View Full Version : most embarassing momemt in sport!!!!

23/01/2004, 6:56 AM
high on the list has got to be david seaman in the world cup quarter against brazil.the free kick was so far out it didnt need a wall,all
ronaldhino could do was send the ball in for a header.then he looks up as the ball whizzes over his head and he ends up on his butt with the ball behind him in the net."give me the shovel and ill dig the hole myself" :p
also the el game where the goalkeeper was bored during a match and he swung out of the crossbar which broke in two.i think the match had to be abandoned but not sure.

23/01/2004, 10:04 AM
Originally posted by the 12 th man
high on the list has got to be david seaman in the world cup semi against brazil.

Most embarrassing post in this thread must be the one above. The game in question was a World Cup Quarter Final, not a Semi (where Brazil beat Turkey). ;)

And in another embarrassing goalkeeper in World Cup moment how about Bonner and Jonk in 1994?

Or Higuita against Cameroon in 1990?

23/01/2004, 10:10 AM
i digress sadloserkid,check post time,i was still half asleep/good to see you are on the ball/i have corrected same :D

23/01/2004, 10:22 AM
i digress sadloserkid,check post time,i was still half asleep/good to see you are on the ball/i have corrected same :D

Just helping out like! ;)

DolansWaistcoat
23/01/2004, 10:38 AM
Not the most embarressing but one of the most painfull,to experience and to look at i'd say was when Phil Babb slide groin first into a post doing about 40 mph,ah my eyes are watering now just thinking about it.It was for Liverpool against Chelsea,and the ball still went in for a goal,Casiragi I think one of his only goals for the blues 1-0 to Chelsea,correct me if i'm wrong..

23/01/2004, 10:51 AM
Aaahhh Phil Babb and the spice boys, plus "Razor" Ruddock.... Surely the most embarrassing moment in sport, yet also the funniest...

Edit - actually no, Phil Babb, The Spice Boys and Razor all in white suits at the Cup Final. Might as well close the thread as that is clearly the winner

23/01/2004, 11:08 AM
chaging the sport/ hale irwin was playing the last hole in, i think the us open and he was about 8 ft from the hole and had two shots to win it.his 1st
putt stopped on the lip of the whole leaving him a tap in to win.
he walked up to the ball with his putter in one hand trying to be
cool.
he took his touch on the ball but beacause of the way he held
his club he played an air shot and his club went over the ball missing it completely.this cost him a shot even though he didnt touch the ball.this forced a playoff which he lost.
what a bummer:confused: :confused: :confused:

liamon
23/01/2004, 12:01 PM
I seem to remember Matt Le Tissier scoring a stunning 20 yard goal against MUFC's Massimo Taibi. Ball was basicaly bobbling along at 0.02 mph and still managed to squeeze past the keeper.

Similar scenes in the Villa v Birmingham game last year.

Both far worse mistakes than Seaman's.

So many others that could be mentioned. Tim LFowers when the ball hit a divet and bounced over his shoulder. and I haven't even gone past GKs yet.

23/01/2004, 12:10 PM
Originally posted by liamon

Both far worse mistakes than Seaman's.

So many others that could be mentioned. Tim LFowers when the ball hit a divet and bounced over his shoulder. and I haven't even gone past GKs yet. [/B]
.................................................. ..............

just thinking though with the amount of people watching the match globally,while the mistake would not be the worst the audience was worldwide as opposed to say a premiership match.

23/01/2004, 12:58 PM
Ronny Rosenthal for Liverpool against Villa about ten years ago rounding the keeper, shooting from the edge of the area and hitting the bar...

There's the story of an LoI keeper who caught a cross, had the wind blow his cap off and into the goal, went into the goal to put it back on and so conceded a goal!

Or how about Rivaldo for Brazil in the group game against Turkey?!:D

Beckham slipping when he took the peno against Turkey was pretty good too!

23/01/2004, 1:30 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by pineapple stu
[...

There's the story of an LoI keeper who caught a cross, had the wind blow his cap off and into the goal, went into the goal to put it back on and so conceded a goal!

/QUOTE]

did that actually happen ??any idea who was playing

parnell ranger
23/01/2004, 1:34 PM
"also the el game where the goalkeeper was bored during a match and he swung out of the crossbar which broke in two.i think the match had to be abandoned but not sure."

goalkeeper was mick o brien in a cup replay for athlone
he wasnt bored
athlone were losing 5-0 he was tryin to get the game abandoned lol.

