View Full Version : 0-3 v Cork City

Pages : 1 [2]

dublinred
13/07/2009, 10:20 AM
When I wrote this, I of course had forgotten that you'd be in eastern europe two days before the game.
I assume tiredness etc., was a factor, because we're not that good in fairness.

Yeah team got back at 2am on saturday can understand the fans travelling to Albania via dubrovnik to save a few quid but the team should of went via tirana to avoid crazy bus journeys . Going to have to battle hard from now, squad size and injuries are crippling us fitness seems to be an issue as well this year .

13/07/2009, 10:25 AM
one of the starting 11 last night had a drink on the flight? One came on as a sub, so trying to paint them all as being drunk does not wash or using that as an excuse for what was a shocking performance.I'm not saying they were all drinking or that that was the reason we played poor, just that it should not be happening in a professional club who are down near bottom of the table and aren't fit enough mid-way through a season in my opinion(and obviously Cook's opinion as he went down to them when he was made aware of it).

DaveyCakes
13/07/2009, 11:05 AM
Ah lads jeez grow up with this sensationalism s**t, no wonder our country is turning into a police state.

I find it very amusing that you're complaining about sensationalism in the same sentence as claiming that Ireland is turning into a police state:D

13/07/2009, 11:21 AM
Haven't read the thread, so sorry if i repeat what anyone said.

We were muck last night, but, the game really should not have been played till Tuesday. The team only returned from Albania early Friday morning, thats ONE full day to recover, plus one or two of our part timers may have had to work yesterday. We were seriously jaded, and looked it after ten minutes. Cork are an awful team to watch, and were last night, but they made the chances and we didnt, and its very frustrating to watch your team fail to even make decent chances when you know we've some fantastic players.

Owen Morrsion is becoming more and more frustrating to watch. Fantastic footballer, but the lad does not give a monkeys. Thought Ventre was brilliant last night before he got sent off, but we do need another centre half, badly!

Rovers Maniac
13/07/2009, 1:06 PM
I'm not saying they were all drinking or that that was the reason we played poor, just that it should not be happening in a professional club who are down near bottom of the table and aren't fit enough mid-way through a season in my opinion(and obviously Cook's opinion as he went down to them when he was made aware of it).

Look if you feel that way why make some auld dry remark about it?! I was leaving the showgrounds yesterday and a Rovers fan (who was not in Albania) told me that the reason we were brutal is that it was that the whole team were drunk on Friday !!!! and like it or not thats what a lot of people would have read into your remark about some of them being in "high spirits" !!!

This is going to be the stick the beats this team for the coming weeks, rather than as other people have said us needing a decent centre back and a decent central midfielder, the answers to our problems will be now that we lock the team up until they start winning. Our team is not good enough we need these extra players to compete. We have two new strikers, Parkhouse to return and two other players in Cretaro and Boco who can play up front. The real issue at hand imo is we are weak in key areas of the team which right down the centre of it. I just hope we can get players for these positions asap.

Da Real Rover
13/07/2009, 4:04 PM
Muck, the team could at least pretend to care.
Bar Keane, Ventre, Boco and Raf it just seemed the rest didnt care tbh.
Lacked any creativity, drive or incision in midfield and any potency in front of goal the few times it amde it to Corks danger area.
We are putting togethor some fine relegation form here, and believe me with performances like that We are good enough to go down.

13/07/2009, 4:08 PM
Muck, the team could at least pretend to care.
Bar Keane, Ventre, Boco and Raf.

I would add Brush to that list.

Da Real Rover
13/07/2009, 4:15 PM
I would add Brush to that list.
True.

sligofan4ever
13/07/2009, 4:46 PM
True.

You left out Gavin Peers unless your on about who was playing last night.

Da Real Rover
13/07/2009, 5:26 PM
You left out Gavin Peers unless your on about who was playing last night.
Just on about the team last night.

brianw82
13/07/2009, 6:09 PM
I think Boco must be moved into central midfield and either O'Grady or Ryan dropped. I know he's great at RB but we have to change something in central midfield, and bar bringing in another midfielder, that's the only option I can think of. At least he'd be able to run at people and do something.

Redkenrover
13/07/2009, 8:05 PM
Throwing this one out there for opinions, looking at our current situation, financial and all that, would it be a bad thing to approach Michael McNamara if Sligo are beaten by Kerry? Probably wouldnt cost a fortune and at least would have played in that position before, could release Ventre into midfield as another option.

13/07/2009, 8:08 PM
Throwing this one out there for opinions, looking at our current situation, financial and all that, would it be a bad thing to approach Michael McNamara if Sligo are beaten by Kerry? Probably wouldnt cost a fortune and at least would have played in that position before, could release Ventre into midfield as another option.

I doubt he'd want to come back. Hopefully Blinkhorn and Turner will be a success. Switch Rommy and Raf to the wings.

sligofan4ever
13/07/2009, 8:09 PM

Would be interesting to see what sort of a difference Ventre will make alonside O' Grady this season but I think we can do better than McNamara.

