View Full Version : Astro / 5-a-side league.

Xlex
28/01/2004, 1:37 PM
Would anyone be interested in an astro turf/5-a-side league to run in conjuction with the 2004 calendar?

Xlex
28/01/2004, 1:40 PM
only two rounds rather than the four...

28/01/2004, 1:44 PM
??

Is this LTFC or all prem clubs?

Xlex
28/01/2004, 2:22 PM
eL General...

a premier league where by we set fixtures according to our clubs fixtures... two rounds rather than four so you get a chance to play each team home or away... if a fixture isn't played then the home team gets a 2-0 win... etc...

28/01/2004, 3:02 PM
mite be interested in this

28/01/2004, 3:28 PM
Pats promoted to take UCD's place so:)

28/01/2004, 3:29 PM
give us more details thou !
Where would we play matches etc.....

28/01/2004, 3:35 PM
Originally posted by Roo69
give us more details thou !
Where would we play matches etc.....
Longford home games not a problem - we have the pitches at the flansiro....

Xlex
28/01/2004, 3:45 PM
Can't see games outside of each division working...Sorry Bray and UCD...

five-a-side/Astro only and in Longford's case, if you can't play away from home we would be delighted to play 2*home games... in lieu...

On the weekend of a given tie an arrangement can be made (by the home side) at suitable facilities, to provide a game of five a sdie to the visiting teams supporters... it is handy enough particularly for Town, saturday afternoons... you have to get the idea, just ask any questions have a scoot amongst your fellow supporters then get back...

Maybe we can get a bit of a site going and post reports and such...

STIG, 4-5-1 and flansiro have had teams in the past...

28/01/2004, 3:48 PM
Originally posted by Xlex
Can't see games outside of each division working...Sorry Bray and UCD... Maybe a first division (:() competition would be possible.

28/01/2004, 3:54 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
Maybe a first division (:() competition would be possible.
Us, Bray(?) and Harps? Do we even have contacts yet for the rest?

28/01/2004, 4:55 PM
We've already challenged Limerick. The Cobh forum is here, there's an Athlone forum, Galway (JC) - plenty of possibilities.

Course it does mean that we can't defend the title we've won the last two years!

Although admittedly through not fulfilling some of our away games last season...

Best of luck with it though - 'twas always our intention (by which I mean the two teams who took part in the initial match, Longford and UCD) to try and make it as big as possible. Nice to see someone making a good go of it! An idea we had was to charge a nominal entry fee and buy and inscribe a trophy.

29/01/2004, 9:25 AM
i was talkin to a few lads a while ago who are coming down to a home game with me some weekend, if yee lads have no one to play that day we'll give yee a game, it will be a mixed supporters teams, de town, shels etc !!

a bit of PR, section O Vs the Stand ????

30/01/2004, 12:49 PM
Presume it's better trying this when the fixture list comes out, but you'd get teams from -

Longford (been in the last two years)
Cork (last year)
Pat's (per post above)
Derry (had a team ready to play us in Belfield Park but there was already a half-time match on).

And from the First Division -
Bray
UCD
Harps (?)
Limerick

Kildare, Dublin City and Cobh also have their main forums here, so we could get them too. Shels, Bohs, Drohgeda and Galway all have fanzines, who could put in a team.

Is it worth putting posts on other clubs' forums to see what the response is like? Say a tenner entry for each team to cover a trophy, with the rest being prize money. Xlex can be league overlord (controller, just with a cooler name!), and can get captains' e-mails/contact numbers to send to all other captains, who can then organise games themselves. We'd called the league the "Fans' Association of Ireland; Supporters Have It Too, Even!". It's an acronym...

Anyone any other ideas/suggestions?

30/01/2004, 1:54 PM
Originally posted by max power
a bit of PR, section O Vs the Stand ????
Count me in - not sure how good the PR will be though... mwa ha ha...

30/01/2004, 1:57 PM
well when the fixtures come out if shels can't get a team we will and the stand v section O war shall be finished in the proper manner, on the pitch, followed by light refreshments, i.e. beer !!!

04/02/2004, 11:50 AM
I'd imagine that we should be on for it, no promises but we shall see.