23/01/2004, 1:44 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
Ronny Rosenthal for Liverpool against Villa about ten years ago rounding the keeper, shooting from the edge of the area and hitting the bar...
Forgot about that - and he was on the six yard line not the edge of the box....

23/01/2004, 1:59 PM
then there was the boxing match in england and one guy was getting a right hammering when believe it or not his old dear hopped into the ring and started bashing his opponent on the head with her shoe/absolutely priceless/anyone see this one??

23/01/2004, 2:09 PM
In the baseball World series (:rolleyes: like anyone outside the US, Cuba and Japan cares) semi-final......

a home fan grabbed a ball about to be caught by one of his team. it gave the batter a home run and ended up costing his team a place in the World Series final, the guy had to go into hiding, think it was in Chicago.

23/01/2004, 2:17 PM
Originally posted by tiktok
In the baseball World series (:rolleyes: like anyone outside the US, Cuba and Japan cares) semi-final......
I guess it's me who's left to do the smug sports fan bit and tell him it was named after the first sponsor of the competition....

23/01/2004, 2:53 PM
The classic own-goal a Cork player scored in Turner's Cross a couple of years ago. He was trying to pass the ball to the keeper who was around the edge of the box but your man slipped and skied the ball over the keeper and into the net. :D

23/01/2004, 3:10 PM
another whopper was at wembley stadium i think it was a rugby league final/100 thousand people plus at match/his team was one point behind and he had a penalty kick smack in front of the goal about 10 yds out to win it.it was the last kick in the match as it was deep in injury time.(the ref told him)
i think the pressure just got to him and the ball slipped off his boot when he kicked and it went wide.the ref immediatley blew the final whistle and he just collapsed on the ground.an amazing miss

DolansWaistcoat
23/01/2004, 3:20 PM
We can't forget our own Sonia O'Sullivan running off the track with a dose of the trots in Atlanta 96.:o :( :o

23/01/2004, 4:35 PM
another whopper was at wembley stadium i think it was a rugby league final/100 thousand people plus at match/his team was one point behind and he had a penalty kick smack in front of the goal about 10 yds out to win it.it was the last kick in the match as it was deep in injury time.(the ref told him)
i think the pressure just got to him and the ball slipped off his boot when he kicked and it went wide.the ref immediatley blew the final whistle and he just collapsed on the ground.an amazing miss

That was a fair while ago now wasn't it? Think yer man got Man of the Match as well!

I don't know for sure if the goalkeeper story I mentioned is true, but I have heard it a couple of times from different people.

What about the Saudi Arabian goalkeeper?:D :D Being beaten by an Oliver Bierhoff slide tackle from 30 yards was possibly even better than Duffer's goal for laughs!

23/01/2004, 4:46 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
That was a fair while ago now wasn't it? Think yer man got Man of the Match as well!

yeah it was, the footage was in black and white.i think to this day
the guy is still in bits over it as i saw him interviewed recently.
he never really got a chance later in his career to make up for it cos i think it came near the end of his career.:o

23/01/2004, 6:31 PM
The Babb incident had to be one of the most painful, wince worthy incidents i have ever seen.

The Zaire fella in 1974 who ran from his wall as Brazil were shaping up to take a free, and kicked the ball away - giving a "what i do?" expression when the ref booked him.

They are funny ones, but surely sports most embarrassing momet in whenever Egg chasing fans sing "Swing low, sweet chariot".

God love them, they are all middle class public school (private if in ireland) past pupils, who have never known a day of hardship, apart from that one day daddy collected them in the car that the mechanic gave him while servicing the Rolls Royce, singing a song about negroes fight for freedom from their oppressive slave masters.

Surely this irony must be some sort of made originally by some scholarship boy to Eton, who has come from a working class background, as a way of embarrassing his supposedly superior and less financially challenged "peers".

Of course the same could be said of Munster "fans" singing "fields of Athenry". For one thing Athenry is in Connaght, not Munster, and secondly i doubt many of these people had any ancestors who were sent to Australia for stealing a loaf of bread for his family. (Well actually the egg chasers back then may have robbed it from a slum dweller as a way of proving his superiority.)

silly sport anyway egg chasing.

