoJoyce
19/08/2009, 1:12 AM
I watched the Timisoara Stuttgart game and Hleb scored a cracker for Stuttgart. A great run through the defence past three players then a little flick over the keeper.
Timisoara only had two decent chances and they made a mess of both. Stuttgart had an easy enough time of it.
Yeah just saw that Hleb goal on Sky, absolutely fantastic run and finish.
Very glad you are waking up to the right result.
FC Timisoara 0:2 FC Stuttgart
FC Timisoara versus FC Stuttgart
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/ucl/fixturesresults/round=2000027/match=2000351/report=lu.html
( I am very dissappointed.)
19/08/2009, 2:07 AM
So because I have a differing opinion to yours I'm automatically wrong?:confused:
I know Celtic. I've seen them play poorly many a time. They did well in the 1st half and limited Arsenal to next to nothing while making a couple of good chances.
19/08/2009, 2:18 AM
No, he explained why he thought you were wrong. Misleading quotation.;)
19/08/2009, 9:02 AM
For all Arsenal's superior ability, Celtic showed that getting tight on the player with the ball and limiting their passing choices can be an effective tactic. Arsenal's two goals were a fluke deflection, and an OG. If Caldwell could tackle well, they wouldn't have had the free kick in the first place. Donati's passing in the opposition half was woeful, put it out of play more than he found a fellow Celtic player.
Like many here, I did think that with a decent finisher, Celtic could have come away with a positive result.
19/08/2009, 9:07 AM
I know Celtic. I've seen them play poorly many a time. They did well in the 1st half and limited Arsenal to next to nothing while making a couple of good chances.
Fair enough, you would watch Celtic more often then I would. I just thought they were very poor last night.
old git
19/08/2009, 11:35 AM
Fair enough, you would watch Celtic more often then I would. I just thought they were very poor last night.
celtic were poor last night seemed to lack passion .. passing was terrible and kept taking wrong options ,.. arsenal were very comfortable most of the game but having said that took a wicked deflection and own goal to score .. best laugh of the night was gallas celebrating like he scored goal of the season after ball hit his a*se and went in :D:D
Denis The Red
21/08/2009, 8:58 PM
We can safely say, Celtic won't be in the Champions League this year. Unless the entire Arsenal squad, reserves, groundskeepers and the guy selling the programmes get struck down with swine flu, (which I hope they don't);). But my question is do they get into the Europa League groups now?
WexCar
22/08/2009, 9:29 AM
We can safely say, Celtic won't be in the Champions League this year. Unless the entire Arsenal squad, reserves, groundskeepers and the guy selling the programmes get struck down with swine flu, (which I hope they don't);). But my question is do they get into the Europa League groups now?
yes they do.
briancool21
23/08/2009, 4:51 PM
Celtic have nothing in the final 3rd as many people pointed out that man city reject might do okay up in scotland but is miles from european class
DeLorean
26/08/2009, 7:27 PM
Really bad dive by Eduardo followed by worse refereeing. Found his gloating celebration hard to look at, where's Martin Taylor when you need him?
26/08/2009, 7:54 PM
McGeady playing handy enough without that clinical final ball that seems to elude him in big games. Still augurs well for Ireland as he's full of confidence.
Caldwell was so far out of his depth it was painful to watch. Good to see O'Dea get a chance.
Eduardo was, without wanting to come across all Dunphy, disgusting. I'd ban him for a year.
26/08/2009, 9:01 PM
Eh?
Eduardo missing the open net, Boruc's save from Eduardo, Bentner's header.
I'm no fan of either side but any one of those chances was equal with the offside which was far and away Celtic's best chance.
Thought Scott Brown was useful though.
EAFC_rdfl
26/08/2009, 9:14 PM
Eh?
Eduardo missing the open net, Boruc's save from Eduardo, Bentner's header.
I'm no fan of either side but any one of those chances was equal with the offside which was far and away Celtic's best chance.
