View Full Version : Drogheda @ home

Pages : 1 [2] 3

rovers100%
05/07/2009, 9:49 PM
morrison hit the bar from 30 yards out.......... plus he played boco through for the 2 crosses for the goal. he also beat 3 defenders and made their keeper pull of a great save from the shot. believe me i was one of his critics but he played great balls to boco and the 2 of them down that wing caused drogs most of there problems

sligofan4ever
05/07/2009, 9:49 PM
ohh the irony:rolleyes:

Yeah he hit the bar, but it still dosent make up for his performance though does it ?

05/07/2009, 9:50 PM
I was dissapointed with Doherty

Im always disappointed with Doherty.

Morrison did OK first half, looked very lively.

rovers100%
05/07/2009, 9:51 PM
come on your judging peoples performances and ya didnt even see the work they done !!!

sligofan4ever
05/07/2009, 9:52 PM
come on your judging peoples performances and ya didnt even see the work they done !!!

people have different opinions, I always try to back up Morrison but there were alot of times in the match where you had to agree, he should and could've done much better, hes a shadow of the player he was at Derry unfortunatly :(.

Come to think of it, he did go off injured which may have contributed too what makes me think he had a poor game, hopefully thats only the case but There have been times in the season where he has produced a perfect ball for players. He just lacks doing this game after game.

sligo23
05/07/2009, 9:53 PM
Morrison is the most creative player in our squad, we'd be lost without him this season. He was fantastic tonight, felt sorry for him at times.

rovers100%
05/07/2009, 9:56 PM
morrison has the ability wheras doherty has nothing apart from a good cross. he should be bombed outta the club and apparently he is going. hopefully he is gone soon. he is a drain on the clubs finances. also dont think morrison will ever turn outstanding as my cousin played at sheff wed 01/02 with him and alan cawley and said he was the same then. plenty of ability but trys to do too much

brianw82
05/07/2009, 10:07 PM
Morrison is the most creative player in our squad, we'd be lost without him this season. He was fantastic tonight, felt sorry for him at times.

I know now what people have been saying, regarding the abuse people in the crowd give him. If anything doesn't come off for him, the first thing you hear is "Ah for f***'s sake Morrison!" He's the one trying to make things happen, yeah he tries to do too much sometimes but when it comes off it can lead to a good chance. People here seem to value hard work rather than creativity. We need both.

red arrow
05/07/2009, 10:10 PM
i thought it was a very entertaining game & we created the better chances in the 2nd half & should have won. howerver i'm reasonably happy with the result. i thought turner was defo not fully match fit but looks to be strong & can win the ball in the air. when he gets fully fit and at games pace he will be a huge addition. peno was v. harsh(such a difference in the match officials between the europa game and tonight). i though rommy was outstanding tonight .i can see why he plays for his countyr in that position. morrison has loads of ability but he takes the wrong option more than he should. if he would only realease the ball that bit earlier after creating space for himself it would improve his game 100%. we have cork at home next weekend it will be v. tough after the european game but with the few new faces & gavin back i think we can do ok. i want to wish all the lads the best of luck on thursday & if we can keep it tight defensively we could surprise them. to all who are travelling out enjoy yourselves & shout yourself hoarse for the bit ' red

05/07/2009, 10:11 PM
, hes a shadow of the player he was at Derry unfortunatly :(

If anything, he's the exact same.

sligofan4ever
05/07/2009, 10:15 PM
If anything, he's the exact same.

He was able to put away a decent free-kick and was one of the best wingers in the league while at Derry. Thats what we were really looking forward too, someone who could score from a free-kick.

05/07/2009, 10:19 PM
He was able to put away a decent free-kick and was one of thr best defenders in the league while at Derry. Thats what we were really looking forward too, someone who could score from a free-kick.

Morrison...defender??

05/07/2009, 10:21 PM
Thats what we were really looking forward too, someone who could score from a free-kick.We? Do you represent all of us now or something?

showgies
05/07/2009, 11:06 PM
I think tonights game really illustrated the difference of having good full backs does to a team. It further illustrates how much we miss the attaking of Coleman and Butler. Boco was excellent and at times his link up play with Morrison carved chances.