Ruairi
23/01/2004, 6:32 PM
The mods being humiliated by the non mods in the inaugural Foot.ie Challenge cup...

And in every game after that until I had to retire due to work commitments.

23/01/2004, 6:45 PM
Now that i think of it, Ruairis embarrassing to yours truly at pro evo must rank up there as one of the most embarrassing defeats ever. And he will never get his own back, because i have retired, undefeated.

muhahahahahaha

Ruairi
23/01/2004, 6:53 PM
Originally posted by Gary
Now that i think of it, Ruairis embarrassing to yours truly at pro evo must rank up there as one of the most embarrassing defeats ever. And he will never get his own back, because i have retired, undefeated.

muhahahahahaha

Bastid :mad:

That's almost as bad as losing to Eanna for fecks sake....

Actually funny story..... I was Celtic and he (eanner) was Real Madrid. I had gotten two men sent off and Eanna was starting to get a bit cocky. We went in at half time scoreless...

Eanner was doing all the attacking with "becks" as Eanner affectionately calls him, causing all sorts of problems in midfield.

Then, out of the blue and against the run of play, Larsson scores a tap in. Eanner, irked by this fact, throws down his joy pad, and TURNS OFF THE COMPUTER....

"ha ha, you didn't win you brit" were his exact words.

Eanner hadn;t won all night and got several hammerings, although he managed to keep me down to 2 nil in one game.

So the frustration had built up until finally it had gotten too much....

Whenever I bring this up Eanner flatly denies it, and rather sadly claims he actually won A game

Ruairi
23/01/2004, 6:58 PM
did a quick google on the phil babb "incident" and found this...

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,3162-763180,00.html

the scout
23/01/2004, 9:01 PM
what about dennis laws backheel winner while playing for city against utd at old trafford.i think it was one of his last pro matches and utd went on to be relegated.the look on his face when he looked around and saw the ball in the net was priceless.he was geniunely embarrassed and didnt celebrate at all.great tv for the neutral!!!!!!!:D

sylvo
24/01/2004, 9:48 PM
I think one of the worst moment's, was Hoddle and Waddell's hit song, dimond lights, terrible hairstyle's, terrible suit's and an awful song.

DolansWaistcoat
25/01/2004, 7:14 PM
Remember about 7 or 8 years ago when man u were getting a hiding from southhampton 3-0 at half time and they changed their kits at half time because sir frogie said that his players couldn't see each other properly in the grey shirts.:o :D

26/01/2004, 8:45 AM
Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
Remember about 7 or 8 years ago when man u were getting a hiding from southhampton 3-0 at half time and they changed their kits at half time because sir frogie said that his players couldn't see each other properly in the grey shirts.:o :D

....well they did win the second half one-nil wearing the new shirts;)

Shed End John
26/01/2004, 8:52 AM

a home fan grabbed a ball about to be caught by one of his team. it gave the batter a home run and ended up costing his team a place in the World Series final, the guy had to go into hiding, think it was in Chicago.

Actually saw a documentary about this one a few months back. Something to do with a 'curse' put on the White Sox about 50-60 years ago.

26/01/2004, 9:06 AM

saw the report on tv about that.the guy who did it was an absolute fanatical supporter of the team he knocked out by doing it.he had on the team cap, jersey, scarf the whole works.he just saw the ball in the air and instict took over.
he needed an armed police escort to get out of the stadium alive!!!!

26/01/2004, 9:34 AM
Originally posted by the scout
what about dennis laws backheel winner while playing for city against utd at old trafford.i think it was one of his last pro matches and utd went on to be relegated.
He retired in shame, but that it "relegated United" is one of the biggest myths ever - United would've gone down even if they'd won due to results elsewhere (fĂșckin liars)....

Originally posted by the DolansWaistcoat
Remember about 7 or 8 years ago when man u were getting a hiding from southhampton 3-0 at half time and they changed their kits at half time because sir frogie said that his players couldn't see each other properly in the grey shirts
Everyone thinks it's bs, but I was at the game, in front row seats at the dell, and it was actually hard to see the players over the far side against the crowd back drop. Worst kit ever, bar Corks new one.... ;)

26/01/2004, 10:10 AM
it was in a test match england against the west indies.the batsman was peter willey of england and the chap bowling to him was michael holding.as he came in to bowl the commentator on tv said "the bowler is holding the batsmans willey"/priceless
///////////////////////////
what about the time at wimbledon when it was raining and cliff richard happened to be in the audience.he was aware that some member of the royal family was present so decided to show off by doing a little gig up in the stand.someone handed him a mike and off he went.it was f*****g horrendous

26/01/2004, 6:21 PM
Originally posted by Macy
He retired in shame, but that it "relegated United" is one of the biggest myths ever - United would've gone down even if they'd won due to results elsewhere (fĂșckin liars)....
That wasn't really the point. The expression on his face after that goal told it all.

