View Full Version : Galway United vs Sligo Rovers
sligofan4ever
28/07/2009, 3:27 PM
Can see us winning this after such a brilliant performance on Sunday. They struggled for a win against Bray Wanderers and thier biggest threat in O' Shea mightn't be at Galway United anymore. Its important we get a good result in this one for us going into the semi-final against Bohs the following Monday. I'm gonna say 3-0 to us, Blinkhorn,Raff and Turner to score.
rovers100%
28/07/2009, 7:45 PM
i would actually like to see turner given a start and rest raf with the cup game on monday. be nice to see what blinky ant turner would be like together up front, people will prob disagree with me lol but i believe even with resting raf we have enough to beat the crusties
I dunno about that. I'd prefer see Raf on against Galway and see how he's fixed for 60 mins or as an impact sub against Bohs.
As much as we would like silverware, it's critical to pick up league points above all else. We haven't turned the corner yet.
1st time post
28/07/2009, 10:58 PM
I dunno about that. I'd prefer see Raf on against Galway and see how he's fixed for 60 mins or as an impact sub against Bohs.
As much as we would like silverware, it's critical to pick up league points above all else. We haven't turned the corner yet.
Ya totally agree league points would have to be the priority and a win on friday drags them right back into the mix. I do think we should have enough to beat them though and will go for another 2-0 win..blinkhorn and raff
MMVIII
28/07/2009, 11:10 PM
2-0 to the Bit O' Red :). Blink-horny and Alan Keane to bang in a goal from the halfway line.
Mayo Red
29/07/2009, 8:22 AM
I agree with the above, league points must be the priority. As has been said, we haven't turned the corner yet and we don't want to be in the mix for a return to the wilderness of the First Division when the music stops!! That being said I think we might have enough for them with our newfound options and all so I'll go for 2-1 to Rovers!
Only1Rovers
29/07/2009, 8:33 AM
Does anyone know if the game is definitely going ahead on Friday?
MNS said it was subject to change.....
srfc1928
29/07/2009, 9:03 AM
Does anyone know if the game is definitely going ahead on Friday?
MNS said it was subject to change.....
ya Con Murphy said that, 'galway v Sligo was likely to change due to the european game' maybe someone forgot to tell con were not in europe anymore.
Galway game is on.
Rovers Maniac
29/07/2009, 12:15 PM
Peers out of this game according to the Champion, no word of Richie Ryan in it.
29/07/2009, 12:17 PM
Anyone know the story with Michael McGrath, would GU and SR have an agreement for him not to play?
srfc1928
29/07/2009, 12:25 PM
Anyone know the story with Michael McGrath, would GU and SR have an agreement for him not to play?
doesnt seem to be an agreement.
according to todays champion
"cook will be again be without the injured gavin peers and is likely to stick with the same team that started against st patricks athletic"
cook says "our formation will be the same. the lads were terrifis against pats ........"
also states that camano will more than likely be in the squad for friday.
Peers still out
celticV3
29/07/2009, 1:39 PM
Its not a loan so I'd assume there wouldn't be a clause stopping him from playing.
rovers100%
29/07/2009, 9:00 PM
for us to win by 2 goals is 17/2 i think thats a great bet, galway have never looked like beating us and our confidence must be sky high after pats display. add in blinkhorn to score anytime in 90 mins and ya get 33/1 or thereabouts. i think thats def worth a tenner myself
1st time post
29/07/2009, 10:02 PM
for us to win by 2 goals is 17/2 i think thats a great bet, galway have never looked like beating us and our confidence must be sky high after pats display. add in blinkhorn to score anytime in 90 mins and ya get 33/1 or thereabouts. i think thats def worth a tenner myself
Is there a special double for that???If theres not ya wont be able to just double the 2 of them coz the bookies would class it as a related bet
brianw82
30/07/2009, 11:02 AM
Is there a special double for that???If theres not ya wont be able to just double the 2 of them coz the bookies would class it as a related bet
Yeah, that'd be right. You can get a Rovers win + Blinky to score anytime at 9/2 on PP with the Wincast market.
