View Full Version : LOI Series 21

brianw82
21/07/2009, 7:53 PM
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/european-leagues/other-leagues/ireland

Shels @ 4/7 with PP to beat Athlone is the standout price so far. Not spectacular or anything, but Athlone are getting trounced by Longford right now and Shels are 1-nilling it up like an Arsenal team of the early 90s.
I'm also interested in the goals/handicaps for UCD v Mervue when they come out. UCD have been a bit goalshy recently but that should change against Mervue's leaky bucket defence.
Nothing at all stands out for me in the Premier this week. Some of you might want to chance us to beat a (likely to be) tired Pats team after their Euro trip, but I'm not going near it.

brianw82
21/07/2009, 7:58 PM
Athlone Town v Shelbourne

Shels @ 4/7 with PP to beat Athlone is the standout price so far. Not spectacular or anything, but Athlone are getting trounced by Longford right now and Shels are 1-nilling it up like an Arsenal team of the early 90s.

Confident of this one so going with my highest individual stake of the season.

Backing Shelbourne @ 4/7 (Paddy Power) - 5pts

21/07/2009, 9:37 PM
Athlone Town v Shelbourne

Confident of this one so going with my highest individual stake of the season.

Backing Shelbourne @ 4/7 (Paddy Power) - 5pts

Agreed, I'm eyeing up my biggest ever bet for this one.

23/07/2009, 11:15 AM
Nothing standing out too much in Premier Division at the moment so dropping down a division where a very tasty double is on the cards with Bet365 @ 6/4.

Shelbourne to beat Athlone Town @ 11/20 - We are on an amazing run at the moment. We have won our last 8 league games scoring 17 and conceding just 2. We haven't conceded in our last 5 league games. We are away on Saturday night and our form on the road is amazing. Played 8, won 7, drew 0, and lost 1. Scored 10 and conceded 2. We are currently top of the table by 4 points with a game in hand. Now onto Athlone, they have failed to win in their last 5 games, drawing once and losing 4. They played Longford at home on Tuesday and got walloped 5-2. After 18 series of games there's already 27 points between Shels and the midlanders with Shels having played a game less. They've met once already this season with The Reds running out 2-0 victors. I'm also thinking of a single on this game which could be my biggest ever bet. 2-0 away win here.

UCD Half Time / Full Time v Mervue @ 8/13 - at first glance the 8/13 for a team to win htft looks shockingly poor but not when you are at home to Mervue United. Over the past 6 weeks it looks like the Galwegians have taken the place of whipping boys from Kildare. In fact, even Kildare have whipped them in recent weeks. Mervue's last 4 results in the league:

Mervue United 1 - 5 Monaghan United
Shelbourne 7 - 0 Mervue United
Mervue United 1 - 4 Kildare County
Longford Town 3 - 0 Mervue United

Mervue haven't won on the road since April 10th when defeating Kildare. In 9 away games to date they have only managed 8 goals, with 3 of them in their 3-0 win over Kildare. UCD haven't been in great form recently but this will be perfect for them. They haven't scored many goals recently either but they should have no problem tomorrow night. They are the best footballing side in this division and will rake up a few goals tomorrow. 4-0 home win.

Backing the double @ 6/4 (Bet365) - 3pts.

23/07/2009, 2:23 PM
Shelbourne@1.57 vs Athlone- 5pts
Waterford@1.66 vs Limerick- 2pts
Dundalk@1.72 vs Drogheda- 2pts
UCD -2@2.3 vs Mervue- 3pts
Fingal -1@1.83 vs Longford- 3pts

Also 1pt accy on the above at about 18/1.

23/07/2009, 2:24 PM
Athlone v Shels - Shels -1 @ 7/5
UCD v Mervue - UCD ht-ft @ 8/15
Kildare v Monaghan - Kildare and Draw double result @ 4/7
Dundalk v Drogs - Dundalk @ 8/11
Waterford v Limerick - Waterford @ 4-6

2 points on the above accy @ about 16/1.

24/07/2009, 10:48 AM
For those interested, bet365 now go 1/7 for a UCD win but are still offering 8/13 for them HT/FT!

24/07/2009, 12:24 PM
Have decent money, for me, on Shels. Also on UCD -2 and UCD HT/FT. Mervue were lucky not to lose by six or seven against us last week. Don't see anything else that jumps out.

24/07/2009, 12:34 PM
It was my turn to place the bets in the work syndicate this week so I have an accum on Derry, Waterford, Fingal and Shels (6/1) and a treble on draws in Dundalk, Harps and Sligo (33/1). Also have Twigg to score first and Rovers 2-0 at 75/1.

24/07/2009, 12:43 PM
Hard to know with Fingal what'll happen. We've made great progress under Gareth Cronin and we have decent strikers now in McKenna and Glynn. Our defence is leaky though so maybe I might have a look at overs in this game. Fingal should have too much for us but you never know what they're going to do.

Gone for over 2.5 goals at 10/11 I think it was. Also stuck a couple of quid on Longford or draw at 5/2 just out of loyalty.

24/07/2009, 1:35 PM
I saw Galway last week and they were atrocious. O'Shea and Guthrie back this week will help but 17/10 on Bray at home still looks decent.