Thought Scott Brown was useful though.
maybe you should check the date, and the actual game he was referring to :confused:
anyway as a celtic fan, i wouldnt blame the ref for awarding the penalty, he was perfectly conned by that scumbag. I second bringing back martin taylor!
27/08/2009, 6:54 AM
He got a second yellow for taking his shirt off after scoring. It's a stupid rule IMO but he should have more cop on.
Stupidity of the highest order to take a shirt off when on a yellow. It's not as if it's a natural reaction anyway after scoring a goal. "Oh, I've scored. I must take my shirt off!". Clown.
anyway as a celtic fan, i wouldnt blame the ref for awarding the penalty
I would blame the player rather than the ref! From the angle from behind at normal speed it looks like a peno. The other angles show differently. It always surprises me that if the last defender takes down a forward it's a red card but if the forward dives to get a peno, it's a yellow. The only way to help stamp this out is to impose a three match ban by review committees after the match if the forward is faking. Cheating of the highest order :mad:
Willo Flood was like a man possessed when he came on and did very well but it would be impossible to keep that energy level going for more than 20 minutes.
EAFC_rdfl
27/08/2009, 7:55 AM
Stupidity of the highest order to take a shirt off when on a yellow. It's not as if it's a natural reaction anyway after scoring a goal. "Oh, I've scored. I must take my shirt off!". Clown.
I would blame the player rather than the ref! From the angle from behind at normal speed it looks like a peno. The other angles show differently. It always surprises me that if the last defender takes down a forward it's a red card but if the forward dives to get a peno, it's a yellow. The only way to help stamp this out is to impose a three match ban by review committees after the match if the forward is faking. Cheating of the highest order :mad:
Willo Flood was like a man possessed when he came on and did very well but it would be impossible to keep that energy level going for more than 20 minutes.
is that not what i said? Apologies if you are simply agreeing with me. And i certainly agree with your views on post-match punishments for this cheating.
Id lost interest by the time Flood came on, but he did seem to be everywhere! Has never impressed me and it was dissapointing that a player of that standard was what strachan thought would help retain the title last season
27/08/2009, 8:47 AM
Stuttgart cost me a 20-1 accumulator last night. Not impressed. 8 games and got 7 correct. I could cry.
DeLorean
27/08/2009, 9:05 AM
The only way to help stamp this out is to impose a three match ban by review committees after the match if the forward is faking
I think they like the controversy to be honest. They're all full of sh!t with their fair play banners and pre-match handshakes and all this racket but there's no punishments dished out. It's the easiest thing in the world to sort out. Like you say review committees and bans are the way to go and I'd nearly think a longer ban than 3 matches would be appropriate. Cheating is surely a bigger crime than bringing some fella down when you're the last man.
Infadel
27/08/2009, 10:09 AM
Is the draw on for the champions league this evening?
27/08/2009, 10:15 AM
Is the draw on for the champions league this evening?
yeah, at 5. Live on rte.ie, uefa.com and skysports.com
27/08/2009, 11:49 AM
I'd love to see this:
Chelsea/Liverpool
Madrid
Fiorentina
Wolfsburg
DeLorean
27/08/2009, 11:53 AM
I'd love to see this:
Chelsea/Liverpool
Madrid
Fiorentina
Wolfsburg
Would think Chelsea/Liverpool and Real would still come through that handy enough. Wolfsburg look by far the best of the 4th seeds alright though. This would be tough:-
Chelsea/Liverpool/United/Arsenal
Juventus/Inter Milan
Atletico Madrid
Wolfsburg
27/08/2009, 4:39 PM
So far these stick out
Group A: Bayern Munich, Juventus
Group C: Milan, Real Madrid
Group F: Barcelona, Inter
DeLorean
27/08/2009, 4:40 PM
Hopeless draw really. All the English teams are through already and it's only half way through. The other groups are good alright.
27/08/2009, 4:44 PM
Why is it hopeless?
Some great games there to look forward to !
DeLorean
27/08/2009, 5:02 PM
Why is it hopeless?
Some great games there to look forward to !