pixiehead
30/07/2009, 9:46 PM
Will ye bring Down benny the bull!! Him and Terry can go at at it on the side line like they do in the states! Bit of Craic :D
Rovers Maniac
30/07/2009, 11:32 PM
Jeez lads will have to fly into these lads, will be a tough games as Galway are always up for it, but if our lads are up for this then we can get the result. We really need to start picking up points a win for laway leaves us 7 behind them which would not be ideal. They would appear to have a full side for the match.
Rovers Maniac
31/07/2009, 12:27 PM
Galway and Rovers fans don't like each other according to an interview from the Galway manager on one of the local radio stations ! :)
Da Real Rover
31/07/2009, 12:40 PM
Will ye bring Down benny the bull!! Him and Terry can go at at it on the side line like they do in the states!
As in roiiiiiide each other?
Mayo Red
31/07/2009, 4:48 PM
As in roiiiiiide each other?
Terry would have to be the biiaatch though!!!:D:eek:
sligofan4ever
31/07/2009, 7:10 PM
Losing 1-0, John Russell.
celticV3
31/07/2009, 8:39 PM
By the sounds of things we were controlling the game, how did we manage to throw away at least a point there.
gufc2000
31/07/2009, 9:39 PM
By the sounds of things we were controlling the game, how did we manage to throw away at least a point there.
Ye only got on top when Russell was harshly sent off. We defended very well. Can't understand why ye played Boco at right-back
sligofan4ever
31/07/2009, 9:48 PM
Ye only got on top when Russell was harshly sent off. We defended very well. Can't understand why ye played Boco at right-back
Boco plays there for his country, he played a blinder at right back against Pats too.
gufc2000
31/07/2009, 9:55 PM
Boco plays there for his country, he played a blinder at right back against Pats too.
Oh right, he did look good going forward. Peers was a big loss for ye
What team had we out?
How did we play? I'd say most people would have thought we could get at least a draw but lets look forward to Bohs now.
red arrow
31/07/2009, 10:01 PM
peers has being our biggest loss all season. he has being out for 8 games now and the quicker he gets back the better the chance we have of avoiding relegation. i really thought we could get something from this game. we are in a struggle now , no doubt about it. cook will have to lift the players for monday. we can win it but we will have to be at our best and get a bit of luck
sligofan4ever
31/07/2009, 10:07 PM
peers has being our biggest loss all season. he has being out for 8 games now and the quicker he gets back the better the chance we have of avoiding relegation. i really thought we could get something from this game. we are in a struggle now , no doubt about it. cook will have to lift the players for monday. we can win it but we will have to be at our best and get a bit of luck
Could Peers be back for Monday ? I'd say the players will be really up for this, the players have to know this is the best shot they have of winning silverware and its the closest we've come since 2006 in the F.A.I Cup.
31/07/2009, 10:13 PM
Sligo had a large portion of the ball all evening but had nothing up front with Breen and Guthrie clearing everything with ease.
In a right old battle now, what are your next 3 league games ?
sligofan4ever
31/07/2009, 10:22 PM
Sligo had a large portion of the ball all evening but had nothing up front with Breen and Guthrie clearing everything with ease.
In a right old battle now, what are your next 3 league games ?
Dundalk,Derry and Bray I think.
red bellied
31/07/2009, 10:34 PM
1029 was the official attendance. Around 300 from Sligo.
1st time post
31/07/2009, 11:21 PM
What team had we out?
How did we play? I'd say most people would have thought we could get at least a draw but lets look forward to Bohs now.
