View Full Version : Galway Races

27/07/2009, 12:19 PM
Well, the races start today. Any tips?

I fancy Moonlight Sapphire e/w in the 1st race. About 8/1 at the moment.

27/07/2009, 12:32 PM
Stunning View in the 18:20. Odds on fav but as close to a sure thing you can have in racing.;)
http://www.oddschecker.com/horse-racing/galway/18:20

27/07/2009, 12:33 PM
Stunning View in the 18:20. Odds on fav but as close to a sure thing you can have in racing.;)

Weld/Smullen combination, can't go wrong!

brianw82
27/07/2009, 1:37 PM
Well, the races start today. Any tips?

I fancy Grainne Seoige. Can you hook me up?

27/07/2009, 1:46 PM
I fancy Grainne Seoige. Can you hook me up?

I'll do my best ;)

27/07/2009, 4:18 PM

Wins :)

27/07/2009, 4:33 PM
Nicely done, knew I read that somebody had backed it when it went over the line! Did you have much on?

27/07/2009, 4:34 PM
Nicely done, knew I read that somebody had backed it when it went over the line! Did you have much on?

Nope, just a small stake, unfortunately!

27/07/2009, 5:24 PM

Sure thing alright, he could have won it in his sleep. Nice handy earner there.

27/07/2009, 5:32 PM
I'm on Trucker's Delight in the 19:00. 13/2 available with WH.

27/07/2009, 5:43 PM
Right, now on it each way. PP refunding your losing stake if it comes second by the way.

27/07/2009, 6:06 PM
Well that didn't work.

27/07/2009, 6:36 PM
Glue factory for you you stupid nag!. Has it finished yet?. Ah no, easy come easy go.

27/07/2009, 7:03 PM
Art Broker in the next. Hot favourite, 7/4.

27/07/2009, 7:13 PM
Art Broker in the next. Hot favourite, 7/4.
Brutal :(

27/07/2009, 8:46 PM
7.00 race tomorrow, Mirandas Girl, 9/1 at the moment.

27/07/2009, 10:47 PM
7.00 race tomorrow, Mirandas Girl, 9/1 at the moment.
Considering that too but Rock and Roll Kid in the same race looks quite strong.

Rovers fan
27/07/2009, 11:09 PM
Won a good bit on a good bit on No one tells me but ended up down a wee bit down at the end of the day. Started betting big (for my standards) at the wrong time. Art Broker was absolutely muck! I was looking at the wrong horse (the one that came second) so kinda got a run for my money, I blame the bad view I had!

27/07/2009, 11:13 PM
You were there? What's it like, I'm thinking about going next year.

Rovers fan
27/07/2009, 11:30 PM
You were there? What's it like, I'm thinking about going next year.

Yeah twas ok. Personally, give me the sligo races any day of the week (it's easier to win money!). Tenner in, which wasn't too bad imo.

It wasn't that packed but on the bigger days (wednesday and thursday) apparently it's hard to even get a bet in. That wouldn't appeal to me...

I didn't really go up with a group, I'd say it would be better craic that way, out on the lash after the races and then stay in some crappy hostel! I'll probably do that next year.

The quality of the racing isn't anywhere near as good as, say, the Leopardstown Christmas festival but there is a good buzz about the place.

I couldn't find feckin chipper in the place though:mad:

eamo1
27/07/2009, 11:44 PM
I was there tonight,the crowd was deffo down on other years.I had Tellele in the 2nd last race,he was 8/1,a nice few quid won on him:).A chicken roll in there was 7.70e,its 3e in Dunnes,unreal rip off.Settled on chips instead:).

28/07/2009, 9:29 AM
I'm heading down on Wednesday and Thursday, 4th year in a row. Big group of us going so its always a good laugh.

Den Perry
28/07/2009, 9:35 AM
[QUOTE=De Town;1199789]Well, the races start today. Any tips?

Good Call!!

I did a lucky 15 of Weld horses and Ghimaar was the only bloody winner!!! at least he was decent odds but had Art Broker at 9/4 and New Rules at 5/2 so thought I was going to geta nice treble up....

28/07/2009, 9:42 AM
Good Call!!

I did a lucky 15 of Weld horses and Ghimaar was the only bloody winner!!! at least he was decent odds but had Art Broker at 9/4 and New Rules at 5/2 so thought I was going to geta nice treble up....

Well at least the horse with the biggest odds was your only winner, there's always a positive! ;)

prince20
28/07/2009, 10:14 AM
I was there tonight,the crowd was deffo down on other years.I had Tellele in the 2nd last race,he was 8/1,a nice few quid won on him:).A chicken roll in there was 7.70e,its 3e in Dunnes,unreal rip off.Settled on chips instead:).

But to be fair you cant go horse racing in Dunnes:D

28/07/2009, 12:35 PM
5.10 For The Staff

7.00 Rock and Roll Kid

7.35 Brushed Aside

8.10 Shining Armour

8.40 Quassaar

The Lilywhites
28/07/2009, 4:10 PM
6.25 My Valley
7.00 Rock And Roll Kid

28/07/2009, 4:49 PM
How are ye guys getting on? Updates please?

