View Full Version : Oxegen 2009
Iorfa2MaccaJim
09/07/2009, 5:33 PM
So it has arrived.
The greatest rock & pop fest to grace The Emerald Isle.
Who's going.
I'm going (just for the day) tomorrow. It's my first time.
The band I am really looking forward to seeing is my favourite band Keane, but I am also looking forward to seeing : The Script, Snow Patrol, and Lilly Allen.
Who are you looking forward to seeing ?
09/07/2009, 5:39 PM
I'm going, camping for the weekend, heading up tomorrow morning. 2nd year in a row, but I cant help but feel the line up this year isn't as good as last year. There's actually very little worth seeing on Friday IMO. But sure it will be a bit of craic anyway! :D
09/07/2009, 6:05 PM
The weathermen ain't making it sounds too hot for ye! :)
09/07/2009, 6:06 PM
Yup, not looking good unfortunately. :( Just have to make the most of it though!
soccerc
09/07/2009, 6:08 PM
Where you never young?
The weather neither takes or adds to the sense of occasion during a rite of passage LOL. However for those whom this event is not their first festival then rain is a bugger :D
09/07/2009, 6:14 PM
I've been to Glastonbury 4 times soccerc, and it rained for 3 of them. The first time I wasn't bothered in the least, the second time it was mildly annoying, the last time was... well, the last time. Next time I'm going to Roskilde, and I'm arriving in an RV to be sure to be sure. :)
09/07/2009, 6:20 PM
I'm far too old for all that nonsense now so I'm going to see Springsteen instead.
Some good acts though, yeah yeah yeahs would be my hghlight.
soccerc
09/07/2009, 6:35 PM
I've been to Glastonbury 4 times soccerc, and it rained for 3 of them. The first time I wasn't bothered in the least, the second time it was mildly annoying, the last time was... well, the last time. Next time I'm going to Roskilde, and I'm arriving in an RV to be sure to be sure. :)
Get yourself a Bongo.
Best bit of kit from Mazda but make sure it's the 2.5 diesel with 4WD
Hairy Bowsie
09/07/2009, 6:55 PM
The band I am really looking forward to seeing is my favourite band Keane, but I am also looking forward to seeing : The Script, Snow Patrol, and Lilly Allen.
You'd have really been better off going to the Smash Hits awards to be honest.
I'm going to see Bruce both nights but had i went, i'd be looking forward to seeing Bloc Party, Nick Cave, Blur, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Florence And the Machine and The Gaslight Anthem.
brianw82
09/07/2009, 8:03 PM
Go and see God is an Astronaut. I think they're on the Green Sphere stage on Saturday.
09/07/2009, 10:04 PM
Get yourself a Bongo. Sorry, but it's against my religion to drive something called a Bongo. Ditto Kangoo, and Multipla for good measure just because it looks like it should have an even worse name.
09/07/2009, 11:07 PM
My little sister is on her 3rd trip there but because she turned 18 she is now staying like a big girl on the campsite with some of her friends instead of retreating to the van with the mattress with me like last year or taking the bus home with her brother the year before.
Bless.
Enjoy all who go there and keep your mucky (or even slightly clean) paws of my sister or you will have me to answer to!
soccerc
09/07/2009, 11:10 PM
My little sister is on her 3rd trip there but because she turned 18 she is now staying like a big girl on the campsite with some of her friends instead of retreating to the van with the mattress with me like last year or taking the bus home with her brother the year before.
Bless.
Enjoy all who go there and keep your mucky (or even slightly clean) paws of my sister or you will have me to answer to!
I've just told my youngest to seek out and find baby magicme and to leave his fingerprints all over the innocent Monaghan lass. LOL
His only report an hour ago was that the party was in full swing
10/07/2009, 12:12 AM
was planning on going on Sunday (mainly for Nine Inch Nails and Jane's Addiction) but after the one-two clusterfcuk that was Slane and AC/DC no way in hell would I give MCD another chance to cram too many people onto not enough buses and take 5 hours to do a journey I've done myself in under 60 minutes.
10/07/2009, 12:07 PM
So it has arrived.
...in historic competition with what like? Beat On The Street feat. Electric Eddy?
Where you never young? ...
The weather neither takes or adds to the sense of occasion during a rite of passage LOL. Yes I was and Yes it most certainly does.
Attended Feile 91 as an 18 year old and grimaced my way through most of it for the sake of my me-suffering girlfriend despite the fact I intensly disliked nearly every waking moment of it. Horrible setup, horrible event, horrible weather, horrible, horrible way to see any band.
