View Full Version : Ways to help Cork?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

pixiehead
29/07/2009, 12:06 AM
Really? Because thats just silly.

Silly to who? You? Who are you to tell me thats silly. If thats how i feel than what right have you to say its silly. Silly is a leprechaun hat at a party. I am passionate

stamullendrog
29/07/2009, 8:17 AM
i dont agree one helping any team that caused their own problems by over spending and paying players big wages in a part time league.
we at waterford united were in the shyte a few years ago and got no help from anyone, and im sure most clubs were in the same position, But we all had to bail ourselfs out.
so cork should do same.

can see your point but think of the sizeable away followings cork bring,thtas revenue lost to the other teams now

Hairy Bowsie
29/07/2009, 8:25 AM
Silly to who? You? Who are you to tell me thats silly. If thats how i feel than what right have you to say its silly. Silly is a leprechaun hat at a party. I am passionate

Fair enough then, you're not silly. You're just a bad Galway supporter

29/07/2009, 8:34 AM
I don't think handing over vast sums of money to Tom will do the trick, most likely the necessary funds don't get raised and any money given will be merely swallowed up by the liquidator...

29/07/2009, 8:36 AM
A certain poster is like PineappleStu on crack. (no offence Stu, i've grown to respect you...) ;)
Very tempted to change my sig now. :p

White Horse
29/07/2009, 9:40 AM
Shouldn't Bohs fans be saving that cash for when this day comes around for themselves? And thats not even meant in a bitchy way.

They should be organising themselves and raising cash. They are in a real financial mess.

Lilywhite Army
29/07/2009, 10:16 AM
Get fans to take loans out...1000 fans at 500 euro each would make half a million...I know the current economic climate isnt so good but the real die hards will try anything to save there club..

All i can say is i hope yee pull through it because yous have great fans and by far the best ground in the league

29/07/2009, 10:26 AM
Get fans to take loans out...1000 fans at 500 euro each would make half a million
Didn't Bohs do that already?

CuanaD
29/07/2009, 10:42 AM
I'd still like to know some background about TC & the trading details of CCFC - he does come across as decent-ish & I can't see why he is the one constantly being blamed by Cork supporters for mis-managment. Seemed from the start to be a cash flow problem, which was exacerbated by falling attendences(brought on by attitudes to TC?). If the turnover estimates given to Licencing for this year were not greater than last year's T/O, then that would have been reasonable; if they had been increased that would have been unrealistic (& fault lies then with TC). Anyone know more details?

29/07/2009, 10:46 AM
The guy decided to pay out the highest wages in the league without a hope of ever raising the money to cover it. He can blame the recession all he wants- it was well under way when the contracts were handed out. That, in a nutshell, was where it all went wrong.

The man is an incompetent moron at best.

29/07/2009, 10:48 AM
I'd still like to know some background about TC & the trading details of CCFC - he does come across as decent-ish & I can't see why he is the one constantly being blamed by Cork supporters for mis-managment. Seemed from the start to be a cash flow problem, which was exacerbated by falling attendences. If the turnover estimates given to Licencing for this year were not greater than last year's T/O, then that would have been reasonable; if they had been increased that would have been unrealistic (& fault lies then with TC). Anyone know more details?

Clueless.

We came out of examinership, he promised a sustainable club with a wage bill of max 15k a week.

Now we have the biggest budget in the league.

He has crippled our club and couldnt care less. Sure he 'gave it a go' as he said yesterday

29/07/2009, 11:02 AM
I'd still like to know some background about TC & the trading details of CCFC - he does come across as decent-ish & I can't see why he is the one constantly being blamed by Cork supporters for mis-managment. Seemed from the start to be a cash flow problem, which was exacerbated by falling attendences(brought on by attitudes to TC?).This has to be a wind up.
He ran our club into the ground and doesn't seem all that bothered.

It was his decision to pay out big wages and live well beyond our means, now he is blaming all this on the recession, it's your fault Tom.

It was his decision not to pay a penny to the taxman since he took over.

Any money spent on CCFC came from elsewhere,there is no way on this wide earthly world he put any of his own personal money into the club.

29/07/2009, 11:16 AM
Where's he getting 700k of his own money having been put in, he's been repeating that a fair bit?. Unless he counts any money CCFC bring in as his own. He doesn't strike me as a man that would have 700k never mind have it spare to put in to Cork City.

