View Full Version : Cork City denied a licence; club to be wound up; FORAS to enter First Division
weecountyman
01/12/2009, 10:20 AM
So when will the "Doolin for Dundalk" thread start?
On your observation............I agree. :(
Right now it looks like a better deal than getting Roddy or SKenny, but who will fill the Cork spot?
jinxy lilywhite
01/12/2009, 10:28 AM
Right now it looks like a better deal than getting Roddy or SKenny, but who will fill the Cork spot?
does not. imo an appointment of doolin would be worse than the appointment of Connor.
Doolins teams play awfully negative football, he is a cheque book manager, won things at drogheda but at what cost?
His style of football does not entertain and will not entice new punters to oriel.
though Sean Connor for Cork, him and Tom would get on like a house on fire :D
marinobohs
01/12/2009, 11:07 AM
does not. imo an appointment of doolin would be worse than the appointment of Connor.
Doolins teams play awfully negative football, he is a cheque book manager, won things at drogheda but at what cost?
His style of football does not entertain and will not entice new punters to oriel.
Agreed Doolin does not expouse a great brand of football but he has been successfull at both Drogs and Cork (both, admittedly with money) I would suggest that a trophy or two and he would be a legend at Oriel !
Love the idea of Connor at the circus by the Lee, a definite match made in hell.
Ezeikial
01/12/2009, 11:08 AM
Seanie to ride like a white knight to Toms rescue. He would certainly tell Tom whatever he wanted to hear, and would add another interesting carriage to the train wreck. Cue betting scam scandals, Guinness Book of Records attempt for red cards and several more interesting chapters. Selling the movie rights for about $10m would secure Corks future.
01/12/2009, 11:16 AM
Are you suggesting that, Connor spent a year at Dundalk being privately trained by Maxi for his new role with Cork? Whilst all along it was just simply an elaborate Insurance scam devised by TNB to re-coupe his money from Cork and leaving no evidence of his wrong doing behind.
It so mental it could work. I mean, if it doesn't happen in LOI it will never happen. :p
marinobohs
01/12/2009, 11:17 AM
Seanie to ride like a white knight to Toms rescue. He would certainly tell Tom whatever he wanted to hear, and would add another interesting carriage to the train wreck. Cue betting scam scandals, Guinness Book of Records attempt for red cards and several more interesting chapters. Selling the movie rights for about $10m would secure Corks future.
but REALLY folks have the population of Cork not suffered enough ??????
01/12/2009, 11:33 AM
but REALLY folks have the population of Cork not suffered enough ??????No running water for the last week and now you want to inflict Connor on us?
Some one think of the children.
No running water for the last week and now you want to inflict Connor on us?
Some one think of the children.
You gave the world Roy Keane, Steven Ireland and Tom Coughlan.
Slap it RIGHT up ye!
01/12/2009, 12:14 PM
We take absolutely no responsibility for anything that comes out of Queenstown.
passerrby
01/12/2009, 12:18 PM
but REALLY folks have the population of Cork not suffered enough ??????
roy keane, stephan england and of course they killed the big fella ..i think not
marinobohs
01/12/2009, 12:35 PM
roy keane, stephan england and of course they killed the big fella ..i think not
...... dont forget the recession, global warming and introducing banks to Ireland (just as St paddy was getting rid of snakes !) but still..... sean Connors, lads its too much
...... dont forget the recession, global warming and introducing banks to Ireland (just as St paddy was getting rid of snakes !)thats all very well but were still not taking responsibility for anything coming out of Cobh. :D
Whats Cork Citys official address!! :o
Exactly. I take no responsibility for anything Coughlan related either...
According to todays echo, Gareth Farrelly is looking for another high court date to wind the club up-the payment agreement has already been defaulted on.
Does this mean he's more or less likely to get the managers job?
tippex
02/12/2009, 2:27 PM
I think that's just taking the almighty **** (not that it hadnt been taken already).
I cannot get my head around how the hell TNB can be let away with this.
In other news, apparently the pay day yesterday(2nd last installment of wages) hasnt been adhered to. Players etc not paid, Doolin paid by cheque..... etc etc etc (according to our forum).
Also on the forum that our license application was incomplete and is being returned.
I cannot get my head around how the hell TNB can be let away with this.We'll see exactly what the FAI are made of (cue laughter :D) next Monday
Also on the forum that our license application was incomplete and is being returned.Meaney Out !