I havent done any betting, just back from holidays and too knackered to read from etc

(by the way the Czechs had their own version of horse racing on TV - with 30,000 prize money for each race - but looked rubbish - i was so disappointed i didn't get to back on it)

28/07/2009, 7:55 PM
5.10 For The Staff Place

7.00 Rock and Roll Kid 1st:)

7.35 Brushed Aside Place

8.10 Shining Armour

8.40 Quassaar 1st:)
Good day to add to yesterday's small profit.

29/07/2009, 11:50 AM
2.00 Tawaagg

2.35 Ardistan

3.10 Teach Nua

3.45 Blackstairmountain

4.25 Roby De Cimbre

6.15 Precious Gem

29/07/2009, 12:08 PM
On Wins Now in the 4.25. That's the only Galway one at present.

29/07/2009, 1:07 PM
Also thrown a few quid on Armaramak in the 2.35.

29/07/2009, 3:57 PM
4th so got something out of it. On Moving Heart in the 5.05.

29/07/2009, 5:51 PM
2.00 Tawaagg 1st:)

2.35 Ardistan

3.10 Teach Nua N/R

3.45 Blackstairmountain 1st:)

4.25 Roby De Cimbre

6.15 Precious Gem 1st:)
Profit for the day once again. :-)

Deutschland in the Galway Hurdle tomorrow. 5.6 on the machine at the moment. Ground will suit. Mullins is on good form so far this week and should continue to do so.

Real ale Madrid
30/07/2009, 7:28 AM
Deutschland in the Galway Hurdle tomorrow. 5.6 on the machine at the moment. Ground will suit. Mullins is on good form so far this week and should continue to do so.

I've had a decent bet on him myself - he's a hot favourite. prob will start at about 3/1 or maybe less.

30/07/2009, 9:52 AM
Usually stay away from the horsies (Dman's tips excepted:) )

But went for:

Corrick Bridge in 2.00
Dual Gales in 4.20
Deutschland in 5.00 (already less than 3-1 by the way on PP)

All Ruby Walsh. Also chanced a small treble.

30/07/2009, 11:04 AM
On Corrick Bridge in the 2.00 and may stick a free matched bet on Maucaillou as well. On Separate Ways in the 2.35 and Deutschland in the 5.00. May stick a couple more on depending on how the early ones go!.

Real ale Madrid
30/07/2009, 11:21 AM
[QUOTE=Mr A;1202159]
Deutschland in 5.00 (already less than 3-1 by the way on PP)
QUOTE]

Yeah backed him e/w at 4/1 last night - 5/2 now already.

30/07/2009, 12:27 PM
Deutschland ( in 5.00 for me as well & Glenstal Abbey in the 4.20

30/07/2009, 12:49 PM
2.00 Corrick Bridge

2.35 Separate Ways

3.45 Anywaysmile

4.20 Glenstal Abbey

5.00 Deutschland

6.15 Buoy George

30/07/2009, 1:12 PM
On Corrick Bridge in the 2.00 and may stick a free matched bet on Maucaillou as well. On Separate Ways in the 2.35 and Deutschland in the 5.00. May stick a couple more on depending on how the early ones go!.

2nd and 3rd. Could be worse.

30/07/2009, 2:38 PM
2nd and 3rd. Could be worse.

Ruby left it way too late on Corrick Bridge,he only started to ride after the last.

30/07/2009, 2:56 PM
Yeah he didn't do himself any favours there alright, if it had gone on for another 50 yards he'd have won it. On Glenstal Abbey in the 4.20.

30/07/2009, 3:26 PM
I'm getting all the 2nd places today.:(

The last race makes me really confident though that Deutschland will get the job done as Mullins is in great form this week and didn't actually fancy Dual Gales to win.

30/07/2009, 3:31 PM
Was toying with backing Dual Gales but all the money seemed to be going on Glenstal Abbey, wasn't even going to back that race initially. Oh well at least I had only a small amount on so I got my money back. Deutschland is where my hopes are now too.

30/07/2009, 3:32 PM
Mullins is very confident.

I've doubled my stake to try and claw back some of my losses so far today.

30/07/2009, 3:44 PM
Looks like we're all waiting for Deutschland! Dual Gales came in for me, will have had a good day if Mr Walsh delivers in the 5.00.

Real ale Madrid
30/07/2009, 4:09 PM
2nd - never really got into it tho. Got me money back at least.

30/07/2009, 4:11 PM
I think that's 4 seconds I've had today. Could be worse I suppose. Slightly down overall though.

Rovers fan
30/07/2009, 4:15 PM
Sorry for the aftertiming but.....

My friend got a tip of his dad earlier in the week. He couldn't remember the name but he thought it started with "Bal" so I presumed it was ballyholland in the galway plate and stuck €5ew on him. Turned out it wasn't that horse but Bahrain Storm, so I put €5ew on him too.