Yet I have wilfully paid over money to attend two festivals since -one in Holland (actually I was strong armed into going to that one) where despite my discomfort the Dutch still managed to prove yet again that if they had Ireland they'd all be rich and if we had Holland we'd all drown.
Only other doorstep I darkened was Primavera in Barcelona where I refused to enter the ground til just before 11pm and Smashing Pumpkins arrival onstage. It was okay ....I timed it right.
I've been to Glastonbury 4 times soccerc, and it rained for 3 of them. The first time I wasn't bothered in the least, the second time it was mildly annoying, the last time was... well, the last time. Next time I'm going to Roskilde, and I'm arriving in an RV to be sure to be sure. :) If it must be done ...best done proper.
You'd have really been better off going to the Smash Hits awards to be honest... :D
was planning on going on Sunday (mainly for Nine Inch Nails and Jane's Addiction) but after the one-two clusterfcuk that was Slane and AC/DC no way in hell would I give MCD another chance to cram too many people onto not enough buses and take 5 hours to do a journey I've done myself in under 60 minutes.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/content/images/2007/09/18/angusdeayton_1_396x222.jpg ...is the correct answer.
Den Perry
10/07/2009, 12:19 PM
So it has arrived.
Who's going.
I'm going (just for the day) tomorrow. It's my first time.
Who are you looking forward to seeing ?
I'd rather pour petrol over myself and light a match than have to listen / watch the Script. I just don't get the hype, they're boring, whingy...
That said, I would love to go to Oxegen.There are some fantastic acts including the Specials,blur,Kings of Leon, Squeeze, Ting Tings and the DJs playing will make a brilliant weekend
10/07/2009, 12:28 PM
I'd rather pour petrol over myself and light a match than have to listen / watch the Script. I just don't get the hype, they're boring, whingy... I actually suspect they and natasha bedingfield are one and the same entity that can somehow do an Optimus Prime and shapeshift ...think about it. :cool:
10/07/2009, 12:40 PM
Yeah the Script are terrible really really really bad.
Don't think the line up looks all that great to be honest, I'd knock along to see the Saturdays alright, but thats purely for perving reasons.
Other than that I'd rather be raped than give MCD money for that horrible festival. Went once and thought that I'd happily die right now if someone would just drop a bomb on the place and kill everyone around me, and I hear it's actually gotten worse with each passing year:eek:
10/07/2009, 2:31 PM
For all the talk of "completely sold out in record time", there are still tickets available, and the attendance isn't supposed to be much more than 70,000, with approx 10,000 going unsold.
Toutless.com has loads of weekend tickets available, and they can't give them away fast enough on 2fm and Phantom (and I presume Today FM)
10/07/2009, 11:22 PM
Caught the end of Therapys? set on 2fm tonight on the way home from the Rovers match, sounded rocking as ever.
10/07/2009, 11:46 PM
I've just told my youngest to seek out and find baby magicme and to leave his fingerprints all over the innocent Monaghan lass. LOL
His only report an hour ago was that the party was in full swing
Oi dont you dare! Anyway my older brother and his wife are there and am sure if some guy so much as looks at her my brother will track them down and make his wife some new earings from the testicles he has skillfully removed!
11/07/2009, 12:47 AM
Oi dont you dare! Anyway my older brother and his wife are there and am sure if some guy so much as looks at her my brother will track them down and make his wife some new earings from the testicles he has skillfully removed!
I'm glad your brother wasn't at The Breeders.. :eek:
11/07/2009, 1:00 AM
Aw but sure you were well behaved so he would have left you with your breeders!
Well how was it guys?
Having seen most of the big bands before i gave it a miss this year, and seeing the news reports over the wkd, am kinda glad i did. Looked like the same mud fest as the last few years.
Den Perry
13/07/2009, 9:57 AM
Well how was it guys?
Having seen most of the big bands before i gave it a miss this year, and seeing the news reports over the wkd, am kinda glad i did. Looked like the same mud fest as the last few years.
I heard a bit of Snow Patrol on 2FM the other night and it sounded awful. He pulled two birds up on stage to sing and he droned on quite a bit. Now, if I paid money to see them and he pulled two girls out of the audience to sing I'd be fairly unhappy
13/07/2009, 10:18 AM
I heard a bit of Snow Patrol on 2FM the other night and it sounded awful. He pulled two birds up on stage to sing and he droned on quite a bit. Now, if I paid money to see them and he pulled two girls out of the audience to sing I'd be fairly unhappy
Unless you were one of the girls of course.
