View Full Version : MNS Reminder

06/07/2009, 6:54 PM
8pm RTE2.

06/07/2009, 7:01 PM
Isn't Roddy supposed to be giving an interview tonight?

EDIT: Con jus said it..

06/07/2009, 7:02 PM
Yep..

06/07/2009, 7:04 PM
Great finish by Alan Keane. Quality.

fionnsci
06/07/2009, 7:07 PM
Showground looks great when the tv gantry is on the other side. Could this be made permanent?

06/07/2009, 7:13 PM
The camera and commentating in the European game was atrocious.

fionnsci
06/07/2009, 7:19 PM
Nice of Con to congratulate the people at St Pats for Sligo's european programme!

06/07/2009, 7:19 PM
Well done to Pat's on the production of Sligo's Euro programme..:D

sligofan4ever
06/07/2009, 7:24 PM
The lads go to the trouble of puting up a gantry but yet the cameraman decides to still go to the red stand. Surely a stand that usually is full or looks full will look better on tv ?

blue til i die
06/07/2009, 7:27 PM
Nice of Con to congratulate the people at St Pats for Sligo's european programme!

At least he apologised :D

06/07/2009, 7:30 PM
Deegan was nowhere near MOTM for Bohs, Ndo ran the show.

06/07/2009, 7:30 PM
Is the Cup draw not supposed to be tonight?

fionnsci
06/07/2009, 7:31 PM
The lads go to the trouble of puting up a gantry but yet the cameraman decides to still go to the red stand. Surely a stand that usually is full or looks full will look better on tv ?

The main stand was shown for Europa League game.

fionnsci
06/07/2009, 7:31 PM
Is the Cup draw not supposed to be tonight?

Next week.

sligofan4ever
06/07/2009, 7:32 PM

The main stand was shown for Europa League game.

I'm talking about the Drogheda game.

06/07/2009, 7:32 PM
Roddy's interview should be good :)

06/07/2009, 7:40 PM
never seen that video before, class. Fenlon still looks like a rat in it

Infadel
Some Bohs fan with a bit too much time on his hands.

Watching with an English football fan who's never seen MNS before. Karaoke King was rather embarrassing. I'm hoping for a good GOTM competition and a gaffe-free Roddy interview.

06/07/2009, 7:42 PM
think there needs to be a few more G.A.A themed ads during the break

Black and White
06/07/2009, 7:44 PM
Things are not right in Terryland...the boos have begun!:D

eL Bettor
06/07/2009, 8:01 PM
The Vllaznia sub keeper didnt make much of an effort to keep out the penalty :rolleyes:

06/07/2009, 8:02 PM
Things are not right in Terryland...the boos have begun!:D

They were all for the ref not the team, sorry to dissapoint.

06/07/2009, 8:17 PM
any1 else notice the caption under tony mcdonnell's name just before the interview with roddy? it said "still uses his old student card to get discounts on cinema tickets"

06/07/2009, 10:16 PM
I wonder what clubs refused the karaoke thing.

Hairy Bowsie
06/07/2009, 11:20 PM
Watching with an English football fan who's never seen MNS before. Karaoke King was rather embarrassing.

If he's seen Soccer AM then he's pretty much seen MNS. Same irrelevent nonsense in both and in fairness given the league recently, if Kareoke king is the most embarrassing thing MNS can show/say then we're doing well.

07/07/2009, 7:27 AM
any1 else notice the caption under tony mcdonnell's name just before the interview with roddy? it said "still uses his old student card to get discounts on cinema tickets"

:D As bad as some of the programme is they still produce some nuggets of comedy gold.

Even Mrs Ash, who wouldnt watch a game if it was in our back garden, picked
up on Pats being congratulated for Sligos european programme :o

Roddy "The Malteese Faclon" Collins :eek:

Duggie
07/07/2009, 8:36 AM
enjoyed the show last night, thought the showgrounds and terryland looked really well on camera. behans goal should win goal of the month this time i think. thought the kareoke bit was funny with the bohs lads.:D

Black and White
07/07/2009, 8:55 AM
Think Lesters goal will get it!Saying that though they did leave out Mickey Daly's goal down in Cork when he lobbed it intot he net from an acuate angle at the edge of the box!

The Betting Man
07/07/2009, 9:37 AM
I thought Gary Deegan's sending off was very harsh.

GOTM is between Behan and Byrne for me

07/07/2009, 10:07 AM
Having just seen the highlights, am I the only one who found aspects of Vllaznia's performance a little bit...odd? Celebrations were conspicuously muted when the second goal (an own goal, remember) went in, they didn't appeal the penalty decision, and then the keeper thumps someone in the box for no reason and his replacement stands rooted to the line for the second penalty.

They seemed very keen to win, but not necessarily 2-0...

Duggie
07/07/2009, 10:20 AM
the defending for the first goal was very poor and i dont know how they got mixed up for the second one. seemed unlucky with the chances. if we could get an early goal then who knows...maybe.

Umberside
07/07/2009, 10:53 AM
the defending for the first goal was very poor and i dont know how they got mixed up for the second one. seemed unlucky with the chances. if we could get an early goal then who knows...maybe.

Drogheda lost 2-1 at home to Dynamo Kiev last year and were a kick away from knocking them out. Sligo still have a great chance.

