View Full Version : Tallaght

Pages : 1 [2]

13/07/2009, 6:50 PM
Did Pats not in the recent past ask for fans who bought lifelong tickets in Harolds Cross to surrender them and start paying in again?

Most clubs have in the past borrowed from tomorrow to pay for today!

bhs

Nope, life members still get in free.

And of course loads of clubs have done it. Thats the point.

blackholesun
13/07/2009, 9:02 PM
Nope, life members still get in free.

Yes, they still get in free, but the club did ask last year the life ticket fans to consider voluntarily surrender their tickets and start paying in again, did they not?

bhs

13/07/2009, 9:32 PM
i love the way when a thread gets bogged down in chat about how clubs should be run etc etc, up pops ucd fans to take their little moral high ground on the matter! :D

Ah come on TBH - it's all they've got......! :)

13/07/2009, 9:39 PM
Yes, they still get in free, but the club did ask last year the life ticket fans to consider voluntarily surrender their tickets and start paying in again, did they not?

Not to the two I know.

14/07/2009, 7:31 AM
I think what galls some people (certainly me) is that Rovers are held up as a shining financial model for the league when they're having to adopt extraordinary measures to both stay competitive and stay alive, just like everyone else.
It's not really an extraordinary measure though is it - it's a once every few years option? I guess it's all relative though, they're not perfect, but if every club was run to a similar model, the league would be much more sustainable. I mean it's not like they're being run in such a way that they'll go bang midseason, is it?

Dalymountrower
14/07/2009, 8:41 AM
Anyhow.... I liked the new SDCC stadium for about 86 minutes:mad:.

The crowd segregation for the Bohs match was a disgrace though, a complaint was made to the FAI about that but its difficult to see how else it could have been done without taking another 500 seats out of commission for the fixture

Preumably with the new stand the away fans will be accommodated there?

The stadium does look great from the road and is clearly a welcome addition to Tallaght and the North Wicklow region

16/07/2009, 3:03 PM
howya Sheridan.
Did you get up to much over the weekend ? See any good films ? :D:)
I did actually, I saw the 60s Russian Western/Eastern "White Sun of the Desert." It was really good, apparently cosmonauts watch it ritually before their missions.

16/07/2009, 3:44 PM
Now that fans of every club in the PD have visited Tallaght Stadium, what do you think?I don't think it's too safe;)

16/07/2009, 10:02 PM
howya Sheridan.
Did you get up to much over the weekend ? See any good films ?

What you doing this weekend? Heading to the home game?:p:D

16/07/2009, 10:12 PM
I might head along myself for the buzz. Does anyone know which LUAS stop I get off at for Tolka Park? :confused:

HarpoJoyce
17/07/2009, 6:53 AM
i love the way when a thread gets bogged down in chat about how clubs should be run etc etc, up pops ucd fans to take their little moral high ground on the matter! :D

Name and Shame. 'specially if it includes Moderators.

The stadium does look great from the road and is clearly a welcome addition to Tallaght and the North Wicklow region

West Wicklow. County Wicklow is divided between West and East, the spine of the Dublin Mountains goes down through the middle of it.

placid casual
17/07/2009, 9:10 AM
What you doing this weekend? Heading to the home game?:p:D

I go wherever Rovers takes me.:)

what about yourself. up to much ?
still trying to find 6 fingered gloves ?
has your sister dropped the charges yet?

Dalymountrower
17/07/2009, 10:57 AM
Name and Shame. 'specially if it includes Moderators.

West Wicklow. County Wicklow is divided between West and East, the spine of the Dublin Mountains goes down through the middle of it.

West Wicklow it is, hang my head for being so geographically incorrect:o

17/07/2009, 12:07 PM
I go wherever Rovers takes me.:)

what about yourself. up to much ?
still trying to find 6 fingered gloves ?
has your sister dropped the charges yet?

Worst. Insult. Ever.

31/10/2009, 9:48 AM
Yeah I'd basically agree with a lot of what's being said. Great stand, great pitch, great facilities. However, it cannot be judged until the opposite stand is finished.

Right, every club bar one has re-visited Tallaght, the new stand is up, and there is a higher visiting allocation. So what's the verdict now?

HarpoJoyce
31/10/2009, 10:42 AM
Right, every club bar one has re-visited Tallaght, the new stand is up, and there is a higher visiting allocation. So what's the verdict now?

Athlone Town Stadium is still class.

31/10/2009, 11:16 AM

They could have spruced the place up with a trophy...

forza rovers
31/10/2009, 12:20 PM
They could have spruced the place up with a trophy...well do it but the trophy wont be there long!who would have thought rovers lifting the cup in tallaght

tallaghthoop
31/10/2009, 7:15 PM

Mypost whats the story with you?? Like the insults or something, i'm rovers through and through and your a bit of a thick thinking your gonna get " yeah we love your stadium dude its fantastic".............give it a break man:mad:

stamullendrog
31/10/2009, 11:07 PM
Mypost whats the story with you?? Like the insults or something, i'm rovers through and through and your a bit of a thick thinking your gonna get " yeah we love your stadium dude its fantastic".............give it a break man:mad:

if only you knew why he was banned off irish kop you wouldnt have needed to ask that question;)

tallaghthoop
03/11/2009, 2:17 AM
Mypost please accept my apologies for what has been interpeted as an insult, i have recieved an infraction for it. There are very little Shamrock Rovers fans on here and it will continue as long as silly threads about the club continue. We are all football fans and wanna talk footie, not bitching back and forward about who's got better this that and the other.