Some of our play was crisp and creative, but yet again our finishing let us down, as did our decision making. Can anyone expain to me why Doherty did not pass to Kelly in that 2v1 in the second half? A truely woeful decision.

For a game between two teams in the bottom half, this was a entertaining affair, but it really is points dropped by Rovers.

I think it has been said before but I too think Turner plays exactly like Flannery, and it looks as if he has his pace too.

Rovers fan
05/07/2009, 11:38 PM
was one of the best wingers in the league while at Derry.

Lol at tht tbh. he played 10 times for derry. you would have seen him play once, if at all:rolleyes:

Thought we did ok at times tonight, but in reality we have to be beating these sort of teams, especially at home. We really have wasted a lot of points this season.

As has been said, rommy at right back was the catalyst. Everything went through him and morrison. Tbh at first when seamie went, I didn't think he would be that big a loss, being a right back and all. But as this season has progressed it's become more and more evident how big a loss he has been, and to a lesser extent chrissie butler. Most of our attacks involved one or the other. Having boco at right back was such an advantage, and he played brilliantly. The new fella came more into in the second half, and hopefully that will allow boco to play at right back more often. Raf worked as hard as ever again, and took his goal very well. We actually did have quite a few chances. However, not for the first time this season (most noticeably awat to bray) we lacked urgency, and in the last 15 minutes it was drogheda that were pushing forward. Richie Ryan needs to up his game over the next few weeks imo.

Also why was morrison taken off. Granted he gave the ball away a few times, but he is a danger, and while kelly did good when he came on, he was never really gonna win the game for us (all though he could have had doc given him the ball!)

The defending for the goals was shocking (especially the first). It's ridiculous how reliant we are on peersie. The man's a legend. It's only when he's not there you realise how good he is. Deserves to be playing at a higher level imo.

I still think we are a better side than bray, drogheda and galway, but we need to start picking up points.

Next stop Vlazznia:)

Jim.

sligo23
05/07/2009, 11:49 PM
Lol at tht tbh. he played 10 times for derry. you would have seen him play once, if at all:rolleyes:

Thought we did ok at times tonight, but in reality we have to be beating these sort of teams, especially at home. We really have wasted a lot of points this season.

As has been said, rommy at right back was the catalyst. Everything went through him and morrison. Tbh at first when seamie went, I didn't think he would be that big a loss, being a right back and all. But as this season has progressed it's become more and more evident how big a loss he has been, and to a lesser extent chrissie butler. Most of our attacks involved one or the other. Having boco at right back was such an advantage, and he played brilliantly. The new fella came more into in the second half, and hopefully that will allow boco to play at right back more often. Raf worked as hard as ever again, and took his goal very well. We actually did have quite a few chances. However, not for the first time this season (most noticeably awat to bray) we lacked urgency, and in the last 15 minutes it was drogheda that were pushing forward. Richie Ryan needs to up his game over the next few weeks imo.

Also why was morrison taken off. Granted he gave the ball away a few times, but he is a danger, and while kelly did good when he came on, he was never really gonna win the game for us (all though he could have had doc given him the ball!)

The defending for the goals was shocking (especially the first). It's ridiculous how reliant we are on peersie. The man's a legend. It's only when he's not there you realise how good he is. Deserves to be playing at a higher level imo.

I still think we are a better side than bray, drogheda and galway, but we need to start picking up points.

Jim.
He was injured.

Guts&Glory
05/07/2009, 11:52 PM

Jim.

At wages of € 2,000 per week I would rather have Boco creating /scoring at the other end of the pitch on a regular basis even if the two new lads are decent.

05/07/2009, 11:52 PM
At wages of € 2,000 per week I would rather have Boco creating /scoring at the other end of the pitch on a regular basis even if the two new lads are decent.€2,000 a week, are you for real?:D

sligo23
05/07/2009, 11:53 PM
At wages of € 2,000 per week I would rather have Boco creating /scoring at the other end of the pitch on a regular basis even if the two new lads are decent.
Did he not create to 2 goals tonight??