29/07/2009, 11:18 AM
He's a liar, or at least very badly twisting the truth, simple as that. If he put that much of his own money in there's no way in hell they could still have ended up owing the taxman 400k.

CuanaD
29/07/2009, 11:29 AM
It was his decision to pay out big wages and live well beyond our means,

It was his decision not to pay a penny to the taxman since he took over.
I'm just looking for any known facts, that's all.

As far as wages & living beyond means, can anyone confirm that CCFC are over the 65% ?
Or is the only problem stemming from an inability to pay bills owed from past seasons (revenue)?

Did he not pay anything at all to the taxman?

Honestly I'm not trying to be a wind-up - just that all the attitude from the cork fans seems to be totally against TC & I'd love to be shown the reasons.
& I understand the 'no smoke without fire' - I can see that there must be valid problems with TC - probably huge problems - I'd just like to be educated on the history

29/07/2009, 11:33 AM
Anything owed from previous seasons was written off when they came out of examinership (around last August). They started with a clean slate; he's run up all these debts himself.

Without having the figures, I think it's clear they have to be over the 65%. Their monthly tax bill is about E40k (per the court reports). That translates to a monthly wage bill of pushing E100k. You can do the maths from there. But they clearly don't have the money (or they'd have paid it), so they must have racked up large losses already, so they're more than likely over the 65% rule.

It's been stated in court that they've paid nothing to Revenue; the two cheques sent both bounced.

CuanaD
29/07/2009, 11:41 AM
Anything owed from previous seasons was written off when they came out of examinership (around last August). They started with a clean slate; he's run up all these debts himself.

Without having the figures, I think it's clear they have to be over the 65%. Their monthly tax bill is about E40k (per the court reports). That translates to a monthly wage bill of pushing E100k. You can do the maths from there. But they clearly don't have the money (or they'd have paid it), so they must have racked up large losses already, so they're more than likely over the 65% rule.

It's been stated in court that they've paid nothing to Revenue; the two cheques sent both bounced.Thanks for that Stu (& John83) - looks like the wages are nearing the 1.2mil - so, close to Bohs, but probably NOT quite the largest in the league (which TC had said on MNS).

Wonder why FAI haven't been at them for licencing compliance then? (that's rhetorical - it IS the FAI) :o

Looks like I should save my contribution for Foras alright

29/07/2009, 11:45 AM
they're more than likely over the 65% rule.I wouldn't be surprised if they're over 100%. They owe 400k in tax (part of wages really) and I doubt that they've spent that much on other things.

29/07/2009, 11:48 AM
I doubt that they've spent that much on other things.You could say that :D

blobbyblob
29/07/2009, 11:57 AM
Interesting snippet from Paul Doolin in todays Irish Indepenent(p73 Neil Ahern) where he said the mans(TC) failing was he was too honest in paying back pages and bonus money from the previous regime when compared to Drogheda who only paid a % of what was owed to players and of course his "outrageous" wage scale.

€1,000 euro goal bonus
€2,000 euro goal bonus for Setanta Cup
€500 for a clean sheet

29/07/2009, 11:59 AM
he said the mans(TC) failing was he was too honest

:D:D

Doolin again showing how little of anything he understands.

29/07/2009, 12:13 PM
Interesting snippet from Paul Doolin in todays Irish Indepenent(p73 Neil Ahern) where he said the mans(TC) failing was he was too honest in paying back pages and bonus money from the previous regime when compared to Drogheda who only paid a % of what was owed to players and of course his "outrageous" wage scale.

Doolin hasn't a clue [it must be the stupidness] at least when Mathews spoke last year you knew he could at least add.

The players in Drogs accepted the % because there was no white knight or prospect of payment. Coughlan came in at COrk during examinership and promised a rosy garden so the players stuck out for full back pay, to which they were entitled.

Honesty had nothing to do with it, we wouldn't have gotten a premier division licence without paying it.

29/07/2009, 12:18 PM
where he said the mans(TC) failing was he was too honest This is the outrageous bit.

Doolin hasn't a clue [it must be the stupidness] :D rubbing off on that baldy head of his.

Rovers Maniac
29/07/2009, 12:21 PM

€1,000 euro goal bonus
€2,000 euro goal bonus for Setanta Cup
€500 for a clean sheet

Shame on those players, Behan had a clean sheet bonus because he played in goal once i believe, if any of them accepted it they took the club for a ride and simply taking the mick.