Once again apologies Tallaghthoop

rerun
03/11/2009, 6:45 AM

...but at least they'll have a club next season...

03/11/2009, 7:15 AM
They could have spruced the place up with a trophy...

Have to find room for the other 39 first..

03/11/2009, 4:38 PM
My other complaint is those metal things that look like they're meant to hold a sign or something. They just get in the way of your view of the pitch.
These things: http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/7899/img0151esy.jpg

Them things are still there, but now they have signs in them. They're really annoying.

04/11/2009, 1:10 AM
Mypost please accept my apologies for what has been interpeted as an insult,

Once again apologies Tallaghthoop

I don't start many threads here, but I did so in this case, because I was genuinely interested in seeing the feedback from the visitors.
Some want to turn it into another mickey thread, but I'm going to ignore them. Constructive comments pro and con, are welcome.

04/11/2009, 7:53 AM
Them things are still there, but now they have signs in them. They're really annoying.

Yeah why have signs like that in the middle of a stand? There is no reason for restricted views in a brand new stadium.

Ceirtlis
04/11/2009, 12:45 PM
I don't start many threads here, but I did so in this case, because I was genuinely interested in seeing the feedback from the visitors.
Some want to turn it into another mickey thread, but I'm going to ignore them. Constructive comments pro and con, are welcome.

Was there for the first time on Friday and I liked the stadium. Nicer than any of the other stadiums Dublin. The two stands link well together as they are directly opposite each other and are more or less the same width and size, probably the only ground in the country where this is the case.

Only thing is it was grand on Friday when there was a good crowd. It probably wouldnt be the same with half of that in there. Good luck with keeping up the crowds, based on recent history in the Loi you will have your work cut out if you are not challenging for the league.

marinobohs
05/11/2009, 10:18 AM
Some want to turn it into another mickey thread, but I'm going to ignore them. Constructive comments pro and con, are welcome.#

PROS
Nice ground
good infastructure (public transport)
catering OK (may be better for non Bohs games)
parking available (could also be a CON due to delays)
quick and easy access even for bohs game (except for garda delay in exiting)

CONS
Wind tunnel effect of two open ends (at foot of Dublin mountains)
those sign holder things blocking view
KKK fan base.

Overall SDCC new ground is a good location for a game and a welcome addition to the footie scene in Dublin.

RoversHead
05/11/2009, 11:09 AM
Love the colour at the games in Tallaght ,in particular the Ultras banners and crowd covers with the clenched left fist and the hammer and sickles.sure I suppose if we are pretending that the square is in Wicklow its no great jump to pretend that these are the flags of a kkk fanbase.:cool:

05/11/2009, 12:09 PM
those sign holder things blocking viewWhat stand are they in front of, new one or old one? or both?

marinobohs
05/11/2009, 2:30 PM
What stand are they in front of, new one or old one? or both?

was only in the (not so) old stand. Good stand to be fair just annoying that these things blocked the view.

marinobohs
05/11/2009, 2:33 PM
Love the colour at the games in Tallaght ,in particular the Ultras banners and crowd covers with the clenched left fist and the hammer and sickles.sure I suppose if we are pretending that the square is in Wicklow its no great jump to pretend that these are the flags of a kkk fanbase.:cool:

Just as I'm not sure the "left wing" vibe is in tune with the rascist actions of an element of your support. Always believed actions spoke louder than words (or pictures).

05/11/2009, 2:34 PM
Rovers fans (of the Shamrock persuasion), any truth in the rumour that your rent is going to increase significantly next year?

05/11/2009, 3:21 PM
was only in the (not so) old stand.Will only affect the Fingal fan(s;)) during the final so:)

marinobohs
05/11/2009, 3:46 PM
Will only affect the Fingal fan(s;)) during the final so:)

what, all 42 of them ? :)

05/11/2009, 8:18 PM
What does the east stand hold? 3,000? We've more or less sold it out already.

Ezeikial
15/08/2016, 2:28 PM
Design For Third Stand At Tallaght Stadium Being Assembled
In a report in the Tallaght Echo (http://www.echo.ie/tallaght/article/plans-for-stadium-s-new-stand-should-be-a-priority)today, it stated that ‘South Dublin County Council has been called on prioritise progress in respect of proposals to build a new Stand at Tallaght Stadium, and allow Tallaght Stadium to reach its true potential.’

Local councillor Charlie O’Connor raised the matter at the May meeting of the Tallaght Area Committee.

Council Management have told Cllr O’Connor that “a Design Team for the third Stand at Tallaght Stadium is currently being assembled and will commence work during June 2016. The architect’s department has also advised that the Design Team will be conducting a feasibility study considering the Stand to the North or the South and make their recommendations accordingly.”

The ground is home to Shamrock Rovers and currently can host 6,000 seated as capacity.
http://leagueofireland.ie/index.php/2016/08/15/design-for-third-stand-at-tallaght-stadium-being-assembled/

gufcfan
15/08/2016, 2:40 PM
http://leagueofireland.ie/index.php/2016/08/15/design-for-third-stand-at-tallaght-stadium-being-assembled/

Really annoying when websites won't date their articles. The league site does this too.

15/08/2016, 2:43 PM
Really annoying when websites won't date their articles. The league site does this too.

There is a date on it.