View Full Version : NFL 2009 Thread
08/09/2009, 5:28 PM
Looks like FIVE will be the only channel showing sunday night football :rolleyes:.
Can't even feckin record that with sky, Gameday not mentioned either, hope that is part of the package.
Did you not read when i posted above ?
Boo_Boy
08/09/2009, 5:55 PM
Did you not read when i posted above ?
Yes, what's your point?
08/09/2009, 8:16 PM
Sky have games at 6 and 9 on a sunday night........
Boo_Boy
08/09/2009, 9:10 PM
Sky have games at 6 and 9 on a sunday night........
I understand that, but that's not Sunday night football...They are 1pm and 4:15pm games.
NBC?, John Madden?, Cris Collinsworth?, Al Michaels?.
08/09/2009, 11:02 PM
You'll be A long time waiting for Madden as he retired at the end of last season.......
I honestly dont care where the coverage is coming from once I hVe my sunday night fix !!!!!!!!!!!!
Boo_Boy
09/09/2009, 10:22 AM
You'll be A long time waiting for Madden as he retired at the end of last season.......
Al Michaels said during the pre-season games on NBC that Madden would be involved in a pre-game show where he predicts wins etc.(pre recorded of course).;)
eamo1
27/09/2009, 11:01 PM
Lads im watching Steelers-Bungals on Justin.tv right now and was wondering for now or in the future how can i get it not to keep stalling??What do i need to download that would get it to run more smoothly or is it that website thats not running properly??
27/09/2009, 11:22 PM
Lads im watching Steelers-Bungals on Justin.tv right now and was wondering for now or in the future how can i get it not to keep stalling??What do i need to download that would get it to run more smoothly or is it that website thats not running properly??
I think it's the website. I use sopcast to watch the games and get the links from MyP2P (http://www.myp2p.eu/index.php?part=sports).
You can download Sopcast here (http://www.sopcast.com/).
eamo1
30/09/2009, 11:00 PM
Thanks Strangeirish,will try get it before the steelers-chargers game on Sunday.If steelers lose this they in deep do do,1-3:eek:.
eamo1
19/10/2009, 11:23 AM
A headline for a story that an NFL game will be played in Croke Park in 2012 appeared on the site Breakingnews.ie over the weekend.But when i clicked into it to read the story it said the page had expired.I looked for the story elsewhere on the net but no luck,just wondering had any of ye heard anything in recent days about it??I know it was talked about before a few times.Hopefully(for me at least) it will be the Irish Ambassador Dan Rooney bringing over his Steelers for the game.Im trying not to get my hopes up too much,theres talks the Steelers will be one of 2 games in Wembley next year so might see them then instead.
Boo_Boy
19/10/2009, 2:18 PM
A headline for a story that an NFL game will be played in Croke Park in 2012 appeared on the site Breakingnews.ie over the weekend.But when i clicked into it to read the story it said the page had expired.I looked for the story elsewhere on the net but no luck,just wondering had any of ye heard anything in recent days about it??I know it was talked about before a few times.Hopefully(for me at least) it will be the Irish Ambassador Dan Rooney bringing over his Steelers for the game.Im trying not to get my hopes up too much,theres talks the Steelers will be one of 2 games in Wembley next year so might see them then instead.
It's the Notre Dame v Navy game. Been scheduled since like 2005.
Edit - Here (http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/11/20/story231146.html)
Looking forward to it myself :)
eamo1
27/10/2009, 11:39 AM
An article in the Irish Indo about the Wembley game was saying that in a few weeks time Channel 5 are dropping their NFL coverage due to poor ratings.Skysports are also dropping their Red Button games for the same reason.
Boo_Boy
29/10/2009, 3:24 PM
That is a stupid article for so many reasons.
Sky Sports have not shown red button games since last season.
Sky Sports ratings are up on last year.
FIVE's ratings have doubled despite only showing 1 game per week this year(Sunday Night Football).
The league's viewing figures on Sky Sports are up 55% on last year, while Five has doubled its own ratings despite cutting coverage down to one game a week.
http://www.sportinglife.com/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=American_Football/09/10/21/GRIDIRON_NFL_Nightlead.html
03/11/2009, 3:03 PM
Favre certainly shoved it up the asses of those Packers fans that gave him grief on Sunday. Threw for 244 yards and 4 TD's.:)
Boo_Boy
06/11/2009, 3:39 PM
There was more booing than I expected, still nowhere near the sound level of Jay Cutler returning to Denver but jeez the guy spent 16 years in GB. Didn't expect favre to jump around when the Vikes scored TD's either but meh.