13/07/2009, 4:55 PM
Killers were amazing last night, put on a fantastic show! Snow Patrol and Kings of Leon were also very good. One of the girls brought up on stage with SP is my cousin's cousin on the other side of the family, couldn't believe it when I saw her up there, although I thought it was a pretty stupid idea from them tbh. Other then that they were very good I thought.
The weather on Saturday was outrageous, got absolutely destroyed, but I suppose these things happen. Had a good weekend overall, although it wasn't as good as last year IMO.
Was offered a ticket to this but kindly declined to see Bruce Springsteen instead, absolutely delighted I did.
26/07/2009, 7:31 PM
Yeah the Script are terrible really really really bad.
I went to them at oxegen thought they were superb, really did!! I think i heard somewhere they sold out the olympia in 3 mins!!
Anywho i just seen this thread i went to oxegen this year, what made me go i dont know i hated the hole idea for years, but by god it was one of the best weekends of my life, superb, the hole drinking all day pure relaxed was class. Didnt go to much music, went to keane friday night ahead of blur and what a good decision they were feckin superb, chaplins a great front man tbf, really enjoyed him, they done a great version of queens under pressure, but they really impressed me, went to lily allen aswell friday, oh she hot!! Music good aswell tbf but im not going to lie went to see her more than hear her. Kings of leon saturday night were class, your mans voice is amazing, but he's one **** frontman so boring no crowd interaction whatsoever, but his voice really makes ya appreciate the band.Sunday night just saw the killers, the were top class aswell, great live band. All in all id recommend it lads.
26/07/2009, 7:57 PM
Taste is relative. And whole is spelt whole. ;)
26/07/2009, 8:02 PM
Taste is relative. And whole is spelt whole. ;)
ha thank you for that lesson sir!!
How good was glastonbury by the way?? Was it fairly expensive?
26/07/2009, 9:52 PM
Won't be going to Glasto again until I can afford a camper. Hopefully heading to Roskilde (http://www.roskilde-festival.dk/) next year.
27/07/2009, 10:23 AM
I went to them at oxegen thought they were superb, really did!! I think i heard somewhere they sold out the olympia in 3 mins!!
Anywho i just seen this thread i went to oxegen this year, what made me go i dont know i hated the hole idea for years, but by god it was one of the best weekends of my life, superb, the hole drinking all day pure relaxed was class. Didnt go to much music..... :confused: So -just to be clear ...you paid 250 quid to stand around a sodden field drinking? I know a covered in bus stop where you could do that for free.
... went to keane friday night .... -ah so you did go see some bands playing then. Good for you. who else then?
lily allen aswell friday, oh she hot!! Music good aswell tbf but im not going to lie went to see her more than hear her. but she would've been a dot on the horizon no? Or did you watch her in large pixels on the screen? ....like you could on telly at home.
Kings of leon saturday night were class, your mans voice is amazing, but he's one **** frontman so boring no crowd interaction whatsoever, but his voice really makes ya appreciate the band. That'll do. Stick to the facts. Some happen to believe he sounds like a hoover with a bearing gone.
..Sunday night just saw the killers, the were top class aswell, great live band. All in all id recommend it lads. ...but it's an all day festival no? Are you seriously saying you saw ONE band on sunday?
Also I'm looking back over the bands you did see + The Script -Someone else has mentioned and recommended the Smash Hits roadshow already. Surely more bang for your buck?
28/07/2009, 9:16 AM
:confused: So -just to be clear ...you paid 250 quid to stand around a sodden field drinking? I know a covered in bus stop where you could do that for free.
-ah so you did go see some bands playing then. Good for you. who else then?
but she would've been a dot on the horizon no? Or did you watch her in large pixels on the screen? ....like you could on telly at home.
That'll do. Stick to the facts. Some happen to believe he sounds like a hoover with a bearing gone.
...but it's an all day festival no? Are you seriously saying you saw ONE band on sunday?
Also I'm looking back over the bands you did see + The Script -Someone else has mentioned and recommended the Smash Hits roadshow already. Surely more bang for your buck?
Jesus were a sarcy ******* arent we, yup went for the experince more than the music!! I saw keane(class, my highlight),lily allen(ok), the script(very good:eek:), Kings of leon(very good),Killers(Excellent), Bloc Party(not my cup of tea at all).
I was in the pit for kings of leon and very close to lily allen so yes i left the campsite few times.
Yes i only saw 1 band on sunday, sundays line up wasnt too attractive to me, as for the smash hits roadshow, ok your music taste is sooooo much cooler than mine, so what??
any more questions so skillfully thrown at me in a way that only a lim foot.ie user could do, very lim till i die tone to that post
Oh i miss my first division!!:(
28/07/2009, 10:48 AM
Jesus were a sarcy ******* arent we, yup went for the experince more than the music!!