The Babb incident is a classic - the memory of seeing it on tv is strong enough that I winced when it was first mentioned here. God only knows how Babb would react to someone mentioning it!

There's a Frank Sinclair own goal from the season Leicster were last religated from the premiership. About forty yards out from his own goal, he turned around, and 'passed' back to the keeper, who couldn't get to it.

If Kluivert (or was it van Nistelrooy) had gotten to Steve Staunton's bizarre headed backpass a couple of years ago, it would have been a bit of a contender here.

26/01/2004, 6:35 PM
Ireland having to play their games in Sell-Thick Park ..... oh sorry, that hasn't happened yet.

26/01/2004, 7:57 PM
Originally posted by A face
Ireland having to play their games in Sell-Thick Park ..... oh sorry, that hasn't happened yet.

Get out more. The interaction with other people would allow you to widen your sphere. It really would. :rolleyes:

:D PP

Footie_Fan
26/01/2004, 10:06 PM
Originally posted by Gary
God love them, they are all middle class public school (private if in ireland) past pupils, who have never known a day of hardship, apart from that one day daddy collected them in the car that the mechanic gave him while servicing the Rolls Royce, singing a song about negroes fight for freedom from their oppressive slave masters.

silly sport anyway egg chasing.

You have some inferiority complex! Get a life.

Most embrassing incident has to be the possibility of Ireland (rugby and soccer) playing abroad with an 80,000+ stadium lying empty!

29/01/2004, 8:00 AM
Originally posted by davros
Here's a hypothetical one......Corcaigh have an International sports arena,quarter the size of Parkhead......Oh sorry,Wishful thinking......!
Pairc Ui Chaoimh?

DolansWaistcoat
29/01/2004, 2:35 PM
Neptune stadium is available if the soccer and rugby boys are interested.;)

Colleen
03/02/2004, 6:40 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
The best goalie one ever was in the Bundeliga last year. Been shown a good few times on telly. Think it was the St Pauli goalie -

Nope that was the Cottbus goalie, was quite funny though

Colleen

05/02/2004, 7:29 AM
spurs letting a three goal lead dissapear against a 10 man ,anelka_ less manchester city./steady on there kevin:D

DolansWaistcoat
05/02/2004, 8:35 AM
ha ha,spurs are absolute sh!te,well done City then best comeback i've ever seen.

05/02/2004, 1:20 PM
The most embarrassing moment for me came at Lansdowne Rd during the Six Nations last season when we just lay down and let Martin Johnson disrespect our President and our entire nation, and then give us an even more humiliating beating on the pitch.

05/02/2004, 7:07 PM
....and reward our stand in captain on the day with the position now. That was brutal alright, there were officials on the sidelines who should have been making Johnson do what he was told, but everyone just stood off him like a bunch of....

i was in a good mood until you reminded me of that joeSoap:mad: ;)

06/02/2004, 6:57 AM

i was in a good mood until you reminded me of that joeSoap:mad: ;)

and the bstard is retired now so we dont get a chance for payback with the arrogant pratt:mad:

DolansWaistcoat
06/02/2004, 7:54 AM
We'll beat the c***s in their own precious stadium this year and win the 6 nations.

We can arrange for our players to moon at the Royal box.;) :D

Thats not my pet name for the Queen by the way.:D

06/02/2004, 9:05 AM
Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat

We can arrange for our players to moon at the Royal box.;) :D

and then relieve themselves on the carpet."if you want to disrespect a carpet boy,we will show you how" pssssssss:D

NRH keeper
09/02/2004, 2:45 PM
how about losing (AGAIN) to the PRoC lads in a game of soccer

NRH keeper
09/02/2004, 2:54 PM
Originally posted by SuperKev
The foot team wasnt at fool strength. Include Ruairi and myself and we would eaten ye for breakfast

FOOL strength would be right

you guys said that the last time you lost too

face it they are not as good as us