The Betting Man
24/07/2009, 1:38 PM
Fancy Dorgs to get a result in Dundlak tonight,Boyles go 12/5 DNB that could be the bet tonight

24/07/2009, 1:41 PM
I fancy Drogheda to win tonight, Dundalk are sweating on a couple and apart from our win last week Drogheda have been in solid form of late.

24/07/2009, 1:45 PM
The price on Dundalk is drifting a good bit. Anyway here's a post I lifted from another forum:

Dundalk have Michael Daly back in contention after missing the trip to Galway due to suspension. Dundalk have a number of injury concerns with Liam Burns (hamstring), Darren Mansaram (knee), Michael Collins (back), Tiernan Mulvenna (knee) and Michael McGinlay (thigh strain) all battling to be fit in time.

The only one that I'd be worried about there is Micky Collins and apparently he was saying this morning that he's grand to play. Daly would have come in anyway instead of Mulvenna I reckon. Dundalk more or less at full strength. Bookies have overreacted with news of these injuries. I've backed Dundalk again to win @1.97.

I saw Galway last week and they were atrocious. O'Shea and Guthrie back this week will help but 17/10 on Bray at home still looks decent.
Bray have muck as well lately though. I'm staying away from that game.

24/07/2009, 1:55 PM
Also going with these:

Treble with Powers below 0.25pts staked

League of Ireland Premier Matches Bray Wanderers v Galway United
24-07-2009 19:45
Both Teams To Score
Yes @ 4/5

League of Ireland Division 1 Matches UCD v Mervue United
Handicap Betting
UCD (-2.0) @ 13/10

League of Ireland Premier Matches Dundalk v Drogheda United
Both Teams To Score
No @ 4/5

Single on the Galway and Bray games - overs @ 2.3 Betfair 0.75pts staked.

24/07/2009, 8:56 PM
Have decent money, for me, on Shels. Also on UCD -2 and UCD HT/FT. Mervue were lucky not to lose by six or seven against us last week. Don't see anything else that jumps out.

Mervue must have parked the bus tonight as it were. I think I'd more on the HT/FT than the -2 luckily enough. Roll on a Shels win now.

24/07/2009, 8:58 PM
They didn't, we were just brutal. They were worse. Don't think they had any shots at all, on or off target.

24/07/2009, 9:04 PM
That's twice now I think I've backed ye with the handicap and lost, the other must have been Kildare. Never again!. Though I was correct, I did have 10 on the HT/FT and 5 on the -2 thankfully one cancels out the other.

24/07/2009, 9:19 PM
Second time I've gone for the -2 on us and we messed up (other was against your lot). Gave up the handicap betting in recent months but Mervue's recent form just screamed a thrashing.

24/07/2009, 9:22 PM
Was gonna put the UCD handicap in my accy aswell but thankfully went with the HT/FT.

25/07/2009, 12:24 AM
Feck. Bray and UCD let me down. They should be amalgamated as punishment.

brianw82
25/07/2009, 6:42 AM
See kids, this is why I'm always wary of the handicaps. Was humming and hawing over this for a few days but decided to just stick with my Shels bet, and am I happy I did or what! Fingal v Kildare was another one earlier this season that screamed 5-0 but ended up only 1-0.

brianw82
25/07/2009, 9:31 AM
Pats only coming back from Malta today. 17/20 on us (draw no bet) with Willy Hill looks tempting, I have to say. May put a small bit on this depending on the Shels result.

25/07/2009, 3:26 PM
Single on the Galway and Bray games - overs @ 2.3 Betfair 0.75pts staked.

Jay O'Shea you little dancer. Grabs a goal in injury time to make it 2-1. probably his last game which is a shame as I've backed him for top scorer each way @ 66s

25/07/2009, 5:31 PM
As i had a couple of decent wins on the horses today, I've decided to cover myself a little and have put a couple of quid on Athlone +1 at 17/10 just to ensure I'll be getting something back this evening. I've bills to pay!. Have a good bit on Shels though so obviously I'm hoping they do the business.

25/07/2009, 6:00 PM
Stuck a double on Shels and Waterford, chanced a small bet on Kildare to beat Monaghan too at 9/4

25/07/2009, 8:43 PM
Damn you Athlone. Damn you down to Hades.

25/07/2009, 8:44 PM
That's annoying but not half as annoying as it would have been had I not hedged my bets as it were. There'll be some very unhappy footsters with that score.

25/07/2009, 10:20 PM
The bookies are licking their lips after Shels' collapse :(

26/07/2009, 12:10 AM
Bohs, Derry & Rovers @ 9-1 with PP.

brianw82
26/07/2009, 6:11 AM
Damn you Athlone. Damn you down to Hades.

My joy at finally seeing the treasured 'RES' on teletext was shortlived, as the scores changed from 1-2 to 2-2. Argh.

Can't win 'em all, I guess. 9 times out of 10 that bet would've come off. There's nothing I'd do differently.

26/07/2009, 10:35 AM
Bohs, Derry & Rovers @ 9-1 with PP.
Sure they're playing against each other ;)

26/07/2009, 8:16 PM
Gone for over 2.5 goals at 10/11 I think it was. Also stuck a couple of quid on Longford or draw at 5/2 just out of loyalty.

A little consolation I suppose. Didn't know what to think when they got the 3rd with the last kick basically. Not a bad weekend overall however, though Athlone are a shower of barstewards.