Brush
Boco Keane ventre Kendrick
Morrison McGrath O'Grady Doyle
Blinkhorn Raf
Marshall for morrison after about 65 and Turner for Doyle about 80. Really disappointed after that to be honest. We were poor while still dominating large parts of the game. Thought Kendrick whipped in some decent balls in 2nd half but none of our outfield 10 covered themselves in glory...Brushie was solid as usual and wa mostly a spectator for 2nd half.Stating the obvious but would have been a totally different game if Raf had scored his one on one in the 1st minute but fair play to galway they hung in there and keep picking up these priceless victories.....In a big big battle now thank god for Neale Fenns late goal in drogheda.
gufc4life
31/07/2009, 11:44 PM
Just thought that your fans were great must of been 300 of ye. After russler was sent off in the second half ye controlled the game but or back 4 cleared everything . Sligo were very poor upfront aswell i thought but they were a big 3 points for us
Rovers Maniac
01/08/2009, 12:01 AM
Shocking stuff, pathetic, don't want to talk about them for the coming days. We lost to a team without their best player and who played nearly half the match with 10 men. Cretaro was awful tonight, looked like a player who could not be arsed !! Morisson was very poor nothing came off for him tonight same with O'Grady. Ah you could go through them but the buck has to stop with the manager, why did he leave Boco right back when they were down to 10? We needed something up front, some bit of spark anything, even if he pushed Boco up to the right hand side of midfield. Boco gives us something different. When Galway had 11 men they were running straight through us, it's a brutal result and as somebody else says thank god for the late Bohs goal.
One good thing i will say is we brought an excellent supoort with us, which was good to see. Also young Marshall lad done well i thought when he came on, thought Brush made one great save and felt sorry for the lad as at the end of the match as you could see he was hurting.
MMVIII
01/08/2009, 12:10 AM
Not a lot you can say after watching that tonight. As RM said, nobody really played particulary well. Shocking performance.
Only positive really tonight was the large traveling support. Easily 300. More of the same on Monday night please :)
showgies
01/08/2009, 12:12 AM
What a difference a week makes. I travelled to Galway with a lot of confidence, came home asking "will the real Sligo Rovers please stand up?".
Tonight we got what we deserved, we had no imagination or guile to break down a stubborn Galway defence. No good naming players who didn't perform, they should know themselves. With the chance to go one point behind them, we end up seven behind.
01/08/2009, 12:31 AM
Not good enough.
Da Real Rover
01/08/2009, 8:31 AM
Gutted by that result, expected so much more after Pats.
Fair play to everyone who went down, couldnt make this one :(.
lowroadrover
01/08/2009, 8:41 AM
thought we were awful, no ideas,no midfield, galway walked straight through the centre of the park a number of times. No passion in it. the league cup is all fine and grand but staying up should be our only concern right now.I can't handle another spell in the first division.
rovers100%
01/08/2009, 10:29 AM
we were never good enough to win the game but didnt deserve to lose it either. lads the standard of officiating is gone unbearable, i for ne wanted to walk out at half time !!! the ref clearly gave a goal after we were fouled in the box, i seen more handballs than at the galway v kerry match. john russells fist yellow was laughable and i dont believe ever deserved red he never put in a dirty challenge all nite. something has to be done because for me every week im coming away dumbfounded by the referee and linesmen not to mention 4th official. all credit to ian fostr and galway theyhad a game plan and worked brill, they were an extremely hard team o break down, how we could do with that !!!! first 20 mins we were good after that we looked like headless chickens. i though doyle was poor gave o brien when he was on far to much room and never closes down. marshall looks a better talent he was lively. we still need to improve. a bad result with monday looming
brianw82
01/08/2009, 10:41 AM
By the sounds of this we were fairly poor. The players need to pick themselves up for Monday.