DaveyCakes
14/11/2009, 10:19 PM
What's going on at the Bengals this year? They're winning matches!!
14/11/2009, 10:39 PM
What's going on at the Bengals this year? They're winning matches!!
Their players aren't in jail this year...:D
DaveyCakes
16/11/2009, 8:37 AM
And another! 7-2, the double against the Supoerbowl champs. I'm confused!
I cant believe Steelers lost twice to them either.I was sure it would be between the Ravens and Steelers for the top spot and it would be decided in the games coming up between them soon.There's something not quite right about the Steelers this year,their running game is gone to crap,will still make the playoffs ahead of Bengals(i hope).
What a game Colts v. Pats! Bellichick got that call on 4th and 2 wrong, majorly.
17/11/2009, 8:27 PM
What a game Colts v. Pats! Bellichick got that call on 4th and 2 wrong, majorly.
Yep! What about the brilliant call to have MJD take a knee instead of scoring a TD, in order to run time off the clock in the Jets/Jags game. The Jets were going to let him score so they could get the ball back with almost two minutes left. Jets just got out-smarted on that one!
17/11/2009, 10:16 PM
at least he had te good grace to apologise to the fantasy players :D
I know it is defended as good time management but its awful to see in fairness!!
Hairy Bowsie
30/12/2009, 7:53 AM
I didn't realise there was an NFL thread on here until now. I'm pretty new to American football and am still picking up bits and pieces but already i'm obsessed. I adore the sport now.
Any other Jets fans on here? They got a brilliant result against the colts and their fate is in their own hands, playing the Bengals Sunday who've been really impressive in recent weeks.
not a Jets fan HB but they certainly have played well at times this season. Are you part of the NFL fantasy football league? If not you should sign up next year, its deadly and far more entertaining than the footie ones.
Anyway, im only watching NFL for 3 or 4 seasons now and im a Cardinals (and sometimes 49ers) fan. Its a brilliant sport.
Missed the fantasy league here (stoopid baby) but won the boards.ie one
Perfect sunday night viewing
Hairy Bowsie
30/12/2009, 4:55 PM
not a Jets fan HB but they certainly have played well at times this season. Are you part of the NFL fantasy football league? If not you should sign up next year, its deadly and far more entertaining than the footie ones.
Anyway, im only watching NFL for 3 or 4 seasons now and im a Cardinals (and sometimes 49ers) fan. Its a brilliant sport.
I'm not part of the fantasy football league, like Dodge i missed the boat on that but i'll deffo be signing up next year.
I've literally got every Sunday night cleared now so i don't miss any games and i'll say without any shame that when it comes to watching games on tv, im much perfer American Football to football (i can't bring myself to say the "S" word)
Boo_Boy
30/12/2009, 6:12 PM
Bears have been so disappointing this season, no first day draft picks this year either.
Great win Monday night though, loved beating Favre again.
twoenz
11/01/2010, 3:58 PM
Anyone see the Cardinals and Packers game last night? Highest ever scoring post season game.
Kurt Warner always reminds me of the first Superbowl we had, when the Patriots beat the Rams, back in 2002.
11/01/2010, 4:38 PM
Anyone see the Cardinals and Packers game last night? Highest ever scoring post season game.
Kurt Warner always reminds me of the first Superbowl we had, when the Patriots beat the Rams, back in 2002.
Yeah, some game alright. If the Saints blitz him next week, he'll rip them a new one. It'll be interesting to see what their(Saints) defensive scheme is going to be.
Or he'll rip a beaten up Saints D up. Could be any score with Brees and those receivers too
Any word yet on the teams coming for the 2 Wembley games?Have any of ye heard any more rumours?I registered my interest for tickets on the Skysports website last night.
I wonder will the Ravens beat the Colts on Saturday,very interesting games coming up,cant wait.
DaveyCakes
15/01/2010, 5:12 PM
Broncos @ 49ers on Oct 31.
Also, the BBC will be showing playoff highlights on Monday nights
I just seen it on Skysports site there.Not exactly the biggest teams but i suppose its better then nothing.All the talk about the Colts vs Steelers for the wembley game seem wide of the mark then,unless a second game does happen.
