View Full Version : Butler, Is it time?

Redzer
21/07/2009, 12:33 PM
The question is, will Butler ever play again and if he does how will he be effected by what was a horrific injury?
He injured himself, doing what he should not have been doing. And all this happened outside his workplace.
I think we have been more than generious with him. We cannot afford to take any more risks with him. It's time to call it quit's and let him go.
We dont have the funds to keep him on our books. Goodbye Chris.

red bellied
21/07/2009, 12:35 PM
Heard that he thinks he will play again before season is out but agree with what you are saying.

21/07/2009, 12:36 PM
Was the player not insured? surely the insurance would be paying his wages etc.

SRFCbrothelutd
21/07/2009, 12:50 PM
Lads, first off we all make mistakes so let he who hasnt sinned cast the first stone. He will play again this season by his own admission. Got the pins out of his leg last monday so he expects to be back to full training by september. He is really keen to repay rovers faith in him, the only reason he didnt take a payoff before now is that he is mad to get back playing. He was offered payoffs loads of time but knew if he took the money he would have had no motivation to work as hard as he will do now to get back asap. . . Best of luck Chrissy. One of the best left back ever to play for rovers!!! Legend!

21/07/2009, 12:55 PM
Chris is the best full-back i've ever see play at The Showgrounds. It's a risk we're taking keeping him, but if he returns next season/end of this season, i think he'll be worth the wait. I know he probably won't be the same player, but he's still miles better than what we have.

Only1Rovers
21/07/2009, 1:04 PM
Yes, the club is forking out much needed money on a player who's unable to play, however, we all know how good he can be and if returns to be the same player he was before the injury it will be well worth the money.

redobit
21/07/2009, 1:18 PM
I can see why people would say enough is enough. But we have come this far with him and if he does come good he could repay Rovers in spades and would no doubt show gratitude and loyalty to the club. Best of luck chris.

dong
21/07/2009, 1:25 PM
I think we have been more than generious with him. We cannot afford to take any more risks with him. It's time to call it quit's and let him go.
We dont have the funds to keep him on our books. Goodbye Chris.

Fair point but everyone knew he was going to be out for ages. Why pay him all this time just to let him go now??
That would be an even bigger waste of money.
I love Butler. He had a great attitude on the pitch. I hope he makes a full comeback for us.

rovers100%
21/07/2009, 8:54 PM
he should have been let go if ya ask me at start of season. fair enough we all make mistakes but would people have been as simpathetic if a innocent child or passer by had been killed. he is a grown man who must learn by his mistakes. nice lad and was a good full back who gave an honest effort every game but the club need to be more ruthless in the current climate. if boco is sold this season or contract not extended because funds low will ye be sayin ah its worth it we kept butler.......... butler v boco only one answer in my book !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Inside Man
21/07/2009, 8:56 PM
He should have been let go straight away. But not much point now, we have stuck with him this long there is no point offloading him now, all the time and money invested in his wages & rehabilitation would all go to waste.

rovers100%
21/07/2009, 9:04 PM
your right yes he should have its pointless really even discussing it to be honest cos they not gonna release him now. i think parkhouse should be released he is too injury prone and we dont need him with new signing. i know i will be criticised for saying that but if boco wants to stay and club wont put money up for him there should be uproar.

Inside Man
21/07/2009, 9:05 PM
i think parkhouse should be released he is too injury prone
Parkhouse should never have been signed. Full stop.

Rovers Maniac
21/07/2009, 9:10 PM
I can see why people would say enough is enough. But we have come this far with him and if he does come good he could repay Rovers in spades and would no doubt show gratitude and loyalty to the club. Best of luck chris.

Totally agree we have him so long on the books that it would be a bit daft to let him go now, Whne he hopes to come back training, as well as that 'if' he can recover fully he would be an amazing addition to the squad. Best left full i ever seen at the Showgrounds.

21/07/2009, 10:41 PM
Parkhouse should never have been signed. Full stop.