Boo_Boy
06/07/2009, 12:04 AM
At wages of € 2,000 per week

http://www.wackyarchives.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/047_fail.jpg

I hope that's a typo..

Guts&Glory
06/07/2009, 12:07 AM
http://www.wackyarchives.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/047_fail.jpg

I hope that's a typo..

No I can confirm it is not a typo.

Shedzer
06/07/2009, 12:15 AM
Fact, Boco isnt on 2k a week

Anyways, we have 3 wingers Morrison, Cash and Doherty and for some reason Morrison gets more abuse than either of the other two.

Iv rarely seen Cash ever do anything out of the ordinary, bland is how id sum him up. He never contributes to the team going forward or even looks to be an option, goes missing for games on end

Doherty can be tidy and keep the ball but has no pace, is generally in and out of games much like Cash and when he gets the ball, does anyone really have high expectations? He might swing in the odd good cross but thats it

On the other hand Morrisin always looks to be on the ball, even if he is playing poor and has made prior mistakes. Has the confidence to have another go. Always feel there is a chance that he might beat a man and create something, changes things up a bit. He often takes the wrong option but his ability is far greater than most our other players. He can be frustrating but there is no way he should get the abuse he does from the crowd.

Ryan is the most pedestrian midfielder i have seen at Rovers that is supposidly meant to be a creative type player who compliments O'Gradys work ethic. Ya, hes the best passer we have, over 8 yards, but surely we need more than that. Offers nothing to attacks.

While im at it, Ventre and Keane need a divorce straight away, that is a calamity in the making there. Either one on there own may be ok with Peers or a ball playing centre half.

Kelly did well when he came on, would have had a goal id say if Doherty had squared him that ball.

We are seriously limited in quantity and quality of players at our disposal.

Shedzer
06/07/2009, 12:17 AM
No I can confirm it is not a typo.

Ok, well i can tell you your wrong if you think he is on €2,000 a week and if you chose not to believe me frankly, i dont care.

ndrog
06/07/2009, 12:41 AM
We deserved a draw tonight .You have one hell of a player in Boco , youd be a very avarage side without him tbh as everything good came down that wing . Good point for us :) All the best in Europe lads .Enjoy !

Guts&Glory
06/07/2009, 1:00 PM
Ok, well i can tell you your wrong if you think he is on €2,000 a week and if you chose not to believe me frankly, i dont care.

Welcome to foot.ie Rafa Benitez!!

Shedzer a committee member, member of the 400 club and one former player all advised me he was on € 2,000 a week and as you say if you do not believe me I do not care.

Since you claim to be in the know what is he on then?

Rovers Maniac
06/07/2009, 1:13 PM
Boco was class last night, setting up both goals and delivering the best cross i have probably ever seen in the showgrounds for the O'Grady goal, how he adjusted his body to get to it was simply outrageous. I thought Turner did ok lads, he is carrying a bit of wood for certain but i think he looks a better player than Parkhouse, shows better for the ball and seem to want to move more than Parkhouse did.

I think we need to get in a new midfielder urgent though, i think Ryan is a good lad but is very conservative with the use of the ball, often electing to pass square or backways, also passes more than having a go. There was an edge of the box shot on last night and he tried to slip in another player instead. O'Grady, hand and heart i don't think is up to it, battles very hard for the cause, but wins the ball and usually gives it away then. Fair play to the young Kelly lad had a good game when he came on and was positive, Doherty should have played him in. Overall a brutal game to not win, we need a big second half of the season as we are in big trouble.

Also how bad is Richie Winter i mean seriously, i could not see their peno but everybody that i talked said never was one, but the peno he tried to give us was laughable seriously fair play to the linesman. Winter is the worst ref inn the country i used to think he was bias against us but he is just a very poor ref.

Rovers Maniac
06/07/2009, 1:16 PM

Shedzer a committee member, member of the 400 club and one former player all advised me he was on € 2,000 a week and as you say if you do not believe me I do not care.