02/12/2009, 5:02 PM
Any names linked to the city job lads
Gerald McCarthy!:p:rolleyes:
03/12/2009, 10:19 AM
Another ex employee (Pat Curran) has lodged a case against the club for unfair dismissal and non payment of wages
Also, rumours flying around the forum that we've been thrown out of Turner's Cross for next year.
03/12/2009, 10:23 AM
Wonder how the FAI will fudge Cork a licence for next year?
03/12/2009, 10:28 AM
Wonder how the FAI will fudge Cork a licence for next year?
General consensus on our forum seems to be if they do then a lot of people are finished with LOI football.
03/12/2009, 10:32 AM
Wonder how the FAI will fudge Cork a licence for next year?Hopefully a bridge too far even for them.
To quote a post from our own forum.
No manager
No training ground
No contracted players (all free agents as they were not paid)
No website and by extension no email
Licence application incomplete and returned
Disrepute charge outstanding against the owner
2 winding up orders in the bag
1 active winding up order
3 court cases (Mathews, Curran, Great Stuff Catering)
Current staff and players owed money
Ex employees owed money
Creditors owed money
Future prize money gone
No Club Shop
No Online Shop
No Ground for next year (rumoured)
03/12/2009, 10:41 AM
Hopefully a bridge too far even for them.
To quote a post from our own forum.
Better start preparing that DVD...
03/12/2009, 10:45 AM
Gerald McCarthy!:p:rolleyes:
ex manager Pat Dolan has being linked with it again according to the papers today..
03/12/2009, 11:00 AM
ex manager Pat Dolan has being linked with it again according to the papers today..kick us while we're down why don't you. :mad:
03/12/2009, 11:04 AM
kick us while we're down why don't you. :mad:
I am too far away to kick ye... Dolan wont get it hes too cushy in Setanta.I was just reporting what I saw in the paper today..Do ye not like any manager at all? I thought Dolan was liked by ye...
03/12/2009, 11:13 AM
I am too far away to kick ye... Dolan wont get it hes too cushy in Setanta.I was just reporting what I saw in the paper today..Do ye not like any manager at all? I thought Dolan was liked by ye...
Half adore him, half don't.
Remember this is the same man who admitted(through his brother) that he told Reading the price of Kevin Doyles buy out clause to get revenge for being sacked....
03/12/2009, 11:28 AM
Half adore him, half don't.Half? :confused:
I thought it was just those lucky few that were in the back of his jeep that night. :D
03/12/2009, 11:33 AM
Half? :confused:
I thought it was just those lucky few that were in the back of his jeep that night. :D
That's a completely different type of love :D
Probably less than half alright, but plenty would love him back.
03/12/2009, 1:51 PM
Is the Liam Meaney the ex CEO Tennents Ireland?
HammerNThongs
03/12/2009, 2:07 PM
Frankly, anyone who takes a manager job under Coughlan is likely to be vilified by the fans from day 1. Anyone who agrees to enter into a deal with him, will struggle to gain my sympathy anyway and will almost certainly be seen as part of the problem
03/12/2009, 4:24 PM
Also, rumours flying around the forum that we've been thrown out of Turner's Cross for next year.
I thought Turner's Cross had to be offered to a Cork club in the LOI?
Doomofman
03/12/2009, 4:30 PM
Another ex employee (Pat Curran) has lodged a case against the club for unfair dismissal and non payment of wages
Time to do a Derry me thinks.. (Start afresh that is, not start giving people 2 contracts :p)
Edit: Also if Cork drop to Div 1 next season does that mean we get stuck with Bray again?
I thought Turner's Cross had to be offered to a Cork club in the LOI?Not if they don't pay for it it ain't.
Is the Liam Meaney the ex CEO Tennents Ireland?
He used to work with AIB i think.
03/12/2009, 9:48 PM
Not if they don't pay for it it ain't.
True!
dcfc1928
03/12/2009, 9:56 PM
Jesus it does sound more and more dire for Cork, why TC doesn't just hand over to FORAS and be done with it I can't fathom. At least they would be in a better position to get out of the mess they're in, they'd have the goodwill of the fans who'd buy season tickets etc. How TC thinks they club can stagger on in it's current state is beyond me. Time to get out Tom and let others save the club.
Ezeikial
03/12/2009, 9:57 PM
Frankly, anyone who takes a manager job under Coughlan is likely to be vilified by the fans from day 1. Anyone who agrees to enter into a deal with him, will struggle to gain my sympathy anyway and will almost certainly be seen as part of the problem
Sounds like a job description made for Sean Connor - already vilified, will agree to most deals (won't necessarily stick to them), certainly won't get or seek sympathy, and for many is already seen as the cause of every problem going.