I thought that at the start of the season too, but im pretty sure if he wasnt injured and Horny and Turner weren't signed, he would have done a job.

srfc1928
21/07/2009, 11:06 PM
I thought that at the start of the season too, but im pretty sure if he wasnt injured and Horny and Turner weren't signed, he would have done a job.
so we have an 'if' 'and' 'but' and nearly a maybe, 'would have done a job'
are you pretty sure about that rovers1 :D

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/07/2009, 12:29 PM

From what I've seen he's better then Turner

sligofan4ever
22/07/2009, 12:34 PM

Turner hadn' t played football for a good while before joining and isnt fully match fit, It will be a few more games before we see just how good he is when match fit.

22/07/2009, 12:43 PM

What SF4E said...

Guts&Glory
22/07/2009, 12:49 PM
He should have been let go straight away. But not much point now, we have stuck with him this long there is no point offloading him now, all the time and money invested in his wages & rehabilitation would all go to waste.

Agree it should have happened at the time, given the circumstances of how the injury happened I would be surprised if any insurance company agreed to pay his wages under any Motor policy or Club insurances for the period involved.

It is a strange one when you compare it to the Mauro Almeida situation and how he was allowed leave, granted by mutual consent in the end, but by Cookies own admission his view was that he couldn't wait the possible 2 or 3 months more for Almeida to be fit.

Strange one to me.

22/07/2009, 12:52 PM
It is a strange one when you compare it to the Mauro Almeida situation and how he was allowed leave, granted by mutual consent in the end, but by Cookies own admission his view was that he couldn't wait the possible 2 or 3 months more for Almeida to be fit.

Strange one to me.Well Mauro's wages were a lot higher than Butler's...plus Mauro isn't from Liverpool.

redobit
22/07/2009, 12:54 PM
Agree it should have happened at the time, given the circumstances of hw the injury happened I would be surprised if any insurance company agreed to pay his wages under any Motor policy or Club insurances for the period involved.

Absolutely agree, but, at the end of the day CB has not been charged with any offence.

kkontour
22/07/2009, 1:04 PM
Agree it should have happened at the time, given the circumstances of how the injury happened I would be surprised if any insurance company agreed to pay his wages under any Motor policy or Club insurances for the period involved.

Strange one to me.
My understanding, from what Paul Cook said in the Coolaney meeting, is that Almeida coulnt say when he would be fit, maybe he will never recover from his injury. If Almeida could say with some degree of certainty he would be fit in 2 months he probably would still be with the club.

rovers100%
22/07/2009, 3:55 PM
its up to butler now he needs to repay the club for the great faith we showed in him. if he comes back the same player then i applaude the manager and committee because it will have been a great gamble. i sincerly hope he plays again and plays well but as an answer of should we have let him go i still think yes im afraid, and i still think we now have too maybe strikers and parky should go. as for parkhouse being better than turner i cant see it myself lads but in a few months im sure someone will be saying (told ya so) .it does not matter if me or yourselves once they keep the club up and maybe bring us some silverware. for me i just want us to have a budget that allows us to keep boco,peers and raf and if that means releasing someone else so be it.

Sniffer
22/07/2009, 4:51 PM
Chris is the best full-back i've ever see play at The Showgrounds. It's a risk we're taking keeping him, but if he returns next season/end of this season, i think he'll be worth the wait. I know he probably won't be the same player, but he's still miles better than what we have.

Seamie Coleman; gone and forgotten!

22/07/2009, 4:54 PM
Seamie Coleman; gone and forgotten!

eh...no

I rate them about the same. Just Seamie was younger and Butler has maybe had his chance in England.

Shedzer
22/07/2009, 7:38 PM
On performances last season, Coleman and Butler were side by side..thats for sure

Guts&Glory
24/07/2009, 12:25 PM
Absolutely agree, but, at the end of the day CB has not been charged with any offence.