Redkenrover
13/07/2009, 8:20 PM
Would be interesting to see what sort of a difference Ventre will make alonside O' Grady this season but I think we can do better than McNamara.

Only thing is, we are after signing two strikers, cant be much money left in the kitty for a centre back and where are we going to get a quality one on the cheap. Will be hard to attract top players to a struggling team unless we can offer them good money. Our focus needs to be to strengthen defence.

I would like to see what Boco and Ventre would be like in the middle.

sligofan4ever
13/07/2009, 8:26 PM
Only thing is, we are after signing two strikers, cant be much money left in the kitty for a centre back and where are we going to get a quality one on the cheap. Will be hard to attract top players to a struggling team unless we can offer them good money. Our focus needs to be to strengthen defence.

I would like to see what Boco and Ventre would be like in the middle.

Turner and Blinkhorn were free, Blinkhorn got released by Morcambe in May and I dont know who Turner last played with.

red arrow
13/07/2009, 8:31 PM
no turner was not free. he was recomended by gerry cassidy & paul cooke did not source him. cassidy has got players for rovers in the past. we need to get both turner & blinkhorn match fit which will take another few weeks & hopefully they can be of benefit to the club. our major concern is gavin peers who i believe is having a scan this week. keep your fingers crossed & say a few prayers tht gavin will be ok.

Redkenrover
13/07/2009, 8:41 PM
Turner and Blinkhorn were free, Blinkhorn got released by Morcambe in May and I dont know who Turner last played with.

Fair point but they still have to be paid each week. Does anyone know if we had to pay money to the players who have left the club

Only1Rovers
13/07/2009, 9:15 PM
Peers said he was to have the scan today (Monday).

I thought Cook should have left Turner on the pitch and put Morrisson on the left with Raf on the right. At least the two of them could have tried to put balls into Blinkhorn and Turner.

CarrickFan
14/07/2009, 1:51 PM

Dont really think McNamara would add much..was good in the 1st division but its a step up and he has been away from soccer a couple of years now.....also lads dont like to criticse any player but the calls for Ventre to play in central midfield on this thread amaze me!!..we are complaining of a lack of creativity for the stikers and ye reckon putting the player with probably the least amount of football in him in midfield will change that?..he tries hard and is an ok defender but a central midfielder he aint!!..also his temper is a liabilty..when i see him going for a challange i fear the worst..always likely to make a rash tackle and get ANOTHER red card...and that is no help to anyone.

showgies
14/07/2009, 3:41 PM
Dont really think McNamara would add much..was good in the 1st division but its a step up and he has been away from soccer a couple of years now.....also lads dont like to criticse any player but the calls for Ventre to play in central midfield on this thread amaze me!!..we are complaining of a lack of creativity for the stikers and ye reckon putting the player with probably the least amount of football in him in midfield will change that?..he tries hard and is an ok defender but a central midfielder he aint!!..also his temper is a liabilty..when i see him going for a challange i fear the worst..always likely to make a rash tackle and get ANOTHER red card...and that is no help to anyone.

Agreed

Redkenrover
14/07/2009, 9:55 PM

I think you may have missed the point in the calls for Ventre for centre mid.
There seems to be two problems in midfield, no creativity and no bite. I think certainly Ventre is not the answer to the creativity problem but could give a more physical element to midfield, to be honest O Grady just hasn't been making the tackles and there is no protection for a weak back four. I would like to see Boco (for the creative side) in the middle. At least he might give an attacking edge in there. When was the last time one of our midfield made runs beyond the front two? We just seem so slow in our build up play and before anyone starts I'm not advocating a hoof ball approach, but all we seem to do is get the ball out wide and then maybe pass it across ther pitch again.

Hope you are not so amazed now;):D

Redkenrover
14/07/2009, 10:00 PM
And I also take on board your point about his temper but the only way you can guarantee he wont be sent off is to leave him on the bench, a luxury we cant afford at present.

CarrickFan
14/07/2009, 10:14 PM
I think you may have missed the point in the calls for Ventre for centre mid.
There seems to be two problems in midfield, no creativity and no bite. I think certainly Ventre is not the answer to the creativity problem but could give a more physical element to midfield, to be honest O Grady just hasn't been making the tackles and there is no protection for a weak back four. I would like to see Boco (for the creative side) in the middle. At least he might give an attacking edge in there. When was the last time one of our midfield made runs beyond the front two? We just seem so slow in our build up play and before anyone starts I'm not advocating a hoof ball approach, but all we seem to do is get the ball out wide and then maybe pass it across ther pitch again.

Hope you are not so amazed now;):D

I take ur points..dont think Danny would offer any more than O'Grady..am a fan of his even if its not his best season..Bocu could be a good option but i like him out wide...i'd be afraid it Ventre was asked to add "bite" to our midfield we'd finish with 10 men every week..needs to cop on a little in that respect imo.