29/07/2009, 12:25 PM
Yeah, shame on those players for accepting the pay they were offered, when they could have left for other clubs who would have offered it too. What were they thinking? How dare they try and make a livelihood? :rolleyes:

29/07/2009, 12:27 PM
Shame on those players, Behan had a clean sheet bonus because he played in goal once i believe, if any of them accepted it they took the club for a ride and simply taking the mick.

rediculous comment
imagine your job was to produce reports for your boss, and your boss said, for every report you produce i'll pay you an extra 1000.
you think you wouldnt snap it up and go nice one, cheers and flood the place with reports!!

get real like

Shelsred
29/07/2009, 2:54 PM
Why would anyone want to donate any of their hard earned money to save Cork? I understand any Cork fan giving all he can to save his club, but why would anyone else do it?

Cork splashed out money they didn't have, simple as. As was said already, any posters on here who have claimed to be such great LoI fans, why aren't you giving your money to Limerick? Why didn't you give your money to Drogs, Dublin City or Waterford?

This will probably sound harsh, but good riddence Cork. I have no time for any clubs who effectively cheat, and although I would've enjoyed a trip to the Village next season, I won't be losing any sleepover it.

29/07/2009, 2:56 PM
Tom doesn't need anyone's help. It's all under control and everything will be grand on Friday. Or so he's told the PFAI apparently.

Joseph McSweene
29/07/2009, 3:27 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if they're over 100%. They owe 400k in tax (part of wages really) and I doubt that they've spent that much on other things.

Oh we've spent it alright, we just haven't paid:(

To be fair, according to Rico in Con Murphy's recent MNS: Behind the scenes article (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/conmurphy/) he shows how the players went in with reasonable expectations of a wage increase and we're immediately offered much much higher than they expected.

We surely don't need to cover Arkaga again though do we? We paid all that money back, this has nothing to do with back-pay and bonuses and everything to do with Tom Coughlan not paying a cent since he took over, failing to pay the taxman (and the printers, and probably Hummel, and etc etc) and bringing in players on wages we couldn't possibly afford.

pól-dcfc
29/07/2009, 3:37 PM
Tom doesn't need anyone's help. It's all under control and everything will be grand on Friday. Or so he's told the PFAI apparently.

Source? Laughable claim if true.

29/07/2009, 3:40 PM
The Cork forum and http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/2267/

sonofstan
29/07/2009, 4:01 PM
This will probably sound harsh, but good riddence Cork. I have no time for any clubs who effectively cheat

Writes a Shels fan.....

Ezeikial
29/07/2009, 5:33 PM
This will probably sound harsh, but good riddence Cork. I have no time for any clubs who effectively cheat, .

Writes a Shels fan.....

"Effectively cheat"......Yea, it's really so hypocritical!

roinuj
29/07/2009, 6:24 PM
why isnt this thread and all the other cork threads in the cork forum,
all this bull just because they didnt pay the tax man:rolleyes:

BORING

29/07/2009, 6:39 PM
BORINGYour threads are a lot more exciting it has to be said.

HarpoJoyce
29/07/2009, 8:54 PM
Ways to help Cork?

Tell their fans that Glasgow Celtic lost one-nil to Dynamo Moscow at home in the Champions League third qualifying round first leg.

A N Mouse
29/07/2009, 9:46 PM
Why would anyone want to donate any of their hard earned money to save Cork? I understand any Cork fan giving all he can to save his club, but why would anyone else do it?

Cork splashed out money they didn't have, simple as. As was said already, any posters on here who have claimed to be such great LoI fans, why aren't you giving your money to Limerick? Why didn't you give your money to Drogs, Dublin City or Waterford?

This will probably sound harsh, but good riddence Cork. I have no time for any clubs who effectively cheat, and although I would've enjoyed a trip to the Village next season, I won't be losing any sleepover it.

Why have you got that avatar then?

29/07/2009, 9:49 PM
Why would anyone want to donate any of their hard earned money to save Cork?

I agree with this one line tbh. You can all have a go or whatever but my own club needs the money. If I could, I would gladly give something to Cork but in the current climate I can only afford to give to my own club.

30/07/2009, 10:38 AM
Having read through some of the stuff on the Cork Forum, one massively important question arises: Did the FAI issue a license to Cork City without the club having a tax clearance certificate?