04/02/2004, 4:57 PM
We have proven time and time again that we are the best team in the country, at 5/6 a side anyways. UCD lost to us by 9 goals in the space of 28 mins (they student wasters showed up 32 mins late). Also Longford have felt our wrath, even though we played with a man less than them.

I reckon we would beat anyone who came near us!

04/02/2004, 7:23 PM
Originally posted by Gary
I reckon we would beat anyone who came near us!

Yeah, unless someone can put up a serious challenge to us there's not much point in doing the whole thing.
It'll only be a waste of time if the Rebel Army beat every other fans team by 10 or more goals!

05/02/2004, 7:21 AM
well as i've said to macy, if you come to dublin and can't get a game, the nomad fans will play you....we are open to all teams.

Aberdonian Stu
05/02/2004, 11:57 AM
And if you could win a league based on home form alone then all well and good but have the City fans ever won on their travels?

And before you go complaining about the team we fielded against ye up here need I not remind you that Longford drew with you last season as well.

One result against a bunch of painfully hungover/stoned lads who were hardly prime speicmens of humanity to begin with does not make you world beaters lads and it certainly doesn't mean the league is a joke.

As the two examples above show the league is capable of being competitive and the more seriously people take it the better/worse it gets. The reason I leave worse as an option is because their is still meant to be a level of fun involved so teams that train are bordering on cheating.

If we get other clubs involved, although I for one have always had reservations about expanding it too quickly, and try to run separate leagues for the two divisions (with perhaps a big session up on the astro in Belfield some weekend in the summer for both divisions).

Whatever the situation it is a ridiculous boast to say the league would be uncompetitive.

05/02/2004, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by Aberdonian Stu
And if you could win a league based on home form alone then all well and good but have the City fans ever won on their travels?
Gunther OUT! :D

And before you go complaining about the team we fielded against ye up here need I not remind you that Longford drew with you last season as well.
Jesus, couldn't even beat Stapo's army and then saying they're too good!

05/02/2004, 12:33 PM
UCD lost to us by 9 goals in the space of 28 mins (they student wasters showed up 32 mins late).

But we did beat you the first time around! And didn't you only draw with Longford?

Same old City...:D

05/02/2004, 6:14 PM
with perhaps a big session up on the astro in Belfield some weekend in the summer for both divisions.

Surely, if such a "big session" were to take place, it would have to be in Cork. The Dublin bias has gone on long enough.;)

05/02/2004, 7:52 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
But we did beat you the first time around! And didn't you only draw with Longford?

Hhhhmm if i remember correctly that game ended 3-5 to the City lads.

see above

we are hardly prime speicmens of humanity

Couldnt have phrased that better myself. Student lowlifes.

06/02/2004, 7:37 AM
Originally posted by Colm
Surely, if such a "big session" were to take place, it would have to be in Cork. The Dublin bias has gone on long enough.;)

well said, why have it at one side or end of the country, have it at flancare, right in the middle so no one can complain ( but i have a feeling some one from cork will )

Aberdonian Stu
06/02/2004, 11:55 AM
I only suggested Belfield because if we were going to have a large number we could book a few pitches beside each other for multiple games. Hence if we had a big multi-team session it might be handy.

Typical paranoia that I was trying to show a Dublin bias. If not there then I reckon Cork (or Galway if they enter) because I'd rather have it somewhere with a Kinlay House. Cheap and cheerful.

06/02/2004, 12:01 PM
May as well just face facts that Leinster teams dominate the league, so they'd be more teams if it's held in Dublin....

06/02/2004, 12:02 PM
Cork??? I presume that Colm was joking with his little winking emoticon there for emphasis. The fact that Cork is about as far from a central location as it's possible to get is a bit of an issue I'd say. Dublin, truth be told would be a natural place to hold such an event were everybody to take part but as we're looking at a very partial bag at the moment (and I've yet to see any comitment from any of the North Western teams) I think someplace like Kilkenny or Kildare is about as central as we'll get.

The other option would be to rotate where it's held and at that point I'd nominate UCD to host the first purely because they've brought it up.

06/02/2004, 12:07 PM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
The other option would be to rotate where it's held and at that point I'd nominate UCD to host the first purely because they've brought it up.
Seconded, with the winners hosting it from then on?

06/02/2004, 12:12 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Seconded, with the winners hosting it from then on?

Sounds like a plan to me.

