View Full Version : The Brandywell

TheRealRovers
24/01/2004, 11:33 AM
I've herd that the jungle side of the brandywell will be closed for next season because of the club licensing. Derry will only have a capacity of 2,400. Dose this mean that all premier league clubs will have to close down all standing areas next season?

brandy86
24/01/2004, 3:40 PM
According to the FAI UEFA Licensing Manual :- "The stadium must be equipped with a minimum number of 1,500 individual covered seats" "Also the stadium must have an approved Safe Holding Capacity. The safe holding capacity should be defined in terms of individual seats, standing places and total number for each section of the stadium and for the stadium in total."

So i take it, Premier clubs are allowed terracing aslong as it passes all Health And Safety Regulations.

And i think ( although not 100% sure ) that its the local Health And Saftey office in Derry that has condemed the Jungle side of the Brandywell.

Suetrol Ned
24/01/2004, 3:56 PM
Last time we were up there I noticed there was a section of seats taken out of the stand - what's the deal with that? I'm assuming it's either an away section or it's where the jungle is re-locating. ???

brandy86
24/01/2004, 4:13 PM
Originally posted by Suetrol Ned
Last time we were up there I noticed there was a section of seats taken out of the stand - what's the deal with that?

There was a section taken out because some of the seats needed to be replaced cause those travelling 'fans' from Dublin would'nt sit in their seats instead of STANDING on them, we wouldn't have to replace them! :D

26/01/2004, 11:22 AM
we have no standing area so no problems for us.

liamon
26/01/2004, 11:52 AM
Originally posted by max power
we have no standing area so no problems for us.
Drogs and Dublin City won't have any fans, so no trouble for them either. ;)

26/01/2004, 2:59 PM
drogs fans would have to sell 2 of their sheep every time they want to go to a home game, or better still pimp them out, there is always a demand for a good lookin sheep in louth.

TommyT
26/01/2004, 3:46 PM
there is always a demand for a good lookin sheep in louth.

There's even demand for ugly lookin sheep.

dortie
26/01/2004, 7:25 PM
drogs fans would have to sell 2 of their sheep every time they want to go to a home game, or better still pimp them out, there is always a demand for a good lookin sheep in louth.

Correct me if im wrong but aint Longford more rural than Drogheda ???? Im confused as to how a Longford fan can use sheep in his humour towards Drogheda :confused:

Besides.....the only sheep lovers in Ireland reside in the blue county of Donegal ;)

TheRealRovers
26/01/2004, 8:16 PM
Originally posted by dortie
Besides.....the only sheep lovers in Ireland reside in the blue county of Donegal ;)
You are a culchie, A smelly culchie.
Your only happy on market day,
Your grounds a cow shed, Your fans are inbred.
Your a sheepshagger from BALLYBOFEY.:D

dortie
26/01/2004, 8:46 PM
Originally posted by TheRealRovers
You are a culchie, A smelly culchie.
Your only happy on market day,
Your grounds a cow shed, Your fans are inbred.
Your a sheepshagger from BALLYBOFEY.:D

Thats our song :mad:

TheRealRovers
26/01/2004, 9:18 PM
Ya I know but its the best song I heard in years. We might just borrow it next season (thats if its ok with BPSC;) )

Breifne
26/01/2004, 10:18 PM

I think you'll find this kinda funny, imagine a county GAAH supporters club actually calling themselves Sheep Stealers

Roscommon ya muckers,

Sheep Stealers (http://www.sheepstealers.com)

dortie
27/01/2004, 12:27 PM
Ya I know but its the best song I heard in years. We might just borrow it next season (thats if its ok with BPSC;) )

RealRovers..youve Just been given the rights to sing that song...get into the bastids for us ;)

An alliance with Sligo I reckon.....until you get promoted again though !!

TheRealRovers
27/01/2004, 6:08 PM
An alliance with Sligo I reckon.....until you get promoted again though !!
Well all right until we get promoted (which could be some time) "My enemies enemy is my freind":D
After all Derry do have a lot of Sligo men in there team now;)

dortie
27/01/2004, 6:56 PM
Well all right until we get promoted (which could be some time) "My enemies enemy is my freind":D
After all Derry do have a lot of Sligo men in there team now;)

Ok.....deals done....next time your up shopping in the big smoke pm me and i'll give you a few Derry scarfs to taunt the rednecks with .....ok ;)

Always enjoyed my trips to Sligo....decent Irish men down there;)

TommyT
28/01/2004, 6:30 PM
Both games against us this season had crowds of 2500 or bigger, what'll the story be with away fans...

Of course one obvious solution for yiz would be Celtic park :rolleyes:

28/01/2004, 6:38 PM
Tommy, the away fans are allowed 5% of the capacity so you are entitled to 120 odd tickets

TommyT
28/01/2004, 6:48 PM
Originally posted by Maribor
Tommy, the away fans are allowed 5% of the capacity so you are entitled to 120 odd tickets

Sound. Unfortunately that should be more than enough, even for Cork :rolleyes: (have they brought that many in total over the years ?).

BTW HTF can the nordie H+S allow dumps like The Oval, the two ''old'' sides of Windsor and even the old stand in Newry to stay open and close the far side of the Brandywell ?

dortie
28/01/2004, 7:17 PM
Originally posted by TommyT
Sound. Unfortunately that should be more than enough, even for Cork :rolleyes: (have they brought that many in total over the years ?).

BTW HTF can the nordie H+S allow dumps like The Oval, the two ''old'' sides of Windsor and even the old stand in Newry to stay open and close the far side of the Brandywell ?