30/07/2009, 10:50 AM
I have no time for any clubs who effectively cheatwe obviously haven't cheated effectively enough

brianw82
30/07/2009, 11:04 AM
While I admire the sentiment, I'd just like to remind anyone actually donating a fiver or a tenner to FORAS that it'll probably be only a matter of time until your club is looking for that money. Just bear that in mind.

ndrog
30/07/2009, 11:18 AM
This coming from a $hels fan is priceless. It was your club who got the ball rolling on the tradition of overspending in this league. A tradition which has us, Bohs and god knows how many other clubs in the toilet.

To those who are wondering why people who didn't help drogs, Limerick and Waterford are interested in helping us I think it's because - and I mean no disrespect - people are gonna miss City more so than those clubs. It's more enjoyable to watch games in the corss than Jackman park or United Park. Though I would help out any other clubs who find them in a mess if I could afford it. I wouldn't wish whats happening to us in anyone else

And here it is , classic cork mentality ! seriously full of your own self importance as usual .I am not looking forward to you going bust and i konw how it feels to be in your position . As for fans wondering why no one helped Drogheda United fc during examinership ? This couldnt be any further from the truth .We had tons of donations from around the country including cork , pats fans came up and played Drogs fans in a supporters match that roddy collins managed a team in , we had Bohs fans putting money into our collections . Dundalk gave the proceeds of the Jim malone cup to the club and fair play to them for it etc etc . Lots of people didnt want to see us dissapear and lots of people dont wanna see you gone either .But its not a COMPETITION ffs ..

30/07/2009, 12:30 PM
Having read through some of the stuff on the Cork Forum, one massively important question arises: Did the FAI issue a license to Cork City without the club having a tax clearance certificate?
Were they not just out of examinership when their license was granted? They'd have had a cert, I'd have thought.

Ronnie
30/07/2009, 12:49 PM
I would say Cork had a cert after coming out of examinership.
However that cert could have been for a short period of time - common enough now in football to issue certs for a few months.
Or the cert could have been issued and subsequently revoked.
In either case the licensing body would know, whether they'd do anything about it is another matter!

30/07/2009, 12:50 PM
Were they not just out of examinership when their license was granted? They'd have had a cert, I'd have thought.
Examinership ended August-ish; licences were granted in February.

30/07/2009, 1:15 PM
Examinership ended August-ish; licences were granted in February.
Wikipedia says October. The clubs operate with a November year end. I presume the tax cert is issued around then.

WindmillWarrior
30/07/2009, 1:16 PM
And here it is , classic cork mentality ! seriously full of your own self importance as usual .I am not looking forward to you going bust and i konw how it feels to be in your position . As for fans wondering why no one helped Drogheda United fc during examinership ? This couldnt be any further from the truth .We had tons of donations from around the country including cork , pats fans came up and played Drogs fans in a supporters match that roddy collins managed a team in , we had Bohs fans putting money into our collections . Dundalk gave the proceeds of the Jim malone cup to the club and fair play to them for it etc etc . Lots of people didnt want to see us dissapear and lots of people dont wanna see you gone either .But its not a COMPETITION ffs ..

Yeah, what he said!

pól-dcfc
30/07/2009, 1:24 PM
Anyone seen this?

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2513/3771234886_355d0accc5.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3445/3770434865_0ce859d7ee.jpg

davidatrb
30/07/2009, 1:58 PM
rediculous comment
imagine your job was to produce reports for your boss, and your boss said, for every report you produce i'll pay you an extra 1000.
you think you wouldnt snap it up and go nice one, cheers and flood the place with reports!!

get real like

And watch the company you work for go bust? And watch the industry at
home shaken once again?

The players in general (not talking about Cork City here) are definitely
not innocent. I do agree that the clubs are totally irresponsible paying huge wages, but I wouldn't be rushing to defend the greed of the players either.

Besides, I don't think that you can compare football to other types of jobs.

30/07/2009, 2:06 PM
And watch the company you work for go bust? And watch the industry at
home shaken once again?

The players in general (not talking about Cork City here) are definitely
not innocent. I do agree that the clubs are totally irresponsible paying huge wages, but I wouldn't be rushing to defend the greed of the players either.

Nonsense. The players are offered a contract by the club, it is then up to them to accept or decline it based on their own valuation of their skill, if both club and player agree a set figure then the club should honour that contract.

It's not up to the players to balance the books after all