Breifne
06/02/2004, 12:21 PM
Can't promise anything, but Dublin City might be able to get something together for this, the only problem is that we are playing Thursday nights in Tolka, it mightn't be the best night to have it. It could also be set up and run through our club website, (I know the webmaster quite well).

06/02/2004, 1:06 PM
Hhhhmm if i remember correctly that game ended 3-5 to the City lads.

You remember wrongly, my cheating friend! It was 5-4 to us!

The Longford game was 4-4 as far as I heard. Other games involving Cork have been cancelled as you didn't feel up to playing after going out on the drink!!!:eek: :eek:

06/02/2004, 1:07 PM
Oi, you lot. Hows about contacting Rooney on this, in conjunction with the 'iniative'????

Could get a nice cash prize for the winners - us!!!!

When could we do this?

06/02/2004, 1:24 PM
Originally posted by Breifne
Can't promise anything, but Dublin City might be able to get something together for this, the only problem is that we are playing Thursday nights in Tolka, it mightn't be the best night to have it. It could also be set up and run through our club website, (I know the webmaster quite well).

That reminds me. Are girls allowed to play??? :)

06/02/2004, 5:15 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Macy
Gunther OUT! :D

Jesus, couldn't even beat Stapo's army and then saying they're too good! [/QUOT

And pauro seven even playin with the rebelless army!:D

09/03/2004, 12:54 PM
Seeing as the fixtures are out now, I said I'd bring this thread up again. Interested teams at the moment (from both divisions) are -

UCD
Cork
Longford
Pat's
Harps
Dublin City
Bray
Limerick
Derry

That's nearly half the league. Is it worth posting on other clubs' forums/e-mailing the fanzines or Supporters' Clubs to see if other teams are up for it? First series of games includes Cork v. Dublin City, Pat's v. Derry and Bray v. UCD just from the teams above.

Easiest would be to book a court for the day after/day of the proper game rather than trying to get everyone together in the one place. But we can try the latter if people want to give it a try.

What do others think?

09/03/2004, 1:04 PM
i feel section O must be crushed first before the serious business starts.....

09/03/2004, 1:08 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
Easiest would be to book a court for the day after/day of the proper game rather than trying to get everyone together in the one place. But we can try the latter if people want to give it a try.

day of/day after is a no/no - football fans like to drink before and after games in my experience and not all trips are overnighters/long stopovers

tournament bout best option

09/03/2004, 1:10 PM
well have it in the middle of the country to fair to all traveling teams,how about longford ????

09/03/2004, 2:08 PM
well have it in the middle of the country to fair to all traveling teams,how about longford ????

If want middle of the country probably should be Athlone but would the Gardai be able to guarantee security ;)

09/03/2004, 2:09 PM
don't know, but we have lovely new pitches at flancare and it could be the opening tournament....

09/03/2004, 2:20 PM
Well how about a match when City play De Town at the start of April?

That'd get the ball rolling.

09/03/2004, 2:23 PM
i can't speak for others who normally play in these games , i first want to crush section O

09/03/2004, 2:25 PM
Just ignore Max Power, he's just a blow in to this 5 a side lark and won't be on the section O team....

The proposal to the floor was that UCD would host first, then winner's host from then on.... I think a tournament would be better, but nothing to stop matches being played around fixtures if they can be arranged. IMO you wouldn't/couldn't expect all teams to fulfil all fixtures in a league format (and we're cross divisions at the moment anyway).

09/03/2004, 2:27 PM
macy carful what you say, i never said i had anything to do with section O and have clearly stated i am against you if you bother to read what i said, you have also chickened out of a game against the stand so put up or shut up yourself......i'm no blow in by the way........

09/03/2004, 2:31 PM
Chicken? I'm just waiting to confirm I'll be down the weekend of the Bohs game. I should be so we'll have that provisionally.

Blow in to this 5-a-side lark. Not blow in to anything else.

09/03/2004, 2:35 PM
no blow in just back from a year long injury....i've been playin sport in longord for many years...........i just can't wait to silence section O for good, it will be such a plesure.....

Xlex
09/03/2004, 2:39 PM
i've been playin sport in longord for many years

is that what you call it?;)

09/03/2004, 2:41 PM
fúckin hell, the old eL MB Match seems so much less hassle than this.....