Look lads this is public forum could you PM each other rather than talking about what players indivdual weekly wages are? Don't think it is fair on the lad, By the way Shedzer is spot on and your wrong G&G.;)

sligofan4ever
06/07/2009, 1:28 PM
Boco was class last night, setting up both goals and delivering the best cross i have probably ever seen in the showgrounds for the O'Grady goal, how he adjusted his body to get to it was simply outrageous. I thought Turner did ok lads, he is carrying a bit of wood for certain but i think he looks a better player than Parkhouse, shows better for the ball and seem to want to move more than Parkhouse did.

I think we need to get in a new midfielder urgent though, i think Ryan is a good lad but is very conservative with the use of the ball, often electing to pass square or backways, also passes more than having a go. There was an edge of the box shot on last night and he tried to slip in another player instead. O'Grady, hand and heart i don't think is up to it, battles very hard for the cause, but wins the ball and usually gives it away then. Fair play to the young Kelly lad had a good game when he came on and was positive, Doherty should have played him in. Overall a brutal game to not win, we need a big second half of the season as we are in big trouble.

Also how bad is Richie Winter i mean seriously, i could not see their peno but everybody that i talked said never was one, but the peno he tried to give us was laughable seriously fair play to the linesman. Winter is the worst ref inn the country i used to think he was bias against us but he is just a very poor ref.

I think O' Grady didnt do that bad last night tbh. When he wants to play at his best he's brilliant, just like on thursday against Vllaznia, he never pulled out of any tackle and actually won pretty much any he went into. Without O' Grady our midfield would be running around like headless chickens as O' Grady is the leader of the midfield and the most experienced.

Totally agree with you on Richie Winter, how can he possibly be a referee ? when you compare Thursday nights referee to last nights referee, it just makes our officials look embarrasing, not to say the are anyways. I wasnt close enough to see the penalty shout early on, do ye think he was right giving a free-kick or should it have been a penalty ?

redobit
06/07/2009, 1:33 PM
Boco is quality.
For a man that was so involved in the game last nite he didnt make one mistake.
Swap Boco for Richie in the middle (O Grady play a holding role) and let him run at the albanians.

Rovers Maniac
06/07/2009, 1:38 PM
I think O' Grady didnt do that bad last night tbh. When he wants to play at his best he's brilliant, just like on thursday against Vllaznia, he never pulled out of any tackle and actually won pretty much any he went into. Without O' Grady our midfield would be running around like headless chickens as O' Grady is the leader of the midfield and the most experienced.

Totally agree with you on Richie Winter, how can he possibly be a referee ? when you compare Thursday nights referee to last nights referee, it just makes our officials look embarrasing, not to say the are anyways. I wasnt close enough to see the penalty shout early on, do ye think he was right giving a free-kick or should it have been a penalty ?

I agree that he was the best of the pair (himself & Ryan) on Thursday night, but that night we needed a bit of guile and vision and somebody to link the midfield and front players and we never got it at all and in my mind it has been missing all season. Apart from Morrisson's crosses we would not have scored from play if we were still there now. We never noticed it as much last season as we seemed to attack down the wings. Anyway that's just my opinion and i think we badly need one.

Rovers fan
06/07/2009, 3:03 PM
Agreed, we really need to shake things up in the middle of the park. I presume we are to bring in at least one more player, a central midfielder should be top of the list imo. Personally I'd give Morrison a game or two there, if we had options on the wing, which we don't. He did fairly well the few times he moved into a more central role.