Boo_Boy
15/01/2010, 7:02 PM
I just seen it on Skysports site there.Not exactly the biggest teams but i suppose its better then nothing.All the talk about the Colts vs Steelers for the wembley game seem wide of the mark then,unless a second game does happen.
The Niners have a big following in Europe since the 80's so it would be considered a 'big' team with a big following.
Steelers & Colts don't play each other in 2010.
Frank76
15/01/2010, 10:46 PM
Jets all the way
16/01/2010, 12:46 AM
All the talk about the Colts vs Steelers for the wembley game seem wide of the mark then,unless a second game does happen.
I'm a member of a good few NFL forums and didn't hear that rumour. Never mind all of it
2 decent teams who should be competing for a play off spot next year. If either gets a QB they'll probably make it. Big enough names though
17/01/2010, 10:17 PM
Loved watching Favre destroy the Dallas Cryboys! Gonna be tough at the Saints next week though. Jets only down 7 at the half.
18/01/2010, 2:14 PM
Great finish to the Jets/Chargers game. Great call by Ryan on 4th and 1 with 1:55 on the click to go for it and run the clock down. I'd love to see the Jets go all the way now...unlikely though, but you never know!
WindmillWarrior
19/01/2010, 8:36 AM
perfer American Football to football (i can't bring myself to say the "S" word)
If in a situation where the "s" word is nearly expected to be heard (talking to GAA heads or whatever) maybe saying Association football would be better. Then again that makes you sound like a bit of a div I suppose!
I'm a Jets fan as well btw. Sunday nights game was unreal!
DaveyCakes
19/01/2010, 6:42 PM
Saints-Vikings should be a cracker.
kingcorner
20/01/2010, 12:28 PM
Just found this thread now, shame the season is nearly over!
How long has everyone been following the NFL?
I have really only started watching it since 2003 when i started supporting Carolina. Have been fairly bad since then but what can you do!
20/01/2010, 1:00 PM
Just found this thread now, shame the season is nearly over!
How long has everyone been following the NFL?
I have really only started watching it since 2003 when i started supporting Carolina. Have been fairly bad since then but what can you do!
Since '87/'88. Jags fan and season ticket holder. And yes, the Jags suck at the moment also. Young team, but should be good in a year or two.
SaucyJack
20/01/2010, 1:37 PM
Since '87/'88. Jags fan and season ticket holder. And yes, the Jags suck at the moment also. Young team, but should be good in a year or two.
I see some mock drafts having Tebow going to you guys in the FIRST round, that'd be a mistake, he'd sell tickets for awhile, but only for so long.
20/01/2010, 1:55 PM
I see some mock drafts having Tebow going to you guys in the FIRST round, that'd be a mistake, he'd sell tickets for awhile, but only for so long.
I'd be surprised if they took him in the first round to be honest, as there are other area's of concern with the team. Tebow is a local lad and a lot of fans are hoping the Jags draft him. The problem I see with Tebow is his release. He has a long wind up and that is too slow for the NFL. He'll have to improve his mechanics if he's going to make it in the big time. We've already been down that road with Byron Leftwich.
INcredible NFC game, Both sides unbelievably nervous. Tense, tense stuff
Here's hoping the Saints settle and win the whole thing now
27/01/2010, 10:14 AM
So it's the Colts v the Saints... not exactly what I was hoping for, but still will be a spectacle.
Colts were awesome in the second half against the Jets, 23 unanswered points with Manning throwing for fun. Hope they win it now.
Aberdonian Stu
27/01/2010, 11:24 AM
It's a very tough match up to call. Colts are the definition of prohibitive favourites, I could see the betting line fluctuate wildly depending on fitness reports etc over the next week and a half. I'm going to hold off making a prediction until this time next week.
09/02/2010, 12:53 AM
Can't tell you how much I love this photo
http://www.ordoh.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/074009rlx.jpg
kingcorner
10/02/2010, 7:43 AM
What did everyone make of the superbowl this year?
I taught it was very good myself, was struggling to stay awake until half time but managed it!!
When the Colts went 10-0 up I taught that was it but New Orleans fought back well and deserved it. I was also disappointed with Peyton Manning, besides the brilliant touchdown pass he made in the 1st I think we didnt see the best of him.