Liverpool's group turned out competitive enough I suppose but when I saw the state of play after the 2nd seeds were pulled the level of interest for the English teams looked crap.
MAN UTD / CSKA MOSCOW
CHELSEA / PORTO
LIVERPOOL / LYON
ARSENAL / AZ
Hardly mouth watering. The other groups were a different story though...
BAYERN / JUVE
AC MILAN / REAL MADRID
BARCELONA / INTER
MeathDrog
28/08/2009, 1:31 AM
Why are our beloved Big Four all in the top seeding?? Don't FIFA/UEFA want to establish more equilibrium?
Fcuk seedings. Just stick them all in a pot, and if Group A happens to contain Chelsea, Man U, Liverpool and Arsenal, then tough sh*t.
UEFA - full of sh*t.
The Champions League is a con job. It contains neither all the Champions of Europe, nor is it a League. It is a money making machine for UEFA.
While UEFA frown upon English dominance in Europe, they are still more than willing to accomodate them with easy groups in order to pull more money with more meaningless matches.
28/08/2009, 6:54 AM
UEFA - full of sh*t.
The Champions League is a con job. It contains neither all the Champions of Europe, nor is it a League. It is a money making machine for UEFA.
While UEFA frown upon English dominance in Europe, they are still more than willing to accomodate them with easy groups in order to pull more money with more meaningless matches.
Life is mostly about making money. Don't forget it's not only UEFA which makes the money but the clubs as well. The product must sell otherwise they would change the system. People tune in their millions to watch the "con job". I agree that the group stages usually are a bore but until there is a massive turn off at the gates and on tv, the system won't change. World Cup draws and nearly all other draws (Wimbledon) etc are all seeded. The cream is supposed to rise to the top.
It would be much more interesting if the groups were done away with and it went to straight knock out but that won't happen because of the money (which makes the world go round, world go round, world go round...).
28/08/2009, 8:21 AM
Why are our beloved Big Four all in the top seeding?? Don't FIFA/UEFA want to establish more equilibrium?
Fcuk seedings. Just stick them all in a pot, and if Group A happens to contain Chelsea, Man U, Liverpool and Arsenal, then tough sh*t.
UEFA - full of sh*t.
Last time I checked they weren't "ours" so you could just disregard the fact that the English teams got boring groups and realise theres some fascinating ties in the other groups
DeLorean
28/08/2009, 9:37 AM
Last time I checked they weren't "ours" so you could just disregard the fact that the English teams got boring groups and realise theres some fascinating ties in the other groups
True enough but to be honest but between being a Man Utd fan myself and living with a Liverpool fan the matches we'll be watching live will generally be involving those teams. You're dead right though some cracking ties in the other groups. I'd penciled in a trip to Spain for the end of October so I was hoping Real Madrid to get a handy home game in the Champions League. Well they got a home game alright but it's against AC Milan so I presume tickets would be next to impossible.
Happy enough with the draw. Nothing to fear and the bonus of not having drawn any of the teams before so makes for great away trips.
MeathDrog
28/08/2009, 2:30 PM
I was more speaking from a devil's advocate's point of view. I know they're not 'ours'. :o
Oh man, maybe ive had my head in the sand, but just saw tv3 advertising their autumn schedule and they have CL football again........DISASTER. Some of the best entertainment in last years group stages was not on the pitch but the lads in the studio.
DeLorean
01/09/2009, 9:36 AM
Oh man, maybe ive had my head in the sand, but just saw tv3 advertising their autumn schedule and they have CL football again........DISASTER. Some of the best entertainment in last years group stages was not on the pitch but the lads in the studio.
TV3 only have Tuesdays, RTE still have the Wednesday games.
Closed Account 2
04/09/2009, 8:49 AM
Hopefully I'll get to go to Dynamo Kiev v Rubin, am in the Ukraine for next 2 weeks, apparently the ticket is around 100UAH - about 10 Euro! - It's the same price for all Dinamo CL games, so if you are in Kiev you could watch Barca or Inter for that price...