CarrickFan
06/07/2009, 3:05 PM
Going to keep out of the Morrison debate!!!...but have to say Boco was fantastic all night..he was wasted up front chasing lost causes and running after Brushs ridiculous punts upfield to the 2 smallest frontmen in the league!!!.. when you see a display like that it gives u hope...way to early to judge Turner as im sure he hasnt played in ages..held it up well at times so fingers crossed for him...looks alot older than 19 to me!!...Kelly and Torpey did well when the came on which is a big plus....dont want to criticise any Rovers player but it wasnt Keohanes finest game in a Rovers shirt..hopefully he can kick on....all the best to anyone travelling to Albania...I think we can do it!!

sligofan4ever
06/07/2009, 3:21 PM
Going to keep out of the Morrison debate!!!...but have to say Boco was fantastic all night..he was wasted up front chasing lost causes and running after Brushs ridiculous punts upfield to the 2 smallest frontmen in the league!!!.. when you see a display like that it gives u hope...way to early to judge Turner as im sure he hasnt played in ages..held it up well at times so fingers crossed for him...looks alot older than 19 to me!!...Kelly and Torpey did well when the came on which is a big plus....dont want to criticise any Rovers player but it wasnt Keohanes finest game in a Rovers shirt..hopefully he can kick on....all the best to anyone travelling to Albania...I think we can do it!!

I actually felt sorry for Keohane, he came in for way to criticism. Whenever the ball was at his feet alls you could hear were groans, hes been promising in most games he splayed and he sonly about 20, cant be good for the confidence of a lad his age but hopefuly he pushes on and gets back to showing that he has the potential to be a top left back. I agree we are looking better as the season goes on, it just goes to show it takes time for a team to gel together now they have to start getting 3 points which we should have had only for that stupid penalty decision. Hopefully with Peers back on Thursday we will be more solid at the back aswell as some new players if they are signed up in time.

Guts&Glory
06/07/2009, 3:51 PM
Look lads this is public forum could you PM each other rather than talking about what players indivdual weekly wages are? Don't think it is fair on the lad, By the way Shedzer is spot on and your wrong G&G.;)

Grand so (no pun intended) :D

I will do like others and slate every player at the club - including some that have only just made their debut seems to be acceptable to call yourself (not you personally Rovers Maniac but many others on here) a fan whilst giving stick to all the players.

Da Real Rover
06/07/2009, 4:01 PM
Playing with Doherty is as good as playing with ten men and Cash isnt much better tbh.
Look at Cissy Kelly when he came on, the difference was immense between his wing play and Dohertys.
Doherty has to go and the club would be better of without him.
Id have Morrison and Cissy on the wings any day before Cash and Doherty.

kkontour
06/07/2009, 4:10 PM
Playing with Doherty is as good as playing with ten men and Cash isnt much better tbh.
Look at Cissy Kelly when he came on, the difference was immense between his wing play and Dohertys.
Doherty has to go and the club would be better of without him.
Id have Morrison and Cissy on the wings any day before Cash and Doherty.
Id say playing with doherty is worse than playing with ten men.
He pretends to put in tackles, he would be better off staying out of the way

Rovers fan
06/07/2009, 5:19 PM
I will do like others and slate every player at the club - including some that have only just made their debut

Nobody slated the new fella:confused:

sligofan4ever
06/07/2009, 5:47 PM
Grand so (no pun intended) :D

I will do like others and slate every player at the club - including some that have only just made their debut seems to be acceptable to call yourself (not you personally Rovers Maniac but many others on here) a fan whilst giving stick to all the players.

No one slated Turner afaik. Hes been compared to Sean Flannery for his style of play and that he looks like he can be a good, I think it was Maniac that said he looks to be a more lively player than Parkhouse and always battles for the ball whever it came to him, especially in the air. Can hardly say that people are slating him :confused:. For someone who hasnt played a match in about a month or 2, he still gave his all and when hes fully match fit he might grab a few goals for us.

red arrow
06/07/2009, 6:33 PM
boco is not on k2 per week & please stop now posting false and outrageous amounts on this website. the money that he is on (and he is worth every penny of it) is no where near what you are posting. this type of false statement is causing the club problems. as somebody else posted here NO PLAYERS WAGES SHOULD BE POSTED OR INDEED SUBJECT TO DISCUSSION IN AN OPEN FORUM. as i have stated this type of false inuendo can cause our football club problems. we are hear to support sligo rovers not to make false accusations.

Inside Man
06/07/2009, 6:48 PM
We will go down.
I said it a long time ago and you all laughed at me. I have just been watching it unfold before me. It'll get even worse in the next few weeks, brace yourselves.