Yes but in insurance terms (which was what my response was to a previous post) it is a material fact and therefore unlikely any insurance company would cover his wages for the period he has been injured.

dong
24/07/2009, 1:46 PM
Yes but in insurance terms (which was what my response was to a previous post) it is a material fact and therefore unlikely any insurance company would cover his wages for the period he has been injured.
Thanks Mr. Tansey!:D

whiteagle
29/07/2009, 2:03 PM
i agree with some of the comments surely but , butler injured himself outside of work an that isnt exactly good PR for the club or a good example to younger players , the only reason he is still at the club because of Cook ... I would of said goodbye to him a long time ago but thats in hindsight .. I still think they should let him go now , apparently he is very lazy and not even doing much in the gym to even try and get back , if you were being paid like he is of course you wouldnt leave by mutual consent or take a paid leave to go because he know he would get a new club who would take him on .. no-one .. he is eating into club funds which could be used to keep boco or pay for fit new talent .. rovers need to be ruthless in todays climate ..

also hear on the grapevine ryan may not play again ? is this true

redobit
29/07/2009, 3:13 PM
i agree with some of the comments surely but , butler injured himself outside of work an that isnt exactly good PR for the club or a good example to younger players , the only reason he is still at the club because of Cook ... I would of said goodbye to him a long time ago but thats in hindsight .. I still think they should let him go now , apparently he is very lazy and not even doing much in the gym to even try and get back , if you were being paid like he is of course you wouldnt leave by mutual consent or take a paid leave to go because he know he would get a new club who would take him on .. no-one .. he is eating into club funds which could be used to keep boco or pay for fit new talent .. rovers need to be ruthless in todays climate ..

also hear on the grapevine ryan may not play again ? is this true

Who told you that, the tooth fairy.

sligored
30/07/2009, 9:09 AM
He cycles to the raddisson every morning and does a pretty serious workout according to a mate of mine who works in the leisure centre out there - i think chris is a guy who has made a mistake and is trying his best to recover.

brianw82
30/07/2009, 10:57 AM
He cycles to the raddisson every morning and does a pretty serious workout according to a mate of mine who works in the leisure centre out there - i think chris is a guy who has made a mistake and is trying his best to recover.

That's the kind of effort we all appreciate. Hope it's true.

akearins
30/07/2009, 11:43 AM
Sickens my ****e listening to this debate about Chris Butler.First off when Chris was the playing he was the best left full in the country no question.He was on a year contract and when Bohs and Derry came sniffing we could have lost him for nothing at the end of teh year,so the club offered an extended contract with the view that if a big enough offer came in we would profit form him.
Good business.

No one could have seen what was to come ,however all we know is Chris sustained serious injuries in a car crash.Due to other circumstances on that night he was never proven to be intoxicated(as the rumour goes) while driving and so therefore it was a car crash he was in, no more.So what is the club expected to do go on the rumours, how well would that stand up in a court.It wouldnt

Also we have built up a reputatioon of honouring wages and contracts, what message would it send to future signings, is it that if they sustain serious injuries playing or off the filed well first thing is we will get you off the wage bill as quick as possible.

Chris form what I hear is way ahead of schedule (according to specialist)cardiovascular is in great shape, training very hard on bike and rowing machine in gym , jogging and kicking ball.

So lets just get off his case and wish him the best on his rehabilitation.Who knows what may happen when he returns but lets get that far first.

celticV3
30/07/2009, 12:36 PM
Sickens my ****e listening to this debate about Chris Butler.First off when Chris was the playing he was the best left full in the country no question.He was on a year contract and when Bohs and Derry came sniffing we could have lost him for nothing at the end of teh year,so the club offered an extended contract with the view that if a big enough offer came in we would profit form him.
Good business.

No one could have seen what was to come ,however all we know is Chris sustained serious injuries in a car crash.Due to other circumstances on that night he was never proven to be intoxicated(as the rumour goes) while driving and so therefore it was a car crash he was in, no more.So what is the club expected to do go on the rumours, how well would that stand up in a court.It wouldnt

Also we have built up a reputatioon of honouring wages and contracts, what message would it send to future signings, is it that if they sustain serious injuries playing or off the filed well first thing is we will get you off the wage bill as quick as possible.

Chris form what I hear is way ahead of schedule (according to specialist)cardiovascular is in great shape, training very hard on bike and rowing machine in gym , jogging and kicking ball.

So lets just get off his case and wish him the best on his rehabilitation.Who knows what may happen when he returns but lets get that far first.
Well said, thread should be closed no need for it.

rob mcdonald
30/07/2009, 5:01 PM
Fair play Alan, hope we see Chris back. As you can see the world is full of "experts" judging by some of the comments on this thread. Hope some of these "fans" never have any bad luck.....

31/07/2009, 12:52 AM
Posts deleted & thread locked.