Duggie
07/07/2009, 11:10 AM
Drogheda lost 2-1 at home to Dynamo Kiev last year and were a kick away from knocking them out. Sligo still have a great chance.

well drogheda were a much better outfit last year in fairness, very tough to crack. didnt concede to many silly goals.

eL Bettor
07/07/2009, 11:29 AM
Having just seen the highlights, am I the only one who found aspects of Vllaznia's performance a little bit...odd? Celebrations were conspicuously muted when the second goal (an own goal, remember) went in, they didn't appeal the penalty decision, and then the keeper thumps someone in the box for no reason and his replacement stands rooted to the line for the second penalty.

Absolutely. I followed the betting in running for the whole game.
With 5 mins to go, you could get 13/10 or more on under 2.5 goals (i.e. no more goals) which is crazily high, would normally expect about 1/4 or less.

At HT, with the game at 0-0, over 2.5 was very short odds also, compared to what the odds would normally be.

This was with asian bookies where money taken influences the price changes as much if not more than form or performance.

I'm sure you've heard the fix rumours before the game... about 700k matched on betfair on Sligo

My theory .. and that of a lot of other gamblers is Vllaznia tried to throw the game ...evident by their lack of tackling and general slowness in the 1st half when Sligo attacked. By fluke they scored from a long range shot, .then when Sligo scored the OG there followed very muted celebration...another fluke they could not go and concede 3 deliberate goals and have the weight of UEFA breathing down on them for match fixing. So they got somebody to heavily back over 2.5 goals to recover some of what they lost due to Sligo not being able to take the chances handed to them on a plate, gave away 1 peno which Sligo missed (not a save though!), then gave away an absolutely ridiculous 2nd peno..and when I saw the keeper not budge on MNS last night my mind was made up!

07/07/2009, 11:38 AM

Didnt get to see the highlights iof the game on MNS, but from where I was perched on Thursday heres what I saw of those incodents

Celebrations for the 1st goal
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3551/3683417587_5b520ff337.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/sets/72157620893652634/)

They appealed the 1st peno ...
with the lino
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2373/3684231170_379d680b65.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/sets/72157620893652634/)

and with the ref
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3661/3684231178_036dfa2a87.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/sets/72157620893652634/)

07/07/2009, 11:39 AM
Peno came off the bar and from what Im told it was the 1st peno Keane hit high all season
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3568/3683419705_85ab648fa7.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/sets/72157620893652634/)

Keeper thumped yer man on account of this challenge
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2530/3683419725_58bd4fa30d.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashleycahill/sets/72157620893652634/)

CarrickFan
07/07/2009, 12:14 PM
Great finish by Alan Keane. Quality.

How are things in the 1st division??

07/07/2009, 12:15 PM
In fairness, the celebrations for the second are very quiet (or maybe it's just the one lad in picture who had himself at 10/1 to score, or is possibly breaking his sh!te at one of the most ridiculous own goals I've ever seen), and late challenge or not, the sending off was utterly retarded.

The betting figures are interesting though, even if the rest is speculation to fit the theory.

chan-lizard
07/07/2009, 1:25 PM
Brilliant last night

brianw82
07/07/2009, 6:48 PM
Absolutely. I followed the betting in running for the whole game.
With 5 mins to go, you could get 13/10 or more on under 2.5 goals (i.e. no more goals) which is crazily high, would normally expect about 1/4 or less.

At HT, with the game at 0-0, over 2.5 was very short odds also, compared to what the odds would normally be.

This was with asian bookies where money taken influences the price changes as much if not more than form or performance.

I'm sure you've heard the fix rumours before the game... about 700k matched on betfair on Sligo

My theory .. and that of a lot of other gamblers is Vllaznia tried to throw the game ...evident by their lack of tackling and general slowness in the 1st half when Sligo attacked. By fluke they scored from a long range shot, .then when Sligo scored the OG there followed very muted celebration...another fluke they could not go and concede 3 deliberate goals and have the weight of UEFA breathing down on them for match fixing. So they got somebody to heavily back over 2.5 goals to recover some of what they lost due to Sligo not being able to take the chances handed to them on a plate, gave away 1 peno which Sligo missed (not a save though!), then gave away an absolutely ridiculous 2nd peno..and when I saw the keeper not budge on MNS last night my mind was made up!

I had a mate following the in-running too. Vllaznia were still an incredible 1/6 to win the game when they went 2-0 up with 15 minutes to go. Something was definitely amiss.

07/07/2009, 7:49 PM
Vllaznia were still an incredible 1/6 to win the game when they went 2-0 up with 15 minutes to go. How is that incredible? They're hardly likely to mess up a 2 goal lead in that time.

brianw82
07/07/2009, 8:21 PM
How is that incredible? They're hardly likely to mess up a 2 goal lead in that time.

It's not likely at all, and with 15 minutes to go you'd expect it to be 1/20, not 1/6!

brianw82
08/07/2009, 4:57 AM
Roddy "The Maltese Faclon" Collins :eek:

They ratcheted up the humour this week, alright. The Roddy montage was great.

"I signed him."

08/07/2009, 9:45 AM
It's not likely at all, and with 15 minutes to go you'd expect it to be 1/20, not 1/6!

Oh right, I thought you meant it would be more likely. :o

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/07/2009, 12:29 PM
They better not be spending 5 minutes every week talking to Roddy Collins about the state of Maltese football. If I was a first division fan watching the love in with that gombeen when they never get any coverage I'd be very annoyed

sheao
08/07/2009, 8:58 PM
They better not be spending 5 minutes every week talking to Roddy Collins about the state of Maltese football. If I was a first division fan watching the love in with that gombeen when they never get any coverage I'd be very annoyed
I have a feeling RTE will do some mini documentary similar to the one when Roddy was in charge of Carlisle United.