Y'see this is my problem (or one of them at least) with festivals. You could probably remove the bands altogether as well as ....well maybe not the stages -just show cartoons or movies or have a DJ -and a fair whack of the crowd would still go. (Actually you could probably get rid of the stages and just give everyone half a yard of bubblewrap on the way in.)
The more I think of it -it'd be my preferred option because these things are killing live music off in this country (and elsewhere). If there was no bands at them -people might go to venues to watch gigs in greater numbers and on a more regular basis again and bands might be able to tour.
Bloc Party(not my cup of tea at all) Nor mine ...bit of a no-tunes Cure
Yes i only saw 1 band on sunday, sundays line up wasnt too attractive to me, as for the smash hits roadshow, ok your music taste is sooooo much cooler than mine, so what?? ...:D SO you went to a MUSIC festival that cost 250 bucks and watched what? 1,2,3,4,5, SIX bands! It's not about who's taste in music is 'cooler' ...it's supposed to be about music -you had a chance to experience some and passed in favour of the smash hits roadshow lineup only.
...any more questions so skillfully thrown at me in a way that only a lim foot.ie user could do, very lim till i die tone to that post
Oh i miss my first division!!:( i've no further questions for this witness your honour. Prosecution rests.
28/07/2009, 9:31 PM
Y'see this is my problem (or one of them at least) with festivals. You could probably remove the bands altogether as well as ....well maybe not the stages -just show cartoons or movies or have a DJ -and a fair whack of the crowd would still go. (Actually you could probably get rid of the stages and just give everyone half a yard of bubblewrap on the way in.)
The more I think of it -it'd be my preferred option because these things are killing live music off in this country (and elsewhere). If there was no bands at them -people might go to venues to watch gigs in greater numbers and on a more regular basis again and bands might be able to tour.
Nor mine ...bit of a no-tunes Cure
...:D SO you went to a MUSIC festival that cost 250 bucks and watched what? 1,2,3,4,5, SIX bands! It's not about who's taste in music is 'cooler' ...it's supposed to be about music -you had a chance to experience some and passed in favour of the smash hits roadshow lineup only.
i've no further questions for this witness your honour. Prosecution rests.
In all fairness i went to 6 bands as you say KOL and Killers huge, so id pay more than 250 to see all them and get no camping experience at all never mind 4 days of it, but i can see where your coming from alright.
Tell Lionel who your favourite band is Bella, he might actually explode with indignation :D
31/07/2009, 10:01 AM
Tell Lionel who your favourite band is Bella, he might actually explode with indignation :D
ha ha i got that feeling off him alright. The quo and proud of it too.. Rocked the **** out of glastonbury this year!!
6yardpunisha
05/08/2009, 1:44 PM
ha ha i got that feeling off him alright. The quo and proud of it too.. Rocked the **** out of glastonbury this year!!
i heard your fav band is now The Script,in fact there is a serious rumour doing the rounds that you are in possession of a ticket to see them in Killarney:D:D:D
06/08/2009, 9:02 AM
i heard your fav band is now The Script,in fact there is a serious rumour doing the rounds that you are in possession of a ticket to see them in Killarney
how you heard that i dont know, but yeah, im bringing the old doll:o
anto1208
06/08/2009, 11:06 AM
how you heard that i dont know, but yeah, im bringing the old doll:o
shakes head in disbelief
06/08/2009, 11:09 AM
shakes head in disbelief
if only you knew
13/08/2009, 10:33 AM
Wash yer mouth out Jebus -I love the 'Quo.
...There I was all set to fly off on one about U2s musical equivalent of lettuce or Oasis muck.
15/08/2009, 3:20 PM
Wash yer mouth out Jebus -I love the 'Quo.
...There I was all set to fly off on one about U2s musical equivalent of lettuce or Oasis muck.
oh well heres a revelation. I ****in hate u2 aswell, hate them with a passion.
biography channel tonight at 9 o clock repeated at ten in the morning. ;)
15/08/2009, 4:27 PM
oh well heres a revelation. I ****in hate u2 aswell, hate them with a passion.
biography channel tonight at 9 o clock repeated at ten in the morning. ;)
Very first CD I bought a couple of years back for my infant son was 12 Gold Bars. :ball:
15/08/2009, 5:49 PM
Very first CD I bought a couple of years back for my infant son was 12 Gold Bars. :ball:
legend!!!
6yardpunisha
17/08/2009, 11:59 AM
Lionel and Bella, get a room please:D
17/08/2009, 12:05 PM
The Quo .... oh holy Christopher!:o