Bizarre as it might seem - he could actually do a decent job for Cork!
04/12/2009, 8:34 AM
I'm curious why Delaney doesn't stride into Cork, liquidate the company and start them afresh with a new board, like in Derry.
What's the difference?
I'm curious why Delaney doesn't stride into Cork, liquidate the company and start them afresh with a new board, like in Derry.
What's the difference?
Tom doesnt give a flying feck what Delaney thinks. He'l tell him to go screw himself, and carry on.
Then the only option the FAI would have would be to deny us a license in February, which would be too late for anyone to get the name and be in the first division next season and they dont want no team from Cork.
At a guess.
What's the difference?
Because the dual contracts gave Delaney a chance to do that in Derry, but the rules of the LOI are so full of holes that CCFC haven't broken anything major.
eamo1
04/12/2009, 10:02 AM
Will someone please just quickly pull the plug on the them and let them start again before its too late for the new season.Its way beyond a joke at this stage.
04/12/2009, 10:14 AM
Will someone please just quickly pull the plug on the them and let them start again before its too late for the new season.Its way beyond a joke at this stage.Tommy in front of the FAI firing squad next Monday, and tis the trigger we want pulled not the plug.
eamo1
04/12/2009, 10:19 AM
I'd rather it was the courts he was before again rather then the FAI.The courts just dont specialise in fudge the way the FAI do and you just know they are whipping up a fresh batch this weekend.
marinobohs
04/12/2009, 10:27 AM
I'd rather it was the courts he was before again rather then the FAI.The courts just dont specialise in fudge the way the FAI do and you just know they are whipping up a fresh batch this weekend.
Sorry but surely even the Abbotstown fudge makers must know that the best thing for Cork football is to end the current farce ? As I have posted here consistently I really believe we need a top division team in Cork, but the joke events of last season and the ongoing fiasco(s) make me believe that there is no future for the TC "model".
Would it not be more in the interest of Cork football (and Irish football) that the FAI end the existence of Cork City (as currently constituted) and allow a new Cork club begin afresh (sans TC) ?
04/12/2009, 10:28 AM
The courts just dont specialise in fudge the way the FAI do and you just know they are whipping up a fresh batch this weekend.
How many times have the courts failed to issue a winding up order?
Sure they even retracted one in the summer.
I could've missed it, but I thought FORAS were ploughing ahead with an A licence application anyway? Let Cork City die the inevitable death, and have AFC Cork City already established and (probably) heading towards promotion and/or a first division licence. Or did the FAI talk them down?
Buile Shuibhne
04/12/2009, 10:43 AM
What's the difference?
"The need for the FAI to take (and be seen to take) strong, swift and decisive action...was a common refrain at each stakeholder meeting," says the review.
Derry City were recently expelled from the league due to operating dual contracts, but the feeling among clubs is that other big names need to be punished for their misdemeanours.
Without naming specific teams, the review defends the FAI for allowing Cork City -- until now at least -- their repeated indiscretions, although there is a pointed reference to clubs who have fallen foul of the taxman in the recent past.
"There is no underestimating the damage that is done each time a club is a party to legal proceedings involving Revenue or any other creditor," it says.
"The impact of these unfortunate occurrences undermines the integrity of the competitions, weakens the credibility of the regulatory processes and perhaps, most damaging of all; provides further grounds on which to continue some of the 'disconnect' between participant clubs and the rest of the football family." .....................
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/numbers-dont-add-up-1964132.html
HammerNThongs
04/12/2009, 11:29 AM
I could've missed it, but I thought FORAS were ploughing ahead with an A licence application anyway? Let Cork City die the inevitable death, and have AFC Cork City already established and (probably) heading towards promotion and/or a first division licence. Or did the FAI talk them down?
Nope...that's still going ahead. The last thing, by the looks of things, that the FAI would do with regard to FORAS, is persuade them not try and form a club. I reckon, even if Coughlan was granted a license (which would make me lose ALL faith in LoI football) the FAI would still grant FORAS one if we so chose to go ahead with it and try and properly kill of Coughlans corrupt mess once and for all. FORAS dont want to do that as we want to keep CCFC alive, but I am beginning to think, after this €800k delusion, that CCFC is a complete goner, completely braindead, and all other vital organs have failed too.
It has come to the stage where if it came to Coughlan gaining anything to save Cork City FC, I would almost wish for CCFC to be left die rather then let that scumbag prosper. It's honestly a decision I would find very hard to make.