06/07/2009, 6:49 PM
NO PLAYERS WAGES SHOULD BE POSTED OR INDEED SUBJECT TO DISCUSSION IN AN OPEN FORUM.

Why not?

sligofan4ever
06/07/2009, 6:51 PM
We will go down.
I said it a long time ago and you all laughed at me. I have just been watching it unfold before me. It'll get even worse in the next few weeks, brace yourselves.

The space between 5th and 10th is very close so no will really know who will finish where for a while. And besides, we looked a much bette team last night and would've won only for Richie Winter and Sean Doherty's selfishness :mad:.

06/07/2009, 7:09 PM
Well I'm sure you wouldn't like it having your wages discussed by people who don't know you on an open forum.

Footballers are real people too.
Accepted.
But keeping things hush hush and very speculative doesn't help either. See the example above.

CarrickFan
07/07/2009, 8:13 AM
We will go down.

would have to disagree with you..i think when we have a fully fit squad we are a match for anyone...hopefully these new strikers can add something to the squad and we can use Boco better than we have so far..its halfway through the season..just need to turn a few of these draws in to wins...we are stronger than Galway,Bray and Drogs imo.

redobit
07/07/2009, 8:25 AM
We will go down.

Theres only 5 points between the bottom 5 teams in a 10 team league. It's too early too say.

Redie
07/07/2009, 10:16 AM

Ah well if someone from the 400 club told you then it's got to be true!!!!

Guts&Glory
07/07/2009, 1:20 PM
Ah well if someone from the 400 club told you then it's got to be true!!!!

Thats it ignore the former player and committee member I mentioned.

Anyway the point was dropped some time ago and PM's sent to Shedzer and two others who corrected me so relax the heads lads.

As for people, Red Arrow & Red and White rover, saying wages shouldn't be known/discussed pretty much any professional sportspersons wages are public knowledge from the premiership, to American football, Golfers or tennis players earnnings right through to GAA player grants (whatever about the "ahem" extra benefits the GAA lads get).

For Jaysus sake lads in the pub compare what each are getting I don't get what the big issue was (note - again - was corrected on wages).

End of discussion on wages.

Back to lads slating the players.

dong
07/07/2009, 2:56 PM
No one slated Turner afaik. Hes been compared to Sean Flannery for his style of play and that he looks like he can be a good, I think it was Maniac that said he looks to be a more lively player than Parkhouse and always battles for the ball whever it came to him, especially in the air. Can hardly say that people are slating him :confused:. For someone who hasnt played a match in about a month or 2, he still gave his all and when hes fully match fit he might grab a few goals for us.

And why wouldn't he sligofan??
The " He gives 100% " line is a bit old and it's bullsh1t anyways. Why would you not give your all? Should be the minimum required when you pull on the Rovers shirt.

ndrog
07/07/2009, 3:07 PM
The space between 5th and 10th is very close so no will really know who will finish where for a while. And besides, we looked a much bette team last night and would've won only for Richie Winter and Sean Doherty's selfishness :mad:.

You didnt by any stretch of the imagination look the " much better team " by any means .You shaded it in terms of possesion , which you should do being at home and a full time team .We deserved the draw and could have won it if kings header had of gone either side of brush .I do agree that you are a better side then drogs , bray and galway though .Means nothing if you cant get the results .

Rovers fan
07/07/2009, 3:18 PM
You shaded it in terms of possesion , which you should do being at home and a full time team .We deserved the draw and could have won it if kings header had of gone either side of brush

Well we "could" have won if raf had scored a one-on-one chance in the second half, or if O'Grady had done better with the follow up, or if morrison's early strike had been a few inches lower, or if doherty had squared it to chris kelly or if turner had taken a good oppertunity when through on goal:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ye did ok, much improved from the game earlier in the season, but I still feel we should have won the game. We had enough possession and chances, and a penalty decision went against us. The MNS reporter said we should have won too! Suppose it doesn't really matter who "deserved" what in the end of the day.