Was Camano on the bench?
roversman
01/08/2009, 11:53 AM
Was Camano on the bench?[/QUOTE]
he was and was about to come on with 15 mins to go then cookie changed his mind and never put him on
strange dose cookie really know how to make subs to change a game
very poor performance a fasle dawn after the pats game i think
too many players not up too it a local derby they should have being flying in to the tackles
clubman
01/08/2009, 11:56 AM
Bitterly disappointed with that result last night. I suppose when I look at the result against Pats now I have to wonder were we good are were Pats tired from their Europa exploits. Sadly now I'm opting for the latter.
Last night was a shambles from our point of view. From the viewpoint of a United fan they should and will be in a more optimistic position than us. Credit where credit is due their defence did a superb job to a man. Their man marking and how they kept their shape was something our defence just don't seem up to this season. Last night if I was a neutral I'd say Ventre and Keane hadn't been introduced prior to the game not alone played together. Our players don't seem to have any idea what the other guy is trying to do. They certainainly don't play for each other.
The most disappointing thing for me last night was the responce from our bench immediately after Galway went a man down. The responce was nil. Here we were with a huge advantage and our manager didn't try and change things for a whole 20 minutes of the action. It baffles me as to his thinking. Only when Turner was introduced in the 74th minute did we start to impose any real threat.
We are far too causious and this needs addressing. We are in a real dogfight and only by throwing caution to the wind are we going to go anywhere near getting out of this mess. More urgency is required. We have to start games with our best eleven, This business of the manager being loyal to disloyal players has also to be addressed. If a player is not willing to give 100% he doesn't deserve a start.
Fair play to Galway, a great result for them but I'm sick and tired of listening to real good die hard supporters making excuses for lack of effort simply because their love for the club is blinding them from the facts. If we don't achieve the results we go done it's a simple as that. On last night's showing we simply don't have the bottle to stay up.
rovers100%
01/08/2009, 11:56 AM
did ya see camano he was mad to get on and at half time he was out on the pitch giving o grady and mcgrath advise, if he has any ability he may be great as id say he will take control at back and organise us .
01/08/2009, 11:59 AM
From last nights performance, it looks as if we don't train full stop, never mind not training together, we were 3 steps behind Galway. One of those nights i suppose. Ref was shocking too, even the decisions he gave against Galway were horrible!
I wasn't at either the Pats game or this one but from other games it's obvious that Keane and Ventre just aren't up to the job as a partnership. Ventre can look decent if you put Peers in with him but without Peers it's all over the place.
It was all optimism on here after Pats and all doom and gloom now. Whatever about politics, a week is definitely a long time in football!
Would be nice to get a win on Monday but it's all about battling in the league and every game is a cup final now. I just hope the players and management can respond to the pressure.
300 travelling is excellent. Hope to see the same in the Jodi on Monday.
red arrow
01/08/2009, 1:13 PM
i was,nt at the game but heard we had big numbers down there. i am trying to remain as constructive & positive as possible but this result has really gutted me. we should have introduced cantano at some stage and moved boco to the middle where he might have created something. from speaking to a good friend of mine who was at the game he said that it was aterrible performance and made the point that the players did,nt seem to realise that it was a local derby and galway were more aware of the importance of the game & points.trying to remain positive , we have a game on monday and a chance to redeem ourselves. the next few weeks will determine our season if we can remain in the fai cup by beating derry it will help us to fight off relegation. i think also that a problem we have at the moment is raf is playing with a new partner (blinkhorn) and the combination should improve going forward. next weeks game against dundalk, we simply have to get a good result. hold tight lads the season ai,nt over yet and lets all try to remain positive. this might be a small matter to some but i think the fact that gerry carr wasNt in the dug out made a difference cause he is always very vocal.
01/08/2009, 1:37 PM
this might be a small matter to some but i think the fact that gerry carr wasNt in the dug out made a difference cause he is always very vocal.
Im pretty sure Gerry was in the dugout RA.
celticV3
01/08/2009, 1:39 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBb74pNr9c4&fmt=22
01/08/2009, 1:43 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBb74pNr9c4&fmt=22
This is EXACTLY what we need a 'No Thanks' button for.:(