Cork.....bring about 7 with them :p ....right enough I counted 21 of us exactly at the last Cork match in November. Better than 7 i suppose :)

My first feelings on the closure of our terrace was of disbelief, a reason i Joined the SOS campaign......for me we had/have a much better terrace than other EL teams......Im led to believe that the closure is from our own council.....the roof has asbestos and the perimeter wall is condemned.

New stand holds about 2,500.....we will lose revenue, a reason for the new 'select members' scheme which is replacing the season tickets....

29/01/2004, 8:05 AM
My first feelings on the closure of our terrace was of disbelief, a reason i Joined the SOS campaign......for me we had/have a much better terrace than other EL teams......Im led to believe that the closure is from our own council.....the roof has asbestos and the perimeter wall is condemned.
Asbestos I can see the problem, but can the wall not sured up and then have an uncovered terrace?

btw are games effectively going to be all ticket - i.e. will away clubs get their tickets in advance? Long way to travel to get locked out...

dortie
29/01/2004, 12:25 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Asbestos I can see the problem, but can the wall not sured up and then have an uncovered terrace?

btw are games effectively going to be all ticket - i.e. will away clubs get their tickets in advance? Long way to travel to get locked out...

The perimeter wall...which goes the whole way around the stadium is costing around £500,000 !!!:eek:

Away fans will be entitled to 5%....120 tickets. We are lucky to get 80 away fans from any club so you will be fine.

Dr.Nightdub
29/01/2004, 9:07 PM
Dortie, I think the question was more to do with will those 120 tickets be held back for away fans? There's times we've barely made it up from Dublin in time for kick-off - just before Xmas the season before last it took 4 & 3/4 hours to get up. Traffic jams in Ardee - who'da thunk it?

TommyT
29/01/2004, 10:29 PM
Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
Dortie, I think the question was more to do with will those 120 tickets be held back for away fans? There's times we've barely made it up from Dublin in time for kick-off - just before Xmas the season before last it took 4 & 3/4 hours to get up. Traffic jams in Ardee - who'da thunk it?

As mariborkev pointed out it 5% reserved (think it's in the licencing requirements)

EireBadBoy
30/01/2004, 4:09 AM
Both games against us this season had crowds of 2500 or bigger, what'll the story be with away fans...

Of course one obvious solution for yiz would be Celtic park :rolleyes:

Not poking Fun at Tommy but more at Derry People..........

An on going theme here, when we got to Limerick for the First Leg we noticed a Buckin' Belter of a Ground (GAA obviously in case you are as dumb as a snail) and thought "Jeekers! If the Footie Ground is half as Nice - SHOCK HORROR!!)

Anyways....back to my point, guess the capacity of that piece of %$£$ Celtic Park up the Road.........A Pebble dashed wall surrounding NO proper seating (It has seats in the form of a Plank of Wood) and dodgy changing rooms (Not in Long Tower at least)

What is the Capacity? A Clue: Above the Average of a Nationwide First Division Club............

GAA/UEFA : Difference in amenities? We don't play in Italy/Spain/England! :rolleyes:

dortie
30/01/2004, 9:04 AM
Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub

Yeah they will be reserved for ya !!!

Dr...stop your moaning about your 4 & 3/4 hour trip....we have to do that every bucking 2 weeks (almost).....
Besides the new road from Dundalk cuts it down about 30 mins.

30/01/2004, 9:08 AM

Dr...stop your moaning about your 4 & 3/4 hour trip....we have to do that every bucking 2 weeks (almost).....
Sure your Dublin colleague once told me on a MB he can do it 2 hours when I was giving out about Thursday nights - you should ask him for his route... :)

Bald Student
30/01/2004, 9:52 AM
As mariborkev pointed out it 5% reserved (think it's in the licencing requirements)

The licencing only requires thet the infrastructure be in place to seperate 5% of the stadium for away fans, if need be. The licencing says nothing about how many away fans should be let in to individual games.

TommyT
30/01/2004, 1:34 PM

Has anyone tried the new road right into the North followed by going Armagh-Ballygawley-Omagh etc, my mate and I thought about it the last time but had to get off the road to pick someone up in Carrickmacross anyway ?

Just wondering if that way would be quicker ?

dortie
30/01/2004, 2:23 PM
Has anyone tried the new road right into the North followed by going Armagh-Ballygawley-Omagh etc, my mate and I thought about it the last time but had to get off the road to pick someone up in Carrickmacross anyway ?

Just wondering if that way would be quicker ?

Nope we done that before.....you will get caught in all the traffic at towns.

We normally head to Dundalk via Auchnacloy then on to the new dual carriageway....done that on a friday evening for a $hels match in 3hours exactly...left Derry at 4pm....was in Drumcondra at 7pm.

EireBadBoy
31/01/2004, 5:04 AM
Ironically, the first thing I thought when told of the change to a Sat. night was that it might be one less thing for Away Fans to bitch about Derry. (Sensitive Soul I am!)

As for the perimeter wall, I hate to make Dortie out to be a liar as we normally agree on things, it covers a half of the ground but still takes up a hell of a lot of money to replace. I'm kind of glad in a way that the old side is closed in that it might give us (S.O.S) more power to get the go ahead to push for the long term lease we really want - personal opinion, cannae speak for the full commitee.

As for Away Fans tickets, I'm sure the Club will have measures in place to ensure youse all get in.....not too sure about Rovers as they always bring a wile team of Supporters (even on a Thursday :p ). No Fans have complained about The Brandywell recently 'cept Baa Baa Bloody No Luck! so I'm sure the same will apply this time next year.

Looking forward to the new Season and we might actuallty hear what you hures sing at The Brandywell :D

06/02/2004, 11:27 AM
Tommy T both games against you lot had crowds less than 2500